Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Diana RWS LP8 reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By EROL from USA on 2010-04-05 07:37:48

    Things I liked:Perfect gun. Excellent and consistant accuracy. Gives you pleasure to shoot exactly where you aim. Fiber optic sights are great to aim. Professional. I am fully satisfied with power, accuracy, everything.
    Things I would have changed:I would include a cocking assist handle to avoid arm from getting tired.
    What others should know:I have some add ons-even though not necessary, just to have more fun. Scope is not actually necessary. But items below fit to LP8. 1. Cocking assist handle (actually made for browning pistol and exactly fits diana LP8) This handle enables you to be able to cock the gun without getting tired. (Check Umarex if not available in PYRAMYDAIR) 2. A scope : UTG 5th Gen 6x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Gen 2, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings 3. UTG 11mm to Weaver Adapter, Adjustable 4. UTG Premium 1" Rings, Medium, Weaver Mount, See-Thru 5. RWS Meisterkugeln Standard .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter Pellets (I used other types of pellets as well. But. I have best results with these pellets. 6. RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber - for maintenance 7. Crosman Airgun Ammo Pouch, Holds 500 Pellets 8. Gamo Cone Pellet Trap (good for safe indoor shooting) And, I like shopping from Pyramydair because of its customer oriented perfect customer service.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By TK101 from USA on 2014-05-05 20:43:29

    Things I liked:I like the feel,it points well, very nice gun--accurate...when it was working.
    Things I would have changed:I own a few RWS systems, I love my model 52 in .22 cal.
    What others should know:The newest one I have is a LP8 pistol which FAILED AFTER AROUND 400 SHOTS. I have never had an RWS system fail--my mod. 52 is 30 yrs old and still does the job and never had a problem. This is a surprise to me. Disappointing---for this kind of money, I expected this pistol to last as long as my 52--not happening.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2012-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent fit and finish, quality look and feel.
      Things I would have changed:It's a good piece as it is, buy they should do a performance check before sending them out of the factory.
      What others should know:I was unable to elevate the rear sight enough to bring shots anywhere near point of aim without running out of threads on the adjustment screw. So, back she went. I purchased a refurb unit that was basically sighted in as received and I'm very happy with it. The new one even seems to have a lighter trigger. I scoped it and it proves to be very accurate. Pyramyd was easy to work with on the return - a pleasure to deal with.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kris from USA on 2012-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice long trigger pull. Excellent sights. Power to spare! Accuracy is superb. Auto safety is a nice feature for teaching gun safety.
      Things I would have changed:Would like to be able to de-cock it without firing. The price is a little high for shooters on the fence about a spring pistol, so I suggest testing the LP8 before committing to a buy.
      What others should know:This is a fine combination of target quality accuracy and hunting quality power. As an outright target pistol it is a little heavy, but the weight helps keep the recoil down. As a hunter it is accurate enough to hit squirrels humanely. The power level means that Crosman Premiers and H&N FTT can be used with good effect. Avoid super light pellets. My version came with the cocking handle/extension, but the effort is low enough to leave the extension in the box.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John A from USA on 2012-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It shoots very well. Yes, it's a big pistol, but it is also 700FPS! I have put a couple hundred assorted peletts down range and a few squirrels! I added the UTG mount and a really good, wide field of view, red dot sight and it's devastating! I was getting 5 shot clover leaf groups at 10 meters with the cheapest pellets I have. I have used the Baracuda Hunter pellets to take out gray squirrels out to about 20 meters. They never knew what hit them! The hi-viz sights are good in low light but the red dot is the right combo for me. I have several airguns and this is the best one I own...it is worth every penny and the service from Pyradyd Air is GREAT! I have the trigger set as light as it will go and it's just right!
      Things I would have changed:For the price of this pistol, it'd be really nice to have it already equipped with a picatinny/weaver rail. That way you might be able to co-witness the front sight. The grip is an ambi grip made of hard plastic and takes some getting used to. I'd like to see a rubber grip instead and the possible option of attaching a shoulder stock. I am a gunsmith and will likely make my own...either that or try the Hogue Hand-All slip on rubber grip. Also, the instruction book said nothing about how to adjust the trigger - even tho the box it came in, makes a point of it. I'd rather see a plain box and a good manual...I'm just sayin'...
      What others should know:The gun is large and heavy...not for the weak wristed. The thing that impressed me most was the great service from Pyramyd Air. BTW, to lighten the adjustable trigger - turn the screw counter-clockwise! You won't find that info anywhere in the instruction book. It is not a quiet gun, by any means! But, hey, it's 700 FPS! That's an even trade!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By SMBH999 from USA on 2012-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've owned several LP8's that eventually I sold or traded except in one case returned. Overall this is an excellent piece of engineering.
      Things I would have changed:If the airgun was made stronger it may not be as sturdy and reliable, so nothing.
      What others should know:The last LP8 I attempted to order was in my opinion an example of how even the most reliable companies make mistakes. The hole at the end of barrel where the pellet is loaded was easily noticed to be off centered by the surrounding o-ring which seals the barrel and the piston hole. I'm sure this was a fluke and Pyramid Air took care of the situation quickly and conveniently as can be expected by any customer who knows how excellent Pyramid Air's customer service is.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John A from USA on 2012-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The cocking assist device makes this a breeze to cock. The fiber optic sights work well in low light and make for a quick sight picture. Although it's a relatively heavy pistol, the weight is well distributed and it balances well in my hand. This thing is a TACK DRIVER! I have only tested it at 10 meters, but I have been able to clover-leaf a 5 shot string. I don't have a chronograph, but I can tell you this; using the Skenco Goldenrod Long Range 8.5g pellets, I was able to shoot thru a quarter at 10 meters! It didn't punch a clean hole - it opened a trap-door in the quarter and the projectile was sticking thru the other side! This will do its intended job!
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight windage adjustment screw isn't marked to indicate which way to turn for either direction.
      What others should know:The box says that the trigger is adujstible, the web specs says the same thing. The instruction manual doesn't mention it. I contacted Pyramyd Air and they didn't which way to adjust it, either...but they were polite and very healpful, anyway! Grant it, we all knew there was a screw which could be adjusted through the trigger guard - but there is nothing in print as to which way to turn the screw to lighten the pull. Since you should never dry fire an air pistol, the only way to experiment with the pull is to fire ammo. I did so and discovered that if you turn the screw COUNTER CLOCKWISE, you can lighten the pull! At the lightest setting, it is a JOY to shoot!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Winston from USA on 2012-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is without a doubt the most accurate air pistol I have ever fired. The fiber optic sights are suburb!! I hit soda cans with no sweat at 25 yards so no need for a red dot or scope on this gun for me. It is powerful and the recoil is light for a springer. A breeze to cock with the included cocking handle and a real pleasure to shoot. The trigger is not too heavy and very crisp.
      Things I would have changed:Nadda Thang.
      What others should know:If you enjoy plinking , target shooting or other shooting fun this gun is worth every dime. However it is not for kids or the faint of heart. It is a 100% adult gun with a hefty weight for a pistol. See for yourself!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2012-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a high quality pistol that's quite accurate, and is well worth the purchase price. Included in the package is a cocking aid which slides on to the end of the barrel, though since this pistol isn't very hard to cock, it's more of a convenience than a necessity. "Repeatable accuracy" is exactly what you get from this beast. The grip is comfortable, and the balance makes for enjoyable shooting sessions of long duration. It's also a pretty quiet pistol. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase of this fine shooter.
      What others should know:Buy plenty of ammo.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2012-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:If you want pure power, get the 800 Mag, If you want style and grace, Diana’s your girl. The picture does NOT do her justice!
      Things I would have changed:The grips look nice, but should have a soft rubber rib in place of the sharp ridge in the front. MORE POWER!!!
      What others should know:The gun hit’s hard but after extensive penetration comparison using a variety of pellets (including 3 types of PBA), the LP8 seemed to struggle with guns rated at less FPS. Due to aging eyes, I added a 11 mm to weaver rail and tactical red dot which was almost a shame since the stock sights were done so well. Bottom line is I would get her again, she is truly a work of art, and a quality product. When dealing such a smooth and beautiful lady, money is really a non-factor.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kris from USA on 2012-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding accuracy with fiber optic sights. Even better with 4x scope. Easy to scope, easy to cock, and easy to point. For spring gun shooters it will be a breeze. For newcomers it will take practice.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Accurate and powerful for small game. Comfortable enough for target and plinking. This gun is a beast. I mean it is very long and heavy for long shooting sessions off hand.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid feel, smooth action, well made.
      Things I would have changed:I would have given it 4 or more stars if the power was there and grips were better. After a few hundred shots and controlled penetration tests comparing it to a variety of air guns using a variety of different pellets (including 3 types of PBA), I’ve come to the conclusion that it struggles to keep up with air guns rated at less FPS muzzle velocity. I also walk away with a blister on my second finger from the front ridge of the grips.
      What others should know:Better grips, MORE POWER
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid feel, smooth action, well made.
      Things I would have changed:Better grips, MORE POWER!!!
      What others should know:I would have given it 4 or more stars if the power was there and grips were better. After a few hundred shots and controlled penetration tests comparing it to a variety of air guns using a variety of different pellets (including 3 types of PBA), I’ve come to the conclusion that it struggles to keep up with air guns rated at less FPS muzzle velocity. I also walk away with a blister on my second finger from the front ridge of the grips.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Robert Foster from USA on 2011-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made German quality as usual,not likely to have a problem with German made guns!
      Things I would have changed:Very hard to cock,I don't think this gun has a 18 pound cocking effort! The trigger pull needs to be lightened,it effects the accuracy!
      What others should know:As far as quality,this gun or the Beeman HW70 are the best for the money!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carlos from USA on 2011-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:As others have already said, extremely accurate right out of the box. Adjusted the sights to my eye and got some great groups immediately. Great feel, power and precision. Used the R10 match pellets from RWS, and they worked like a charm.
      Things I would have changed:The red strip on the front sight became loose and I almost lost it in my backyard. It's the only minor complaint I have. Overall, it's a wonderful pistol!
      What others should know:I tried the BSA red dot sight, and my shots were all over the place, so I opted for the open sights, and I got much better accuracy. I don't know if it's the scope or the shooter...:-) I am hesitant to try a regular scope, and I am very curious about what scopes work with this pistol from other buyers, so let me know what works please. Thinking about trying the Simmons that is used with the Beeman equivalent pistol. By the way, thank you Pyramydair for the great service in exchanging the LP8 for the Beeman P5...excellent, prompt service, you guys are the best!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fun to shoot. Sighted in well out of the box. The gun came with an attachment to help cock it. The attachment is not necessary.
      What others should know:I heard somewhere that air pistols are as accurate as air guns. Found that this pistol is not as accurate as my long guns. I shoot from standing position. My long guns are a Crosman Phantom and RWS 350 Magnum.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By terry from USA on 2011-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ease of cocking, accurate, good feel for a larger gun,low recoil i would buy one again in if something would happen to the one i have now
      Things I would have changed:nothing of significance
      What others should know:buy one if you if you want speed and quality
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots great up to 35 yrds and beyond.Plenty of power got 715 with gamo raptor and 656, 654 ,666, 678, with rws Hobbies 7 gr lead pellet.with the ultra crosman pellets over 10 gr got in the mid 500 range I got in the 550 fps range but even though they are slower they hit much harder point of impact was minimal
      Things I would have changed:Make it more expensive LOL its a goof just kiddin. I goofed and payed a lot more from another vender should have stuck with PA but I thought this gun was supposed to cost $300.00 should have checked with the BEST PYRAMYD AIR shame on me and my wallet...
      What others should know:Beats the more expensive Beeman by a mile but a much larger gun. Has good to great balance though. The pictures do not do this gun justice I can tell you that. This gun is suprisingly not that hold sensitive just get a mild grid with the holding hand and rest the pistol on top of your free hand just like a bag and your there ,took little adjustment on the sights hits cans right out of the box surprisingly inexpensive for a gun of this quality but hey its RWS and if your steady you can easily shoot one handed
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By yves from USA on 2011-10-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Rock solid construction. Obviously well engineered and quite accurate. It's power blurs the line between rifle and pistol ; a real beast !
      Things I would have changed: I would have preferred the rear sight to be affixed to the barrel. I wish it didn't need a cocking-assist lever to cock smoothly - but then it would necessarily have far less power , and this is a powerful gun !
      What others should know:This gun is heavy and large. The weight and distance between front and rear sights means that it is a challenge to keep a steady aim. Bag-rested it's accuracy is well proven - holding it free-hand requires a strong and steady grip. Also , if you have small hands , or cannot lift much weight then this is likely not your best choice...it is a serious peice of hardware and no mistake.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joyce from USA on 2011-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:No spring pistol will come close to this one, Mid 700s per chrony first 8 shots remained in the 650 + range for another 150 shots this ones the real deal and from RWS who would expect less. I was using 7.7 Beeman wadcutters they seem to shoot the best in this gun also likes the RWS pointed pellets
      Things I would have changed:0
      What others should know:See for your self
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2011-10-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an extremely accurate gun. I suppose the length of the barrel, considering it is called a pistol, has a lot to do with the accuracy. It's got a really good feel on the grips, but that long barrel makes it a little difficult for me to hold steady for any length of time. Bench shooting is almost a must.
      Things I would have changed:The only real drawback with this gun is the price. Considering the price of the "other" gun, it just doesn't warrant the expensive tag that it carries. Other than the price, there is little else I would want to change on this gun.
      What others should know:If the "other" lookalike pistol had been for sale at the time, I really think I would have gone with it. I was in a big hurry to own one of these and the "other" gun was under a sort of recall at the time. It's back on sale again and if I had it to do over again, I think I would go with the other gun, considering the test video that is available.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2011-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, power, appearance, and it easily scoped.
      Things I would have changed:Cant think of anything
      What others should know:This is one heck of a air pistol. It is extremely accurate and powerful. It feels great in the hand and a joy to shoot.
    • « Previous 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top