Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Evanix Windy City II PCP air rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (8 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (7 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By CHARLES from USA on 2013-05-25 00:23:06

    Things I liked:I purchased one of these in .25 cal. last week. Let me count the ways I love her...the stock rivals the Daystate Wolverine, the grip is perfection, and the finish is beautiful. It weighs just over seven pounds and is perfectly balanced. The cocking lever is completely effortless. The magazines work great, but only hold the "short" pellets, which is ok with me. (You must seat pellets with a pen, but to me its like seating bullets the same way each time when you reload). I tried the Barracuda 31 grain pellets at the range, and they shot ok but not great. Then I shot some of my JSB 25.4 Exact Kings and WOW! This is everything I hoped for! At 25 yards one hole five shot groups period. At 50 yards .3" groups, and at 75 yards one inch or less depending on how steady I am. The accuracy of this rifle with the Exact Kings will just thrill you. The rifle will do it if you can. Several of the range officers just had to try it out too...ha. They all know me from shooting my Sumatra 2500,500cc in .25 cal. there all the time. Before you buy an FX Royale 500, or a Daystate Air Ranger in .25 cal., try one of these. The shot string is almost completely flat for the first 30 shots, at which point it begins to drop slowly to the 45th shot, and you have to refill the tank. I mean from the first shot to the thirtieth shot no change at all. First shot dead center, thirtieth shot dead center. Just unbelievable ACCURACY and CONSISTANCY!
    Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. But if you are looking for super quiet don't buy it, cause it is pretty loud. Your neighbors will think your shooting a .22 rifle. I shoot at the range or out in the middle of nowhere so the bang don't bother me. Its nothing compared to the BANG of my Sumatra shooting 43 grain Eun Jins...Personally the one thing I wish it had are Tru-Glo fiber optic open sights. I like to shoot open sights, and will probably have Will Piatt at Saddle Mountain Gunsmith mount some for me when he gets done tuning my Sumatra to shoot 52 grain slugs. By the way, he can change the shroud on this rifle for you to one of his own with special baffles etc. if you want to quiet this one down, and Pyramyd will ship directly to him.
    What others should know:Don't make a $2000.00 or $2700.00 dollar mistake by purchasing an FX or Daystate! Try this one first! The one thing to remember about the place in Arizona that sells those rifles is this: You buy it you own it. If you shoot one pellet they consider it used and will not refund or exchange it. And if you do your homework you will find that the only other .25 cal. air rifle on the planet that will give you a shot string as flat as this Windy City II in .25 cal. is the computerized Daystate Air Wolf MCT for $2700.00; but it does it at much less velocity = much less ft./lbs. energy, and you have to charge a damn battery? Trust me when I tell you this is the best Field Target rifle in this price range available period. Its accuracy and consistency will blow your mind. In case you don't already know it, trust me on one other thing, Pyramyd Air has the best return policy in the air gun business, and the nicest people you could ever hope to do business with. My special thanks goes out to Greg Wnek at Pyramyd who recommended the Windy City II for its incomparable accuracy. By the way, if you order one, ask for the Foster adapter to attach to your scuba tank fill hose, which attaches to foster like fill adapter that comes with the rifle. Stacy in the tech dept. will know what you mean...God bless her. Good Shooting!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By ronald from USA on 2014-02-13 20:31:30

    Things I liked:Now I have finally got a chance to test my 9mm windy city II, contrary to what the specs say out of the box these rifles soot 77.62 gr JSB's a high 864fps low 826fps and average of 832fps... now this is without any adjustments, I'm sure after a hammer spring tweak it should touch the 900fps range. great accuracy consistent, but a little loud for a $1400 rifle with a shrouded barrel
    Things I would have changed:could spend a little time refining the baffles. smoother trigger, mid level rifle at best. this rifle has soo much potential just waiting to be released.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2014-05-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:In Cal .357 this is POWERFULL hunting rifle... Because of the air tank capacity I choose the Windy city over the other Evanix .357 rifles... This air tank should give more consistent shoots.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:This rifle is longer (about 4 inch) that my Windy City Cal. .25..... With this caliber .357 you should REALLY BE CAREFULL of how you use it... I know both rifles Windy City Cal. 25 and Windy City .357 are very powerfull rifles and not to compare with a bb rifle, but just for knowing what we are talking about, in terms of power, when you ar using a Daisy Red Ryder bb rifle, you are closer to the power of Windy City Cal. 25 (61 ft-lbs) than when you are using a Windy City Cal. 25 (61 ft-lbs)to the power of a Windy City Cal .357 (121.6 ft-lb).... Defently this is a very powerful hunting rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By PeptoB from USA on 2014-04-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased my WC 9mm back in September of 2013. I tested the WC as it came delivered, no adjustments. I did try the 115gn and 105gn, but I could not get those dialed in on short order. My WC 9mm really liked the JSB 76gn and the 67gn round balls pretty much right out of the box, so that is what I used for testing. Here’s a 14 shot string using JSB (end at 140bar): 1) 824 8) 781 2) 819 9) 770 3) 821 10) 755 4) 816 11) 744 5) 810 12) 738 6) 795 13) 730 7) 792 14) 731 Velocity: HI: 824, LO: 731, AVG: 780.4 fpe: HI: 117, LO: 92, AVG: 105 ES: 94 Here’s a 7 shot string using 67gn rnd: 1) 876 2) 866 3) 858 4) 846 5) 839 6) 832 7) 828 Velocity: HI: 879, LO: 828, AVG: 849 fpe: HI: 114, LO: 102, AVG: 107 ES: 48 My targets were set at 50 meters. I was sitting off the balcony behind my house resting the front of the gun on a sand filled stabilizer. It’s not a full “bench rest” test (there is room for error). The first 7 shots of the JSB grouped very well at 50 meters (about 1.5”). Shots 8-14 started to drop, with an overall spread of about 3.5”. But at least the drop between each shot was 0.5” or less. No flyers. The round balls had a very similar grouping. However, notice the rapid change in velocity on the round balls Vs the JSB. I attribute that to the flat spot that all of my 67gn rounds have which creates a small area for the high pressure air to get around (i.e., when the valve is open, more air escapes each time, thus creating a faster roll off in velocity).
      Things I would have changed:Sound: I use recording equipment in a controlled environment to capture the sound of all of my airguns. I once owned a Sam Yang Recluse and still own an FX Royale 500 (among many others). The recordings capture the quality of the sound of each airgun relative to the others (and is very close to how I hear it; it also provides a visual depiction of the sound. Although the WC 9mm is loud, it is significantly less than the report of the Recluse. The report of the Recluse is higher in amplitude and the period of the amplitude is longer than the WC. The WC’s report is sharp and quick, with more of a “ping”. For comparison, my FX Royale 500 is the quietest airgun I own. Build Quality: Overall, I was satisfied with the build quality. The tank is carbon fiber wrapped. The wood stock is solid. A minor nit, some of the cutouts (where the safety is located and fill port area) could have been sanded better. Another minor nit is that since the stock is ambidextrous there are finger guides on both sides of the handle. I would have preferred the side which my palm grasps to be smooth. The receiver, cocking lever, bolt and barrel assembly is very well built, machined and polished. I like the matte black finish. The trigger guard is kind of plain and has the appearance of cheapness relative to the rest of the airgun. My opinion of the overall build places it a bit above the Recluse, but slightly below my FX 500. But that is also reflected in the price point of the WC (right in the middle).
      What others should know:Overall I am very pleased with the Windy City. It looks good, shoots straight, is priced right; but most of all is super fun to shoot. I love demolishing old cell phones and other junk from 50 to 70 meters. Compared to the Recluse, the WC does have a lower ft-lbs rating; yet (as noted above) still has plenty of power. The WC also has a higher shot count, tighter accuracy, and definitely not as loud. When I first shot the Recluse, I was surprised by the amplitude of the report and considered I might actually disturb my neighbors (even though I live in the country). However, the WC report is much less intrusive (not concerned at all about disturbing my neighbors), but probably not recommend for more urban areas. Due to the fact that my FX 500 is only 0.25 cal (among other differences), I will forgo a direct performance comparison between the two. I can say that the pull of the trigger on the WC is fairly heavy compared to my FX; however, the trigger of the WC does pull evenly allowing me to squeeze off consistent shots which aids in shot to shot accuracy. In the end, I bought the Windy City because I wanted something with enough power for the “fun” factor, but not necessarily to be used strictly for hunting. I enjoy using it in my backyard for plinking (my backyard has the room). At the same time it has sufficient power to humanely dispatch a varmint that invades my chicken coup without being concerned I will damage the coup (or kill my chickens). I would buy Evanix again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is of high quality. I love everything about it - the wood and finish, the smoothness of the side lever, the magazines are easy to load, the trigger is great and the gun is accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:My .25 caliber gun likes the JSB Exact Kings in 25.39 grains. It shoots the same hole at 20 yards and 1" groups at 50 yards. When sighted in to zero at 20 yards the gun will shoot the same spot at 50 yards with no holdover using the 25.39 grain Exact Kings. At full power using these pellets, I was getting up to 959 fps which is 51.86 fpe. Using the Eun Jin 35.8 grain pellets, I got 861 fps which produces 58.94 fpe, but these pellets were not accurate. Shot five squirrels the first time out and have taken a total of seven with one shot. The reservoir gauge on the gun does not read the exact air pressure as shown on my Hill Pump - it reads slightly higher. I fill the gun to 200 bar as it reads on the Hill Pump, not on the gun's gauge.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By ronald from USA on 2014-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Now I have finally got a chance to test my 9mm windy city II, contrary to what the specs say out of the box these rifles soot 77.62 gr JSB's a high 864fps low 826fps and average of 832fps... now this is without any adjustments, I'm sure after a hammer spring tweak it should touch the 900fps range. great accuracy consistent, but a little loud for a $1400 rifle with a shrouded barrel
      Things I would have changed:could spend a little time refining the baffles. smoother trigger, mid level rifle at best. this rifle has soo much potential just waiting to be released.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's comfortable to shoot. Pretty accurate. Very fun to shoot. Powerful.
      Things I would have changed:I just wish it was quieter.
      What others should know:Mine is a 9mm version and I was able to crank it up to get 122 ft/ lbs with JSB pellets. At 25 yards it blazes threw a 2x4. It is very impressive and I suggest to anyone to buy one. I only gave it a 4 star in accuracy because I haven't really worked with it a lot yet and I don't have a gun rest to really test it out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CHARLES from USA on 2013-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchased one of these in .25 cal. last week. Let me count the ways I love her...the stock rivals the Daystate Wolverine, the grip is perfection, and the finish is beautiful. It weighs just over seven pounds and is perfectly balanced. The cocking lever is completely effortless. The magazines work great, but only hold the "short" pellets, which is ok with me. (You must seat pellets with a pen, but to me its like seating bullets the same way each time when you reload). I tried the Barracuda 31 grain pellets at the range, and they shot ok but not great. Then I shot some of my JSB 25.4 Exact Kings and WOW! This is everything I hoped for! At 25 yards one hole five shot groups period. At 50 yards .3" groups, and at 75 yards one inch or less depending on how steady I am. The accuracy of this rifle with the Exact Kings will just thrill you. The rifle will do it if you can. Several of the range officers just had to try it out too...ha. They all know me from shooting my Sumatra 2500,500cc in .25 cal. there all the time. Before you buy an FX Royale 500, or a Daystate Air Ranger in .25 cal., try one of these. The shot string is almost completely flat for the first 30 shots, at which point it begins to drop slowly to the 45th shot, and you have to refill the tank. I mean from the first shot to the thirtieth shot no change at all. First shot dead center, thirtieth shot dead center. Just unbelievable ACCURACY and CONSISTANCY!
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. But if you are looking for super quiet don't buy it, cause it is pretty loud. Your neighbors will think your shooting a .22 rifle. I shoot at the range or out in the middle of nowhere so the bang don't bother me. Its nothing compared to the BANG of my Sumatra shooting 43 grain Eun Jins...Personally the one thing I wish it had are Tru-Glo fiber optic open sights. I like to shoot open sights, and will probably have Will Piatt at Saddle Mountain Gunsmith mount some for me when he gets done tuning my Sumatra to shoot 52 grain slugs. By the way, he can change the shroud on this rifle for you to one of his own with special baffles etc. if you want to quiet this one down, and Pyramyd will ship directly to him.
      What others should know:Don't make a $2000.00 or $2700.00 dollar mistake by purchasing an FX or Daystate! Try this one first! The one thing to remember about the place in Arizona that sells those rifles is this: You buy it you own it. If you shoot one pellet they consider it used and will not refund or exchange it. And if you do your homework you will find that the only other .25 cal. air rifle on the planet that will give you a shot string as flat as this Windy City II in .25 cal. is the computerized Daystate Air Wolf MCT for $2700.00; but it does it at much less velocity = much less ft./lbs. energy, and you have to charge a damn battery? Trust me when I tell you this is the best Field Target rifle in this price range available period. Its accuracy and consistency will blow your mind. In case you don't already know it, trust me on one other thing, Pyramyd Air has the best return policy in the air gun business, and the nicest people you could ever hope to do business with. My special thanks goes out to Greg Wnek at Pyramyd who recommended the Windy City II for its incomparable accuracy. By the way, if you order one, ask for the Foster adapter to attach to your scuba tank fill hose, which attaches to foster like fill adapter that comes with the rifle. Stacy in the tech dept. will know what you mean...God bless her. Good Shooting!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Capt. Shawn from USA on 2013-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has great balance, a good feel and look, shoots very well and many shots between refills. the 9mm pellet is a great hunting round
      Things I would have changed:extend the safty lever past the stock.
      What others should know:well worth the money and a good value
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2012-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just bought abroad my WC II Cal. 25. It has a side bolt in stead of the side lever that Pyramyd air has available... For my standards, getting groups at 100 mts smaller than the size of a coin of a cent with JSB 25.4 gr at 960 fps.... For me, at least, this is "perfection".... You may not request anything better for hunting purposes from an air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:A little noisy, but far away yet from Sumatra.... New magazine system works well but a little difficult to load the pellets.... You have to push them with something (an allen key or a pen).
      What others should know:If you hunt middle size animals with air rifle, sell the one you have at home and buy this one... This is a MUST.... This rifle implies many years of evolution.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top