Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Big Cat 1200 and 1250 reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Gene from USA on 2010-05-03 12:52:45

    Things I liked:For under 139.00 dollars its hard to beat .easy to cock great power and the scope is not bad at all. I hear some people complain about this bb gun all I can say build one better under a 139.00 dollars. I thought so. over all great power its plain looking no bells and whistle just a simple powerful more bang for your buck bb gun. great job gamo
    Things I would have changed:most triger are plastic so what I dont buy a gun becuse it has a metal triger I buy it becuse of its performance- power and is it accurate
    What others should know:great price great power hard to beat
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By CalGuY from USA on 2011-07-20 16:52:20

    Things I liked:Came with scope, looks good, weight is good.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy of the gun needs a HUGE boost. My friend and I have zero'd in this rifle so many times it is stupid. It keeps going out of whack no matter what we have tried to do to fix the problem. The gun fires wildly. When I called into Pyramyd, they agreed that it has a wild feel to the recoil, which I can't explain. Sometimes it feels like the barrel is jumping up, other times, it almost gives you a feel that the gun is twisting when fired. It is hard to tell what the recoil is doing to be honest, it just feels all over the place. I used to fire my dads .243 rifle, and although it kicked pretty bad, it never felt unmanageable like this simple pellet gun does. With this gun, there is no way to stay on target to get off a second shot quickly, or to even tell where you hit while looking through your scope because it jumps so bad. The piston version isn't anything I have fired, but I would guess that it would probably be night and day compared to this version. We noticed the scope is sliding backward on the rails, which I am sure is the problem with the accuracy. At the back of the rail (closest to your face when aiming), is a plastic cap (instead of metal which could act as a stop to keep it from sliding). The gun jumps so bad, it moves the scope, no matter how hard we crank down on the screws, and we have tried two scopes now. The plastic cap is getting bent all up from the scope sliding. That plastic cap needs to be metal, or the rail needs more edge to bolt onto.
    What others should know:This turned out to be a completely useless gun, and therefore a waste of money. We can't shoot a single thing with it due to its inaccuracy, which is prompting me to look into purchasing a completely different gun. Biggest problem is that we missed the 30 day window since we didn't expect it to be a problem and didn't run around firing it immediately. Now it is pretty much trash. :(
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 1112 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Samuel from USA on 2014-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very safe.
      Things I would have changed:Make the safety a little harder to push off.
      What others should know:Very fast ans accurate gun. Very easy to use. Real nice looking weapon. Ammo is cheap to shoot.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Since I have other guns that satisfy my accuracy needs, I don't mind taking this out for fun. It broke in nicely after about 100 pellets, and the cocking is now a breeze. My Big Cat favors Air Arms Diabolo Field pellets, and I can get them to group at .330" CTC at 10 yards. Not much else is below 1/2". That is nothing special, but for a plinker or squirrel chaser it will probably do.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger stinks. I would stuff the stock with an old t-shirt or sock to dampen vibration. It is too loud for its power level.
      What others should know:For fun, this is probably a good value. It is not a good rifle, and it is not a bad rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tim from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and powerful.Great value for the price.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger could stand improvement.
      What others should know:Mine had a short break-in period before accuracy settled down, about 50 rounds.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FERNANDO ALONSO from USA on 2014-05-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent rifle is a little simple but it works fine
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Billy from USA on 2014-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought two of these in .22 cal. (one for my 12 year old daughter). I love this rifle because it is such a pleasure to shoot. Easy to cock, perfect fit, attractive style, light weight, not too hold sensitive and plenty of power.
      Things I would have changed:Mine has a very crooked main spring 1000 rounds. My daughters’ main spring broke after 250 rounds. (Therefore the low overall rating) Both where very pellet picky.
      What others should know:I had tried over 20 different kinds of pellets the best I could do was with the Crosman Hollow Points (1½ inch groups at 20 yards off a bench). Then I tried H&N Field Target Trophy 5.53mm, WOW what a difference, immediately they started shooting ½ inch groups. I got these on sale for under $100 each, for a .22 that’s a good price, I would recommend it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Justin from USA on 2014-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun for the money. I found it to be extremely accurate, with the occasional flyer due to the trigger.
      Things I would have changed:The included optics are not very good. The trigger loosened up some and got better after about 400 shots in, but is still not very good. There is no second stage engagement that you can feel. GTR4G on the way and I expect this gun will be a tack driving machine.
      What others should know:Expect optic and trigger upgrade to suit the veteran shooter, otherwise great, accurate, powerful .22 air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kendo from USA on 2014-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like this rifle for its accuracy and the sights work just fine. I wish it had a sling with it but that is minor and can be purchased separately.
      Things I would have changed:I like GAMO rifles just wish it had some more bulk to it.
      What others should know:nothing
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Delwyn from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked where they put the safety and the feel of the gun is awesome. full synthetic not plastic or anything
      Things I would have changed:the scope wasnt the best but what do you expect. I wanted a more powerful scope than a 4by32 but for close range shooting it is a good scope
      What others should know:I started out shooting the destroyers but couldnt put a group in went to crosman premier hollow point and putting a 2 inch group in at 35 yards pretty impressive i thought for $130. crosman premier hollow point seems to be the only pellet my gun really liked between the 5 pellets i tested didnt seem to like gamo pellets which was a surprise. good gun for ranges inside of 60 yards you can get things to improve accuracy so you can go beyond 60 yards for like 30 dollars but i kept mine stock except for a new scope
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-11-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price! Simple design great for learning how to tune your first gun. I have over 4000 rounds through this gun and aside from a new piston seal everything is still tight . I can shoot a ragged hole at 20 yards with the correct pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I upgraded the scope I upgraded the piston seal by pyramid air also a Charlie Da tuna trigger. His trigger is $36 shipped. worth every penny also pick up a pyramid air piston seal it will last a life time. also install a one-piece scope mount if yours didn't come with one.
      What others should know:Its a springer remember hold and pellets selection are important ,hold where the palm of your hand touches the trigger guard and select a good quality pellet such as the RWS Superdome 8.3 gr. The scope is adequate as long as you do not relax the scope Springs too much .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FRAN from USA on 2013-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, smooth cocking mechanism, SWA butt pad absorbs a significant amount of recoil, all weather stock that doesn't sound hollow when shooting, amazing accuracy, excellent knockdown power, price!
      Things I would have changed:Trigger can let you down sometimes as it doesn't always brake consistently and the second stage is quite long. This gun deserves a better scope but the scope mounts are descent.
      What others should know:In .177 this gun loves crosman hollow points, but if you are looking for even better accuracy try the JSB diablo exact 8.4 grain pellets. I am using a crosman 4-16x40 scope on a one piece mount and I am dropping down crows and squirrels up to 60 yards away using both crosman hp and jsb pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By FRAN from USA on 2013-07-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very light weight, descent trigger (requires practice), excellent accuracy when using the right ammo, solid stock (doesn't sound hollow), rubber butt-pad is awesome, and has enough killing power to kill crows and large squirrels.
      Things I would have changed:Better scope and rings> This gun deserves a solid one piece mount and a 3-9x32mm scope. Better mounting system but descent for foe the price.
      What others should know:This gun absolutely loves jsb diablo exact 8.3 grains and crosman premier hollowpoints. I have mine with a center point 4-16x40 AO scope and one piece mounts and I'm shooting nickel-size groups using jsb exact diablo pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is a very well built rifle. Have had it several months now and i have had no problems. Workmanship is top notch, break action actuates and locks up perfect every time.
      Things I would have changed:the addition of sling swivils
      What others should know:Take your time in finding the right type of pellet. Different brands and types of pellets do matter with this rifle. And with this rifle remember the artillary hold.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good rifle for the money
      Things I would have changed:could use a better scope and open sights.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By microcarl from USA on 2013-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:On which version? I originally purchased a Big Cat 1200 from WAL-MART. It was an older model, with a metal trigger. The trigger was terrible. I ordered two GRT triggers, thinking I'd purchase a second Big Cat and convert them to the the better trigger. This purchase from Pyramyd Air was the second of the two Big Cats I purchased. This second Bog Cat came with a plastic trigger, negating the use of the GRT after-market trigger. I sold this Big Cat. My comments here in no way reflect any ill feelings toward Pyramyd Air. I think Pyramyd Air is a quality distributor and I have been purchasing all of my pellet gun supplies (though not really all that much) from them.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo should go back to a hi-quality metal trigger, such as the SAT trigger as a stock option! Provide a real steel barrel. Add workable sholder-strap points like the Hatsan 125 sniper.
      What others should know:The older of the of the Big Cats I purchased only lasted about 3,000 rounds and then the spring broke. No, I did not fire the thing while the barrell was in the open breach position! I was dissipointed with this failure. I was going to put a gas-spring in the thing but though I would try a different make because Gamo seens to be moving toward cheaper manufacturing processes. I chose a Hatsan 125 sniper in .177. I'll probably be purchasing a Hatsan 125 sniper in the .22 caliber in the not-too-distant future. I'll never go back to Gamo. My Beeman dual caliber/dual barrel pellet rifle out performs Gamo and even being a bottom-of-the-line pellet rifle, Beeman craftsmanship is on-par with the Hatsan 125 Sniper, leaving Gamo eating Beeman's trail of dust...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By RalphJr from USA on 2013-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the Gamo Big Cat 1250 from Big-5 before I discovered PyramydAir.com. You get a lot of air rifle for the price, including scope and mounting rings. Very accurate once you get past the first 200 shots and once you start to use the proper pellets (JSB Match Exact, 8.44 gr) (thanks to information that I read here). The Gamo Big Cat 1250 is a very powerful air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The stock trigger sucks. I bought a CharlieDaTuna GRT4G aftermarket trigger after the first week. The butt pad was too thick so I cut it in half using a hacksaw and finished the pad with a Dremel. It is just right now.
      What others should know:This springer is a little louder than I thought it would be and I can't help but wonder how it will shoot with the optional nitro piston ($100 upgrade). The barrel was filthy dirty but cleaned up nicely with a swab soaked in CRC Lectra-Motive Electric Parts Cleaner. Read up on cleaning procedures for air rifles and the dangers of using oil. No need to go anywhere else than www.pyramydair.com for your airgun needs. THANKS PyramidAir!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vegas052 from USA on 2013-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is very powerful and accurate the scope is ok I don't have any complaint I watch a video on you tube how to set your scope and that help me now is a beast I use Crosman pointed pellet works great for me
      Things I would have changed:I don't know maybe the stock design this rifle is very powerful deserves a stock more intimidate
      What others should know:Be patients with your scope watch how to set up your scope video on you tube that work for me it should work for you as we'll
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Sharp Shooting from USA on 2013-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks great, easy cocking effort (standing or sitting), easy to load pellet. Endless fun.
      Things I would have changed:Hollow stock and spring vibration makes for a loud shot.
      What others should know:If you are just getting into air rifles, like myself, this is a great starter gun. Inexpensive, powerful (.22 cal), and the accurate is consistent. After tweaking with the spring (added tar lube) and packing synthetic batting in the stock, the gun became much more enjoyable to shot. If you plan to hunt with the Gamo, definitely invest in a new scope. The Gamo scope it comes with - which is fine for shooting paper targets - is just a supplement for the lack of iron sights. Invest in a new scope. Overall great gun. I would purchase again... maybe I would give the nitro piston option a try.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vegas052 from USA on 2013-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:EVERYTHING
      Things I would have changed:THE STOCK DESIGN, THE SCOPE IF YOU WANT BETTER RANGE YOU NEED A BETTER SCOPE
      What others should know:BE PATIENT WHEN YOU SET YOUR SCOPE AND YOU'LL SEE THE DIFFERENCE IT'S GREAT POWERFUL RIFLE .22
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Peter from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to cock. Has a nice recoil pad. Shoots big pellets. I have the .22. Looks good.
      Things I would have changed:Scope is not good. Does not see far enough. Should be better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By brent from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:light weight and comfortable to carry all day rabbit or squirrel hunting. cheaper on ammo, very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:give it a real metal trigger. the plastic trigger feels cheap.
      What others should know:low recoil and accurate for the price. 22cal works awesome for blowing away (winged rats) aka pigeons. would recommend to new and experienced shooters. some gamo scopes are now made by bushnel.
    • 123 ... 1112 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top