Date: 21/7/2017 1:11
0

Gamo Big Cat 1250 reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Gene from USA on 2010-05-03 12:52:45

Things I liked: For under 139.00 dollars its hard to beat .easy to cock great power and the scope is not bad at all. I hear some people complain about this bb gun all I can say build one better under a 139.00 dollars. I thought so. over all great power its plain looking no bells and whistle just a simple powerful more bang for your buck bb gun. great job gamo

Things I would have changed: most triger are plastic so what I dont buy a gun becuse it has a metal triger I buy it becuse of its performance- power and is it accurate

What others should know: great price great power hard to beat

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By CalGuY from USA on 2011-07-20 16:52:20

Things I liked: Came with scope, looks good, weight is good.

Things I would have changed: Accuracy of the gun needs a HUGE boost. My friend and I have zero'd in this rifle so many times it is stupid. It keeps going out of whack no matter what we have tried to do to fix the problem. The gun fires wildly. When I called into Pyramyd, they agreed that it has a wild feel to the recoil, which I can't explain. Sometimes it feels like the barrel is jumping up, other times, it almost gives you a feel that the gun is twisting when fired. It is hard to tell what the recoil is doing to be honest, it just feels all over the place. I used to fire my dads .243 rifle, and although it kicked pretty bad, it never felt unmanageable like this simple pellet gun does. With this gun, there is no way to stay on target to get off a second shot quickly, or to even tell where you hit while looking through your scope because it jumps so bad. The piston version isn't anything I have fired, but I would guess that it would probably be night and day compared to this version. We noticed the scope is sliding backward on the rails, which I am sure is the problem with the accuracy. At the back of the rail (closest to your face when aiming), is a plastic cap (instead of metal which could act as a stop to keep it from sliding). The gun jumps so bad, it moves the scope, no matter how hard we crank down on the screws, and we have tried two scopes now. The plastic cap is getting bent all up from the scope sliding. That plastic cap needs to be metal, or the rail needs more edge to bolt onto.

What others should know: This turned out to be a completely useless gun, and therefore a waste of money. We can't shoot a single thing with it due to its inaccuracy, which is prompting me to look into purchasing a completely different gun. Biggest problem is that we missed the 30 day window since we didn't expect it to be a problem and didn't run around firing it immediately. Now it is pretty much trash. :(

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1213 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2017-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy, Weight, Length, Easy to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Trigger (as most air rifles) Iron Sites

    What others should know: This really is a good shooter. I did not purchase it from Pyramyd Air, because I found a clearance sale somewhere else. This .177 is the most accurate Rifle I have shot thus far. I was shooting dime size groups at 25 yards. No joke. I own a Umarex Octane, a Gamo Whisper Fusion Elite, a Walther Terrus, and a cheaper Crosman Air rifle. This has the accuracy of the Walther Terrus. Once you get use to the trigger pull (which really isn't that bad for such a cheap rifle) you will be driving nails with this gun. I got mine is .177 and I am currently shooting H&N Baracuda Match 4.50 head size, 10 grain pellets. This gun would literally almost be perfect, with an upgraded trigger. Gamo have always been great air rifles in my experience.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jason from USA on 2017-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Gun seem to be fine.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is not good! Can't get gun to group tight. Shoots all over the place.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Walter from USA on 2016-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the consistency of the shot placement. My shots are always in a nice tight Group. I have shot at four ground hogs and three of them are no longer with us.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2016-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Only minor adjustment needed to scope on first shooting... Easy to load and fun to shoot...

    Things I would have changed: Two for one would be great.. ha ha Nothing needed.

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By heriberto from USA on 2016-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Value for money

    Things I would have changed: Trigger

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By PATRICK from USA on 2015-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I've had this gun for a couple of years now and I am glad I purchased it. Accuracy is really good using the Gamo Rocket Ballistic Tip 9.6 grains. I have nailed squirells, possum and racoons with one shot in the head, they never knew what hit them.

    Things I would have changed: It needs iron sights.

    What others should know: You have to find the right pellet to obtain good accuracy.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Howard from USA on 2015-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The price and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Fit and finish is not up to par the barrel does not even line up to the stock

    What others should know: Don't bother getting this rifle but that's cool because that scope really is not up to par

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ronny from USA on 2015-06-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great rifle for the price. Easy to operate, solid built, and shoots accurate after a few hundred rounds. This was my first Gamo and would recommend this Rifle for any starter rifle. Installed a good Leapers scope and shooting half dollar size groups at 35 yards. Very fun Rifle!!!

    Things I would have changed: Wish it had open sights.

    What others should know: Just like any Pellet Rifle, It takes about 500-1000 rounds to break your gun it. Like buying new shoes. Always get a good scope. Leapers is what they recommended and very satisfied with it!!!

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2015-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great accuracy right out of the box. Powerful enough to rid my back yard of unwanted critters and fun to target shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Easier scope connection. OK but hard to get on quickly

    What others should know: Very pleased with purchase, beats the heck out of my Daisy Pump .22

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This pellet gun shoots accurate depending on the pellets used and the user. I am able to consistantly hit 3" targets at 75-100 yards shooting domed pellets without any strays. This gun is very capable of downing pests as well as for downing small game. I cannot find anything wrong with the gun itself. The scope is another story. I purchased a 50mm sniper style scope and have been blasting targets ever since. I've shot 2000+ pellets thru it and it still shoots as strong as it did from day 1. I'm now drooling over the Gamo Whisper Fusion PRO Air Rifle. Buy this Big Cat 1200 or the 1250 and you will not be disappointed.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the scope and buy one that is worth having. This scope is junk.

    What others should know: This gun is too fun to shoot. After awhile, you will realize that you have wasted your life away from your wife and kids, but on the other hand, you will realize the fun you had in doing so while out there shooting your Big Cat 1200 or 1250.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cody from USA on 2014-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock is nice with a better recoil pad than some normal rifles come with. The rifle feels sturdy to me and that inspires confidence. The rifle looks nice as well with the fluted barrel shroud. Accuracy is good enough for me, so far it seems to shoot really good with the Crosman premier hollow points.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger was ok, but I did install a trigger from charlie da tuna, the GTR-4G. This trigger is a big improvement over the stock trigger. I would like it if Gamo would not include the scope with the rifle, even if it would only save ten bucks I would still like them to not include it, the scope is ok but you will want to upgrade quickly. It would be great if would drill and tap the receiver so you could put on a piece of Picatinny rail for optics mounting, i'm not a big fan of the dovetail style mounting system.

    What others should know: Well, this is my first air rifle and I wanted something decent and not a toy and thus far I am happy with this rifle. I did have to send it back for an issue with the barrel, (1) it was bent and (2) the pellets would sometimes fall out before I could close the barrel. With this new barrel the pellets fit snugly in the chamber and the accuracy is better than the first barrel for sure, which would suggest some possible quality control issues at the Gamo factory. I shoot rifles and pistols fairly regularly, and I was surprised how different it is shooting an air rifle as apposed to a normal rifle like an AR. Very different body mechanics.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By wes from USA on 2014-09-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: for the money this is a great way to get into air gunning.. accurate enough for small game at 30 yards with head shots.. and its cheap..

    Things I would have changed: not much really i would change for a gun at this price point.. add a good scope and you have a squirrel slayer..

    What others should know: scope isnt going to do this gun justice.. get a leapers 3-9 and your set on this gun..

     
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Dana from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.343 ratings

    Things I liked: lightweight, shoots hard

    Things I would have changed: too loud, scope was WAYYY off and a pain to put on the gun.

    What others should know: I'd give it a 7 out of 10

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Samuel from USA on 2014-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very safe.

    Things I would have changed: Make the safety a little harder to push off.

    What others should know: Very fast ans accurate gun. Very easy to use. Real nice looking weapon. Ammo is cheap to shoot.

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Since I have other guns that satisfy my accuracy needs, I don't mind taking this out for fun. It broke in nicely after about 100 pellets, and the cocking is now a breeze. My Big Cat favors Air Arms Diabolo Field pellets, and I can get them to group at .330" CTC at 10 yards. Not much else is below 1/2". That is nothing special, but for a plinker or squirrel chaser it will probably do.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger stinks. I would stuff the stock with an old t-shirt or sock to dampen vibration. It is too loud for its power level.

    What others should know: For fun, this is probably a good value. It is not a good rifle, and it is not a bad rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from USA on 2014-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate and powerful.Great value for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger could stand improvement.

    What others should know: Mine had a short break-in period before accuracy settled down, about 50 rounds.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By FERNANDO ALONSO from USA on 2014-05-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle is a little simple but it works fine

     
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Billy from USA on 2014-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I bought two of these in .22 cal. (one for my 12 year old daughter). I love this rifle because it is such a pleasure to shoot. Easy to cock, perfect fit, attractive style, light weight, not too hold sensitive and plenty of power.

    Things I would have changed: Mine has a very crooked main spring 1000 rounds. My daughters’ main spring broke after 250 rounds. (Therefore the low overall rating) Both where very pellet picky.

    What others should know: I had tried over 20 different kinds of pellets the best I could do was with the Crosman Hollow Points (1½ inch groups at 20 yards off a bench). Then I tried H&N Field Target Trophy 5.53mm, WOW what a difference, immediately they started shooting ½ inch groups. I got these on sale for under $100 each, for a .22 that’s a good price, I would recommend it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Justin from USA on 2014-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great gun for the money. I found it to be extremely accurate, with the occasional flyer due to the trigger.

    Things I would have changed: The included optics are not very good. The trigger loosened up some and got better after about 400 shots in, but is still not very good. There is no second stage engagement that you can feel. GTR4G on the way and I expect this gun will be a tack driving machine.

    What others should know: Expect optic and trigger upgrade to suit the veteran shooter, otherwise great, accurate, powerful .22 air gun.

     
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kendo from USA on 2014-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I really like this rifle for its accuracy and the sights work just fine. I wish it had a sling with it but that is minor and can be purchased separately.

    Things I would have changed: I like GAMO rifles just wish it had some more bulk to it.

    What others should know: nothing

     
  • 123 ... 1213 Next
Navigation