Date: 25/3/2017 8:29
0

Gamo Big Cat 1400 Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (6 reviews)
5 star4 star3 star2 star1 star
(3 votes)(2 votes)(1 vote)

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jerry from Canada on 2014-03-04 13:11:19

Things I liked: The stock and overall feel of the gun fits just right. Power and sound say's everything watch out critters I own this garden.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Accuracy is there with the power but be prepared to put in your time to learn how this gun shoots. That being said it's a keeper.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Travis from USA on 2014-12-31 22:35:43

Things I liked: Stock design is comfy, easy to get a natural hold on. Very bench friendly. Could downsize the pistol grip a little, though. I've got big paws, and it feels large to me. Trigger feel is surprisingly nice, very smooth, easy to "slow smooth squeeze".

Things I would have changed: Scope provided makes a better paperweight than a sighting device. Reticle is blurry, focus constantly changes. To be expected, it's worth what you paid for it. Trigger is nice, but needs to be metal to feel perfect. Can feel flex as you squeeze. Gamo PBA pellets that it comes with are not worth shooting, my 20ga. shotgun patterns better with birdshot than this does with PBA's. They are too light, too fast... they are supersonic out of this powerplant, and that drastically affects stability with a projectile this light. Barrel apparently needs more "meat"... maybe try all steel instead of plastic coated? I know it's not a $400 piece, but a bent barrel??? Really??? C'mon, Gamo... Everyone please note, I did not buy this from Pyramid, I bought it locally due to a screamin' end of year sale. Please do not allow this to reflect negatively on Pyramid Air.

What others should know: K, here's the deal... the gun I purchased (not from Pyramid) feels great, shoots nice, has plenty of power, but will not hit the broad side of a barn. The barrel has a visible slope down when looking down the gun. At first I thought it was just the poly coating and not the barrel itself, but I was wrong. I tried two different scopes, had them both maxed out "up", and was still hitting an inch low AT EIGHT YARDS! Ended up destroying a Leapers 4x32 after 10 rounds due to having adjustment maxed. That said, the "inch low" group consistently had 5 pellets touching each other, so I have to say that the overall build of the gun is good, just had a junk barrel. Choose your pellets wisely, this gun only likes what it likes, nothing else. Wadcutters do not fly well out of this barrel, it shoots too fast, lots of "fliers". Had really consistent (albeit low), nice groups out of RWS Super-H-Point 6.9gr pellets. If it wasn't for the horrifyingly bent barrel, this gun would get 4 (or more) stars.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from Canada on 2016-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Stock nice fit ,trigger I liked , weight and balanced nicely , over all looks VERY NICE

    Things I would have changed: Scope don't be afraid to spend some $ for this rifle it's worth it (Leaper UTG 6x24 x50) will update in spring as to how this works

    What others should know: RWS Meisterkugleln 8.2gr work VERY well shoot the center of a toonie out at 200ft

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tim from Canada on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit me very well, VERY powerful, didn't mind trigger, have ti ranged in at 180-200ft and is consistent and accurate

    Things I would have changed: Upgraded scope

    What others should know: RWS Meisterkugeln pellets work VERY well took center of a toonie out at 200ft make sure you have a good back stop ie; thick metal

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Travis from USA on 2014-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Stock design is comfy, easy to get a natural hold on. Very bench friendly. Could downsize the pistol grip a little, though. I've got big paws, and it feels large to me. Trigger feel is surprisingly nice, very smooth, easy to "slow smooth squeeze".

    Things I would have changed: Scope provided makes a better paperweight than a sighting device. Reticle is blurry, focus constantly changes. To be expected, it's worth what you paid for it. Trigger is nice, but needs to be metal to feel perfect. Can feel flex as you squeeze. Gamo PBA pellets that it comes with are not worth shooting, my 20ga. shotgun patterns better with birdshot than this does with PBA's. They are too light, too fast... they are supersonic out of this powerplant, and that drastically affects stability with a projectile this light. Barrel apparently needs more "meat"... maybe try all steel instead of plastic coated? I know it's not a $400 piece, but a bent barrel??? Really??? C'mon, Gamo... Everyone please note, I did not buy this from Pyramid, I bought it locally due to a screamin' end of year sale. Please do not allow this to reflect negatively on Pyramid Air.

    What others should know: K, here's the deal... the gun I purchased (not from Pyramid) feels great, shoots nice, has plenty of power, but will not hit the broad side of a barn. The barrel has a visible slope down when looking down the gun. At first I thought it was just the poly coating and not the barrel itself, but I was wrong. I tried two different scopes, had them both maxed out "up", and was still hitting an inch low AT EIGHT YARDS! Ended up destroying a Leapers 4x32 after 10 rounds due to having adjustment maxed. That said, the "inch low" group consistently had 5 pellets touching each other, so I have to say that the overall build of the gun is good, just had a junk barrel. Choose your pellets wisely, this gun only likes what it likes, nothing else. Wadcutters do not fly well out of this barrel, it shoots too fast, lots of "fliers". Had really consistent (albeit low), nice groups out of RWS Super-H-Point 6.9gr pellets. If it wasn't for the horrifyingly bent barrel, this gun would get 4 (or more) stars.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ken from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very comfortable check and butt pad. Especially with the recoil of this air rifle. Love the power and comfort. I shot dime sized groups from 40 yards consistently for 250 pellets fired.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing yet. I'm very happy with this air rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from Canada on 2014-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The stock and overall feel of the gun fits just right. Power and sound say's everything watch out critters I own this garden.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Accuracy is there with the power but be prepared to put in your time to learn how this gun shoots. That being said it's a keeper.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Shane from New Zealand on 2013-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: WOW, great rifle for the price! SAT trigger...much better. Wider stock, great style, very comfy.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this stage.

    What others should know: This rifle has some power! Quite loud, PBA's crack real good. Had to get some better scope mounts cause my scope kept creeping back from the recoil.

Navigation