Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Big Cat with Crosman Nitro Piston reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Keith from USA on 2011-12-24 13:54:01

    Things I liked:This is my second Gamo Big Cat; the first was in .177 with the factor spring. This review is for the .22 with the Nitro Piston that I just received. First as it is overwhelming shown by past reviews the Gamo Big Cat is some serious value for the money. Fist it is accurate, second it is easy to cock for a magnum springer, and third it is light. It is just a great plinking and small game rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing with the gun; the scope that comes with it is pretty much disposable. However, I guess since it does not have iron sights, they have to ship something with it;) So, maybe a scope-less option for a few dollars less…
    What others should know:I mounted a Center Point Adventure Class scope on it (these scopes are a great value and seem to be well suited for a magnum springer; I have not had one fall apart yet). I sighted in at 15 yards (first zero point) with JSB Diabolo Exact 15.9 gr pellets. The average velocity with these pellets was 654 ft/s. I also tried CPs and RWS super dome, which both had and average velocity of 734. However, they both had very poor grouping in this gun.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By james from USA on 2012-07-20 21:01:43

    Things I liked:stock is nice
    Things I would have changed:scope sucks.and put a rag in stock to help with sound.
    What others should know:bad droop bad bad bad droop!!!!!!!
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Maura from USA on 2013-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:it is very very nice light weight and powerful. I got it out of the box and saw a bird.put in a CP HP and shot him dead in the head!!
      Things I would have changed:not much besides a better scope. but don't let that stop you from buying one
      What others should know:it is hard to cock at first but lightens up ALOT. not loud at all and has absolutely no recoil sometimes I barely know when it shoots!You should buy this if you like to hunt birds,squirrels, and rabbits!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By joe from USA on 2013-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First i'd like to say that this isn't the first gamo that I own. No difference from the other two, this thing shoot very straight, and I'm hitting targets at 50 plus yards that are a little less than 1.5 inches in size. I did put a 3x9x32 scope o it. The one that comes with it is ok for plinking, but if you really want to see what this is rifle can. do change the scope
      Things I would have changed:Supply with a better scope.
      What others should know:I have friends that have other brand, they have problems hitting what I can at the ranges that I am. To be fair I have problems hitting those same targets with their rifles.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2013-07-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted an air rifle that would shoot accurately from 30 to 50 yds. with some true knockdown power because I intend to hunt with this gun and not just shoot at targets. I read a LOT of reviews on guns from very moderately priced to the really expensive models. The Big Cat in .22 cal. with the nitro piston seemed well reviewed. I totally agree with the good reviews! I haven't shot enough pellets yet to really break in the gun, but I'm already getting tennis ball to golf ball sized groupings at 40 yds. With time and practice, I think I can get that kind of groupings at 50 yds. Most reviews hated the scope that came with the gun, but I've found it to be a pretty good scope so far. I had to tighten the screws a couple of times but now they seem to be staying tight. I have no complaints at all at this point. Accurate and hits really hard in the .22 cal. The synthetic stock works well for me because it's really tough and scratch resistant. Wood looks and feels great, but I'm happy with this stock. Really, it has done everything I wanted an air gun to do and at a price I thought was very reasonable.
      Things I would have changed:The gun clangs a little when shot, and I read that some kind of insulation in the stock would quiet it down a little, so I might try that. The trigger pull seems a little long, and I wish it was a lot shorter. It takes some getting used to. Also, the safety seems backwards to me. You push it away from you for "fire" and pull it back toward you for "safe". That seems backwards to me. It may be that way to keep you from actually pulling the trigger when you take it off safety, but perhaps a safety outside the trigger ring would be better.
      What others should know:I think this is a great gun for the money! I'm very happy with the purchase. My other gun is a multi-pump Benjamin, and I love it but the single cock barrel is sure easier, although it does take some effort to cock it. I Really like this gun!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chinnu from USA on 2012-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light-weight, price, power, accuracy, value. This rifle is the one I should have bought for my first spring rifle. Much less hold sensitive than my regular spring gun; once I found the sweet spot I could shoot accurately from any position. It's so light that off-hand shots are possible. The drilled scope stop is nice.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is, to put it nicely, useless. No real focus ring, background image is not very sharp, cross-hairs are not very sharp. Sell the gun without the scope for a lower price.
      What others should know:Great value! The gas ram version is slightly harder to cock, mostly right out of the box but gets better after 10-20 rounds. The hinge at the break is covered in some sort of grease, not sure what to make of it except that I cleaned off the area around the seal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2012-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This review may be a little early as I have only put a 100 or so pellets thru it. However, I love it. Accuracy is good, the scope sighted in OK after a little tweaking and gun quality is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:Open sights would be nice.
      What others should know:The nitro piston does well in the cold and is a definite plus with this rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By james from USA on 2012-07-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:stock is nice
      Things I would have changed:scope sucks.and put a rag in stock to help with sound.
      What others should know:bad droop bad bad bad droop!!!!!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Raymond from USA on 2012-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Got the .22 and very happy. Gun is light and very accurate. Doesn't take long to sight. My first shot hit a bird 40 yards away In a tree and he dropped 50ft like a stone. My second shot hit a rabbit in the neck and dropped him to. This is a one and done gun.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice for iron sights or at least a better scope for the money. A smooth trigger would be nice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Keith from USA on 2011-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my second Gamo Big Cat; the first was in .177 with the factor spring. This review is for the .22 with the Nitro Piston that I just received. First as it is overwhelming shown by past reviews the Gamo Big Cat is some serious value for the money. Fist it is accurate, second it is easy to cock for a magnum springer, and third it is light. It is just a great plinking and small game rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing with the gun; the scope that comes with it is pretty much disposable. However, I guess since it does not have iron sights, they have to ship something with it;) So, maybe a scope-less option for a few dollars less…
      What others should know:I mounted a Center Point Adventure Class scope on it (these scopes are a great value and seem to be well suited for a magnum springer; I have not had one fall apart yet). I sighted in at 15 yards (first zero point) with JSB Diabolo Exact 15.9 gr pellets. The average velocity with these pellets was 654 ft/s. I also tried CPs and RWS super dome, which both had and average velocity of 734. However, they both had very poor grouping in this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2011-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything weight,looks accuracy,this weapon has it all with the new nitro piston has made cocking these airguns alot easier.
      Things I would have changed:scope this weapon deserves a better scope
      What others should know:after years of having alot of airguns this has to be the best one yet if your looking to buy your first airgun this is the one to buy you wont be sorry ! make sure you buy the best air gun at the best airgun store pyramyd airguns best on the internet !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love the set up but the scope is not a 4x32 the scope that was sent to me is a 3-9x40 good scope
      Things I would have changed:i would put front and rear open sites on it fiber optic rear green front red
      What others should know:this is a must to have for small game or back yard shooting and for fun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clipboard from USA on 2011-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great power with the Nitro Piston. It's nice not expecting the Gamo spring to break (3 times so far). Accurate. Has some heft to it and makes my .22 look/feel like a toy. The slight increase in cocking effort is not that bad. Very fast shipping. And the free shipping offer was extra great.
      Things I would have changed:If the Big Cat had open sights it would be more flexible in use. Our targets vary from 10m to 40m distance. With the Nitro Piston there is a bit more noise than the spring-powered Gamos.
      What others should know:The best deal on accuracy/reliability available. But it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2011-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is fairly easy to cock and smooth shooting with the Nitro Piston.
      Things I would have changed:I would add open sights to this gun. The trigger travel was too long. It needs a shorter travel and to be more crisp at the point where the gun fires. I would add an adjustable comb so that the scope can line up with your eye better. The trigger also needs to be re-designed to fit your trigger finger better.
      What others should know:My gun was most accurate with the Crossman pointed hunting pellets. At 20 yards I could put 5 in a nickel size target. I tried Daisy pointed pellets, Beeman Crow Magnum hollow points and the Skenco heavy hollow points.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Squirrel Slayer from USA on 2010-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything about it!!! great on small game.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:i use gamo masterpoint pellets and they are great on small game.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful enough to kill rodents yet easy enough for an 8-9yr old to cock. The Nitro piston is a must, it takes the "BB-gun" feel out of it. The scope is adequate, unlike the scope offered with the Delta which was pure junk.
      Things I would have changed:Horrible trigger. The Delta has an awesome trigger (what we upgraded from) but no power to kill accept very short distances. The accuracy is great but with a better trigger this thing would be incredible! The trigger adjustment doesn't seem to do much, the creep is a mile long and effects accuracy.
      What others should know:Great gun for rodent elimination yet easy enough for a young boy to operate. Good quality, sturdy construction and materials.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ken from USA on 2009-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight but with aheavy cocking effort. MV= 1210fps with Gamo PBA Raptor, supersonic crack, very loud; CPHP 7.9 gr. = 980fps, much quieter and more accurate. CP Heavy Magnum 10.9gr. = 800fps very accurate. Seems to like the heavier pellets. Sweet gun and I would recommend.
      Things I would have changed:Delete the scope, This gun needs better optics and I would rather use my own scope of choice. Trigger, get the GRT III and the gun will be a winner.
      What others should know:Heavy cocking effort but worth the effort over a springer that hasn't been tuned, plus you can leave the gun cocked and loaded without hurting a spring. Change the scope and trigger to make this gun a dependable, accurate shooter. I like it!!!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By DENNIS from USA on 2009-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smoother than regular spring -- the gas piston eliminated the twang and should be more reliable (no spring to break)
      Things I would have changed:The Big Cat should come stock with a better scope. Also, initial quality is questionable -- my first Big Cat had a bent barrel and couldn't be sighted in. It was replaced under warranty.
      What others should know:The Gas Spring Destroyed the Big Cat's accuracy with lighter pellets (Crossman Premiers 7.9gr shot with ok accuracy before the conversion, but terrible afterwards). After the conversion the only pellets that this gun would shoot half way accurate were the JSB Heavies (10.2gr) and Kodiak Match (10.5gr)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By freakhub from USA on 2009-10-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i absolutly love this gun. Before i bought i was worried about the accuracy of a break barrel , but now that i been having it for 3 months i can say its very accurate. I borrowed one of my friends varmit hunter before deciding on the gas piston and that was the best thing for these break barrel gun. its so much more quiet than the spring piston and actually a smoother shot too.
      Things I would have changed:wouldnt change a thing.
      What others should know:get a gas piston. the besr 100 bucks you can spend.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ed from USA on 2009-09-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:lightweight easy to handle in the field nice stock good lock up
      Things I would have changed:like everybody say,s scope an trigger
      What others should know:the gas ram is nice but the cocking effort is tough . I upgraded the scope put in gold trigger. nice lightweight hunting rifle. vel 810 with premiers 10.5 for over 16lb,s energy with the gas ram the gun has no thang but there still alot of recoil. gun is still somewant hold sencetive . acurruary is there if hold it right. This gun hit,s very hard . lot of gun for the money. with the gas ram it,s takes a lot of power to cock lot more then quest or g-1. Ihaven,t shot a big cat with a spring people say there easy to cock with the gas ram it,s like 40lb still easy to do but not a all day shooter vel over 1000fps with hobbies 7.0 I would recommand this if you want hunting rifle that isn,t 22cal I can keep most groups under 1- 1-2 inches at 35 yards . my gun is pellet sentive. differrent pellets group well but point of impact changes .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ..... from USA on 2009-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great step up from the regular springs.
      Things I would have changed:MY dream come true would be to make the big cat in a .22 and still keep the same low price. i can guarentee you that so many more people would buy this product for a hunting use. this is something GAMO should definatly take into consideration. also keeping a high fps and making the .22 at 1000 fps
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Micah from USA on 2009-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love the big cat! very accurate and venturi reduces recoil and spring noise. easy to hear supersonic crack. hard to install.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:make sure you know how to install it!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top