Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo CFX Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Byronleehk from USA on 2007-08-20 22:24:00

    Things I liked:Accuracy! Accuracy! Accuracy! Not a heavy rifle but packs a lot of power (in .22)!
    Things I would have changed:I have removed the rear optic sights because I have installed a scope. Can't remove the front sight because it also acts as a retainer for the (under) cocking lever. Again with almost all Gamo rifles the 2-stage trigger is not so good. The loading port is kind of troublesome and needs a little practice to get use to.
    What others should know:A lot of gun for your money! At first I was not so impressed by the looks of it (specially the front sight/retainer) but I'm getting used to it now. I have a BIG scope installed to it (6x24-50 A/O) and loading the gun now requires a tweezer (but it's all good)! With the RWS Meisterkugeln Standard I'm getting .50" c-t-c @ 30 yards.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Greg from USA on 2009-04-07 17:43:25

    Things I liked:From mounting scope to accurate on 100 ft only took about a dozen shots.
    Things I would have changed:I dont like the fact you have to cock it to open the breech.If a pellet gets stuck the only way to see it or remove it is thru the end of a cocked gun.
    What others should know:I was looking a Whisper model but it clearly stated the scope was unmounted so I deceided on the CFX instead .Guess what the scope is unmounted on it to.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Anirudh from USA on 2011-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awe some finish, good bluing and feels real good when shouldered. This rifle is excellent for long range shooting, I have shot a very close group at 25 yards, and it shoots consistently. It is also not very loud and you can use for back yard plinking as well. All weather stock is good finish and different from wood, this material is less prone to scratches etc as compared to wood. Great job done by Fedex and Pyramyd air to ship this to India within 9-10 days, totally hassle free job, I had also purchased a Sumatra and a Beeman P17 when I was in the US from them, best folks for air gunners.
      Things I would have changed:Two things, one the scope is not really too good and tends to loosen up after 500 or so shots, also safety could have been automatic, yes one more, once cocked if the breech is open and safety off you can shoot it which is bad for the springs, seals etc, if the breech is open the rifle should not be able to take the trigger and not shoot at all.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scot from USA on 2011-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gun shoots Crosman Destroyers EX pellets dead on - 5 shots at 10 paces in the same hole smaller than a dime - no doubt a great purchase.
      Things I would have changed:I would have not gotten the Combo - would have rather (and I did) purchased my own scope and mount.
      What others should know:I put on a 40mm scope and a low mount so I took off the dove tail riser that came pre-mounted to this air rifle - scope sits right above the barrel and works perfectly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nikola from USA on 2010-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The firepower is amazing. Its strong and very accurate at a range. The top rail is suitable for many mounts, including red dot for some short range plinking. Cocking is light and the loading part is easy too. It looks sexy. I also have a CFX royal which is wood and not synthetic.
      Things I would have changed:Some room to mount a bipod for stable long range shots, problem is that you have to lift the gun up all the way to cock, so no stable position possible. Stand up its great and for field target too. Bad thing is the trigger creep, but thats a small mod to fix.
      What others should know:Adjustable trigger, nice feeling to hold and good weight. It is however also very loud and twangy. Find the right pellets for it or you will be spraying all over the place, my favorite rounds are the red fire from gamo. I get the closest groups in this gun with red fire pellets. Could be the weight of the pellet :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy this gun has been reported to have won pro competitions 3 times.Very accurate Ive hit targets at over 150 ft consistantly
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Fixed barrel works great.. very quiet due to muzzle ,looks like a real gun heavier than my 30-30 very good deal at this price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GamoStevo from USA on 2010-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate shooting sub half inch groups at 25 yards with 9x magnification. Easy to cock. No noticeable twang when fired. I love the size of the rifle, and the feel when holding it. I have about 2000 rounds through it, and it has no problems so far.
      Things I would have changed:Make a lighter trigger, and offer it without a scope.
      What others should know:I put the GRTIII trigger on it, and it is very easy to pull now. This results in my being able to hold alot more still resulting in an accurate shot. My CFX measured 860 fps with Crosman Premier Hollow Point 7.9gr Pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2010-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Accurate, fixed barrel air rifle. Recommend the Beeman Siver Arrow Pointed Pellet to provide accurate, hard-hitting ammo for nuisance critters.
      Things I would have changed:Changed out trigger with after-market trigger that provides feather-light trigger pull. Replaced dual mounts on scope with single mount for increased stability and resistance to recoil from spring shock.
      What others should know:Use a popsicle stick to seat pellets. The rounded shape and soft wood allow the seating of the pellet without damage to the pellet, with complete seating to prevent the tail of the pellet from being damaged as the chanber is closed. Use an empty 1 oz eye drop bottle to hold pellets. Soft plastic doesn't damage pellets, bottle opens with one hand, with dispensing of only one or two pellets. (Don't fill bottle too full... pellets may jam in neck.) Very heavy weapon... great for target or backyard shooting but might be tiresome for a field hunt.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Amin from USA on 2010-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy is nice for a spring air rifle,but it is for fixed barrel and high weight that cause to less vibration during release the spring beauty design balanced weight very good trigger system that you can find on mostly gamo models (i have 22 calibr with 3-9*40 bushnell scope)
      Things I would have changed:spring must change with other power systems some of plastic parts such as front barrel Stabilizer must be changed with other material such as aluminun alloys power is less than things that informations says!
      What others should know:i had shodow 1000 (gamo), diana 35 (rws), hunter 1250 (gamo) and ... it is (CFX) the best model per money you pay! if you want more accuracy or power, you must think about gas power rifle system such as walther 1250 dominator! need more information? hmaaaamh@yahoo.com
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jimmy from USA on 2010-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and solid.
      Things I would have changed:Loading pellets is a little tricky.
      What others should know:First thing I did was mount a better scope. This gun is extremely accurate. I got it to shoot squirrels that were getting into my attic. The pellet hits the squirrels exactly where I aim it. Usually at 10 to 15 meters. Powerful too. I have lost count of how many squirrels I have taken with it. I love it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cliff from USA on 2009-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:1. Fit and finish: The simple packaging belies the quality. No loose screws or panels and not over oily. There were no blemishes on the metal and the bluing is nice and even. 2. Accuracy: I've only had the rifle for 4 days so I'm still learning the hold and trigger action, but at 10 meters, I'm able to shoot into the same hole. At 40 yards, with attention to hold and trigger pull, I've been able to group 5 shots smaller than a dime with 7.9 Crosman Premiers. On average, I'm grouping around a nickel or so. 3. Power: Although I only shoot targets and plink, I really like the power this rifle packs. Out of curiosity, I shot a water filled dogfood can from 40 yards using 7.9 CP pellet. I placed a brick on top of the can so that all the pellet's energy would be captured on impact. When I shot the can, I heard a loud thud and saw a spray of water squirt out from under the brick and a trickle of water from the entry hole. I walked up to the can to retrieve and inspect the pellet, assuming it was captured by the water. To my amazement, the pellet had gone completely through, leaving a nice round exit hole. Since my yard is about 55 yards long (I have a surveyor's wheel and have measured the distance out) I'm going to try this at 50 yards next time, again, out of curiosity ;-)
      Things I would have changed:Like everyone else; the TRIGGER. As I have only had the rifle for four days as I write this review, I'm looking forward to the day it finally breaks in. I believe this fault is the only thing that keeps the CFX outside the circle of guns costing 3x as much. A better scope would be nice as this is a seriously accurate rifle.
      What others should know:Due to the bad trigger, it takes alot of control and muscle memory to squeeze out accurate shots consistently but it can be done. I only had a few RWS Superdomes and JSB Exacts left so I didn't get a chance to shoot them at 40 yds but did shoot them at 33 ft (10 meters) and was able to get 5 shot one hole groups with them. The CP 7.9's were able to group that well at that distance also. The scope rail that comes installed can be removed if you want to use the dovetail on the rifle itself. It takes a little persuasion with a small screwdriver but it pops right off. I have a high one piece mount installed on my 3x9-40 AO Leapers and the rail sets the scope a bit too high but sits just right when mounted to the dovetail on the rifle. In closing, I highly recommend the CFX to anyone who wants an accurate air rifle. I've had it for 4 days and just can't get enough of it. I want keep shooting it because I can feel it wants to shoot better than I can right now. With practice, patience, and the right pellet, it can shoot in the relm of rifles costing much, much more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Clarence from USA on 2009-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, easy to cock. After well over 2000 shots absolutely no problems. Fun and easy to shoot, nice looking. Shoots as good as any air gun we have. Fit and finish very good.
      Things I would have changed:The included scope is junk, buy it without a scope, buy a Gamo one piece mount and a decent scope. Trigger is heavy, I put a CDTIII trigger in it.
      What others should know:Mine seems to like Gamo hunters. The cheap Beeman coated hollowpoints from PA do a decent job, and make shooting very affordable. A little front heavy compared to the two break barrels we have. Takes a little time to master dropping the pellet in the breech, but but easily done. May not be an issue for most, but the gun takes considerably longer to load than a break barrel.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2009-07-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great accuracy with several different brands and weight of pellets the crossman premier 7.9 Gr and the rws club 10 7.0 Gr shoots the best easy to cock for me i think that the fixed barrel is the best way to go for the long run
      Things I would have changed:the trigger takes some getting use to needs a better trigger i am going to replace it with the Grt trigger needs a better scope had a hard time trying to sight in the gamo scope installed a daisy powerline got it sighted in with a few shots so far so good
      What others should know: the gun that i have will not shoot the stated velocity of 1200 fps with the pba and 1000fps with the lead pellets the best i can average with the pba is 1021 fps and the best average i got with lead pellets was 861.82 called Gamo they had me send the gun to them they had it from the 18th of march until the 1st of june when i finally got it back i averaged 1055.9 with the pba and 837.6 with the lead pellets contacted Gamo again they said that it was within factory specs when shipped back to me they gave me several different reasons why it would not shoot the stated velocity talking to customer service at gamo is like trying to talk to programed robots i am not very satisfied with my dealings with gamo i probably will not purchase any more gamo products there are a lot of other choices to consider
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2009-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to charge, accurate, well made, cost.
      Things I would have changed:I really do not like the breech. I feel "lucky" if I drop the pellet in there and it goes in nose first. You really have to "place" the ammo in it. The trigger leaves a bit to be desired but what do you expect for $200.
      What others should know:Well it is a bit heavy and the breech leaves a bit to be desired but dang this weapon is a solid and accurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul Winkelmann from USA on 2009-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to shoot a pretty tight group with cheap Crosman pellets. The scope that came with it, so far is fine.
      Things I would have changed:I would probably shoot it a whole lot quicker next time. It was in the box for nearly a year. You know you're way to busy when you're too busy to shoot a new gun!
      What others should know:We remove problem wildlife for a living, so this air rifle will actually be put to use on something beside paper and tin cans.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Greg from USA on 2009-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:From mounting scope to accurate on 100 ft only took about a dozen shots.
      Things I would have changed:I dont like the fact you have to cock it to open the breech.If a pellet gets stuck the only way to see it or remove it is thru the end of a cocked gun.
      What others should know:I was looking a Whisper model but it clearly stated the scope was unmounted so I deceided on the CFX instead .Guess what the scope is unmounted on it to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Larry from USA on 2009-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:CFX .177--Good, solid feel, well-balanced. Cocks easily. Got back into shooting with this gun... hadn't shot air since a kid, now 60. Sighted it in with about 20 cautious shots, can now put shots into dime or nickel at 45-60 feet. Nice shock-absorbing butt pad and well-designed check rest and grips. Going with the fixed barrel was the way to go... should really show its stuff over time while other break-barrels wear at pivot points. Others were right about this gun's accuracy... well worth the dough. Fun gun!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Good gun. A little nicer scope would be nice, but not at the cost of a lesser rifle. Though there's a lot of talk about Gamo triggers, I loosened this one to the max and it became a different gun... can now squeeze them off smoothly. Probably will go with custom trigger some time since people rave about it but now I feel I can live with it easily.
      What others should know:Loves RWS Superdomes. Clean ammo, loads precisely, shoots consistently with super accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TnF Outdoors from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is great! I bought this from a friend who already had it sighted in and I cant miss the target , same spot every time i shoot. I have shot break barrels and i think that fixed barrel is the way to go.
      Things I would have changed:Do something about the pellet breech i have big fingers and once in a while the pellets won't set right so always have a small knife to help set the pellet.
      What others should know:I took this out rabbit hunting yesterday, i was truly amazed at the take down power. We shot 5 rabbits ranging from 20yds to 47yds all with one shot kills..Amazing!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hollington from USA on 2009-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. Power. Scope is OK but you'll probably need a more powerful scope for longer distance shooting (40+ yds).
      Things I would have changed:A better trigger would be nice but the trigger is OK for now. Will upgrade to the GRT III trigger after a few hundred more rounds.
      What others should know:The Gamo Match pellets shoot GREAT and are cheap! The best ones, however, are the JSB Exacts (8.4 gr).
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lisa from USA on 2009-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. Nicely built and finished. Good amount of power.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is typical gamo, but is easily upgradable with a GRT trigger.
      What others should know:The fixed barrell really makes a difference in accuracy. Cocking force is nice and light for the power it delivers. I put a better scope on mine. The one that comes with it isn't horrible, but I put it on one of my older guns that I use less often.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2008-11-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ACCURACY and POWER! Well made, and cocking force is surprisingly low for a gun of this power.
      Things I would have changed:The scope that comes in the combo is junk. For a rifle this accurate and powerful, Gamo really should have mounted a better scope.
      What others should know:Save the 20 bucks and buy it w/o the scope. I mounted a Leapers 4-16x50 illuminated to take advantage of this gun' range and accuracy. I also had Pyramyd install a gas spring, and have to say that it made a big difference.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2008-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Brianag618: I own a GAmo Whisper and a RWS Diana 34 both break barrels. This is my first fixed barrel Air Gun and it is nothing less then fantastic. I like the fact that it is more like a real weapon and has a great feel to it.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo needs to come up with a much better rear sight not only for the CFX but for all their line of Air rifles. The sight is designed very poorly and at full adjustment it comes up short and will not stay locked in
      What others should know:The CFX is a heavy gun to hold, it is in no way a light weight to handle. It shoots extreamly well, esp if you install the after market GRTlll trigger. The ammo loading port could be just a little bigger for thouse of use with large fingers, it is just a little tight for us.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top