Date: 9/2/2016 4:47

Gamo Compact Target Pistol reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By bymerakli from USA on 2009-06-16 16:57:24

Things I liked: Everything, light weight and perfect accuracy

Things I would have changed: Only grips different but not bad...holding is very comfortable and easy.

What others should know: I wish that the piston has more powerful than 600 fps

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Ted from USA on 2015-11-08 19:17:53

Things I liked: The weight of the pistol is good and the wooden grips are nice as well. Ease of use cocking and loading are getting better with more shots fired. The trigger function is smooth and crisp with not much effort. Overall construction of the pistol is good.

Things I would have changed: The sights are not going to work out for 10 meter shooting,should have a rail that can accept a scope or red dot sight. The trigger is not to match grade standards but is ok for an entry level gun. Gamo should have done some upgrades before reintroducing this gun. Giving three stars because of the rail system design.

What others should know: For an entry level pistol the quality is good. The price point isn't bad for what you get. I might go for the Beeman in my opinion.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert A. from USA on 2016-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Balance in grip is pretty good. Had to modify wood grip for my hand, fits like a glove now. Trigger pull was tested and broke at about 3.25 lbs. Easy to cock piston. Not an Olympic Pistol, but a very good starter with-out costing a VERY PRETTY PENNY. Rear sight is awesome. Three way adjustability, vertical, horizontal, as well as opening width is commendable. First stage trigger adjustment is good. Trigger blade adjustment is very nice.

    Things I would have changed: Difficult to load pellets. Chamber is tight and after a while of loading pellets, hurts finger/thumb. Had to make a tool to help push pellets into chamber so that the skirt would not come in contact with seal and become deformed. Out of box accuracy could be a little better. I know that there is a break-in period and I haven't gotten there yet. Barrel needs to swabbed out every 10 or so rounds to get a tighter group. Loads up with lead. Going to try cleaning pellets to help cut down dirt and debris build-up in bore.Trigger adjustment to bring it down to at least 2 lbs. would be nice.

    What others should know: Start out at 5 meters until you start getting a tighter group. If you start at a farther distance you could miss your target and you could become depressed because of wide grouping.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a relatively serious 10 meter target pistol, unless you want to pay much, much more. I like everything about it...performance-wise and looks-wise. It comes in a handy plastic, padded interior carry case. The trigger is "easy" enough for me, especially compared to my Crosman P1377 American Classic.

    Things I would have changed: The instruction booklet that I got with the gun is a joke. It gives you the BARE essentials (cocking, loading, adjusting sights), but NOTHING on grip adjustment, "do and don't" tips relative to this particular gun, or simple care, such as lubrication areas. Check out Pyramyd "Airgun Academy" Gamo Compact reports for some of this info.

    What others should know: If you just want to "plink" (nothing wrong with that) a less costly pistol will do. If you want a pistol that will test your skill (you can't "blame" this gun for much), give it a try. It may be your first step to serious competitive shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great pistol. It's very accurate, easy to use, and mine loves 7 to 8 gram pellets. Comes with a hard case and a tin of pellets. Buy it you won't be disappointed.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would change is the sights. Not that they aren't good but they are tough to see. TruGlo maybe.

    What others should know: If you want to make that extra step towards a true competition gun. I have heard it can be used for beginning competitions but haven't tried it for that yet.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By hugh from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is great, it's every thing that it's cracked up to be. Trigger pull is better after moly lube on the contact point on sear.

    Things I would have changed: Put a dove tail on the top of the slide for a red/green dot sight for older shooters.

    What others should know: Great gun for the price

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ted from USA on 2015-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The weight of the pistol is good and the wooden grips are nice as well. Ease of use cocking and loading are getting better with more shots fired. The trigger function is smooth and crisp with not much effort. Overall construction of the pistol is good.

    Things I would have changed: The sights are not going to work out for 10 meter shooting,should have a rail that can accept a scope or red dot sight. The trigger is not to match grade standards but is ok for an entry level gun. Gamo should have done some upgrades before reintroducing this gun. Giving three stars because of the rail system design.

    What others should know: For an entry level pistol the quality is good. The price point isn't bad for what you get. I might go for the Beeman in my opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Glad Gamo is making this again , wanted one years ago and never got it. This is much easier to charge than other single pump pistols I have. Wieght and site pic are great ,as is accuracy. Feels better in my hand than my FWB 65.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. For the price and performance you can't beat it.

    What others should know: This comes in its own case with a tin of Gamo pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-09-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sight picture,Balance, accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Loading Port, I think Id make it a upper o fingers could readily access it.

    What others should know: A Big one shoot before you adjust it. It will surprise you. It may seem heavy BUT remember this is a target pistol. It is great value for the money.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger is good and the gun balances well. I found it to be very accurate right out of the box with the Gamo pellets that came with it.

    Things I would have changed: Rear sight notch is too narrow for my geezer eyes, but that will be an easy fix.

    What others should know: Worth way more than I paid for it. Also Pyramyd's service is superb. The was packed like they thought an Elephant was going to sit on it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bradley from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quality build, accurate, almost no recoil, trigger breaks clean. Wood grips are made for bigger hands but can be sanded down for smaller hands and custom fit.

    Things I would have changed: I painted the back of the front sight white for better visibility. My biggest complaint is that the loading is blind and the barrel has no loading area to drop the pellet into so it some searching is required and it is not the fastest loading it.

    What others should know: This is a target pistol and not a hunting pistol. Stop complaining about velocity. Only the uniformed complain about an accurate 10 meter pistol being to slow. It does everything it is supposed to do. I me have only used 2 pellets so far Gamo Match 7.7 fits very loose and is less accurate, Crosman Premier 7.9 hollowpoint are much tighter fit into the barrel and also more accurate. Using a rest at 5 meters I can put 5 shots into one large hole. To cock it is best to hold your hand up against the rear sight for best leverage(simply put easier). If your hand is only a inch or so forward it requires much more force.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carroll from USA on 2015-08-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I've had one of these for over 15 years and it's still going strong. I'm left-handed, and, at the time, this was one of the few air pistols offered with a LH grip, so I snagged it. I'm not sure if there's still a LH version available, though. This pistol is fairly light and is well balanced; accurate, even with cheap pellets; quiet; and the grip can be reshaped and adjusted to suit the user. The sights are adjustable and seem to be pretty precise and the cocking force is not very heavy. Loading takes a bit of getting used to--it's easy to be fumble-fingered with it initially, but once you get the muscle memory down, it's not bad at all. The trigger shoe adjusts nicely to the left or right, overtravel adjustment is easy, and the letoff is predictable.

    Things I would have changed: When I got it, the trigger pull was long and a bit gritty, that's because this pistol's sear is made of stacked steel stampings. I stoned the sear surface a hair, put a dab of moly lube on, and that helped a lot. I fixed the long trigger pull by epoxying a piece of steel to the back side of the sear, which shortened up the sear engagement. After that, the trigger was pretty well where I wanted it, so I was happy. It would be ideal if the pistol had an adjustable trigger pull and sear engagement to go with the adjustable overtravel and trigger shoe, but if you have any mechanical ability whatsoever, you can do a decent trigger job on this gun.

    What others should know: When I bought this, I did so primarily because I was shooting long range (50 meters to 200 meters) handgun metallic silhouette competition and needed a way to keep in practice during the winter. It's been great for that, has held up very well over the years I've owned it, and I was able to get the trigger adjusted to the way I liked it easily enough, although not as easily as if it were made adjustable by the factory. Using an air pistol to practice is a great and inexpensive way to keep good form and follow-through for competing with cartridge pistols.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthieu G. from USA on 2010-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Low weight. Predictable trigger although a bit hard to pull. Excellent fully adjustable sights (not only windage and elevation but also WIDTH, very useful). Precharged = no recoil or vibration = remarquable accuracy. It is second to none if you handle it properly (I also own a competition Morini and I this is a fair jugement). I have read comments about a relative lack of the power that are not relevant to me: it is perfect for its purpose: being an ideal entry pistol for ten-meter competition. (Pellets tend to be less stable when approaching sound speed, lowing accuracy).

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is not fully adjustable: it only rotates. It could be lighter as previously stated. Grips are nice but could be a problem for small hands.

    What others should know: Well worth the money. Mine has shot thousands of pellets and accuracy is still very consistent. Maybe the price will drop in the USA together with the value of the Euro, now close to the USD. The patern of this Gamo pistol is based on the Italian FAS AP 604 legendary model (it has been a 10 meter competition pistol in its time), that you can still find in Europe, although it is quite expensive compared to more modern pistols. Gamo could have found a worse model.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bymerakli from USA on 2009-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything, light weight and perfect accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Only grips different but not bad...holding is very comfortable and easy.

    What others should know: I wish that the piston has more powerful than 600 fps

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Duane from USA on 2008-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.03 ratings

    Things I liked: grip feels great, nice finish, sites easy to dial in, light weight

    Things I would have changed: I understand it is an entry level match pistol but a safety seems a neccessary item, other than that gun is great as it is

    What others should know: made for big hands, my paws grip it nicely but smaller hands and kids might not take to it so well, pellets a little difficult to load at first but once you get the hang of it they go like clockwork. feels like an exotic and once sighted in you can keep it in a 1/4" group. quiet and worth the money...

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By MichaelA. from USA on 2008-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good performer with damn good accuracy. Good over all gun for the money, & you'd be hard pressed to find a better gun for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Better trigger.

    What others should know: Spend the extra few bucks & get the IZH 46M Match pistol by IZH-Baikal !

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2008-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: At the time I bought mine the IZH/Baikal guns weren't available, so it was the only "target" pistol in this price class. As mentioned by the previous reviewer the sights are very good, although the muzzle light balance is not to my taste. This gun shoots very well despite its stamped steel and plastic construction. The grips are very comfortable and make a consistent hold easy to achieve.

    Things I would have changed: The gun performs well initially, but problems start to crop up after extended use; The entire lockwork is housed in the plastic butt, this leads to problems when the cover plate starts cracking :P The hammer and sear are made of laminated sheet steel, this makes for very poor mating surfaces on the sear (poor trigger feel) I reground the mating surfaces, but was never fully satisfied with the result. The trigger adjustment screw (really just an over-travel limiter) is set into the plastic frame and if over tightened cracks the frame. The top of the receiver (combined cocking lever and barrel) is plastic and the barrel eventually loosens from it (can be shimmed easily though).

    What others should know: All the criticism aside mine has shot *thousands* of rounds and still functions pretty well! I can honestly say that it has given me my moneys worth and then some. I've read that the IZH has some valve/gasket issues, the valve seal on my "compact" is just now ready for replacement 10+ years and 5000+ shots later....the power plant seal and breech seal are still fine!

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2007-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice wood grip. Trigger is ok. Trigger blade rotates but the adjustment force is fixed. Nearly infinite adjustment for rear blade opening on sight. Light weight, easy to hold.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like overlever cocking. A bit underpowered, it tears target paper.

    What others should know: Can't compete with IZH-46M. The trigger is that much better on the IZH. But the IZH's heavier weight and forward balance can be a problem.

Navigation