Gamo Compact reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

3.5 (6 reviews)
Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By bymerakli from USA on 2009-06-16 16:57:24

Things I liked: Everything, light weight and perfect accuracy

Things I would have changed: Only grips different but not bad...holding is very comfortable and easy.

What others should know: I wish that the piston has more powerful than 600 fps

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:4.0

By MichaelA. from USA on 2008-02-09 05:24:38

Things I liked: Good performer with damn good accuracy. Good over all gun for the money, & you'd be hard pressed to find a better gun for the price.

Things I would have changed: Better trigger.

What others should know: Spend the extra few bucks & get the IZH 46M Match pistol by IZH-Baikal !

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthieu G. from USA on 2010-06-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Low weight. Predictable trigger although a bit hard to pull. Excellent fully adjustable sights (not only windage and elevation but also WIDTH, very useful). Precharged = no recoil or vibration = remarquable accuracy. It is second to none if you handle it properly (I also own a competition Morini and I this is a fair jugement). I have read comments about a relative lack of the power that are not relevant to me: it is perfect for its purpose: being an ideal entry pistol for ten-meter competition. (Pellets tend to be less stable when approaching sound speed, lowing accuracy).

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is not fully adjustable: it only rotates. It could be lighter as previously stated. Grips are nice but could be a problem for small hands.

    What others should know: Well worth the money. Mine has shot thousands of pellets and accuracy is still very consistent. Maybe the price will drop in the USA together with the value of the Euro, now close to the USD. The patern of this Gamo pistol is based on the Italian FAS AP 604 legendary model (it has been a 10 meter competition pistol in its time), that you can still find in Europe, although it is quite expensive compared to more modern pistols. Gamo could have found a worse model.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By bymerakli from USA on 2009-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything, light weight and perfect accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Only grips different but not bad...holding is very comfortable and easy.

    What others should know: I wish that the piston has more powerful than 600 fps

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Duane from USA on 2008-03-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.03 ratings

    Things I liked: grip feels great, nice finish, sites easy to dial in, light weight

    Things I would have changed: I understand it is an entry level match pistol but a safety seems a neccessary item, other than that gun is great as it is

    What others should know: made for big hands, my paws grip it nicely but smaller hands and kids might not take to it so well, pellets a little difficult to load at first but once you get the hang of it they go like clockwork. feels like an exotic and once sighted in you can keep it in a 1/4" group. quiet and worth the money...

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By MichaelA. from USA on 2008-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good performer with damn good accuracy. Good over all gun for the money, & you'd be hard pressed to find a better gun for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Better trigger.

    What others should know: Spend the extra few bucks & get the IZH 46M Match pistol by IZH-Baikal !

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2008-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: At the time I bought mine the IZH/Baikal guns weren't available, so it was the only "target" pistol in this price class. As mentioned by the previous reviewer the sights are very good, although the muzzle light balance is not to my taste. This gun shoots very well despite its stamped steel and plastic construction. The grips are very comfortable and make a consistent hold easy to achieve.

    Things I would have changed: The gun performs well initially, but problems start to crop up after extended use; The entire lockwork is housed in the plastic butt, this leads to problems when the cover plate starts cracking :P The hammer and sear are made of laminated sheet steel, this makes for very poor mating surfaces on the sear (poor trigger feel) I reground the mating surfaces, but was never fully satisfied with the result. The trigger adjustment screw (really just an over-travel limiter) is set into the plastic frame and if over tightened cracks the frame. The top of the receiver (combined cocking lever and barrel) is plastic and the barrel eventually loosens from it (can be shimmed easily though).

    What others should know: All the criticism aside mine has shot *thousands* of rounds and still functions pretty well! I can honestly say that it has given me my moneys worth and then some. I've read that the IZH has some valve/gasket issues, the valve seal on my "compact" is just now ready for replacement 10+ years and 5000+ shots later....the power plant seal and breech seal are still fine!

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2007-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice wood grip. Trigger is ok. Trigger blade rotates but the adjustment force is fixed. Nearly infinite adjustment for rear blade opening on sight. Light weight, easy to hold.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like overlever cocking. A bit underpowered, it tears target paper.

    What others should know: Can't compete with IZH-46M. The trigger is that much better on the IZH. But the IZH's heavier weight and forward balance can be a problem.

Navigation