Date: 1/7/2016 22:40
0

Gamo PT-85 Blowback Tactical Air Pistol reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Wayne from Canada on 2011-12-31 14:50:02

Things I liked: I like the power and it is accurate. With ordinary average 7gr pellets it doesn't even make the 500ft/sec mark, shoots about 40ft/s faster than my CP88 comp.

Things I would have changed: I would stop advertising it as a 560ft/s gun because it isn't unless you use the lightest pellet you can find 4gr or so

What others should know: My Walther / Umarex Cp88 Competition fires those pellets at (PBA Platinum ) @ 560 ft/s. I looked on your website a while back ( anything on website can be changed in seconds ) amd was impressed by your claim of 560ft/s I am am Engineer and looked all over the sites at that time, well over a month ago( as did others ) to find out what what pellet was used in the tests to come up with you 560/ft/s. and could find no information on the website what pellet was used. Like I said my CP88 shoots lightweight pellets at well over 500Ft/s so if a lightweight pellet was used to make your 560ft/s I would not be interested in buying it as my Walther has a 6 inch barrel and your PT85 has over 12 inches of barrel and doesn't shoot that much faster. So with my engineering background I figure the greater velocity was due to the increase ( over 6 inches ) in barrel length which made sense to me. Just to make sure I emailed the shop I bought it from and asked them about it and they told me they don't test the guns and I should contact Gamo if I wanted the information. I contacted GamoUSA and recieved this message "All our guns are tested with a standard 7-8 gr. pellet" which has proved to be a bald faced lie, possibly intended to make a sale as I explained why I wanted to know.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Ron from USA on 2016-04-11 08:43:27

Things I liked: When I saw this gun and did the research both on Google and Youtube I was very impressed with the accuracy and what you received for the price you paid. I received my shipment on time and in full however there was an issue with the gun when I received it. I returned this product for new one and there was no issue with the return and sending out the product. The original product I received had a serious issue with the red dot sight as there was an o-ring inside the scope housing that was not seeded properly and in turn was blocking the view through the scope...rendering it totally useless. I called customer service to see if I could send just the scope back however I had to return everything. After waiting a week for the replacement I received another complete package and when inspecting the product discovered that I was sent another defective product with the same issue. Very discouraging because I know I will have to send the whole thing back again.

Things I would have changed: When I called customer service to discuss the issues I had to leave a message and I would get a call back very quickly (it took 11 days to get this returned call). When I called back and tried to talk to different department to see what to do the only answered I ever received from the product support department was to fill out the return form for return authorization. I will say this was very quick and thought that maybe the original problem I has with the o-ring was a one off....I was mistaken and now I'm waiting for a new return authorization to return this for the second and last time or I will ask for my money back. I would also ask that if a return is made for a certain product defect and another is sent out to the customer please inspect it. Nothin worse than valued customers running into the same issue because according to your return policy the whole package has to be sent back.

What others should know: Be aware of this issue before you buy this product...very frustrating because I have good money tied up in this and I want it to be right. Once I receive the proper package with all products working than I will be more than happy to add to this review. Good luck everyone and ask questions. I did insert a picture of the issue for reference.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2016-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It provides all reasonable bells and whistles anyone can imagine, perhaps too many, but I'm glad to have them, easily adaptable for other airguns. The coolest physical feature, the "wow factor", for this gun is its pseudo-silencer. The gun has numerous metal parts, most importantly, a forge rail on the underside of the barrel, in front of the trigger guard.

    Things I would have changed: What I did to the weapons, I bought 2, was remove the external rail system attached to the gun from the factory. Reviewers are correct the outer rail system does vibrate, however, I removed it (radical solution). Remember, there is a forge rail, I now add whichever addon floats my boat and presto you have a great gun for a great price. I just don't understand how they make a profit. I would include a parts list and diagram for maintenance, disassembly / reassembly.

    What others should know: In the laser housing, stretch the battery contact spring about 1/2 cm, to secure the contact point for the batteries. Not to do so could result in the laser shutting off in the middle of shooting, not a big deal once I figured it out. Buy extra clips, pellets, targets and CO2 cartridges. Once your friends come over the guns will be a source of unending fun. Personally I took one gun and attached the red laser, the other with the tactical light attachment.

  • 1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Ron from USA on 2016-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I saw this gun and did the research both on Google and Youtube I was very impressed with the accuracy and what you received for the price you paid. I received my shipment on time and in full however there was an issue with the gun when I received it. I returned this product for new one and there was no issue with the return and sending out the product. The original product I received had a serious issue with the red dot sight as there was an o-ring inside the scope housing that was not seeded properly and in turn was blocking the view through the scope...rendering it totally useless. I called customer service to see if I could send just the scope back however I had to return everything. After waiting a week for the replacement I received another complete package and when inspecting the product discovered that I was sent another defective product with the same issue. Very discouraging because I know I will have to send the whole thing back again.

    Things I would have changed: When I called customer service to discuss the issues I had to leave a message and I would get a call back very quickly (it took 11 days to get this returned call). When I called back and tried to talk to different department to see what to do the only answered I ever received from the product support department was to fill out the return form for return authorization. I will say this was very quick and thought that maybe the original problem I has with the o-ring was a one off....I was mistaken and now I'm waiting for a new return authorization to return this for the second and last time or I will ask for my money back. I would also ask that if a return is made for a certain product defect and another is sent out to the customer please inspect it. Nothin worse than valued customers running into the same issue because according to your return policy the whole package has to be sent back.

    What others should know: Be aware of this issue before you buy this product...very frustrating because I have good money tied up in this and I want it to be right. Once I receive the proper package with all products working than I will be more than happy to add to this review. Good luck everyone and ask questions. I did insert a picture of the issue for reference.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Especially like the blowback feature, clip insertion, feel of the gun in your hand and reasonably good accuracy. I disagree with many of the negative comments about this gun. For the money, it is a fun pistol and is providing me with many hours of fun. Mounted a Center Point 2.5 pistol scope which improved my accuracy up to 45'.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger adjustment and overall tightening of the barrel. If this were done I feel that the accuracy would be greatly improved at greater distances. Also the clip pellet holes need to be stronger for a tighter fit of the pellet as using both sides of the clip will almost always result in a jam when the clip is flipped.

    What others should know: Get extra clips and use only one side for loading pellets. When both sides of the clip are loaded the blowback will loosen the pellets and a jam will result when the clip is flipped. The JSB RS Diabolo has proven to give the best results with both accuracy and lack of jams. Out of a 500 pellet can, I had 1 jam, which was easy to clear. The maximum accurate shots from one cartridge is 48. After that accuracy falls of rapidly.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2015-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When this gun works correctly,it is a lot of fun . accurate,powerful and good use of CO2.

    Things I would have changed: adjustable trigger, improve magazine,offer non-blowback, more stable rail

    What others should know: Even with all its flaws, this gun is a kick. It WILL jam from time to time . I have already found that doomed pellets jam much less often.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Don from USA on 2014-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a nice gun it has good weight and feel has a lot of power for the money plus a good quality gun.

    Things I would have changed: Have a option to change out barrel.

    What others should know: Buy a lot of c02s its a lot of fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alex from Moldova on 2013-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Extremely nice design. I don't understand why some other people are complaining. This gun has everything. I love how heavy this gun feels in my hand and with the blowback added to it, that's just amazing. The loudness of this gun should be changed to 2-3 (low-medium) as it really is quiet compared to other CO2 based .177 airguns. What else I love about this gun is the extremely good accuracy thanks to its low recoil and the very smooth trigger, and I've owned several different CO2 guns to say that.

    Things I would have changed: The only thing I would like is being able to fire bullets as well. This gun is capable of only firing pellets, but personally, this is not really a big deal.

    What others should know: You really get what you pay for, which is: accuracy, power = fun !

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Victor from USA on 2013-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking gun but over all quality stops there.

    Things I would have changed: Build quality. I don't think it would be that hard to make the barrel and rail more stable.

    What others should know: If you want to shred soda cans this is the fun gun for you! But that's about as far as it goes. Sadly most of the comments posted here are correct.I've purchased 3 of these and returned all. For a plinker I could even accept the flimsy rail but on each one the barrel was loose or eventually became loose after a short while. Still, if you're willing to accept a 1 1/2 to 2 inch group it is fun to shoot.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Charles from USA on 2012-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The gun itself is solid. and shoots repeatably.

    Things I would have changed: GAMO's customer service. I sent an e-mail regarding only receiving 2 of the 3 batteries required for the laser sight, and included my return address. They replied with my original e-mail attached saying that they wouldn't do anything without a copy of the order showing it had been purchased within 30 days, and to provide a return address as well as a description of the problem. I replied with a copy of the paperwork t, restated the problem noting that it was the same as in my previous e-mail, and included my mailing address again. I also mentioned that the optical sight lacked enough vertical adjustment to fully sight it in; I haven't received a response since.

    What others should know: The optical sight lacks sufficient vertical adjustment; at 15 feet the impact can be adjusted from 2" low to about 10" low. The quad-rail mount is weakly mounted and flexes easily.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Darin from USA on 2012-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very Good looking Gun

    Things I would have changed: The Rail System is a joke. It is mounted on the front of the main frame which is molded plastic and flexes like it was made from rubber. The entire rail system is so unstable I don't know how anyone can get any repeatability. Just look thru the sight and push your finger ever so gently on the system and it moves all over the place. If I were a Gamo Engineer I would mount the system to the internal metal frame otherwise it is not worth having. The Red Dot scope is not a dot!..it is an array of dots and they don't even make a tight circle. Mine looks like crap. laser is pathetic, at 50 feet it lights up a 6 inch spot.Just being brutally honest.

    What others should know: Don't waste your money. The gun might be good without all the crap accessories. Just buy a stripped down PT-85 i guess.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wayne from Canada on 2011-12-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the power and it is accurate. With ordinary average 7gr pellets it doesn't even make the 500ft/sec mark, shoots about 40ft/s faster than my CP88 comp.

    Things I would have changed: I would stop advertising it as a 560ft/s gun because it isn't unless you use the lightest pellet you can find 4gr or so

    What others should know: My Walther / Umarex Cp88 Competition fires those pellets at (PBA Platinum ) @ 560 ft/s. I looked on your website a while back ( anything on website can be changed in seconds ) amd was impressed by your claim of 560ft/s I am am Engineer and looked all over the sites at that time, well over a month ago( as did others ) to find out what what pellet was used in the tests to come up with you 560/ft/s. and could find no information on the website what pellet was used. Like I said my CP88 shoots lightweight pellets at well over 500Ft/s so if a lightweight pellet was used to make your 560ft/s I would not be interested in buying it as my Walther has a 6 inch barrel and your PT85 has over 12 inches of barrel and doesn't shoot that much faster. So with my engineering background I figure the greater velocity was due to the increase ( over 6 inches ) in barrel length which made sense to me. Just to make sure I emailed the shop I bought it from and asked them about it and they told me they don't test the guns and I should contact Gamo if I wanted the information. I contacted GamoUSA and recieved this message "All our guns are tested with a standard 7-8 gr. pellet" which has proved to be a bald faced lie, possibly intended to make a sale as I explained why I wanted to know.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matt from USA on 2011-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Built well, has good feel to it. Blow action back is realistic. Longer barrels equals more fps and better accuracy. Picatinny mounts. 16 round clips (8 on each end). Consistent co2 velocity thru first few 16 round clips. Descent shot count per co2 considering its blow back.

    Things I would have changed: Front wanna be silencer is heavy.

    What others should know: FPS 5 shot avg chrony results, about 70-72 degrees: H&N trophy green= 533, skenco blue arrow= 517, H&N barracuda green 6.48gr= 485, jsb exact rs 7.33gr= 449, jsb exact 8.44gr= 446. I'd recommend using either the H&N trophy green pellets at 5.56gr or the jsb exacts at 8.44gr.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reginald from USA on 2011-12-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I love the power and wicked sighting...between the infared red dot and laser scope she's beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: Full auto would be off the chains.

    What others should know: Make sure your red dot and scope are properly aligned, keep good batteries handy and plenty of Co2 and ammo w/clips

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a good looking and powerful CO2 Pistol. The first one had a leak and after testing a couple of cartridges (emptied within about 4 hours) i contacted Pyramid Air. These guys rock, everything was arranged for an exchange with a couple of emails and a week later i had the new one at my door. Thanks PA for your level of customer care. As for the gun, good weight and balance, great power and overall well worth the price. Have a BSA red dot on it which is a perfect fit for both size and looks and because of the large diameter, offers an exceptionally clear view. If you want a nice target pistol but are not prepared for a 2300T (which is also a great product) then this is well worth the investment.

    Things I would have changed: the rails are a little bit wobbly and would benefit from a tighter fit. you can only screw the bolts so far before stressing the plastic. Should have 2 pellet cartridges from the start. I am sure people still will buy more.

    What others should know: Pellet picky but once you get things organized and settled, a very steady target pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2011-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice looking, can mount scopes, lasers and flashlight

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is a very powerful pistol. @ 560 FPS. Use a very strong pellet trap with this gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2011-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am very happy with it. Love the high velocity. I bought this one rather than the tactical version because it was almost $100 cheaper. I had no use for the little flashlight that comes with the tactical version. I bought a dot sight and laser separately for about $30.

    Things I would have changed: The magnets in the rotary clips in the magazine don't seem to hold BB's very well. The BB that's exposed (the last BB to be loaded) falls out. I would recommend using stronger magnets.

    What others should know: The fake suppressor makes the front end of the gun heavy, so you want to support it somehow to make your aim steadier. The blow-back function uses up a significant amount of CO2.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2011-09-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: i like the blow back feature on it i like the power i like the look of it as well

    Things I would have changed: i would make the guns build quality better because it's great and all i love this gun but it has broke on me twice.i would not make the customer pay for shipping to send the gun to gamo and send it back it's 10 bucks twice because i had send it back twice it should have never broke in the first place and then not including postal charges.

    What others should know: sooner or later it's gonna break mine the gun at first would drop the magazine while firing and it would fire then i was unable to put the magazine back in it because i guess it was the seal behind the barrel pushed a piece of metal back that would lock or hold the mag in,second problem i sent it back to gamo they said they fixed i shot it a once after it was fixed it broke AGAIN so i looked in the breach the same thing i sent it in for was happening again so i got little screw diver pushed it back in and it worked for a while then the gun would fire 2 or 3 pellets and that it it left 6 to 5 in the mag so i sent back again and waiting to hear what their gonna do now

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christian from USA on 2011-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good velocity. Semi-auto. Clean, quality design for price. Integrated bottom rail, independent of the add-on quad rail. Accurate enough for my purposes.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe allow blowback to be disabled. Jams are not too hard to remedy, but the literature doesn't seem to describe as much.

    What others should know: I removed the quad rail, and just use a Walther Night Force Laser/Light on the inherent bottom rail, so the SOCOM unit would have been a better value, for me. The unit will not function with Gamo lead-free, long-skirted pellets (the copper colored ones). Wadcutter-shaped pellets don't seem to feed too well, either, so stick with domed or pointed pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2011-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Heft,Sights,able to shoot both BB's and Pellets.

    Things I would have changed: At this price point nothing that I can find.

    What others should know: I have 5 pistols now and this and the px4 Beretta are my favorites. Buy it you wont be sorry. PA is just great People to work with and to buy from. You will have no worries with backup from them should you have questions or problems. Oh and buy an extra mag and lots of CO2. Have fun and shoot safe.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jhmtfly from USA on 2011-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well built, good power for first few shots. Great groups!!

    Things I would have changed: Metal scope mount. Was disapointed to find it was a poly type material worried it might break getting beat around in truck. Might look away from full blow back design to help with air usage.

    What others should know: Clips don't hold pelets very tight so just be aware if they are in your pocket.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Richard from USA on 2011-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice looking, blowback feature is pretty cool. Seems to be a nice powerful pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Very disappointed with the condition of the packaging. It seemed like the gun had been opened previously; not a big deal until I tried to shoot it. The pellets started jamming in the breach and wouldn't allow the clip to release to drop out. I was using recommended pellets, so I had a sense somebody had tampered with the gun before I got it and the pellets weren't firing right.

    What others should know: Gun lookked like it might be a lot of fun; but after spending over an hour trying to un-jam it I gave up and decided to send it back. I really wanted the power, but now I'm hesitant to look at any pistols where they use a clip that is so difficult to remove with a jam.

  • 12 Next
Navigation