Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo PT-85 Blowback Tactical Air Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Wayne from Canada on 2011-12-31 14:50:02

    Things I liked:I like the power and it is accurate. With ordinary average 7gr pellets it doesn't even make the 500ft/sec mark, shoots about 40ft/s faster than my CP88 comp.
    Things I would have changed:I would stop advertising it as a 560ft/s gun because it isn't unless you use the lightest pellet you can find 4gr or so
    What others should know:My Walther / Umarex Cp88 Competition fires those pellets at (PBA Platinum ) @ 560 ft/s. I looked on your website a while back ( anything on website can be changed in seconds ) amd was impressed by your claim of 560ft/s I am am Engineer and looked all over the sites at that time, well over a month ago( as did others ) to find out what what pellet was used in the tests to come up with you 560/ft/s. and could find no information on the website what pellet was used. Like I said my CP88 shoots lightweight pellets at well over 500Ft/s so if a lightweight pellet was used to make your 560ft/s I would not be interested in buying it as my Walther has a 6 inch barrel and your PT85 has over 12 inches of barrel and doesn't shoot that much faster. So with my engineering background I figure the greater velocity was due to the increase ( over 6 inches ) in barrel length which made sense to me. Just to make sure I emailed the shop I bought it from and asked them about it and they told me they don't test the guns and I should contact Gamo if I wanted the information. I contacted GamoUSA and recieved this message "All our guns are tested with a standard 7-8 gr. pellet" which has proved to be a bald faced lie, possibly intended to make a sale as I explained why I wanted to know.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:1

    By Darin from USA on 2012-03-16 19:41:49

    Things I liked:Very Good looking Gun
    Things I would have changed:The Rail System is a joke. It is mounted on the front of the main frame which is molded plastic and flexes like it was made from rubber. The entire rail system is so unstable I don't know how anyone can get any repeatability. Just look thru the sight and push your finger ever so gently on the system and it moves all over the place. If I were a Gamo Engineer I would mount the system to the internal metal frame otherwise it is not worth having. The Red Dot scope is not a dot!..it is an array of dots and they don't even make a tight circle. Mine looks like crap. laser is pathetic, at 50 feet it lights up a 6 inch spot.Just being brutally honest.
    What others should know:Don't waste your money. The gun might be good without all the crap accessories. Just buy a stripped down PT-85 i guess.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Alex from Moldova on 2013-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely nice design. I don't understand why some other people are complaining. This gun has everything. I love how heavy this gun feels in my hand and with the blowback added to it, that's just amazing. The loudness of this gun should be changed to 2-3 (low-medium) as it really is quiet compared to other CO2 based .177 airguns. What else I love about this gun is the extremely good accuracy thanks to its low recoil and the very smooth trigger, and I've owned several different CO2 guns to say that.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would like is being able to fire bullets as well. This gun is capable of only firing pellets, but personally, this is not really a big deal.
      What others should know:You really get what you pay for, which is: accuracy, power = fun !
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Victor from USA on 2013-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great looking gun but over all quality stops there.
      Things I would have changed:Build quality. I don't think it would be that hard to make the barrel and rail more stable.
      What others should know:If you want to shred soda cans this is the fun gun for you! But that's about as far as it goes. Sadly most of the comments posted here are correct.I've purchased 3 of these and returned all. For a plinker I could even accept the flimsy rail but on each one the barrel was loose or eventually became loose after a short while. Still, if you're willing to accept a 1 1/2 to 2 inch group it is fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:2 2.0

        By Charles from USA on 2012-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun itself is solid. and shoots repeatably.
      Things I would have changed:GAMO's customer service. I sent an e-mail regarding only receiving 2 of the 3 batteries required for the laser sight, and included my return address. They replied with my original e-mail attached saying that they wouldn't do anything without a copy of the order showing it had been purchased within 30 days, and to provide a return address as well as a description of the problem. I replied with a copy of the paperwork t, restated the problem noting that it was the same as in my previous e-mail, and included my mailing address again. I also mentioned that the optical sight lacked enough vertical adjustment to fully sight it in; I haven't received a response since.
      What others should know:The optical sight lacks sufficient vertical adjustment; at 15 feet the impact can be adjusted from 2" low to about 10" low. The quad-rail mount is weakly mounted and flexes easily.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:1 1.0

        By Darin from USA on 2012-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Good looking Gun
      Things I would have changed:The Rail System is a joke. It is mounted on the front of the main frame which is molded plastic and flexes like it was made from rubber. The entire rail system is so unstable I don't know how anyone can get any repeatability. Just look thru the sight and push your finger ever so gently on the system and it moves all over the place. If I were a Gamo Engineer I would mount the system to the internal metal frame otherwise it is not worth having. The Red Dot scope is not a dot!..it is an array of dots and they don't even make a tight circle. Mine looks like crap. laser is pathetic, at 50 feet it lights up a 6 inch spot.Just being brutally honest.
      What others should know:Don't waste your money. The gun might be good without all the crap accessories. Just buy a stripped down PT-85 i guess.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Wayne from Canada on 2011-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the power and it is accurate. With ordinary average 7gr pellets it doesn't even make the 500ft/sec mark, shoots about 40ft/s faster than my CP88 comp.
      Things I would have changed:I would stop advertising it as a 560ft/s gun because it isn't unless you use the lightest pellet you can find 4gr or so
      What others should know:My Walther / Umarex Cp88 Competition fires those pellets at (PBA Platinum ) @ 560 ft/s. I looked on your website a while back ( anything on website can be changed in seconds ) amd was impressed by your claim of 560ft/s I am am Engineer and looked all over the sites at that time, well over a month ago( as did others ) to find out what what pellet was used in the tests to come up with you 560/ft/s. and could find no information on the website what pellet was used. Like I said my CP88 shoots lightweight pellets at well over 500Ft/s so if a lightweight pellet was used to make your 560ft/s I would not be interested in buying it as my Walther has a 6 inch barrel and your PT85 has over 12 inches of barrel and doesn't shoot that much faster. So with my engineering background I figure the greater velocity was due to the increase ( over 6 inches ) in barrel length which made sense to me. Just to make sure I emailed the shop I bought it from and asked them about it and they told me they don't test the guns and I should contact Gamo if I wanted the information. I contacted GamoUSA and recieved this message "All our guns are tested with a standard 7-8 gr. pellet" which has proved to be a bald faced lie, possibly intended to make a sale as I explained why I wanted to know.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Built well, has good feel to it. Blow action back is realistic. Longer barrels equals more fps and better accuracy. Picatinny mounts. 16 round clips (8 on each end). Consistent co2 velocity thru first few 16 round clips. Descent shot count per co2 considering its blow back.
      Things I would have changed:Front wanna be silencer is heavy.
      What others should know:FPS 5 shot avg chrony results, about 70-72 degrees: H&N trophy green= 533, skenco blue arrow= 517, H&N barracuda green 6.48gr= 485, jsb exact rs 7.33gr= 449, jsb exact 8.44gr= 446. I'd recommend using either the H&N trophy green pellets at 5.56gr or the jsb exacts at 8.44gr.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Reginald from USA on 2011-12-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the power and wicked sighting...between the infared red dot and laser scope she's beautiful.
      Things I would have changed:Full auto would be off the chains.
      What others should know:Make sure your red dot and scope are properly aligned, keep good batteries handy and plenty of Co2 and ammo w/clips
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a good looking and powerful CO2 Pistol. The first one had a leak and after testing a couple of cartridges (emptied within about 4 hours) i contacted Pyramid Air. These guys rock, everything was arranged for an exchange with a couple of emails and a week later i had the new one at my door. Thanks PA for your level of customer care. As for the gun, good weight and balance, great power and overall well worth the price. Have a BSA red dot on it which is a perfect fit for both size and looks and because of the large diameter, offers an exceptionally clear view. If you want a nice target pistol but are not prepared for a 2300T (which is also a great product) then this is well worth the investment.
      Things I would have changed:the rails are a little bit wobbly and would benefit from a tighter fit. you can only screw the bolts so far before stressing the plastic. Should have 2 pellet cartridges from the start. I am sure people still will buy more.
      What others should know:Pellet picky but once you get things organized and settled, a very steady target pistol.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Steven from USA on 2011-09-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking, can mount scopes, lasers and flashlight
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is a very powerful pistol. @ 560 FPS. Use a very strong pellet trap with this gun
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-09-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am very happy with it. Love the high velocity. I bought this one rather than the tactical version because it was almost $100 cheaper. I had no use for the little flashlight that comes with the tactical version. I bought a dot sight and laser separately for about $30.
      Things I would have changed:The magnets in the rotary clips in the magazine don't seem to hold BB's very well. The BB that's exposed (the last BB to be loaded) falls out. I would recommend using stronger magnets.
      What others should know:The fake suppressor makes the front end of the gun heavy, so you want to support it somehow to make your aim steadier. The blow-back function uses up a significant amount of CO2.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By james from USA on 2011-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i like the blow back feature on it i like the power i like the look of it as well
      Things I would have changed:i would make the guns build quality better because it's great and all i love this gun but it has broke on me twice.i would not make the customer pay for shipping to send the gun to gamo and send it back it's 10 bucks twice because i had send it back twice it should have never broke in the first place and then not including postal charges.
      What others should know:sooner or later it's gonna break mine the gun at first would drop the magazine while firing and it would fire then i was unable to put the magazine back in it because i guess it was the seal behind the barrel pushed a piece of metal back that would lock or hold the mag in,second problem i sent it back to gamo they said they fixed i shot it a once after it was fixed it broke AGAIN so i looked in the breach the same thing i sent it in for was happening again so i got little screw diver pushed it back in and it worked for a while then the gun would fire 2 or 3 pellets and that it it left 6 to 5 in the mag so i sent back again and waiting to hear what their gonna do now
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Christian from USA on 2011-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good velocity. Semi-auto. Clean, quality design for price. Integrated bottom rail, independent of the add-on quad rail. Accurate enough for my purposes.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe allow blowback to be disabled. Jams are not too hard to remedy, but the literature doesn't seem to describe as much.
      What others should know:I removed the quad rail, and just use a Walther Night Force Laser/Light on the inherent bottom rail, so the SOCOM unit would have been a better value, for me. The unit will not function with Gamo lead-free, long-skirted pellets (the copper colored ones). Wadcutter-shaped pellets don't seem to feed too well, either, so stick with domed or pointed pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By John from USA on 2011-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heft,Sights,able to shoot both BB's and Pellets.
      Things I would have changed:At this price point nothing that I can find.
      What others should know:I have 5 pistols now and this and the px4 Beretta are my favorites. Buy it you wont be sorry. PA is just great People to work with and to buy from. You will have no worries with backup from them should you have questions or problems. Oh and buy an extra mag and lots of CO2. Have fun and shoot safe.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Jhmtfly from USA on 2011-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well built, good power for first few shots. Great groups!!
      Things I would have changed:Metal scope mount. Was disapointed to find it was a poly type material worried it might break getting beat around in truck. Might look away from full blow back design to help with air usage.
      What others should know:Clips don't hold pelets very tight so just be aware if they are in your pocket.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking, blowback feature is pretty cool. Seems to be a nice powerful pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Very disappointed with the condition of the packaging. It seemed like the gun had been opened previously; not a big deal until I tried to shoot it. The pellets started jamming in the breach and wouldn't allow the clip to release to drop out. I was using recommended pellets, so I had a sense somebody had tampered with the gun before I got it and the pellets weren't firing right.
      What others should know:Gun lookked like it might be a lot of fun; but after spending over an hour trying to un-jam it I gave up and decided to send it back. I really wanted the power, but now I'm hesitant to look at any pistols where they use a clip that is so difficult to remove with a jam.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

        By adam from United Kingdom on 2011-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the gun jammed first time i used it manage to unjamm it then it would not fire the pellet out of the mag ! I could,nt send it back ( custom,s ) Gamo told me they don,t send to the UK Gamo UK said they could,nt help because it was a import and to send it back to were I got it FedFx who brought the gun in to the UK cant take it back because of custom,s So I am not a happy bunny and I am stuck with a gun that does not work !!!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By cheng-feng from USA on 2011-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is very scary..it can shoot throught 6 cans..
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:a little bit heavy...but feel like a real gun,sound loudly..
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:The look and feel, blow back action is cool good power and accurate.Very cool mag design
      Things I would have changed:The price, we all want to pay less dont we?
      What others should know:Well made gun. lots of fun to shoot, buy 7.0 gr or lower pellets. Barrel is full lenght of fake shroud
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2011-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this things accuracy, and I love this things power! This has pretty big kick. I like pretty much everything about this pistol...I would definitely recommend this puppy to anyone.
      Things I would have changed:The laser sight included with this kit has a little clear plastic thing near the lens. It broke off or something, so I had to glue it in place. Otherwise, there is nothing about this product I would have changed.
      What others should know:Because of the large amount of kick I think this takes C02 quite fast...I usually get about 5 good clips (around 80 shots ) then the power starts to die off quick.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By james from USA on 2011-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the slide action is pretty cool,fun gun to shoot,very accurate,and very powerful this is the best co2 pistol I own it's great
      Things I would have changed:make the barrel shorter so the fake suppressor can come off with out exposing the long barrel
      What others should know:the barrel is as long as the suppressor so that the pellet will not curve and get jammed in the suppressor that's why the barrel is so long
    • 12 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold