Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo P-23 reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Albert from USA on 2010-03-21 20:50:17

    Things I liked:Realistic look, weight and feel. Can be used indoors with a suitable backdrop and target setup. Has a nice "bark" similar to a .22 short. Loading is simple. Hits pretty hard on target and accuracy is dead on at 10 yards. Was also hitting a larger target at 30 yards, but accuracy is unpredictable at that range, even from a sandbag rest. A perfect cure for barn mice without the worry of putting holes thru grandpa's wall.
    Things I would have changed:Front sight should be painted white or red to keep from disappearing from view. I will mount a small laser on mine soon to eliminate using the sights. Trigger has a lot of pull, could be smoothed out just a bit.
    What others should know:Don't forget to put a drop of pellgun oil on the second or third C02 cylinder to keep the puncture seal in good condition. You have to be fast when tightening the screw on a new cylinder or else it will spray precious air before sealing.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Jim from USA on 2013-05-10 10:10:52

    Things I liked:price
    Things I would have changed:too much plastic, grips too bulky (for me), bigger than it looks
    What others should know:I instantly disliked it so much I never even fired it. Pyramyd customer service is outstanding.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mike from USA on 2013-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great little guns feels real and fits the hand nice also has a good heft to it. Shoots BBs and pellets and has a rifled barrel that helps them pellets fly nice. Loading BBs is easy and pellets load one at a time. Sights need dots but there not to bad. I like the rubber grips too,Trigger pull is long but smooth and not very hard. Pretty accurate from 20 feet.
      Things I would have changed:This would be cool with a longer barrel and a fake silencer on it.
      What others should know:I don't shoot BBs through the gun because of the rifled barrel and it's much more accurate with the pellets. I like the Gamo pistols and own most of them.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:- It's got plenty of power. Chronos at 420fps. - It's accurate with both pellet and BBs.
      Things I would have changed:- Heavy trigger pull. - Nose-heavy. - Flimsy plastic parts for the rear sight and BB loader.
      What others should know:1. It's louder than I expected but when you consider the fps it makes sense. 2. Although you can squeeze 60 shots out of a CO2 cartridge, believe the power starts to drop off noticeably after 40.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I had one of these in 1999, this one seems much larger but shoots straighter and is fairly powerful. It has a long trigger pull but thats because it loads as your pulling. fits in my pocket so i can avoid scaring the neighbors cause it looks like a real gun.
      Things I would have changed:I think the bb mag used to be on the top of the barrel that lifts up,..it was easier to load...(I may be wrong)but you may want to get a speedloader cause the mag hole is sandwiched in between the barrel and the frame, youll be putting one bb at a time with your fingers.
      What others should know:its a decent little gun. i like it. packs a serious "pop" when you shoot it. safety is in a good spot and easy to operate.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price
      Things I would have changed:too much plastic, grips too bulky (for me), bigger than it looks
      What others should know:I instantly disliked it so much I never even fired it. Pyramyd customer service is outstanding.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Mark from Canada on 2012-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels good when shooting double action
      Things I would have changed:It should hold more ammo 12 bbs is very little.
      What others should know:I got a much better crosman gun for $40 and it is much better then this
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leonard from USA on 2012-07-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots strait and has a great trigger pull for double action only.Feels good in the hand to...
      Things I would have changed:Add a hammer and make it single action also.
      What others should know:Nice peice but seems a little on the weak side..Got a crosman for 29 bucks and no way near has the quality but way more power...Overall the gun is quality.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By William Davis from USA on 2012-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun feels so good in your hand! I like that you can use either bb's or pellets, though I mostly use bb's. Being all metal, this gun feels different than some of my action pistols. Really nice.
      Things I would have changed:Not much, it is a cool little pistol.
      What others should know:This gun has real good sights, but is real hold sensitive. Also it will sometimes fail to feed. I suspect that failure to feed is cause by a stiff magazine spring because if I only put 8-9 bb's in it it does not fail to feed.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2012-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice feel and balance for a small plinker. Easy to load and easy to replace cylinder.
      Things I would have changed:Lighten the triger pull to half. Install better sights with both windage and elevation adjustments would make this little gem worth twice the price.
      What others should know:Very good accuracy with a variety of wods between 7gr and 8.5gr, great fun gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By walter from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the size, accuracy, and ease to load and shoot I think this is the best gun for entry level air gun users highly recomened
      Things I would have changed:longer CO2 life, and the amount of BBs you can load
      What others should know:you might have a couple of dry fires but overall it is a great gun and a lot of fun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rey from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact size, nice balance and feel. Good quality construction. Clever BB magazine for semi automatic shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Some railing to mount laser sight. Trigger travel and weight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Louis from USA on 2011-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the Price it can't be beat. I love the fact that you can use either BB or pellets. accuracy is much better with the pellets. Freat plinking pistol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ernest from USA on 2011-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate and hard hitting
      Things I would have changed:Trigger pull is long but consistent
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2011-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I actually liked this pistol! When I first bought it, it fell out of the box and plummeted down a set of stairs. OOPS! It survived with very minimal damage, but still functioned perfectly. The power was impressive, as well as the BB / pellet option.
      Things I would have changed:Carpet on the stairs perhaps.....
      What others should know:Make sure you seat the pellet firmly, or you will crush the skirt upon closing. A sound, durable air pistol.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By andrew from USA on 2011-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:For me, this pistol fits great in my hand, and has good weight. Im 5'10'' and 130lbs. Its a great length too, nice and small, fits in the pocket, but that doesn't compromise accuracy, because I have consistently hit a coffee can at 75 measured feet..no lie...w/ Crosman Hunter pellets. I only fire pellets thru it, because they fit the barrel tighter and they're much more accurate. It gets MANY shots w/ the CO2, Id say 60-70 or so powerful shots, w/ some more that are a bit weak. Some reviews on other sites claim the CO2 leaks out etc: a tip here is to use a tiny drop of peloil on the tip of the co2, and DON'T tighten it in TOO HARD!! Put it to your ear and stop tightening when you hear the gas stop hissing, maybe turn the screw just a TINY bit more. There's no need to crank it as hard as possible, you'll just damage the seal, okay? I like the safety switch too, nice and straightforward, easy. Nice steel rifled barrel that'll give you great accuracy, if you know how to shoot. It breaks bottles at 20-35 ft., which is oh-so-fun!
      Things I would have changed:The new "combat" grips are ok, but I must say I prefer the older straight grips, I think the old models looked and felt more classy. The combat grips are kinda chunky and increase the size of the gun, where what I like best about it is its compact size. I don't see what the advantage is other than Gamo trying to keep up with the jones'. Id like to see both straight grip and 'combat' grip models offered, Im sure Im not the only one who feels that way. Plus I've read reviews where bigger guys say the new grips don't fit their hands comfortably, so beware of that. Other than that, there isn't much you can do to the pistol that wouldn't increase the price significantly..maybe an alloy trigger instead of plastic, but thats not too big a deal.
      What others should know:Gamo has been making this product for many years, and Im a believer in things that stand the test of time. My friend loaned me his p-23 that must be 10+ yrs old, and it still shoots just as well as the one I bought recently. Made in Spain, the Spanish love their guns, so rest assured this is a good product. BE SAFE, have fun, be self reliant, and please don't shoot wildlife for no reason, its terrible sportsmanship to do that. Also build a pellet trap if you're shooting outside, lead is NO GOOD when dumped into the soil. Thanks for reading! I like this pistol!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Tom from USA on 2010-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has a nice weight and look about it and hits quite fairly hard. The Co2 cartridge is very easy to load.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are a little fiddly which reduce accuracy. It sometimes jams while shooting BB's.
      What others should know:When firing pellets be sure to push them all the way into the barrel. Do not leave the skirt hanging over the sides of the opening or accuracy and speed will be greatly reduced.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By papun5880pr from USA on 2010-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The size and confort of this air gun is great.DShots as fast as you can pull the trigger. Nice power and about 50 to 60 shots per 12 gr air source(co2). Its easy to mantaine
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight get loose if you over thight it to much. More metal.It has enought to make it a great gun, but is so little to make it all metal that it should be don and it would be an excelent gun..
      What others should know:Easy to use and shot. Aiming is completly skillful. Pull the trigger in a steady motion to achive a good shot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feel, weight , style with hogue type grips,accuracy, BB feed,pellet and BB option,80 shots per co2,durability,satin finish which makes it look more real,sounds a lot like a .22 ,Price,405 FPS,and yes I did a chrony ,whats not to like!!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:This is a well made gun,I have a PT-80 and I personally like this one better and BB,s are much cheaper to shoot with about the same accuracy at 25 ft.Dont limp wrist this just because its a BB gun if you do accuracy will suffer it is not hold sensitive like a rifle.Didn't have to touch the sight .Get use to the gun before you tinker with the sights some shots are always off with a BB pistol.There is no jaming due to rifleing of the barrel because the copperhead BB,s are a tad smaller.Try this, drop one down the barrel with the gun top open, they slide right down..I fire about 80 BB,s 70 or so very accurately on one co2 and thats about a Dollar for the ammo and the co2, do the math.This pistol performs much like a more expensive gun and I dont know of any co2 pistols that reach or advertises more FPS in a repeater. Pellets fire Si ngle shot but so do a lot or most more expensive guns..A real keeper..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Shoots crosman copperheads accurate and pellets too! Likes the RWS 7.0 Basic but shoots the crosman premier very well.The copperheads drop right down the barrel so there is no damage to the barrel and never jams due to the BB's slightly smaller size.Shoots the gamo .177 lead balls too. A real multi-tasker, like having three guns in one..
      Things I would have changed:Nothing....... Pyramyd AIR has the absolute lowest price on the web for this pistol THANKS PYRAMYD AIR for these prices..
      What others should know:Mine has the new Hogue style grips and the entire finish is toned down ,not shiney making it look more real.Very hefty feel with a lot of steel in the frame.F-1 Chrony displayed 404 FPS with a new co2, averaged 380 FPS for 100+ shots then drops to 225 FPS for around another 75 or so.Does a good job using all the air ...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:New Grips feel great see pix top left,. Chrony at 405 fps lead 535 Fps PBA Get about 175 shots per cylinder with the 7gr RWS and very accurate fun for plinking at 30 ft or so.Kills flys and wasp at 10 ft.. Oh yes I did ............yea I did..! On the ground of course.This gun will cost you at least $69.95 just about anywhere else and Pyramid is the BOMB with Delivery, price and service!!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing ! Lots of plinking fun.Not for the weak of wrist.... long steady and oh yes strong trigger pull stiffer than the C-11 by far.If you are gonna shoot bb's I suggest you use the lead gamo with the rifled barrel..shoots the copperheads ok but placement suffers and a few jams..
      What others should know:Not a jam one with RWS or crosman pointed or hollow points but this gun loves the 7.0 gr RWS Hobby or Basic..Heaftier in the hand than the PT-80 even though gamo rates it a few ounces heavier..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By joe from USA on 2010-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The gun fits comfortably in your hand, and despite being mostly plastic, still feels solid and hefty. The sights are easy to use, and easy enough to adjust. The accuracy with BBs is about average, but with the capability to use pellets tighter groups are possible. With over 60 shots per CO2 cartridge, the gun is relatively efficient, but still packs a punch.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger can be heavy, and even thought i don't have a scale, i would guess it breaks at 15 pounds. This is because it is double action only. Having single action capability would be nice. But thats my only complaint.
      What others should know:First, the gun i received is different than the one pictured. Instead of the standard grips, it comes with plastic replicas of Hogue grips. They look beefy, but they fit my hand almost perfectly and offer a firm hold. Secondly, i use steel BBs in mine. I can understand why people would use lead balls as a precaution to protect the rifling, but i went on what Tom said on his blog and used steel. So far no problems. And as a final note- for anybody who has never ordered through Pyramyd Air before, you can't go wrong. Great customer service and fast shipping.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top