Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Recon Whisper Combo Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Lead Pusher from USA on 2012-05-29 20:07:23

    Things I liked:very light easy cocking fairly good shooter. seems very picky for pellets.
    Things I would have changed:better iron sights
    What others should know:Even my 8 year old daughter can handle this rifle all on her own. It did not like RWS, Beeman pellets. Seems to be doing alot better on Gamo pointed. and okay with crosman premiers. HAHA cheaper pellets is okay with me.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By milton from USA on 2013-06-11 12:45:53

    Things I liked:Mechanicly built good
    Things I would have changed:Gun was absolutely the worst I have ever shot would not shoot any kind of group.Shot like a shotgun all over the place.
    What others should know:Would not recommend.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:For the price, it is a decent rifle that will be enjoyed. It is quiet enough for the basement and backyard, and I have found that the trigger and firing cycle are fairly predictable after about two tins -- 1000 pellets. The best pellets in mine are the AA Diabolo Field (with a 4.52 head) and H&N FTT (with a 4.51 head). JSB Exacts are another good choice. I can get a .350" 10 shot grouping at 10 yards with the pellets mentioned. Other common pellets can group at more than an inch, so test and choose your pellets wisely.
      Things I would have changed:Throw the scope away!!! It is terrible. I plink with this gun, so the sights are fine. Due to the light weight, I would say it feels better without a scope.
      What others should know:I own some fine air guns (AA Prosport and LGV), but occasionally, I'll sneak this gun out and have fun plinking. I would buy it again for my children.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2014-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good gun, low cocking effort at 19lbs
      Things I would have changed:The hole on the bottom of the gun! It looks terrible and there are no pictures that show it. The bottom of the gun (directly under the smaller of the two holes in the stock) is hollow and just a gaping hole. It looks terrible and can get dirt etc. in it very easily.
      What others should know:Gotta love a Gamo! :-)
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have no complaints for a rifle in this price range. The trigger's fine, good scope, stock is comfortable to bench or hold standing.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing for this price.
      What others should know:I added expanding foam to the pistol grip just to deaden the tinny sound a bit. It is quiet compared to other rifles in it's power range. Good, solid performer!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Fargusa from USA on 2014-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its weight.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Very nice for the young beginners.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By logan from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got it for my child to learn with and works great for him. Light cocking and easy to shoulder. Still fun for adults to shoot too.
      Things I would have changed:scope is a waste of time and stock can be made of better material. Lots of vibration.
      What others should know: great for younger shooters.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2013-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate, quiet, and light weight. I zeroed mine at 10 yards using RWS Diabolo Basic 7gr. wadcutter pellets and got dime sized groups. It's about the same noise level of a multi pump gun, so very backyard/basement friendly. It's light weight makes it very easy to practice shooting fundamentals (ie artillery hold, trigger press, breath control) without the added burden of holding up a heavy gun at the same time. I would highly recommend this gun to the person seeking a quality/economical break barrel rifle. This gun would also be great for instructing new shooters.
      Things I would have changed:The length of pull is alittle short for my taste, but easily manageable.
      What others should know:Some of the other reviewers have commented negatively about the scope, in my opinion for the 10-15 yard range, it works just fine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pa.oldman from USA on 2013-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Relatively light weight, very easy to cock, open-sights are decent. Youth size but not to small, Teens and adults will be able to enjoy this gun. Pull is only about 1" less than my 392. Accurate with open sights at 10m.
      Things I would have changed:Big negative is the tube with the glass at the ends (the scope), Gamo should sell this rifle with out this scope for a few bucks less. Looking through I was greeted with an oval field tossed the scope back in the box.
      What others should know:Bought this as a low cost beginners rifle and couldn't be happier. It's quiet, very little kick, easy to cock, has decent open sights and good accuracy
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerry from USA on 2013-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:nice looking ,shouldered well,good grouping for one day of shooting
      Things I would have changed:gamo gamo gamo 80.00 bucks you should be ashamed .barrel started to move from side to side after 150 rounds .it seams you should give it a little more thought.scope is a joke,gamo is off my list of things to buy.
      What others should know:in building a good name with people the first time can sometimes be the last .if they put a metal breach it could be a fine gun.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By David from USA on 2013-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is the second Gamo Recon I have purchased. The rifles are great for youth. Lightweight, and the thumbhole stock is perfect.
      Things I would have changed:Scope, and mounts particularly are terrible. The dovetail on the mounts cannot be adjusted to fit the rail span. This renders the scope useless since it will not fit the gun. I called customer service and the agent I spoke with was in denial that there was a problem.....
      What others should know:Gamo needs to address their scope and mount problems or not sell combo packages.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By milton from USA on 2013-06-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Mechanicly built good
      Things I would have changed:Gun was absolutely the worst I have ever shot would not shoot any kind of group.Shot like a shotgun all over the place.
      What others should know:Would not recommend.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Damian from USA on 2013-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! Very pleased with Pyramyd Air.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is my least favorite but does the job.
      What others should know:This is my second recon. Wanted the whisper version with iron sights. This is a really nice gun for casual plinking. I obtained very good groupings at 10 yards with Beaman Kodiak Match 10.65 gr pellets. Crossman Destroyer EX from Wally World did ok.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By jake from USA on 2013-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks the feel accuracy is phenomical
      Things I would have changed:the dampener doesnt do much
      What others should know:this gun and all the adult versions are phenominal. i love my .177 they feel so comfortable, shoot like a dream, and holf up. just break them in first.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Damian from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:"Carbine" like feel, thumb hole stock, weight, and overall consisteny
      Things I would have changed:The model I had did not include "iron" sights.
      What others should know:As an adult, I just wanted a nice plinker for the basement. It was quiet enough, consistent, and easy to cock. I'm considering the Whisper version. Even if you are an adult, this is a fun compact break barrel for a small indoor range or pest removal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ace from South Africa on 2012-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love everything about this gun, its easy to cock its very light weight but yet very durable. this gun is extremely accurate once you zero it in, i could hit a small bottle cap at 30 feet and i can easily hit a can at 70 feet
      Things I would have changed:power, the fps is low but it still packs a punch
      What others should know:this gun is great for beginners of even for collectors like myself. this gun is great to do a little plinking and it has no trouble shutting accurately over a distance of up to 150 feet (depending on wind). but overall its just great
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Cy from USA on 2012-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the price, this is a wonderful little air rifle. It's obviously youth-sized, but it's a pretty fun, lightweight plinker. Seems to shoot pretty well with a variety of pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The scope isn't anything great, but as long as you aren't trying for anything very long range, it works alright.
      What others should know:While it was of no concern to me, the stock and handgrip are hollow. It's a good gun to start with or just to have around for fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lead Pusher from USA on 2012-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very light easy cocking fairly good shooter. seems very picky for pellets.
      Things I would have changed:better iron sights
      What others should know:Even my 8 year old daughter can handle this rifle all on her own. It did not like RWS, Beeman pellets. Seems to be doing alot better on Gamo pointed. and okay with crosman premiers. HAHA cheaper pellets is okay with me.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Grant from USA on 2012-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I is good for my 10yr old son for all he needs. accuracy, the great sights and ease of cocking effort.
      Things I would have changed:trigger is a mystery pull & rings with scope are not to be used any normal 1" scope with a scope stop set of rings would be at least useable.
      What others should know:The accuracy is much better than you will believe til you see it. the sites adjust so well too. .177 Kodiak domed worked well
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Grant from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accuracy with open sights, easy to cock for my 10 year old son. nice stock
      Things I would have changed:the whacky trigger so long and soft as chewing gum. a useable scope WITH any set of rings to hold it to a rifle. scope was too small to use with a 1" mount rings set
      What others should know:definitly made for the little guys pre teen but they will be happy. It's a straight shooter if you get used to the trigger.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roldan from USA on 2012-01-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Surprisingly accurate! I own a Ruger Airhawk, Gamo Hornet, and Benjamin Titan GP, and this one smokes them all! Perfect for close-range indoor target practice. Quiet, easy to cock, lightweight, cheap, and can easily place a 1/4" grouping at 10 yards.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is OK, given its price range. It was a little bit of a challenge to mount on the dovetail rails (you'll need a screwdriver to stretch open the clamps) but afterwards gave good performance. Somewhat difficult to focus on 10 yard range, but still produced good groupings. Replaced it with a Leapers 3-9x Bug Buster scope and now it performs great! (And yes, I realize the scope is almost as much as the gun, but the included one would work fine for 20 yard targets -I just needed something to focus at close range for indoors.)
      What others should know:This rifle may be quite easy to over look, but ideal for my 14 year old daughter. She has no problem cocking it, and really enjoys shooting with it! Even I find myself borrowing it more and more. Highly recommended.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.3333299160003663 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very light weight, compact and very quiet. Stock is has a good feel and look to it. Many pellets had consistent velocity. I prefer skenco blue arrow in this gun for the high fps, easy to load in the barrel and and they are accurate. The gun is easy to cock and shoot.
      Things I would have changed:C'mon, scope should come with scope stop rings. The rifle has the notch for the stop. Even though this is a lower power springer, scope creeps unless you use thread lock on the ring screws. Box says 750 fps with pba ammo- no way, I doubt it.
      What others should know:FYI chrony numbers, avg 5 shot fps: h&n trophy green 5.56gr= 559, skenco blue= 588, jsb exact rs 7.3gr= 506, jsb exact 8.4gr= 468, h&n barracuda green 6.4gr= 453, gamo red fire 7.8gr= 445. Gamo claims 525 fps for lead, so light lead pellets are reasonable close to that claim (jsb rs hit a high of 511 fps, maybe rws hobby 7.0 gr would hit 525).
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top