Gamo Recon Whisper Combo Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Lead Pusher from USA on 2012-05-29 20:07:23

Things I liked: very light easy cocking fairly good shooter. seems very picky for pellets.

Things I would have changed: better iron sights

What others should know: Even my 8 year old daughter can handle this rifle all on her own. It did not like RWS, Beeman pellets. Seems to be doing alot better on Gamo pointed. and okay with crosman premiers. HAHA cheaper pellets is okay with me.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By milton from USA on 2013-06-11 12:45:53

Things I liked: Mechanicly built good

Things I would have changed: Gun was absolutely the worst I have ever shot would not shoot any kind of group.Shot like a shotgun all over the place.

What others should know: Would not recommend.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Artem from USA on 2015-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great starter and plinking rifle. Not too small for adults either, but 6'4' shooters may have a problem acquiring the sights. Easy to cock and shoot all day. Not too hold sensitive, as far as I can tell, at least I haven't found any particular hold or position that gave me better accuracy, trigger control and breathing are what works with this rifle every time. Not sure about what groups it is capable of - I am not that great a shooter, but I can call virtually all my fliers with this rifle, so, it's me.

    Things I would have changed: Throw away the scope and make it $10 less

    What others should know: The scope is junk, just like other reviewers said, but this doesn't surprise me one bit, so no star taken. Use open sites, they are awesome. The sites came adjusted way too high, so sight in at shorter distances first (at 15ft I was 4-5 inches off). Crosman Competition (milk carton) pellets are too loose for this rifle. They come out sometimes before I can close the gun and get crushed and block the port. Not good for the seals. Pay attention and slowly close and lock barrel pointed *downward*. Easy when you are standing but a bit awkward while seated/prone. The best way would be to use a pellet seater adjusted as deep as you can, I experimented with different depths and can't tell if it affects the accuracy one bit.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Trigger pull. Fiber optic sights. Easy cocking. Recoil pad. Thumb hole.

    Things I would have changed: Gamo's cheap scope should be discontinued.

    What others should know: Some people have complained about the hollow stock becasue of the hole on the bottom of the stock. I cut some studry foam to fit the hole precisely - that keeps out dirt and makes the gun a littel more quite. I have 3 of these Gamo Recon guns and really like them. Once you experiment and find which pellet the gun prefers, they are very accurate. All three of my Recons like the JSB domed pellet in 7.33 grains. I can shoot pop bottle caps at 20 yards with consistent hits. Throw away the Gamo scope and intall a BSA 2-7x32 scope with Accushot rings and you will be very happy with the combination.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jack from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I gave this to my grandson for Christmas It handles and shoots great Great value for the money and for a beginning shooter

    Things I would have changed: Scope works but that's about all I can say for it I'd recommend a better scope

    What others should know: Very easy for beginning shooters to learn shooting skills with. I'm almost tempted to buy another one for myself but I already have 4 and don't really need another one. Grest plinker.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: For the price, it is a decent rifle that will be enjoyed. It is quiet enough for the basement and backyard, and I have found that the trigger and firing cycle are fairly predictable after about two tins -- 1000 pellets. The best pellets in mine are the AA Diabolo Field (with a 4.52 head) and H&N FTT (with a 4.51 head). JSB Exacts are another good choice. I can get a .350" 10 shot grouping at 10 yards with the pellets mentioned. Other common pellets can group at more than an inch, so test and choose your pellets wisely.

    Things I would have changed: Throw the scope away!!! It is terrible. I plink with this gun, so the sights are fine. Due to the light weight, I would say it feels better without a scope.

    What others should know: I own some fine air guns (AA Prosport and LGV), but occasionally, I'll sneak this gun out and have fun plinking. I would buy it again for my children.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2014-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good gun, low cocking effort at 19lbs

    Things I would have changed: The hole on the bottom of the gun! It looks terrible and there are no pictures that show it. The bottom of the gun (directly under the smaller of the two holes in the stock) is hollow and just a gaping hole. It looks terrible and can get dirt etc. in it very easily.

    What others should know: Gotta love a Gamo! :-)

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2014-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have no complaints for a rifle in this price range. The trigger's fine, good scope, stock is comfortable to bench or hold standing.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing for this price.

    What others should know: I added expanding foam to the pistol grip just to deaden the tinny sound a bit. It is quiet compared to other rifles in it's power range. Good, solid performer!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Fargusa from USA on 2014-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Its weight.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Very nice for the young beginners.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By logan from USA on 2014-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got it for my child to learn with and works great for him. Light cocking and easy to shoulder. Still fun for adults to shoot too.

    Things I would have changed: scope is a waste of time and stock can be made of better material. Lots of vibration.

    What others should know: great for younger shooters.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2013-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, quiet, and light weight. I zeroed mine at 10 yards using RWS Diabolo Basic 7gr. wadcutter pellets and got dime sized groups. It's about the same noise level of a multi pump gun, so very backyard/basement friendly. It's light weight makes it very easy to practice shooting fundamentals (ie artillery hold, trigger press, breath control) without the added burden of holding up a heavy gun at the same time. I would highly recommend this gun to the person seeking a quality/economical break barrel rifle. This gun would also be great for instructing new shooters.

    Things I would have changed: The length of pull is alittle short for my taste, but easily manageable.

    What others should know: Some of the other reviewers have commented negatively about the scope, in my opinion for the 10-15 yard range, it works just fine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pa.oldman from USA on 2013-10-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Relatively light weight, very easy to cock, open-sights are decent. Youth size but not to small, Teens and adults will be able to enjoy this gun. Pull is only about 1" less than my 392. Accurate with open sights at 10m.

    Things I would have changed: Big negative is the tube with the glass at the ends (the scope), Gamo should sell this rifle with out this scope for a few bucks less. Looking through I was greeted with an oval field tossed the scope back in the box.

    What others should know: Bought this as a low cost beginners rifle and couldn't be happier. It's quiet, very little kick, easy to cock, has decent open sights and good accuracy

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jerry from USA on 2013-09-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nice looking ,shouldered well,good grouping for one day of shooting

    Things I would have changed: gamo gamo gamo 80.00 bucks you should be ashamed .barrel started to move from side to side after 150 rounds .it seams you should give it a little more thought.scope is a joke,gamo is off my list of things to buy.

    What others should know: in building a good name with people the first time can sometimes be the last .if they put a metal breach it could be a fine gun.

  • 1.0 1.0

    2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    By David from USA on 2013-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second Gamo Recon I have purchased. The rifles are great for youth. Lightweight, and the thumbhole stock is perfect.

    Things I would have changed: Scope, and mounts particularly are terrible. The dovetail on the mounts cannot be adjusted to fit the rail span. This renders the scope useless since it will not fit the gun. I called customer service and the agent I spoke with was in denial that there was a problem.....

    What others should know: Gamo needs to address their scope and mount problems or not sell combo packages.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By milton from USA on 2013-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Mechanicly built good

    Things I would have changed: Gun was absolutely the worst I have ever shot would not shoot any kind of group.Shot like a shotgun all over the place.

    What others should know: Would not recommend.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Damian from USA on 2013-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything! Very pleased with Pyramyd Air.

    Things I would have changed: The scope is my least favorite but does the job.

    What others should know: This is my second recon. Wanted the whisper version with iron sights. This is a really nice gun for casual plinking. I obtained very good groupings at 10 yards with Beaman Kodiak Match 10.65 gr pellets. Crossman Destroyer EX from Wally World did ok.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jake from USA on 2013-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: The looks the feel accuracy is phenomical

    Things I would have changed: the dampener doesnt do much

    What others should know: this gun and all the adult versions are phenominal. i love my .177 they feel so comfortable, shoot like a dream, and holf up. just break them in first.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Damian from USA on 2013-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: "Carbine" like feel, thumb hole stock, weight, and overall consisteny

    Things I would have changed: The model I had did not include "iron" sights.

    What others should know: As an adult, I just wanted a nice plinker for the basement. It was quiet enough, consistent, and easy to cock. I'm considering the Whisper version. Even if you are an adult, this is a fun compact break barrel for a small indoor range or pest removal.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ace from South Africa on 2012-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: i love everything about this gun, its easy to cock its very light weight but yet very durable. this gun is extremely accurate once you zero it in, i could hit a small bottle cap at 30 feet and i can easily hit a can at 70 feet

    Things I would have changed: power, the fps is low but it still packs a punch

    What others should know: this gun is great for beginners of even for collectors like myself. this gun is great to do a little plinking and it has no trouble shutting accurately over a distance of up to 150 feet (depending on wind). but overall its just great

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cy from USA on 2012-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: For the price, this is a wonderful little air rifle. It's obviously youth-sized, but it's a pretty fun, lightweight plinker. Seems to shoot pretty well with a variety of pellets.

    Things I would have changed: The scope isn't anything great, but as long as you aren't trying for anything very long range, it works alright.

    What others should know: While it was of no concern to me, the stock and handgrip are hollow. It's a good gun to start with or just to have around for fun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lead Pusher from USA on 2012-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very light easy cocking fairly good shooter. seems very picky for pellets.

    Things I would have changed: better iron sights

    What others should know: Even my 8 year old daughter can handle this rifle all on her own. It did not like RWS, Beeman pellets. Seems to be doing alot better on Gamo pointed. and okay with crosman premiers. HAHA cheaper pellets is okay with me.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Grant from USA on 2012-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I is good for my 10yr old son for all he needs. accuracy, the great sights and ease of cocking effort.

    Things I would have changed: trigger is a mystery pull & rings with scope are not to be used any normal 1" scope with a scope stop set of rings would be at least useable.

    What others should know: The accuracy is much better than you will believe til you see it. the sites adjust so well too. .177 Kodiak domed worked well

  • 12 Next
Navigation