Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Whisper Silent Cat reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By john from USA on 2009-05-23 19:25:34

    Things I liked:John from Alabama...I like everything about this air rifle. I have broke it in with Beeman Kodiak heavy .177 pellets,,,one inch groups at 25 yards. The feel is great,,,the rifle looks great,,,cocking and loading is very quick. The factory trigger is ok but a GRT III drop-in replacement is the secret to good tight groups. With the Beeman ammo I hear only the spring action when firing. For any distance shooting mount the scope. For the money this air rifle is Great.
    Things I would have changed:I recommend changing the trigger to one made by CHARLIEDATUNA.COM,,,,the GRT III.....almost all rifles shoot better with a quality adjustable trigger
    What others should know:PyramydAir has good prices and excellent service...I received my rifle in good condition....they are a good company to deal with
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By Daryl from USA on 2012-07-24 20:12:51

    Things I liked:The gun has good power. Stock is unique and usable.
    Things I would have changed:I purchased this gun for my son age 13 who just earned his rifle merit badge in boy scouts. He opted for an air rifle vs a .22 because he would be able to shoot more freely in our back yard. He sighted the gun in with the barrel sight and informed me that they were adjusted all the way to one side. When I looked for myself sure enough it seems that when th gun was so poorly manufactured the sights were not installed on the center of the barrel. To top it off there is alot of lateral play in the rear sight. There is no way you could count on using it accuratly. The scope is ok but very unforgiving when tring to get a good sight picture. The slightest movement of your head and you loose the picture.
    What others should know:I have owned a gammo rifle of my own for 15 years and it is by far more stable and accurate than this one.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Daryl from USA on 2012-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has good power. Stock is unique and usable.
      Things I would have changed:I purchased this gun for my son age 13 who just earned his rifle merit badge in boy scouts. He opted for an air rifle vs a .22 because he would be able to shoot more freely in our back yard. He sighted the gun in with the barrel sight and informed me that they were adjusted all the way to one side. When I looked for myself sure enough it seems that when th gun was so poorly manufactured the sights were not installed on the center of the barrel. To top it off there is alot of lateral play in the rear sight. There is no way you could count on using it accuratly. The scope is ok but very unforgiving when tring to get a good sight picture. The slightest movement of your head and you loose the picture.
      What others should know:I have owned a gammo rifle of my own for 15 years and it is by far more stable and accurate than this one.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By barry from USA on 2012-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fast - Powerful. Light Weight.. Good styling-looks kool!
      Things I would have changed:Lots of vibration. Scope is no good, won't sight in. After 30 rounds the rear open sight vibrated loose. Gamo says to buy a different scope to resolve, horrible customer service. After 30 days its junk - warranty bad..
      What others should know:Do not think out of the box this is a usable airgun. You have to replace the scope and the open sights will not hold up past 30 rounds. Some of the moving parts are plastic that cock the gun. Not like the old Gamo's. Stoeger is a better deal.. Its not a good value if you have to replace sites "AND" scopes just to shoot beyond 30 rounds.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gabriel from USA on 2012-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got mine in .22. This rifle is very, very lightweight, incredibly accurate, and comfortable to shoot. The hooded front sight is very nice, it won't be bumped out of zero unless it's heavily damaged. The Silent Cat will bag small game with good ammo, and do so quietly once it's broken in. In .22, the gun states its fps at 950, but it's really closer to around 900 with 18 grain domed pellets. Still, more than enough power for distance plinking or small game hunting.
      Things I would have changed:The rear fiberoptic sight was just plain awful. I scrapped it as soon as I could, it was always set too low, even adjusted to it's maximum setting. I bought an aftermarket sight, which showed me this rifle's true value, and now I shoot this almost every day. Also, the scope simply can't handle the recoil, get rid of it.
      What others should know:A few things: 1) Mine may have been a lemon, but be wary of the sights 2) THIS GUN WILL BE LOUD UNTIL YOU BREAK IT IN. For me, this took around 250 shots, which caused some initial disappointment. Now, it doesn't bother my neighbors and offers a lot of power in a quiet report. 3) Like most other air rifles, the trigger needs a bit of breaking in as well, but afterwards it is very agreeable. 4) The Gamo dusk is a better gun for scoped shooting, this one is nice for iron sight shooters- the spring inside of the Silent cat really tests scopes. Don't mount anything on here that isn't shockproofed. 5)This is a very accurate rifle that has room in the grip and the stock. PA will tell you not to mess with it, but filling the hollow spots quiets the gun down even further. Personally, I have foam in my stock and a boresnake in the grip. I gave this only 3 stars because of a worthless scope and rear sight. The rifle itself is fantastic once you get a reliable way of aiming it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Trevor from USA on 2012-07-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My most accurate rifle... dead bulls from crossman ultra mags at 25 yards but works with most pellets i have found...stock design
      Things I would have changed:Make a model without the iron sights...I dont use them...the suppressor will blur into your FOV on a scope at lower magnifications
      What others should know:As always...ditch the scope and go with a better on either leapers or centerpoints have always worked for me...get a High single piece mount for the scope to get rid of the suppressor blur
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By William from USA on 2012-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power! I never realized the power of a break-barrel until now..1200fps w/PBA ammo..WOW!! Accuracy! Spot on at short distances w/iron sights, haven't tried long range yet. Looks! Very aesthetically pleasing.
      Things I would have changed:Included scope rings. I wish they were milled out so I could use the iron sights/scope at the same time..but no big deal
      What others should know:Your gonna need milled out scope rings or a milled riser to use the scope/iron sights at same time.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ejbpesca from USA on 2012-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, quick aim, easy cocking, bright sites, nice trigger pull, muffled muzzle noise, looks cool, hard hitting.
      Things I would have changed:The scope with this gun is useless. Either I got a defective one or Gamo has made the worst scope I've ever seen. But the gun sites without the scope quite well so I won't return it.
      What others should know:These guns have quite a vibration when shot due to the spring action. It has more kick than a .22 firearm.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is light, it cocks easily, it shoots 22 cal, it is accurate, quite, and it is powerful. It is just what I wanted. I am very happy with the purchase of this air gun.
      Things I would have changed:I would get the same gun with the nitro piston. It will cost me around $100 to have Pyramyd Air do the conversion, and I am seriously thinking of having this done. As soon as I can round up the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By stealdynamix from USA on 2012-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything is perfect the iron sights the noise reduction love the stock and my favorite is the skeleton body
      Things I would have changed:first few shoots sound like those 20$ guns the red rider kind
      What others should know:its awsome
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2012-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The rifle is light and rugged. The fixed sights are nice and bright. The rifle is easy to cock. With the right pellets, the rifle can form extremely tight nickel-quarter sized groups at 25 yards.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle sounds like a creaky garage door spring while being cocked, and there seems to be a little wiggle on the rear fixed sight. The included scope is not great... I'd almost rather they just didn't include a scope at all and drop the price of the rifle a little more. When fired, the rifle vibrates a lot with a loud "TWANG". Perhaps the vibration is more noticeable due to the low weight? The vibration also makes this rifle somewhat finicky; A good artillery hold and consistency between shots are absolutely critical to form any kind of group. I find that even slight variations on how I pull the trigger and how I position cheek will cause flyers. Although it comes with a built-in suppressor, I feel like most of the noise from the rifle actually comes from the spring unloading in the body rather than the muzzle. Overall, the rifle gives the impression of cheapness due to the seams on its plastic body and its light weight, but the actual performance of the rifle is very good - Accurate and powerful. Don't let my negative comments fool you - This is actually one of my favorite air rifles.
      What others should know:I'm writing this review for the .22 caliber version of the rifle, with about 500 pellets through it so far. Compared to my Benji Trail NP .22, the bore on the Silent cat seems slightly larger. RWS Superdome pellets fit loosely in the barrel and did not form very good groups, but Crosman Premier Domed pellets fit very snugly and formed great groups.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Douglas from USA on 2012-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This agile, lightweight <6-pound rifle looks great, feels great, loads with ease and delivers quietly stinging rounds at consistently high velocity. No need for PBA ammo. This rifle achieves far better accuracy with heavier ammo, e.g., H&N 10.2 grain copper-plated pellets; excellent. The included scope is entry-level okay, yet for the money and for the fun, the Silent Cat will give others a run.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing about the rifle, but packaging it with even a slightly higher-quality scope would be positive.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2012-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The rifle I received was beautiful ( it was a rebuild) but I have large hands and I could not use the pistol grip because the thumb hole was to small Since I could not use it I gave it as a Christmas gift to a friend of mine whose hand fit the stock. He promptly mounted the scope and zeroed it at 30 yards. The last time I spoke with him he was punching holes through ¾” plywood and holding a pattern that was just a little larger than a dime. He already owned a Gamo Whisper in .177 cal. and said he cannot believe how much more power the 22 cal has.
      Things I would have changed:The thumb hole needs to be enlarged. If they ever do that or,if I could get it with a different stock,I will buy one for myself
      What others should know:As I said watch the thumb hole size. Other than that it appears to be a great rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2012-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:light quiet excellent accuracy out of the box. PBA"S loud of course breakin the sound barrier, and trigger very smooth I work on guns.the mounts much more solid than the single screw system overall suberb
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:experiment with diff pellets don't skimp on top quality pell's
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2012-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:looks, weight, accuracy, grip & looks
      Things I would have changed:haven't had long enought to know what to change or improve .
      What others should know:its takes about 50 to 150 shots to get to do what it is suppose to do [ shoot quiet ]
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chadwick from USA on 2011-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is light and is quiet! The neighbor next door has a new Silent Stalker Whisper which is a bit faster, but consequently, is noisier. It's pellet breaks the sound barrier so you still hear the "Crack" associated with that. The Silent Cat keeps the pellet just over 900fps but under the sound barrier......so, it's pretty quiet. Mine is .22cal. That's quite a bit of lead to fling at 900fps pretty silently.
      Things I would have changed:So far, I'm pleased with the performance & don't have any recommended changes.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Eric from USA on 2011-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good power decent price love the stock very quiet
      Things I would have changed:scope and trigger both are junk
      What others should know:this gun is very good over all but gamo needs to fix the scope and trigger and for some reason its consistant for about 70 pellets or so and then way off could be the scope or mounts if anyone knows please comment
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jose from USA on 2011-11-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got 2 of these REFURBISHED rifles and thought I was taking a risk for buying them "refurbished" but ... they were in really NEW condition... all the wraps, plastics, box, scope... everything NEW! The rifle itself is pretty ergonomic and lightweight... and the .22 caliber packs a lot of punch. Im extremely glad with what I bought, especially when I see them sold at local stores for $290-$320... I got it for around $180 in my mail.
      Things I would have changed:The iron sight (True Glow) looks awesome but is not holding the aim right. It has to be VERY unscrewed for my personal setting and Im having problems holding the aim at my calibration setting. I bought a boresight laser and marked my calibration setting at the sight's setting screw with a color marker... still hunting them down!
      What others should know:Buy GAMO!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clint E. from USA on 2011-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just got this beast and it is one hell of a break barrel. I have a small, indoor range in my basement and promptly took this rifle downstairs, set it up and put it through the rounds, sighting it in. Came together pretty quickly and when my hand was steady, I was putting several pellets in dime size areas at 25 feet. This gun is significantly quieter than it's loud-mouth sister, the Big Cat. I'd liken it's pop to something like a nail gun. Nothing close to a firearm and pretty neighbor friendly.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to think that an adjustable cheek plate would not have been too much to ask for but at below $200 bucks, maybe I am demanding a bit more than the price would warrant.
      What others should know:Beware of this guys power. I can't test the PPI but I the PBA pellets will punch through two sheets of 1/4" plywood and still ricochet of the wall (I should know).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jim from USA on 2011-10-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love this gun !!!Paid alot more for it than it is selling for now. VERY accurate even with lead pellets !
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing. A joy to shoot.
      What others should know:Buy it, especialy it this price !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BIG K from USA on 2011-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:that it has great power, that it has great accuracy, also how incredibly light it is i absolutly love this gun!!!!
      Things I would have changed:i would change the iron sights on it i dont like them because they just arent good for long ranges its hard to hit something at a long range with iron sights
      What others should know:that definitly they need to buy this gun it is fantastic and be sure to get the right oils and lubricants for it because you will want it to last a very long time because you will love it so much!!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Charles from USA on 2011-05-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very nice design, light weight, and easy to handle. Sights are laminated green which makes it easy to see and lineup. When I place the rifle on a bench rest I can put rounds in a quarter size hole at 25 yards. I brought the rifle to take out squirrels in my backyard, because they are tearing up my yard. I have dropped two squirrels with one shot each so it does have the power to kill them, plus quiet enough as to not alarm neighbors when I conducting target practice or taking varmints.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the scope and have it sit slightly higher, because the rear sites and front site obscure the bottom 25% of the site picture. I have shot 250 pellets through the rifle and it is accurate out to 25 yards, but small kick of the rifle causes the scope to move out of alignment.
      What others should know:None
    • « Previous 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top