Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Varmint Hunter Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By DAVID from USA on 2009-02-27 12:08:54

    Things I liked:every thang!!!i use it bird-rabit and other varmits WICH I LIVE OUT IN THE COUNTRY AND SHOOT A LOT
    Things I would have changed:a better scope. such a good gun with such a sucky scope
    What others should know:A TOUGH GUN
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By ted from USA on 2007-09-18 22:15:59

    Things I liked:compaired to other airguns i have owned in the passed the varmint hunter has a very good feel about it. The weight of the rifle is formitable and it has an incredibly realistic recoil. I would find this rifle to be a perfect gun for target practise in suburbia. The power of this gun was surprising for the price at point blank with the light pba ammo (crap only good for short range) it went 2/3 the way threw a 2x4 and at about 10 yards threw a racoon. At close range it is very good at taking care of all those unwanted pest around the house the laser was easy to sight in and is great for close range.
    Things I would have changed:the scope is crap the flashlight is poitless and the triger has a very slow action to it
    What others should know:this gun is anything but a toy dont buy it for a child. if your an avid shooter u better start workin out cause this thing is a pain to cock. all in all its not a bad buy in my eyes
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joe from USA on 2011-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solid barrel to receiver action with easy breaking. Good balance and weight. Receiver is stamped with country of manufacture as Spain (not sure if the components were manufactured in China but at least the rifle was assembled in Spain). Hard hitting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is very poor with a long second stage. Others have reported replacing the trigger on this rifle with the aftermarket GRTIII. BUT on my late-model version the plastic trigger CANNOT be replaced with a GRTIII. The scope is not very good, with the laser and flashlight not very useful for my purposes.
      What others should know:Despite a lousy trigger this rifle can hold 1/2" groups at 25 yds with Predators and RWS Meisterkugeln pellets. But every time I finally squeeze off a shot I wish I could have a GRTIII.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By phil from USA on 2011-08-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:ease of use, accuracy
      Things I would have changed:add options for better scope instead of stock unit
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kelly from USA on 2011-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful, dependable and easy to handle. Added laser and light very effective in heavy canopy woods, excellent for midnight pest control. Light makes the eyes glow while laser is centered between them ... Presto! Have had this gun now for 5 years and had to replace spring once. Will upgrade to gas piston should the spring ever fail again, gas was not available last time. Pyramid Air repair dept was quick with the the repair and free return shipping ... good customer service, highly recommend.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing in particular, but would love to exchange for Nitro gas spring model or to upgrade. Would like it if this model was made in larger caliber.
      What others should know:Great gun for Squirrel hunting and for keeping by the back door for night time critters/pests causing a ruckus out back !! Perfect for finding and dealing with pesky critters in the dark of night.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By John from USA on 2010-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gamo is by far the best with the stock. They make this gun feel amazing. The polymer encased barrel I really like because if you take this out to go shoot some pests you don't need to worry about it getting damaged or wet or anything really.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy was terrible. I couldn't get a descent group at 15 yards. Also I would have liked to see a 3-9x40 scope.
      What others should know:This gun has a long break in time so don't get mad at it. It takes some time to break in. Also I have tried soooo many different pellets and I can say that the heavier the pellet the more accurate out of this gun it will be. Great for pests and small game if you give it some time and effort
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2009-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use and packs a hugh punch using the Gamo PBA ammo. Well constructed and very accurate once sighted. At 36 feet, it can cluster 5 shots in about the size of a nickel. A lot of gun for a reasonable price.
      Things I would have changed:It was a little tough getting it sighted, but once there, it is dead accurate. Manual is not very user friendly for a novice, however, you can figure it out on your own.
      What others should know:Make sure you know what is in back of your target (basic gun rules), with PBA ammo this can go through some thin targets. I used a piece of 5/8" plywood in back of the target as a stop. After about 25 shots, the plywood was pretty beat up.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By john from USA on 2009-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power is incredible; unless im mistaken when i used the ft/lb calculation, this gun is capable of delivering almost 20ft/lbs using a 8.8g crow mag and using the guns listed velocity for lead at 1000fps (will discuss this down below). Accuracy is insane for the price; using the tips and tricks how to hold springers from this site i can attain shots on poker chips out to 50yrds. Fits just like a real firearm rifle; it shoulders well and feels well balanced. It is capable of humanely taking my residential varmints (rabbits, rats, starlings, whatever) out to my propertys limits which is bout 50yrds
      Things I would have changed:Lets adress scope creep; id change the scope mount to a weaver/picatinny or at least make an upgrade to that possible. this gun is way more powerful than the scope, id get an AO 3-9x or better. trigger is crap. the hole that allows for the trigger adjustment is poorly located so i drilled a larger better place hole, but why as the trigger adjustment is almost useless, get a grt III trigger.
      What others should know:I would actually like to get some chrony data from pyramid or anybody concerning this guns actual potential as i am well aware that 1000fps is probably not a real life speed. Knowing this i assume that the gun will really push 900fps using an 8.8g crow mag. even that data provides nearly 16ft/lbs, this is only 3ft/lbs less than what my beloved benji 392's can generate using rated 685fps using 18.2g crow mag which is about 19ft/lbs and we know that 685fps is not real life speed so the benji will most likely at 600fps generate 14.5ft/lbs. but this is all guess work cuz i dont have a chrony. even so, this gun is very powerful and if u use the right round for the shot, the varmint hunter will please you every time.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DAVID from USA on 2009-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:every thang!!!i use it bird-rabit and other varmits WICH I LIVE OUT IN THE COUNTRY AND SHOOT A LOT
      Things I would have changed:a better scope. such a good gun with such a sucky scope
      What others should know:A TOUGH GUN
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2008-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Weight is good. Looks nice.
      Things I would have changed:Scope. First thing I did was change the scope. The gun has more range and accuracy than a 4x scope gives. Get at least a 3 x 9 x 40. Mil dots are great also as it eliminates guess work of the drop on longer shots. Trigger. I put a GRT on it and it made a world of difference in accuracy. Went from 1/2" groups @30yds to almost hole in hole. 50 yds still 1/2" group. About every 4 or 5 shots I get a flyer. Can be off as much as several inches. Have not figured that out yet. The laser was useless on the gun. The recoil kept knocking the laser off target. It works great on my .22 whoever.
      What others should know:Mine likes RWS superdomes. Most of my shots are 40 + yard shots. At 70yds it will still go through 1/4 plywood. Out to 70yds very accurate with 10 mph or less cross wind. After that it drifts with the wind as much as 1 or more feet @100 yds. with a 15 mph cross wind 2 to 3 feet. You can't ask to much of .177 pellet so no big deal. With a light or no wind it will hit it's taget at 100yds. I killed my limit this season shooting dove. Most shots were long, out to 70 yds, and I got one shot kills on all but one bird. Great gun for the money especially when you add the GRTIII trigger, well worth the money. I have now shot squirrels, rabbits, crows, dove, starlings and turtles, all with well placed, one shot kills. Great gun for varmints.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Patrick from USA on 2008-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:bull barrel looks cool stock has a great feel to it resembles a fine synthetic stock centerfire rifle very accurate power
      Things I would have changed:stock scope is crap
      What others should know:This is an excellent value for the money. The stock scope that comes with it is crap though. I would not hold a zero. I changed it to a centerpoint 3-9x32 with red/green illuminated mil-dot reticle. Holds zero fine now. Only had a chance to do short range testing because of the size of my shooting area but the groups at 10 yards are nearly 1 hole with rws super-H point pellets. I put some blue loc-tite on the adjustment screws for the laser and it now holds zero much better. Overall, a great buy. Just needs a better scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lou from USA on 2008-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Laser and light great for possum & racoon pest in my area, great take down power with the PBA Raptor. Easy maintenence and quick on the spot targeting with laser. I have 2 other rifles that i no longer use because this is my all in one, day or night hands down. Nothings better for crows, starlings, racoons and opossums.
      Things I would have changed:I always seem to be sighting in my scope and laser every few days. Not sure if it's due to the gun or scope. Light is ok for closer targets but I would offer a more powerful upgrade. A larger 100yd. varmint light was put on by me and would be a great offer for Gamo to consider.
      What others should know:Gamo has definately stepped up and always is a step ahead of the competition. You'll spend more on the PBA pellets but there's no better feeling when your able to take down a varmint on the first shot when a more powerful punch is needed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2008-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, well balanced and powerful.
      Things I would have changed:I'm using the scope it came with - I don't usually use the Gamo scopes but this one is working really well. Changing any Gamo's stock trigger to a GRT-III trigger is a given. There's not much I'd change on this rifle, but open sights would be a nice addition instead of the scope since most don't even bother with the Gamo scopes.
      What others should know:I too had an issue with the laser not staying true and it's a common problem with just about any springer due to the harsh recoil. I found a simple solution that's working for myself and others as well. First, change the mount position so the laser sits directly above your scope so it's centered with your receiver. Make sure you have access to the windage/elevation screws before clamping it in. Next, remove the little set screws, clean them and apply some blue loctite to them. Install them, let them cure for 24 hours, then make your sight-in adjustments. The loctite helps add friction to the screws so the laser stays true much longer. Also, make sure the slotted screw opposite of the set screws is well snugged. I've gone hundreds of rounds before having to re-adjust it again, and it's very minimal at that which is a huge improvement from before I added the loctite.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mojadopat from USA on 2008-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love this gun i killed a bird head shot
      Things I would have changed:scope is kinda cheap
      What others should know:loof=king for rifle to hunt this is it
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joshua from USA on 2008-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome rifle super accurate with beeman crow magnums. I upgraded my trigger to the grt III and a new scope and solid scope mount, now its a sweet target and hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Stock trigger is terrible.
      What others should know:If your going to buy any gamo or crosman airgun i suggest upgrading the trigger to the Grt III.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Freddy from USA on 2008-04-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A very good looking gun, great power, very accurate with the right kind of pellets. Still trying quite a few reccomended ones from this site. The pellet that seems to work the best so far are the predators.
      Things I would have changed:The scope really needs an upgrade! I would put a variable power scope, which I plan on doing in the near future, either a centerPoint or a Leaper. The laser is good when it doesn't wander. For close in hunting ay night the light works great! It needs better pressure switches, both of mine stopped working. The trigger needs an upgrade.
      What others should know:It's good small game gun. I wopuld be a great gun if you tweak it with some upgrades.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike Brennan from USA on 2008-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice rifle, crude trigger. If you are buying this rifle for the laser and flashlight, don't. My laser and flashlight are currently mounted to my .410 snakecharmer for hip shooting armadillos. Get yourself a Big Cat 1200 and save some money for a new trigger and possibly a rescope. I use a 3-9 X 40 Centerpoint that works great.
      Things I would have changed:New trigger, tune up, different scope, no laser or flashlight.
      What others should know:Good all weather rifle with a better scope, better trigger and a tune up.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By FRANKR from USA on 2008-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Once i found pellets it liked (mine likes crow magnums) and let it break in a bit, this thing is awesome. Accurate...if you missed the target, YOU missed the target. :) The light is pretty bright, the laser is ok. The scope is pretty good, and holds it's zero. The whole package looks killer.
      Things I would have changed:The laser moves around alot from recoil (although I've never had one that didn't). I removed the sighting adjustment set screws and replaced them with M4x10 bolts...now I can easily tune the laser to the scope quickly and easily without tools.
      What others should know:Forget the PBA raptors...I found them to be inaccurate...but they are fun to impress your friends with their supersonic crack. If you plan to buy this and use the raptors for pest control in a close neighborhood, forget it and just use a .22...it's almost as loud. With the crow magnums, it's much quieter...the thud of the target is almost as loud as the gun. :)
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By roadrnnr42 from USA on 2008-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Look and feel. The power is great. Puts a CPHP pellet through a 3/4 pine board at 30yds. Accuracy is good to 50 yds. Have not shot beyond that but I can hit a pellet can close to center everytime at 50yds. I put a Center point 3x9x40 scope on mine. Light is good enough to see eyes out to 30 yds.
      Things I would have changed:Scope is just adequate at best. Trigger like most guns in this price range is cheap. Get an after market trigger for better feel and accuracy Laser will only stay on center for one or two shots at best. I took mine off as it was a waste of time.
      What others should know:For the money it is a good gun. WIth a tune and different trigger I get consistant shots right at 984 fps with CPHP pellets. For Varmint hunting this is a good gun for those of us who can't afford an air arms price tag
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By #1hunter from USA on 2008-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:alot of power for me and my backyard hunting. It was good enough to take down my first possum the day i got it. Really fine weapon!
      Things I would have changed:The scope. Ive had to sight it in numerous times because everytime i change shooting locations it goes way off. Id like a scope with some zooming powers. this has none.
      What others should know:If your gunna get this gun for a kid under 12. DONT. its too powerful. it's almost like a .22 rifle. but for any adult..its just what you need/
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By d from USA on 2008-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the gun comes out of the box looking sharp. the gun is very accurate once sighted which takes about 30 minutes and 90% of your included pba ammo (if you are a beginner with a scope). the gun feels good on your shoulder and the flashlight is incredible at night.
      Things I would have changed:The Laser is off about 8 inches from where the pellet hits. That is one of the only oversights on the gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mossy oak huntin man from USA on 2008-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:gun is amazing! it looks awesome, the light is super bright! not kidding i can shine a block down my street with it and my laser shines along ways away! Can drop any small game no probs. and powerfull
      Things I would have changed:instructions tell u to zero opposite of how u actually zero it.
      What others should know:it is about as loud as a .22 and has slight recoil not alot it just surprised me the first time i shot it. dont play with this gun it is dangerous it would definitley go in you!!!
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top