Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Viper Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By ceb11 from USA on 2010-01-23 06:49:44

    Things I liked:The stock looks great & the bull barrel adds to the looks of this air rifle. It is light and can be taken in the field without worry because of durable materials used on it. Power is spot on for any pest bird and most fur covered pest as long as you keep shots within range and hit the sweet spot.
    Things I would have changed:The Scope and the trigger. I upgraded both on mine and it took this rifle from OK to Great. I will also add the nitro piston to this from PA when I get a chance.
    What others should know:This is a good rifle but a few upgrades can make all the difference. First GRT III trigger, a very easy and cheap install. Second upgrade the scope to something that can handle the recoil. Third use lock tight. Then skip the PBA ammo and try some of the quality pellets Mine works very well with predator and redfire pellets on pests. Match pellets are great (RWS) inside 20 yds. Heavy round nose pellets are better for longer ranges ( JSB 10.2 grain & Gamo Rocket 9.6 grain). This rifle will take a few hundred rounds to settle in and get best accuracy. I clean the barrel every few hundred shots or so and the accuracy has been excellent. I can keep shots inside a quarter at 20 yards and can hit a 16 oz plastic bottle at 50 yards every time as lonng as wind is calm. I do recommend this rifle. The small upgrades make this an awesome choice.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By shafferfarm from USA on 2007-09-04 15:47:42

    Things I liked:Looks great. Very good trigger.
    Things I would have changed:make it accurate. Build a good pellet rifle. The first one failed after about 250 Raptor pellets through it. After paying $30+ to ship it back to Gamo and another $10 for them to ship it back to me the replacement rifle was found to have the barrel lose. I would give anything to get my money back on this piece of crap. I am done buying Gamo air rifles.
    What others should know:Do not buy this rifle! For the money it cost to purchase this rifle you can pick something else much better I guarantee is better.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By bud from USA on 2014-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks, the heft (weight), the BSA scope, in general everything I expected. So far this is my recommendation by firing only one shot. Waiting for my chrony to be fixed. Will review later after a few more shots. I am sure I will increase my rating from a 4 when I can give a complete review.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at the moment.
      What others should know:Later. One thing though, I paid the same price for a new rifle and received a refurbished, which actually was what I ordered. No complaints by me since the rifle looks new.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just tuned this gun for a friend and found that it has features I wish I had in my Game Big Cat. The breech is solid metal with a oversized breech seal. The barrel is all metal construction .The main spring has alot of preload , something I feel helps with a solid discharge finish.The trigger is a old system but is tuneable with no plastic.
      Things I would have changed:Stock color and remove the lower scope mount bracket.a polished breech area to stop the breech seal from cutting, easily fix with some fine sand paper.
      What others should know:Its worth it since they don't make them anymore with these features for this cheap .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By deadeye1993 from USA on 2010-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:this is a great pellet gun i liked the bull barrel i thought it was plastic before i ordered it but was pleasently surprised to find out it was metal. the scope is a better one then they put on the gamo big cats. i liked the weight of it it doesnt feel cheap at all. the synthetic stock is nice and rugged.
      Things I would have changed:when i bought it the scope would allways slide on the rail. i bought a scope stop it didnt seam to help. so i got some advice to put nail polish on the rail then tighten the scope down and let it dry. and problem solved i have it sighted in to where i can hit the same hole in the target at 25 yards.
      What others should know:if you own a swamp cooler the gun will probably get a little surface rust it does not affect the performance of the gun at all but just looks a little ugly i got it right where the barrel cracks to load the pellet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ceb11 from USA on 2010-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The stock looks great & the bull barrel adds to the looks of this air rifle. It is light and can be taken in the field without worry because of durable materials used on it. Power is spot on for any pest bird and most fur covered pest as long as you keep shots within range and hit the sweet spot.
      Things I would have changed:The Scope and the trigger. I upgraded both on mine and it took this rifle from OK to Great. I will also add the nitro piston to this from PA when I get a chance.
      What others should know:This is a good rifle but a few upgrades can make all the difference. First GRT III trigger, a very easy and cheap install. Second upgrade the scope to something that can handle the recoil. Third use lock tight. Then skip the PBA ammo and try some of the quality pellets Mine works very well with predator and redfire pellets on pests. Match pellets are great (RWS) inside 20 yds. Heavy round nose pellets are better for longer ranges ( JSB 10.2 grain & Gamo Rocket 9.6 grain). This rifle will take a few hundred rounds to settle in and get best accuracy. I clean the barrel every few hundred shots or so and the accuracy has been excellent. I can keep shots inside a quarter at 20 yards and can hit a 16 oz plastic bottle at 50 yards every time as lonng as wind is calm. I do recommend this rifle. The small upgrades make this an awesome choice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By glen from USA on 2009-08-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great scope for an air rifle
      Things I would have changed:gun is a little loud, but you could go with the whisper if that bothers you.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ZAZA from USA on 2009-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shot it out to 25yrds. with 9.6gr. Rocket Pellets and held a 1'' group.
      Things I would have changed:Would install a silencer similer to the wisper , but I like the bull barrel. If possible have the silencer incorperated into the bull barrel so it wasn't so bulky.
      What others should know:Worked well on Rabbits eating my garden and flowers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chrisa from USA on 2009-05-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feel of gun, weight, accuracy, scope with military red dot display and easy 30lb cocking effort.
      Things I would have changed:I would add a shoulder strap and lower the price. Price. It's a great gun but could come under the $200 mark. PBA bullets are not cheap either.
      What others should know:If you are looking for a mid priced but high quality/velocity break barrel, the Gamo Viper Combo is a good one. I would also suggest the Gamo Varmint Hunter as well, which includes a laser and light.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2008-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is powerful, accurate and easy to cock when done right. Not that loud and gets quieter with break-in (about 100-150 shots for mine).
      Things I would have changed:1- Scope is alright- should be sold without one so the buyer can choose which scope to use. 2- Make it possible to put a real carrying strap on it. 3- Trigger not great. Although somewhat used to the trigger now, I am going to put the GRTIII trigger on it because even after adjustment it is a long pull.
      What others should know:The scope when screwed down tightly will hold it's zero if you have one that's not broken. I thought the gun would just not shoot straight when I realized the scope was not tightened down enough and would loosen up after shooting a few times. After cranking down on the screws (not too hard though) & zeroing the scope- I was hitting bullseye at 30 yds on a rest almost every time. Find the right pellets also for your gun- mine likes the crosman premier hollow points. Now I can hit a small gatorade bottle out to 170 feet from a standing position (56yds)! This gun can shoot once you get used to the trigger and hold her steady! I've taken 2 shots at squirrels from about 50 yards and taken them cleanly! Glad I didn't spend $400 on one of the other guns...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ceb11 from USA on 2008-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The stock looks great and is weather proof. Accuracy with the right pellet is superb. Fairly light weight IMO. Easy to cock the barrel, and is not very loud with medium to heavy weight pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The scope was the only complaint for me as in the higher settings it becomes difficult to see the lines. Easy fix get a different scope.
      What others should know:I have tried a frew different springers from Beeman ( chinese made model). to a Crosman G1 ( good rifle but accuracy is not on par with this Gamo.) and I also tried a Benjamin Super Streak for a day. The gamo out preforms them all. Although the Benjamin is a big powerful beast it was not near as smooth to fire and is really not a good rifle to carry because of its length ( nearly 50 inches) and weight. I know many of you have heard thios befor but it's oh so true. Power means nothing if you can't hit your mark. the Gamo viper is a great all around Pest / target rifle. I would highly recommend this rifle for this application. I have now added a higher end mil dot scope and have been blown away by the proformance. this gun will stay with me for a long time to come. Pest animals from small birds to rats rabbits possums and even raccon with a well placed head can be taken. I have found best accuracy and penetration using the Gamo Rockets. Aso Cosman field points and JSB predators provide great accuracy. Stay away from the PBA CRAPTORS and the other fast & furious ultra light pellets because you will not be abel to hit anything smaller than an elephant.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By R. LaFave from USA on 2008-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks. Weight . Overall feel.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger. It has an adjustment but even when fully screwed in the trigger has too much pull. Scope. The second I took it out of the box I took the scope off and replaced it with a BSA 3-12x44.
      What others should know:This gun shoots very well. Keep it clean and you'll keep up the extreme velocity.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2007-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Viper has a great feel to it. Easy to cock for shooting. It is very accurate with the right scope. I bought a Center-Point Adventure Class 3-9x40mm Red/Green dual illuminated rifle scope to replace the one that comes with the Viper.I now shoot dime size groups at 50ft.
      Things I would have changed:Sell with choice of scopes and price accordingly. Every thing else is great.
      What others should know:Understand that this rifle has a lot of recoil for the scope that is shipped with it. you will need to replace it with one that will withstand this kind of shock if you require a pin point group.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By shafferfarm from USA on 2007-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Design is great. Trigger pull is very good. Very solid feel to this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:A better scope would be nice. Time will tell if they have corrected the problem that caused the first rifle to fail.
      What others should know:I wrote a review on this rifle a little over a month ago. If you look at it you will see a pretty bad review. I still am not happy about the failure of the first rifle and the lose barrel on the second one but the accuracy problem seems to have fixed itself. I believe the problem is with the scope. This thing was all over the place with Raptor pellets but now is nearly dead on 100% of the time. The only thing that might cause this is the scope for some reason not holding zero. I can't explain how it corrected itself but it has and now it is a tack driver, very impressive.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Doug from USA on 2007-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've owned this gun for about a year, I upgraded from an old 10 pump 650 FPS BB gun that I owned for a long time, and man, it was a big jump. I used my old gun mostly for hunting (squirrels, birds, groundhogs, etc.), so when I switched to this thing I really noticed the difference. First of all, it's insanely powerful. Shooting something like a crow at ranges where my old gun would do no damage or just absolutely miss, this gun goes straight through the target (with the right pellets). Larger things like groundhogs that use to freely eat up my garden stay away now that I have this gun. Yeah, this gun is a beast. Secondly, the accuracy of this gun is also awesome. The grouping is very close even at long ranges, I never measured exactly how much though. Also, it's sorta heavy but it feels solid when you hold it, it's got nice rubber padding so it doesn't hurt your shoulder when you shoot, and it looks very cool.
      Things I would have changed:The scope. I'm still using this scope but it has some problems. Because this gun has a lot of recoil, the scope creeps forward. Every shot it gets a little more off target, and you have to adjust it often. Other then that, the scope is excellent. The trigger also has some problems. A couple times I have sat outside and spent a few hours and about 80 or so pellets shooting at some targets. After a lot of shooting, the trigger needs to be pulled back very far to fire, and sometimes it doesn't fire at all. Keep in mind this only happened twice to me, after at least 60 or 70 pellets in a short amount of time. I don't know if my gun is just defective, or if this is a mechanism telling you that you're shooting it too much, but the next day after it happens it's working perfectly again. Maybe the gun just gets tired and wants a nap :).
      What others should know:This gun works great with certain pellets, but others have terrible accuracy. Good ones (out of the ones I have tested): Gamo Hunter; most match pellets, every brand I tested worked great; Crossman Field Point pellets, they seem very generic, but were some of the best performing pellets for me, high accuracy and penetration power; and of course the Gamo Raptor PBA ammo. (Note: the Raptor PBA pellets break the sound barrier in this gun, so when you shoot these it will make a supersonic crack that is really, really loud, and may get the cops called on you if you shoot these in your back yard. Do your neighbors a favor and only use these in the woods away from civilization.) Pellets to avoid: Gamo Magnum and Gamo Master Point. Both of these pellets were great in my old gun, but in the Viper they get 6+ inch groups where others get 1 or less. Don't know why, but they are just horrible in this gun. All in all, this is a great gun. If you are looking for a high quality hunting or plinking gun, this is an option you should really look into. Hope this review helps you make your decision.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ARMIDEE from USA on 2007-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the heft of the rifle. It handles like a true centerfire rifle. Very accurate with the right scope combination. Dime to nickel sized groups of 5 at 35 yards. I've put over 2000 pellets through this air rifle. No vibrations, smooth and crisp. Well broken in. I've plinked at ranges greater than 50 yards and hit the target. I haven't benched it further than 40 yards but suspect it would fair well even at 50-70 yards. I think I picked a pretty good rifle out of the production line.
      Things I would have changed:The factory scope is inadequate for the forward recoil of this spring piston air rifle. Mine broke within the first week of firing. Gamo needs to go back to the drawing board with their scopes. They don't hold a zero. It's a shame that they've put such a low quality scope on and air rifle with such promising potential. I changed to the Leapers AO 3-9x50 Illuminated mil dot UTG scope. Superb accuracy with this combination using Gamo Hunter 8.3 gr. pellets. Dime to nickel sized groups of 5 at 35-40 yards. Deadly in capable hands with this combination. The trigger is a little stiff and creepy at times but tolerable because I hit what I'm aiming at. I've plinked at ranges greater than 50 yards and hit the target. I haven't benched it further than 40 yards but suspect it would fair well even at 50-70 yards. I think I picked a pretty good rifle out of the production line.
      What others should know:This air rifle has GREAT potential. With the accuracy that I'm acquiring now, I wounder what will happen with a premium tune package for this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By aalford from USA on 2007-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like the stock on this rifle and also the "Bull" barrel both looks good and makes it seem easier to cock. The rifle handles well and is very accurate with a slightly muzzel heavy feel that I like. The action is smoother and has less vibration or "twang" than my Shadow 1000 had out of the box. The overall finish is also superior. I'm pleased with the Viper.
      Things I would have changed:The scope and trigger.
      What others should know:The illuminated reticle scope is cool but does not allow focusing at as short a range as it should. I actually prefer the less expensive scope that Gamo includes with the Whisper to this one. I've been shooting my Viper for 3 months now and have not had a single problem.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By shafferfarm from USA on 2007-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks great. Very good trigger.
      Things I would have changed:make it accurate. Build a good pellet rifle. The first one failed after about 250 Raptor pellets through it. After paying $30+ to ship it back to Gamo and another $10 for them to ship it back to me the replacement rifle was found to have the barrel lose. I would give anything to get my money back on this piece of crap. I am done buying Gamo air rifles.
      What others should know:Do not buy this rifle! For the money it cost to purchase this rifle you can pick something else much better I guarantee is better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ViperSlasher from USA on 2007-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks, the grey synthetic stock looks like much more higher quality than the synthetic stock of the gamo shadow 1000. The grips, Gamo stayed true to the viper-snake thing. The grips arent checkered, theyre shaped like snake-skin. Bull Barrel: This thing feels much better in your hand when you cock it, and it balances the gun, which I believe reduces the recoil.
      Things I would have changed:I would make the cheekpiece leather
      What others should know:The scope doesn't seem to hold its zero very well, and the cocking effort gets heavier in about halfway through the cocking, but gets light as it approaches the end.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top