Date: 7/12/2016 6:10
0

Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun & Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Jonathon from USA on 2009-04-20 12:36:20

Things I liked: It works! Just popped a squirrel at 10 yards. Had to step over from cover, shoulder and fire quickly. The squirrel dropped to the ground, killed instantly. I shoot a lot of squirrels with my CFX and even with a good head or heart shot they very rarely are just smacked right down dead. I was amazed. Shocked, in fact. Nice weight, very sweet handling and natural pointing, like an expensive "real" shot gun. The trigger on mine is smooth and just right, way better than the trigger on my CFX.

Things I would have changed: Even though my trigger is good the way it is, it would be nice to have a hole in the trigger guard right above the adjusting screw for the trigger. Also it would be kind of them to include a half dozen of the tiny, brass adapters for shooting pellets as it is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when that tiny adapter disappears somewhere.

What others should know: I fired at a 700 page tool catalog at 30 feet and the #9 shot penetrated to around page 175. At 40 feet the shot penetrated to around page 135.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-06-28 16:21:28

Things I liked: The gun I have shoots to the point of aim and shoots consistent patterns, even if they are limited to 10 yards for lack of shot density at any greater range.

Things I would have changed: See my review of the ammo for that information. As far as the gun itself, from the moment I took it from the box I felt disappointment, as I expected much more from a gun at this price point. It may prove to be good polymer plastic, but the gun is plastic at every possible place: The breech block, barrel shroud, barrel rib, sighting rib of the receiver, stock and worst of all, the trigger.

What others should know: The components of the shotshell were also a let down. See my review of them for the details. The first several times I cocked my shotgun, I believed I would soon be returning it as the action felt as if it were filled with sand. It began smoothing out quickly however, and now several dozen shots later is smooth. The trigger is also smooth but long and rather heavy and the "adjustment" is limited to the presence of a screw that has no effect of the length of pull despite the manufacturers claim. The gun will shoot pellets surprisingly tight as long as the range is limited to 10 yards. At that range mine will stack Gamo Round lead balls on top of each other, but at 15 yards they are spread out to 3.5". Several pellet did similarly, grouping tightly at 10 but limited beyond that range. I do not judge this gun on this as it is intended to use shot, not act as a rifle. In my opinion, it is over-priced by about $50.00. That figures into the over-all rating.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2016-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate with pellets for a smooth bore. You can reload the shells and they fit in a standard butt stock ecstatic cartridge holder.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, so far.

    What others should know: It's loud if you dry fire it. Sounds like a 22! When firing ammo it's not too bad. I saw a bad review about breach seals on YouTube and was hesitant to buy it. Did more research and found mainly positive reviews. The video was from 2009. It's the fourth hit that shows up after 3 pyramydair ads when you Google the gun. So, maybe it should be taken down, revised or a retraction added. I shot the hell out of mine today, right out of the box with no issues. Just lots of fun!

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dennis from USA on 2016-10-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that I can take two types of ammo so its just like A real shotgun only the pellets are your slugs fun and good to have around the home

    Things I would have changed: Make a pellet shell and adapter that's rifled

    What others should know: If you looking for a nice gun this is one to take home

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Did I really need an airgun "shotgun"? No. But did it look pretty darn cool and something I wanted to try? YES! This is a well-made airgun. It is easy to use, and a nice addition to one's airgun armory.

    Things I would have changed: I was a bit upset that the pellet adapter did not come with the airgun as promised, but a quick e-mail to Pyramyd Air fixed that quick enough.

    What others should know: This is a airgun "shotgun". You need to keep that in mind. The payload is SMALL. Looks like #12 shot - or smaller, and just not a lot of them. I am going to experiment with the load to see if I can maximize it, but this is really only good for short-range targets or very short range pest control. It should be good in an attic if something small (squirrel or smaller) gets up there and you need to take it out without punching holes in your roof. With its diminutive payload though, I would hesitate to try it on anything larger than a squirrel.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Shotgun! Enough said. At 10m all pellets in 8.5" x 11" target. .22 call pellet very accurate with only ball front site. Great looking gun.

    Things I would have changed: Make a hole in stock or butt pad for .22 call insert.

    What others should know: Reload these yourself. Easy to do and results are the same as purchased loads. RWS "Superdome" .22 call come with gun. Work great!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun for the money.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By richard from USA on 2016-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have only fired it one time. I will be using it in the near future to control english sparrows. It seems well built. I appreciate the info online as to reloading the shells.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's like a real shotgun in many ways. It's light. Powerful. I can't wait to shoot something with it. I have shot it at paper pattern targets, can't believe the pattern and power. I love it. It's an air gun you should have in your collection. I'd like to see larger shot shells offered. I haven't tried shooting a 22cal. pellet through it yet. I'm just happy for the shot gun part.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing!

    What others should know: Be careful with this shot gun, it's powerful. It's a lot of fun to shoot.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Dano from USA on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a blast with the shot shells , pretty decent with the pellets but hey we all have plenty of pellet rifles around , the fun is in blasting tin cans and .. well pretty much anything , shot high as I was just too close , better out to 10 yards and dead on , a nice 12 " pattern with most of the shot in the cans , plenty of power and just a nice lightweight balanced natural shooter .

    Things I would have changed: Well the price is about twice what it should be going for , and the shot shells are way too high and should be maybe 200 for $5.00 , other that that it's pretyt nice .

    What others should know: Tried some aftermarket reload shells and so far they have been a failure , just fit too loose and have maybe 100 FPS at the most , am working with the seller in trying to get a fix for them , an O'ring on each one orc just a light silicone dip , hopefully we can get it figured out as they were fun to reload and would make it cheaper to shoot than pellets , especially with old useless shot gun shells , one 12 gauge will yield many of these handloads and make it whole lot more fun to shoot , if you get past the price of the gun and shot shells this is a nice gun to add to your brace of guns .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2015-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: That this is a shotgun, I think there is a lot of room for air shotguns that can be developed. This one fits a very specialty use and for within it's limitations it's been great, one of my most happier buys. I think more shooters might give this gun a try if they have to dispatch rats or snakes in a location where over travel of projectiles would be unacceptable such as around other housing. My experience may vary slightly from others since I built what might be viewed as a free bore choke/air stripper out of pvc and grommets that reduced the shot pattern at 3 yards from 3" to 2 1/4". At 10 yards though it patterned at 10" which with 18 to 20 shot pieces per shell was spread so widely as to be useless for my uses. At 4 yards though I have a very impressive soda can that I like to keep that has a very impressive pattern of 14 hits covering 2/3 of the can. I have dispatched a several rats effectively and a few small snakes.

    Things I would have changed: only the price of the shot shells to encourage a lot more fun with this gun.

    What others should know: I experimented with my own loads using a factory shell and reusing fired ones. Trying to reuse the fired ones is fruitless unless you can recover one of the plastic cups that go in the back of the shell. Trying different shot counts with many variations and sizes of shot also proved fruitless Like many things airgun trust what the engineers have come up with. I could not improve upon the factory shot shells. My longest rat dispatch shot was done on an overhead wire at about 6 or 7 yards and very effective. I would guess this is the range limit for my gun. The bore is choked and recovered pellets appear to be swaged down to .20 caliber. Pellets chrono tested at 700 fps at muzzle shot shells at 600 fps at muzzle. I did shoot a couple of shot shells horizontally out over a small retention pond, barrel about six feet above the water line, the shot landed in a nice 6' diameter spray about 20 yds out. I don't really shoot pellets but at 7 yds it's a tack driver. I love my gun.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun I have shoots to the point of aim and shoots consistent patterns, even if they are limited to 10 yards for lack of shot density at any greater range.

    Things I would have changed: See my review of the ammo for that information. As far as the gun itself, from the moment I took it from the box I felt disappointment, as I expected much more from a gun at this price point. It may prove to be good polymer plastic, but the gun is plastic at every possible place: The breech block, barrel shroud, barrel rib, sighting rib of the receiver, stock and worst of all, the trigger.

    What others should know: The components of the shotshell were also a let down. See my review of them for the details. The first several times I cocked my shotgun, I believed I would soon be returning it as the action felt as if it were filled with sand. It began smoothing out quickly however, and now several dozen shots later is smooth. The trigger is also smooth but long and rather heavy and the "adjustment" is limited to the presence of a screw that has no effect of the length of pull despite the manufacturers claim. The gun will shoot pellets surprisingly tight as long as the range is limited to 10 yards. At that range mine will stack Gamo Round lead balls on top of each other, but at 15 yards they are spread out to 3.5". Several pellet did similarly, grouping tightly at 10 but limited beyond that range. I do not judge this gun on this as it is intended to use shot, not act as a rifle. In my opinion, it is over-priced by about $50.00. That figures into the over-all rating.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2015-04-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Naturally, what I like most is the ability to hit small, fast moving targets (such as a viper that circumstances require killing rather than removal) and aerial targets while still having the capability of precision marksmanship. It is also lightweight and easy to cock and load, even for those with limited strength. While sights are rudimentary, there is a raised section on the rib that provides a rear aiming point for use with the bead for alignment AND it is grooved for optics. If the chamber adapter is lost it can be replaced for $12.95 from Gamo OR you can simply use an expended shotshell left in the chamber as pellets insert easily. Accuracy and penetration limit effectiveness to LESS THAN 10 YARDS for shot but adequate for a measured 37 yard head shot on a squirrel -1 shot, 1 quick kill.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a selection of shot sizes or an offering of necessary reloading components so makeshift plugs to contain the shot aren't necessary as the rather expensive shotshells are easily reloaded. I would also like to see a fitted storage compartment for the brass chamber adapter (a compartment in the stock would work well). I currently store mine in one of the compression holes in the rubber butt plate which does hold it securely but leaves it sticking out where it can get caught on things.

    What others should know: It is light, easily cocked and loaded with minimal effort, is pleasantly quiet and shouldn't bother neighbors, has very little felt recoil, BUT any optics mounted on the rail MUST HAVE A STOP SCREW because loc-tite alone will not prevent the optic mounts from walking off the back of the grooves. The viper actually has a 11mm riser installed over the machined 11mm grooves for appearance and replacing its existing set screw with a longer set screw will provide an adequate block for optics but will be in the way when or if you remove the optics (another reason for built in storage compartment). GET A GAMO VIPER EXPRESS - you will enjoy it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Norm from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This weapon is a blast to shoot. Not only is the .22 caliber shotgun a hoot to shoot, the .22 caliber pellet rifle is unbelievably accurate, (especially for a smoothbore)! I love it! (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)

    Things I would have changed: I can think of nothing that I would change. (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)

    What others should know: IMO: This gun offers the best of both worlds - a rifle AND a shotgun! As soon as they became available again I got myself one. The shotgun is for short range use only, (up to maybe fifty feet). Don't think that you can go out and bird hunt in big open fields. That is not what this shotgun is about. In my experiences, with a scope, the rifle is surprisingly accurate between 10' - 50'. Pyramid Air surprised me how quickly they shipped this to me and how great it was packaged. Too, their deal of buying three and receiving four on ammo is GREAT! (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Likes. . .light weight, seems well built. Easy to handle just point and fire. I purchased for the shotgun capabilities for short range pests. It performs as needed. Like the concept of air shotgun. Easy cocking and accurate with shotshells. Quiet factor.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe heavier shotshell capabilities with more power. Good as is but this would increase it's capabilities to another level.

    What others should know: The shotgun feature is unique in an air rifle. Performs well short range. . .out to 20-30' as a shotgun.The further out, the wider the shot pattern. At 20-30' the pattern is approx 12" spread. Will eliminate pest at close range. . .I have done so. I added a Truglo Red Dot which aids in quick target sighting. Not a long range shotgun. .22 shots are ok but my use is 99.9percent shotgun. Worth trying. . . Shotshells are pricey. PA packs well & ships fast.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mark from USA on 2015-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very well-made airgun/shotgun. The fit and finish is very nice and the light weight makes it easy to carry. I bought this gun to strictly use it as a shotgun for killing rats. I used it for the first time today and I shot eight barn rats from 4 yards away. The number nine shot is devastating on rats. I have no complaints about this airgun and I'm glad it is being offered for sale again.

    Things I would have changed: Lower price on shot shells or offer reloadable metal shot shells.

    What others should know: This is not a high-powered shotgun and is only intended for very small game at close range. It is very fun to shoot and very accurate at close range. This would also make a great youth beginner shotgun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2011-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is a real fun gun to shoot with. I've never gotten bored practicing or hunting with this gun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great gun for the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: That it's an air shotgun! And a halfway decent rifle, with good power and not bad accuracy, considering that the barrel isn't rifled. That the trigger is metal, (Hooray!) and though it has a fair amount of creep, the trigger is light and breaks smoothly, though not crisply. Frankly, I didn't expect the trigger to be as good as it is, and I may be able to adjust it to make it even better. That it's easy to cock, time after time, is well balanced and seems well made. That I can practice my aim with inexpensive .22 pellets, and knock down squirrels with the more expensive shot, at close range. That it's not heavy.

    Things I would have changed: I may eventually replace the spring with a gas cartridge, though it's fine for now. It does buzz somewhat, though this is my first springer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I'd work to make the trigger break more crisply, though it's already much better than most inexpensive airgun triggers, and -metal-. I'd add a rear sight for better accuracy with pellets.

    What others should know: Buy plenty of shot shells! For a tighter group with shot, press the white plastic shell seal in with a pen until it is resting against the shot. I plan to reload mine, and will try #8 as well as the #9 shot it comes with. There are 17 pellets of #9 shot in each shell. If you do lose the brass pellet adapter, a used shot shell casing will do about as well. The only difference, besides the material it's made of, is that the brass adapter has an O-ring to hold the pellet in place. I'd be curious to know what the velocity of the shot is as it leaves the barrel.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kenny from USA on 2009-10-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great Rifle with lots of power. very accurate. consistent with many different pellets.

    Things I would have changed: loud when cocking spooks the target .

    What others should know: find a nice safe place for the adapter it will cast you $12.00 for a new one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2009-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: What I like is that it is a shot gun and rifle. Also it's fast and has good knock down power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It's just an all around great gun

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By RJ from USA on 2009-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Great non firearm Shotgun for small birds rodents, easy to break barrel to load and engage spring

    Things I would have changed: the gun is made to shoot shot loads very easy but when you go to the pellet mode you have to add a barrel adapter and it does not fit snugly and when you break the barrel down and then close the breech the adapter can slip partialy out and damage and or bend the adapter and it will put a ding on the edge of the barrel top, the accuracy is effected if the adapter bends. I did this on the 2nd shot I took with the .22 pelets I wasnt happy!

    What others should know: take care when breaking barrel to load and engage the spring when using the pelet adapter

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathon from USA on 2009-04-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.05 ratings

    Things I liked: It works! Just popped a squirrel at 10 yards. Had to step over from cover, shoulder and fire quickly. The squirrel dropped to the ground, killed instantly. I shoot a lot of squirrels with my CFX and even with a good head or heart shot they very rarely are just smacked right down dead. I was amazed. Shocked, in fact. Nice weight, very sweet handling and natural pointing, like an expensive "real" shot gun. The trigger on mine is smooth and just right, way better than the trigger on my CFX.

    Things I would have changed: Even though my trigger is good the way it is, it would be nice to have a hole in the trigger guard right above the adjusting screw for the trigger. Also it would be kind of them to include a half dozen of the tiny, brass adapters for shooting pellets as it is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when that tiny adapter disappears somewhere.

    What others should know: I fired at a 700 page tool catalog at 30 feet and the #9 shot penetrated to around page 175. At 40 feet the shot penetrated to around page 135.

  • 12 Next
Navigation