Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun & Rifle reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Average Customer Review

4.5 (15 reviews)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20 16:10:00

Things I liked:That it's an air shotgun! And a halfway decent rifle, with good power and not bad accuracy, considering that the barrel isn't rifled. That the trigger is metal, (Hooray!) and though it has a fair amount of creep, the trigger is light and breaks smoothly, though not crisply. Frankly, I didn't expect the trigger to be as good as it is, and I may be able to adjust it to make it even better. That it's easy to cock, time after time, is well balanced and seems well made. That I can practice my aim with inexpensive .22 pellets, and knock down squirrels with the more expensive shot, at close range. That it's not heavy.
Things I would have changed:I may eventually replace the spring with a gas cartridge, though it's fine for now. It does buzz somewhat, though this is my first springer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I'd work to make the trigger break more crisply, though it's already much better than most inexpensive airgun triggers, and -metal-. I'd add a rear sight for better accuracy with pellets.
What others should know:Buy plenty of shot shells! For a tighter group with shot, press the white plastic shell seal in with a pen until it is resting against the shot. I plan to reload mine, and will try #8 as well as the #9 shot it comes with. There are 17 pellets of #9 shot in each shell. If you do lose the brass pellet adapter, a used shot shell casing will do about as well. The only difference, besides the material it's made of, is that the brass adapter has an O-ring to hold the pellet in place. I'd be curious to know what the velocity of the shot is as it leaves the barrel.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Dennis from USA on 2008-02-11 20:13:49

Things I liked:The new variant has a raised wave in the rib at the breach. This acts as a rear sight. I had not trouble shooting gallon jugs and clay targets at 10 yards. The pattern is a pretty consistent 12" at 10 yards. I stayed in the 3/4 inch black bull at 10 yards using the Chamber Mate and .22 GAMO Pro Magnum Pellets.
Things I would have changed:I found the cheek pad a bit too thick. The Shadow Express with the rifle stock did not look as good, but the sights fell right in line when I put the air gun to my cheek.
What others should know:I found the # 9 shot would go right through the front of a plastic milk jug filled with water and dimple the inside back surface at 10 yards. Very easy to set up on a moving target. As an air shotgun or .22 pellet within 10 yards it is an excellent choice.
Sort by:
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Edward from USA on 2015-04-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Naturally, what I like most is the ability to hit small, fast moving targets (such as a viper that circumstances require killing rather than removal) and aerial targets while still having the capability of precision marksmanship. It is also lightweight and easy to cock and load, even for those with limited strength. While sights are rudimentary, there is a raised section on the rib that provides a rear aiming point for use with the bead for alignment AND it is grooved for optics. If the chamber adapter is lost it can be replaced for $12.95 from Gamo OR you can simply use an expended shotshell left in the chamber as pellets insert easily. Accuracy and penetration limit effectiveness to LESS THAN 10 YARDS for shot but adequate for a measured 37 yard head shot on a squirrel -1 shot, 1 quick kill.
    Things I would have changed:I would like to see a selection of shot sizes or an offering of necessary reloading components so makeshift plugs to contain the shot aren't necessary as the rather expensive shotshells are easily reloaded. I would also like to see a fitted storage compartment for the brass chamber adapter (a compartment in the stock would work well). I currently store mine in one of the compression holes in the rubber butt plate which does hold it securely but leaves it sticking out where it can get caught on things.
    What others should know:It is light, easily cocked and loaded with minimal effort, is pleasantly quiet and shouldn't bother neighbors, has very little felt recoil, BUT any optics mounted on the rail MUST HAVE A STOP SCREW because loc-tite alone will not prevent the optic mounts from walking off the back of the grooves. The viper actually has a 11mm riser installed over the machined 11mm grooves for appearance and replacing its existing set screw with a longer set screw will provide an adequate block for optics but will be in the way when or if you remove the optics (another reason for built in storage compartment). GET A GAMO VIPER EXPRESS - you will enjoy it!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Norm from USA on 2015-02-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This weapon is a blast to shoot. Not only is the .22 caliber shotgun a hoot to shoot, the .22 caliber pellet rifle is unbelievably accurate, (especially for a smoothbore)! I love it! (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)
    Things I would have changed:I can think of nothing that I would change. (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)
    What others should know:IMO: This gun offers the best of both worlds - a rifle AND a shotgun! As soon as they became available again I got myself one. The shotgun is for short range use only, (up to maybe fifty feet). Don't think that you can go out and bird hunt in big open fields. That is not what this shotgun is about. In my experiences, with a scope, the rifle is surprisingly accurate between 10' - 50'. Pyramid Air surprised me how quickly they shipped this to me and how great it was packaged. Too, their deal of buying three and receiving four on ammo is GREAT! (Please withhold my name/email address, just calling me covertdvr)
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Likes. . .light weight, seems well built. Easy to handle just point and fire. I purchased for the shotgun capabilities for short range pests. It performs as needed. Like the concept of air shotgun. Easy cocking and accurate with shotshells. Quiet factor.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe heavier shotshell capabilities with more power. Good as is but this would increase it's capabilities to another level.
    What others should know:The shotgun feature is unique in an air rifle. Performs well short range. . .out to 20-30' as a shotgun.The further out, the wider the shot pattern. At 20-30' the pattern is approx 12" spread. Will eliminate pest at close range. . .I have done so. I added a Truglo Red Dot which aids in quick target sighting. Not a long range shotgun. .22 shots are ok but my use is 99.9percent shotgun. Worth trying. . . Shotshells are pricey. PA packs well & ships fast.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mark from USA on 2015-01-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is a very well-made airgun/shotgun. The fit and finish is very nice and the light weight makes it easy to carry. I bought this gun to strictly use it as a shotgun for killing rats. I used it for the first time today and I shot eight barn rats from 4 yards away. The number nine shot is devastating on rats. I have no complaints about this airgun and I'm glad it is being offered for sale again.
    Things I would have changed:Lower price on shot shells or offer reloadable metal shot shells.
    What others should know:This is not a high-powered shotgun and is only intended for very small game at close range. It is very fun to shoot and very accurate at close range. This would also make a great youth beginner shotgun.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By John from USA on 2011-04-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a real fun gun to shoot with. I've never gotten bored practicing or hunting with this gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Great gun for the price.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:That it's an air shotgun! And a halfway decent rifle, with good power and not bad accuracy, considering that the barrel isn't rifled. That the trigger is metal, (Hooray!) and though it has a fair amount of creep, the trigger is light and breaks smoothly, though not crisply. Frankly, I didn't expect the trigger to be as good as it is, and I may be able to adjust it to make it even better. That it's easy to cock, time after time, is well balanced and seems well made. That I can practice my aim with inexpensive .22 pellets, and knock down squirrels with the more expensive shot, at close range. That it's not heavy.
    Things I would have changed:I may eventually replace the spring with a gas cartridge, though it's fine for now. It does buzz somewhat, though this is my first springer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I'd work to make the trigger break more crisply, though it's already much better than most inexpensive airgun triggers, and -metal-. I'd add a rear sight for better accuracy with pellets.
    What others should know:Buy plenty of shot shells! For a tighter group with shot, press the white plastic shell seal in with a pen until it is resting against the shot. I plan to reload mine, and will try #8 as well as the #9 shot it comes with. There are 17 pellets of #9 shot in each shell. If you do lose the brass pellet adapter, a used shot shell casing will do about as well. The only difference, besides the material it's made of, is that the brass adapter has an O-ring to hold the pellet in place. I'd be curious to know what the velocity of the shot is as it leaves the barrel.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Kenny from USA on 2009-10-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great Rifle with lots of power. very accurate. consistent with many different pellets.
    Things I would have changed:loud when cocking spooks the target .
    What others should know:find a nice safe place for the adapter it will cast you $12.00 for a new one.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2009-07-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:What I like is that it is a shot gun and rifle. Also it's fast and has good knock down power.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:It's just an all around great gun
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By RJ from USA on 2009-07-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great non firearm Shotgun for small birds rodents, easy to break barrel to load and engage spring
    Things I would have changed:the gun is made to shoot shot loads very easy but when you go to the pellet mode you have to add a barrel adapter and it does not fit snugly and when you break the barrel down and then close the breech the adapter can slip partialy out and damage and or bend the adapter and it will put a ding on the edge of the barrel top, the accuracy is effected if the adapter bends. I did this on the 2nd shot I took with the .22 pelets I wasnt happy!
    What others should know:take care when breaking barrel to load and engage the spring when using the pelet adapter
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jonathon from USA on 2009-04-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.3333299160003663 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It works! Just popped a squirrel at 10 yards. Had to step over from cover, shoulder and fire quickly. The squirrel dropped to the ground, killed instantly. I shoot a lot of squirrels with my CFX and even with a good head or heart shot they very rarely are just smacked right down dead. I was amazed. Shocked, in fact. Nice weight, very sweet handling and natural pointing, like an expensive "real" shot gun. The trigger on mine is smooth and just right, way better than the trigger on my CFX.
    Things I would have changed:Even though my trigger is good the way it is, it would be nice to have a hole in the trigger guard right above the adjusting screw for the trigger. Also it would be kind of them to include a half dozen of the tiny, brass adapters for shooting pellets as it is not a matter of if, it is a matter of when that tiny adapter disappears somewhere.
    What others should know:I fired at a 700 page tool catalog at 30 feet and the #9 shot penetrated to around page 175. At 40 feet the shot penetrated to around page 135.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By krunchnik from USA on 2008-12-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Shoulders well,feels quite solid,overall weight is acceptable,placement and mechanics of the safety is handy,seems to be as powerful as rated,fairly easy cocking effort.trigger is a little stiff but that should work out over time.I really like the convenience of shotshells for pests and being able to convert to pellets for plinking.The chamber Mate is included.
    Things I would have changed:Possibly an automatic safety on after cocking,for me its not an issue to remember to switch safety on after last shot but some may not remember.The owners manual leaves a lot to be desired,I feel that it could use a little more technical features described,such things as cleaning and maintenance covered a little better,also to include replacement part numbers for things such as breech seals and the like.
    What others should know:It is quite accurate with pellets to my surprise,I mounted a Centerpoint Quick Aim red/green dot sight and at 10 yards I have 3 distinct groups of quarter size,beeman cromagnum shoots a inch higher at this range,with polymag and gamo match it shoots dead center with both.in my opinion for what its worth that is decent accuracy for a smooth bore.The barrel if anyone is interested is made up of a polymer with a steel liner which is very solid,almost metal like it appears to be very tough.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By ace from USA on 2008-06-15
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:how light it is, 22cal power, nice feel, and accuracy .
    Things I would have changed:the shotshells should have better penetration .
    What others should know:this is one nice peice if you like 2 pop squirrels. huting with this gun is super ausome. with pellets
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By FRANKR from USA on 2008-03-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I've wanted an air shotgun for years, and was thrilled when this came out. The gun is hefty and shoulders and points like a true shotgun. The accuracy of pellets using the insert is surprising. As long as you limit your targets to under 10 yards, the shot pattern is pretty good.
    Things I would have changed:The shotgun shells are pricey. A reload kit would be nice. I plan on experimenting with handloads. a set of clamp on rifle sights would be a cool option. Also, and on-board storage place on the gun for the pellet adapter would really be nice.
    What others should know:Shooting pellets accurately with a bead is tough. I put on a red dot sight and i can hit a foster's beer can offhand @ 40 yards every time...i feel that's pretty good for a smoothbore. MAKE SURE YOU USE A SCOPE STOP! something about the recoil on this thing really hammers the scope.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dennis from USA on 2008-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The new variant has a raised wave in the rib at the breach. This acts as a rear sight. I had not trouble shooting gallon jugs and clay targets at 10 yards. The pattern is a pretty consistent 12" at 10 yards. I stayed in the 3/4 inch black bull at 10 yards using the Chamber Mate and .22 GAMO Pro Magnum Pellets.
    Things I would have changed:I found the cheek pad a bit too thick. The Shadow Express with the rifle stock did not look as good, but the sights fell right in line when I put the air gun to my cheek.
    What others should know:I found the # 9 shot would go right through the front of a plastic milk jug filled with water and dimple the inside back surface at 10 yards. Very easy to set up on a moving target. As an air shotgun or .22 pellet within 10 yards it is an excellent choice.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By george from USA on 2007-08-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:weight and balence are excellent,easy to point or aim,seems stronger then specs.love the pads and easy to hold on to.shot shell pattern was 12" at 33 ft and 15" at 45 ft. that is about the limit.
    Things I would have changed:second brass sight 18 inches back like my .410 shotgun.
    What others should know:i will use it mainly as a shot gun as i have the cfx .22 for pellets.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top