Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Whisper Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By pcp4me from USA on 2008-01-02 05:33:54

    Things I liked:Light weight and fits me very well. Quiet and low cocking force. Stunningly accurate! Can easily hit a bb from 10 meters from a rest. The scope mounting system is first class!
    Things I would have changed:Two things only. The trigger pull is horrible. Creep goes on all day long! Takes real concentration to control trigger and hit that bb at 10 meters. I will add an after market mod and hope that can be solved. The scope is a 3 X 9 and does not have an adjustable objective. So it is fuzzy at most ranges! I scoped it with a Beeman 4 X 12 X 40 AOE and it really helps in the accuracy department!
    What others should know:This gun is as accurate as my Beeman R9 even with the horrible trigger. It also chronographs about 75 - 100 fps faster than the R9 with all pellets tried. If Gamo put a rekord trigger on this and a decent scope it would be the BEST hunting/plinking/field target gun around! I am not concerned about the synthetic stock nor the synthetic barrel shroud. For knocking about in the woods and fields it is perfect! And it really looks cool. As another reviewer said it really does look like a tactical sniper rifle! It is already by far my favorite shooting springer! It won that place from the R9 because of the easier cocking force, amazing accuracy, quietness, greater power and all around better fit and lighter weight for this 61 year old arthritic body. Including the scope and trigger kit it is still less than half the price of the Beeman R9 and scope! It is great fun to shoot. Buy it and add the GTX mod or blade for $10 - $35 and a good scope and enjoy!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By John from USA on 2010-07-21 03:22:58

    Things I liked:The reviews made this appear to be a worthwhile purchase
    Things I would have changed:Better manufacturing qualtiy control
    What others should know:This gun broke after a dozen rounds. If you buy this gun, make sure you use it before the 30 day no questions asked refurn period. There's a piece that looks like a bent coat hanger that apparently controls the cocking mechanism. Wonderfully robust design for a .22.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Plinker50 from USA on 2014-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the ease of cocking for this accurate rifle. The quality of the rifle, in my opinion, is top notch.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that I would like to see is a better trigger. Even if it added another twenty dollars to the price of the gun, it would be worth it.
      What others should know:I found out this afternoon when shooting it, that the hood over the front site is very sharp! My hand accidentally slid forward and one finger made contact with the edge of it and it cut instantly. I did not have my hand that far out on the barrel, it slipped. But I will be keeping a careful eye on where I put my hand from now on.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By andy m. from USA on 2013-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:really well made light weight which is great when hunting for along while also quiet and beleave me when hunting in a neighborhood for rabbits and squirrels you dont want the law called for shot fired.
      Things I would have changed:a better scope a sling are the only things i can think of the rifle is top notch maybe a better trigger as well.
      What others should know:you are getting a really great rifle very accurate and quiet which is very important when in neighborhoods hunting at night or day or practice as well.you just cannot beat this rifle for the price. NO WAY TO GO WRONG.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Rob from USA on 2013-09-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice gun, ready to use out of the box
      Things I would have changed:Like others have said the trigger could use some help. I bought a charlie the tuna trigger, but have yet to insall it. Should help alot. Scope is ok, but what do you expect at this price?
      What others should know:Plan on a trigger upgrade.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph C. from USA on 2013-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight of this rifle, and the fact it is an adult sized rifle. The accuracy is outstanding with this .177 rifle. After breaking in the barrel, it now consistently shoots 10 shot groups of .75" or less at 25 yards.
      Things I would have changed:To anyone who has one of these, the most obvious thing that's bad about this rifle is the trigger. It's terrible. Mine had no adjustability for travel and the pull is a mile long. But I'm used to it now. GAMO, if your going to sell these guns with scopes mounted, chuck your brand and put a real BSA scope on them. The crosshairs started to spin after 150 rounds or so. Chucked that thing and replaced it with a Center Point. All is good now.
      What others should know:I was lucky to get an exceptional rifle. I bought a tin of Crossman Field Hunting pellets for break-in. After 350 rounds, the rifle started to shoot very consistent groups out to 40 yards with the aforementioned pellets. The PBA pellets shoot well out to 25 yards, but the groups open up greatly as the range increases. Clean that barrel as soon as you get the rifle. Mine was gunked up terribly. If you don't have JB bore cleaner, get some. I've been using JB for 30 years on everything from pellet rifles to M2 .50 cal machine guns, nothing works better. Use it properly and you'll generally increase your accuracy up to 50% with any firearm.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chuck from USA on 2013-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is superbly accurate. I lost vision in my right eye & had to learn to shoot left-handed. I've had excellent results in pest-controlling squirrels while shooting left-handed for the first time in my life. 16 kill shots out of 21 at 10 to 30 yards.
      Things I would have changed:I'm new to airguns, well, if you don't count my BB gun days as a youth. So I can't think of a thing I'd change at this point.
      What others should know:One thing. My sales rep and guide through the purchase process, Jerry, is one of the finest people I've dealt with in person or online. He cares that you get the right item, the right ammo, and that you like it when you get it. I wouldn't think about shopping anywhere else or with anyone else but Pyramyd Air, don't bother, just buy it now and get it in time for your area's squirrel season.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-07-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quickness of product arriving. Came in less than 2 days. Very accurate. Whisper's extras were excellent. Scope and special deal on ammo were super. Very quality product. Can't wait to start hunting with it.
      Things I would have changed:Cleaning is a bit tricky with muzzle brake and break open action could open a little farther to allow cleaning rod to exit cleanly. I'm sure it will get better after a few cleaning runs.
      What others should know:I can't say enough good about Pyramyd Air. I am very pleased with the product and company. Very top rate!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Lisa from USA on 2013-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Feels good to hold, solid
      Things I would have changed:Stock is a little long for smaller people, but manageable. Single shot is a bit annoying, but goes with the territory, no gas to refill is a positive.
      What others should know:Great price here (check for promo codes for better savings) $100 higher is some stores.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By aubrey from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quiet, when you shoot the gun it seems loud because of the piston vibrations, but if you stand next to someone else shooting you will be surprised by the quietness, and if you stand 20 feet away (and off to the side of course) you hear nothing but the whiz of the pellet. People complained about the scope sliding off, but the new mount has a stopping system for the scope so it will not budge once tightened. Accurate. make sure to get good pellets, not generic ones. I had some problems sighting it in when I first bought this and figured out it was because the pellets I bought were really cheap inconsistent ones. make sure to buy high quality pellets, domed ones seem to be the most accurate, clean it often and it will be consistent. Best air gun for the money, great for plinking, hunting, whatever you need. I've had it a little over a year now and it works the same as when I first bought it. If I managed to lose or break this gun, I would definitely buy it again
      Things I would have changed:The butt of the stock is hollow. This makes the gun lightweight, but also causes a lot of vibrations.
      What others should know:I put some regular egg crate style foam in the stock and it makes a big difference in the vibrations. All you have to do is unscrew the buttplate and screw it back on when you're done. Also, when cocking the gun it is easiest to hold onto the grip with your dominant hand and then hold the tip of the barrel with your other hand.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Whisper makes less noise than my Gamo Black Shadow. The Black Shadow has a definite "twang" noise from the spring after firing where the Whisper does not. The fixed sights are nice and the scope is average for this quality of gun. For the money, I would recommend this gun to anyone. Very fun to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:The scope mount could use some improvement and I like the metal trigger on the older Gamo's as opposed to the plastic trigger they are now using. Upgrading the trigger to the "Charlie da tuna" GRT-4G made all the difference in the world on this gun. Best upgrade you can make on one of these Gamo's.
      What others should know:For the money, I don't think you can find a better quality pellet gun. It's not built like a toy and should provide many years of quality shooting. It's a great practice gun as well.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mel from USA on 2013-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very quite,VERY hard hitting, not a BB gun
      Things I would have changed:Better scope mounting system, shoots loose. I have 2ea of the .117 both have shot the scope loose several times.
      What others should know:Best pest control money can buy
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Looks awesome, easy to use, pretty accurate, deadly on rabbits.
      Things I would have changed:It's not as quiet as I thought it was supposed to be. The word "whisper" is a lot misleading.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2013-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Almost everything, got a refurb and so far so good. Very accurate after sighting in rear sight.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight does not "click" when adjusting for elevation, is this normal??
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Yaroslav from USA on 2013-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to brake barrel. Ok scope
      Things I would have changed:Better scope, noise
      What others should know:Loud, the "suppressor" not much of a help here no matter what pallets are used.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chris from USA on 2012-12-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this thing is a dime hitter at 30 yards. unbelievable power and accuracy and the scope is better than the scope on my REAL 20 gauge deer hunting rifle.
      Things I would have changed:nothing.
      What others should know:after shooting several other gamo rifles, the nd52 noise dampener system doesn't seen to do very much as far as dulling noise levels when compared to gamo's standard gun barrels, but acts wonderfully as a handle for cocking.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2012-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great power and accuracy once sighted in. 100m+ shots easy. Pretty quite once its fired a few times (the first 10shots are as loud as a 22 )
      Things I would have changed:The sights on it are junk. The trigger is a little stiff.
      What others should know:DO NOT USE PBA AMMO! Soon after I started using them it wouldn't hold pressure! Also if you don't like break barrels look at the cfx fixed barrel model.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CamGuy from USA on 2012-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accurate for sure. Good seals, manageable weight, decent scope, good long-ranger. I have the .177 version of this rifle. It's relatively easy to shoot free-handed. Got mine back in mid-2011.
      Things I would have changed:Not so much.. maybe install the "SAT" trigger found in some other Gamo guns.
      What others should know:I've been through 1000's of rounds with this rifle, and it doesn't disappoint usually. Frequent shooter here. This rifle recoils substantially, be sure to TIGHTEN EVERYTHING FREQUENTLY. It's never good to overdue the tightening process though, this could cause excessive wear on the threads.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2012-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a good looking gun and feels good. I like the weather resistance of this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Include a tube of loctite. You cannot keep the scope accurate without applying loctite to all of the mounting screws.
      What others should know:I was disappointed with this gun. It is very loud and the springer twang is bad. I shot a friends Crossman Quest 1000X ($99 vs. $209) and it was much quieter, smoother firing and had less recoil. It had no twang. I would have thought it was a nitro piston if did not know better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By barry from USA on 2012-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:lightweight, light cocking effort, easy to set up scope and sight in, excellent pest control for my garden where 25yard shots are typical
      Things I would have changed:sling attachments
      What others should know:review research indicated that the scope was an issue. the scope came with installation instructions. while it came assembled, it was best to disassemble the scope completely and mount according to the instructions. i have had no issues with point of impact changing after 150-200rounds.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight is great, it gives this rifle just the right feel. Look out varmits
      Things I would have changed:Possibly having my name engraved in gold on the stock would be nice!
      What others should know:The scope is not installed properly and does take some time and trial and error to get it right. A instulation manual sure would have been helpful.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good weight and balance. The accuracy and power is really amazing. It's almost as good as my Ruger 10/22. Very nice scope as well.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger adjustment screw seems pretty useless. In order to get to it without risking stripping it required removing the trigger guard. Turning it didn't seem to really do anything. Also, the safety placement seems really odd to me. I'd much prefer a button or lever that is more conventional.
      What others should know:Accuracy and consistency are top concerns for me. The Whisper excels in that way. I get reliable 6" groups at 50 yards using H&N Field Target Trophy 8.64 grain round nose
    • 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top