Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Whisper CFR Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.0 (8 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By primo from USA on 2012-03-02 20:47:23

    Things I liked:This rifle is the same as the cfx except for the stock . That being said if you have the money and want to buy the most affordable and accurate underlever on the market don't think twice order it. This rifle is so accurate at 20 -30- 40 plus yards that it can become boring almost impossible to miss with a good scope ,ie: the Leapers 3x9x40.
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING
    What others should know:The gun did not perform well with open sights so get a good scope it's well worth the investment you'll get tons of fun for your buck. The rifle shoots just as good as other underlevers which are priced way up there in the big bucks. It's not a super powerful rifle although if you place a shot correctly on small critters it's effective. The rifle is for precision and that is where you get your money's worth, believe me it will make you chuckle like a kid when you shoot it.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By primo from USA on 2012-04-06 08:18:02

    Things I liked:This rifle has excellent accuracy for its price. As an under lever it can compete with others that are way more expensive . Looks are superb & the scope it brings works fine. You can make dime size groups with it at 20 yard,not to noisy,backyard friendly in that sense. Good gun all around ,and it has good safety features in the way you have to load it. Shoots very well with Gamo pellets 7.56 grains gets 900 plus feet per second consistently . Scope is almost mandatory ,but with practice it performs decent with open sights,the ones it brings are really good ,and made of metal. The Gamo pellets I mentioned are a very good all around pellet inexpensive ,a very good deal at Pyramyd.
    Things I would have changed:As a spring rifle it should be easier to maintain. Once you get to shoot it a lot the gun will demand maintainance . You can be sure that this rifle because of it's very good accuracy will hook you into shooting thousands of shots . The issue is that it has a rotary port with an inner seal that is a pain in the neck to change,and the breech seal also. Gamo does not make it any easier they don't sell parts other than to pro.gunsmiths. So you get a good gun that you like a lot ,but the maintainance is annoying.
    What others should know:The rifle is very accurate,and it's an "inexpensive" way to get into accurate underlever guns. The rifle is not hold sensitive,it's got good power and its kick is hardly felt. It's good for off hand shootings, and a lot of shooters agree. I wish this rifle came with a seal kit or that one were easy to find. Gamo makes fine guns,but it has a whole bunch to learn from RWS.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2013-07-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:feel, size, charging effort, accuracy, nice optics
      Things I would have changed:slight difficult to load
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By martyn from USA on 2012-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is more consistent than break barrel. 2"" groups at 30 yards with Crossman Premier Domed 10.5 grain pellets
      Things I would have changed:Pellet loading takes getting used to vs. break barrel
      What others should know:Gun is a bit heavier due to added weight of additional metal invoked in fixed barrel cocking system, but worth the increased accuracy
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By primo from USA on 2012-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has excellent accuracy for its price. As an under lever it can compete with others that are way more expensive . Looks are superb & the scope it brings works fine. You can make dime size groups with it at 20 yard,not to noisy,backyard friendly in that sense. Good gun all around ,and it has good safety features in the way you have to load it. Shoots very well with Gamo pellets 7.56 grains gets 900 plus feet per second consistently . Scope is almost mandatory ,but with practice it performs decent with open sights,the ones it brings are really good ,and made of metal. The Gamo pellets I mentioned are a very good all around pellet inexpensive ,a very good deal at Pyramyd.
      Things I would have changed:As a spring rifle it should be easier to maintain. Once you get to shoot it a lot the gun will demand maintainance . You can be sure that this rifle because of it's very good accuracy will hook you into shooting thousands of shots . The issue is that it has a rotary port with an inner seal that is a pain in the neck to change,and the breech seal also. Gamo does not make it any easier they don't sell parts other than to pro.gunsmiths. So you get a good gun that you like a lot ,but the maintainance is annoying.
      What others should know:The rifle is very accurate,and it's an "inexpensive" way to get into accurate underlever guns. The rifle is not hold sensitive,it's got good power and its kick is hardly felt. It's good for off hand shootings, and a lot of shooters agree. I wish this rifle came with a seal kit or that one were easy to find. Gamo makes fine guns,but it has a whole bunch to learn from RWS.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sherman from USA on 2012-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The stock has some adjust-ability and fits me well. it is the most accurate springer i have owned.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo's horrible trigger of course, This much power in a springer should only be a nitro piston to control the twist and movement of this rifle.
      What others should know:Once i put a golden trigger, and a leapers 3x9x50, and found the right pellet it liked, it shot some pretty respectable groups at 25 and 50 yards. This thing is a heavy beast and gets tiresome lugging around the woods hunting. It is pretty loud even considering it has their noise reducing device. Wish i would have gotten the nitro piston version.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By sherman from USA on 2012-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable cheek rest and black synthetic stock work well for me. The accuracy is better than the modified big cat i was shooting.
      Things I would have changed:The over all weight, its as heavy as some of my big powder burners, gets cumbersome after a long days hunt. The trigger is still horrible, come on Gamo. The breach could be designed better where the pellet is easier to load and will not flip on you.
      What others should know:Great air rifle for the price point. Loading pellets at first is a bit cumbersome when your dealing with the tiny .177 caliber pellet trying to load it into the breach without it flipping around. After some time loading it will become easier and wont be an issue. Buy the gold trigger and change out the cheap scope and you will have a great shooter.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By primo from USA on 2012-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle is the same as the cfx except for the stock . That being said if you have the money and want to buy the most affordable and accurate underlever on the market don't think twice order it. This rifle is so accurate at 20 -30- 40 plus yards that it can become boring almost impossible to miss with a good scope ,ie: the Leapers 3x9x40.
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:The gun did not perform well with open sights so get a good scope it's well worth the investment you'll get tons of fun for your buck. The rifle shoots just as good as other underlevers which are priced way up there in the big bucks. It's not a super powerful rifle although if you place a shot correctly on small critters it's effective. The rifle is for precision and that is where you get your money's worth, believe me it will make you chuckle like a kid when you shoot it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2011-06-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Consistency, fixed barrel, scope stops, comfy grip, ambidextrous safety, looks very cool. I can hit a tennis ball at 55 yards with confidence (this is my practice target). Rotary breach is great for sealing air pressure and loads pellets flawlessly. Accuracy is what makes shooting fun, and this gun is very fun.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger material (plastic), trigger adjustment is not so wonderful, some sort of sling/bipod adapter would've been great.
      What others should know:I bought this directly from Gamo around Christmas of 2010. Payed too much from Gamo (MSRP, duh), but I couldn't wait. You need to putt a hundred rounds through it before you get consistent groups. Gun is quite heavy, but feels right for its size. Scope may not be the best, but it is all you need and holds its adjustment VERY well considering the recoil of this gun. I have no plans to swap the optics. It takes out small critters in my large backyard with no problems.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Chip from USA on 2011-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice heavy gun, minimizes recoil, easy to cock, price is reasonable vs quality
      Things I would have changed:Is shooting a 2" group now from a bench at 10 yards. The owner's manual says it will straighten out when it wears in, I hope so. The scope does not seem to adjust well for elevation and windage, but it is a cheap scope. They use a lot of plastic, but the gun seems pretty substantial overall.
      What others should know:I am new at this game, but I think I made a good choice for my first air rifle. I will probably upgrade the scope when I get the funds.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top