Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Gamo Whisper CFR with Nitro Piston Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-22 15:17:25

    Things I liked:Solidly constructed, reasonably quiet, extremely accurate. I own a Gamo Whisper standard .177, Gamo IGT .22, and a Gamo Viper express shotgun. The CFR is best looking of the selection as the bluing is excellent. Accuracy is dime sized when using RWS diabolo or meisterkugeln pellets.
    Things I would have changed:Replace plastic parts with aluminum or metal, not include scope and charge less $.
    What others should know:This is a excellent air rifle and looks and is well built, Pyramyd's piston installation is great! With proper pellets this is an excellent training tool or hunting pellet rifle for squirrels and other small game!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By kevin from USA on 2013-04-13 23:06:51

    Things I liked:Quality, weight and trigger
    Things I would have changed:I would change how the pellits fit in the barrel
    What others should know:I was shooting at 10 yards with crossman primere hollows and they were tumbling in mid air, every pellet i tested(5 types) didnt work well in the gun, gamo pellets didnt even shoot good!!! best group was 2 inches at ten yards, i am very dissapointed with the gun and dont waste your money. Also very loud.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ty from USA on 2014-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Gun is EXTREMELY accurate, consistently shooting quarter size groups at 35 yards.. Gun was purchased to eliminate squirrels from bird feeders around the yard. Not as powerful as some on the market but is the most accurate I've shot for under $500. Able to make head shots on squirrels out to 35 yds. time and again. If plinking and small game elimination is your goal, you won't go wrong with this one.
      Things I would have changed:Had immediate trouble with bundled mounting system even after loctite.. I have since ordered a BKL one piece mount from Pyramyd Air and scope or rings haven't moved at all. Provided 3x9 Gamo scope is descent but leaves some to be desired. I have also just ordered a Leapers 3x9, b/c I think this gun is capable of much more with better optic. Maybe Gamo should offer a cheaper price with no scope/mounting system provided..
      What others should know:This system is definitely worth the extra $$.. Have shot several brands of pellets, and gun performs solid even with cheaper Daisy brand. Have gotten my best groupings with H&N and Predator Polymags both purchased from Pyramyd. If a super quiet accurate gun is what you're looking for, this one is perfect. Would not hesitate to purchase this one again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Claude from USA on 2014-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, Accuracy and Accuracy!
      Things I would have changed:The gun is big, bulky and heavy.
      What others should know:I'm doing sniper style shooting out my back window so the weight and bulk of the rifle is a secondary concern. My focus is on a humane kill or head shot so accuracy is of primary importance.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Wow I can't believe how accurate this gun is!
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing!
      What others should know:I would highly recommend this gun for it outshoots some guns 3 times the money! Love it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eugene from USA on 2013-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:out of the box very accurate. adding the nitro piston was a great addition to this gun. it also came with a great scope. it is heavy but i just target shoot from a bench rest.
      Things I would have changed:make the same gun in .22 and I'll buy it.
      What others should know:definitely not a fast loader, but acceptable for leisure target shooting. after awhile you get into a routine with the cocking, loading and it is just plain fun. for plinking i use steel pressurized cans like from wd 40 and it will go thru both sides like a 22 rim fire. it is quieter than my break barrels, the pellet hitting the targets are louder than the gun. no regrets for purchasing this rifle .
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By kevin from USA on 2013-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, weight and trigger
      Things I would have changed:I would change how the pellits fit in the barrel
      What others should know:I was shooting at 10 yards with crossman primere hollows and they were tumbling in mid air, every pellet i tested(5 types) didnt work well in the gun, gamo pellets didnt even shoot good!!! best group was 2 inches at ten yards, i am very dissapointed with the gun and dont waste your money. Also very loud.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2013-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great rifle. Looks identical to my father's CFX. I used leaper's 1 piece high mount rings and Hawke 4x12x50 AO scope. I am getting dime size groups at 60 feet using gamo hunter pellets. Trigger is a tad better than my father's CFX. Maybe I got lucky, but the it has a much shorter pull than the cfx. Still it is an average trigger at best.
      Things I would have changed:I wish they would sell without the scope and base. The factory scope mount is weak.
      What others should know:If you don't run a couple of dry patches through the barrel, it will sound like a .22 rimfire! after cleaning, it is considerably more quiet than a springer CFX.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Noise level, accuracy, consistency versus break barrel Gamo Whisper .177, Nitro piston is also a plus! My Gamo break barrel springer will generally shoot 1-2" groups from 25 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Replace the plastic lever for the loading breech with aluminum or titanium lever, have option of buying air rifle without scope to reduce price as most people buy aftermarket scope.
      What others should know:At 25 yards this rifle produces 7/8" groups with RWS dome pellets, also I have hit aluminum cans from 40-50 yards with consistency! I recommend 8-10 grain pellets for accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solidly constructed, reasonably quiet, extremely accurate. I own a Gamo Whisper standard .177, Gamo IGT .22, and a Gamo Viper express shotgun. The CFR is best looking of the selection as the bluing is excellent. Accuracy is dime sized when using RWS diabolo or meisterkugeln pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Replace plastic parts with aluminum or metal, not include scope and charge less $.
      What others should know:This is a excellent air rifle and looks and is well built, Pyramyd's piston installation is great! With proper pellets this is an excellent training tool or hunting pellet rifle for squirrels and other small game!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid rifle that has surprised me with its accuracy! Able to consistently shoot dime sized groups at 10M. The nitro piston is a great addition to the whisper really cutting down on the recoil and making the whole shooting action far smoother than a standard spring. Also really enjoy the under-lever cocking system, really dislike the idea of splitting my rifle in two every time i reload. That being said the breach loader is also excellent. Would highly recommend this rifle to anyone looking for a good all purpose gun!
      Things I would have changed:As most everyone would say the trigger could be improved on. Mine has a SAT trigger (Gamo claims to be better) but it still leaves a bit to be desired. The only other thing i would potentially change would be the weight if the rifle. With my scope attached its definitely on the heavy side but then again i am a bit on the light side so it may be fine for stronger shooters.
      What others should know:The scope i received with the rifle was a 3-9x scope with an AO opposed to the fixed 4x scope listed in the description. Not sure if i just benefited from an error or if its just mis-listed. Because i believed i was just getting a 4x magnification scope i had already purchased a Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope(Which is an excellent fit for this rifle). Cant really complain but it would have influenced that decision if i had known.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2012-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid barrel/under barrel cocking features, Weight, look and feel of the rifle. This really is a nice rifle!
      Things I would have changed:The gun is great but the scope… not so much. As others have said the scope should be better or drop the price and not include the scope at all.
      What others should know:I did allot of research online before I made this purchase. I’m a noob with air rifles so I wanted my first one to be a good one. This was what I felt was the best bang for my buck for what I was looking for - an under lever air rifle with the nitro piston power plant. Also I found the JSB Exact Heavy to be the most accurate pellet in my rifle. 5 shots at 25 yards in a grouping the size of a dime.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2012-07-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is insane with the beeman kodiak 10.65gr. I tried lots of different sizes and brands.I found that the heavier pellets are way more accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Probably a better scope but for now the supplied scope is holding its own.Just make sure you loctite all screws.
      What others should know:After you purchase this rifle go to gatewaytoairguns forum and order the grt-4g trigger from charliedatuna it will transform the accuracy 10 fold!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By christopher from USA on 2012-05-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fairly quiet with the gas piston.I like the thumbhole stock a lot.
      Things I would have changed: The plastic parts that tend to fly off for no apparent reason. Epoxy fixed the end of the non removable suppressor and I lost one of the cheek piece alan wrench covers;no biggie.Lonnnggg trigger pull.
      What others should know: Upgraded to a one piece mount, upgraded the scope, used a bench rest...and the gun will not shoot the groups I'd like. After several boxes of ammo over the last couple of months from a bench rest at 35yds I get a 4.5in. group in seven shots.Plenty of power if you can hit your target.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my first mid-range air rifle and im very pleased. Love the nitro piston. Very accurate, powerful, and consistant gun.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is great but as others have said, always get a better scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-11-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Beautiful gun to shoot – very smooth with the Nitro piston – Not as smooth as a PCP but close. With Kodiak Extra Heavy pellets I have a shot group of 2”at 65 yards (pretty good for me). This weekend brought the end to about four ground squirrels that were lined up waiting for a turn to try the CFR out.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger does not return to zero – once you start to pull it you need to finish. Trigger pull is less than stellar – I am looking for an upgrade already (same trigger pull as the other Gamos that I own, so was not unexpected)
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have had four 1000fps (springer) guns now, and this is by far the best. Last night I finally got to set up my 50M target after having sighted in for just under 20M. I printed a ground squirrel (maybe 7/8ths scale) and put him up. Even though there was a pretty good cross wind I was able to start hitting the target (clean kill shots) after the first two shot groups. Using the Beeman Kodiak Extra Heavy .177 Cal, 10.40 Grains pellets I was hitting my fake squirrel (chest shot) 4 out of 5 times. I believe the outliers were all due to wind gusts that were stronger than I predicted. This would not have been possible with my previous break barrel springers.
      Things I would have changed:Heavy, hard to use for a "hunting" rifle. Can’t shoot wad cutters, they don’t slide into the chamber.
      What others should know:Quiet, but of course not with the light fast pellets that have sonic cracks. Stick to heavy pellets and this thing is amazingly smooth and repeatable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Derek from USA on 2011-10-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is meant to be a followup to my initial review. I have put about 2000 pellets through the rifle, and tried six different locally available types of pellets. If you don't want to read this lengthy review, then just know that the gun should be able to shoot with almost anything that is even near this price range, and would make an excellent field target rifle (assuming you can get enough scope on it for range estimation, and still clear the breech). It is also almost completely immune to hold sensitivity. I fired it from directly off sandbags without a hint of issue. It feels almost like a firearm in that respect due to a low amount of recoil, and an extremely quick shot cycle.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle definitely has continued to deliver. The only thing that holds this rifle back at all is the trigger. It is better than any other gamo I have shot, but is still far short of keeping up with the rest of the rifle's quality shooting characteristics. Unless you have a trigger job performed or buy an upgraded trigger, you WILL be fighting with the trigger to get good groups. That being said, I did a trigger job and watched my groups shrink immediately. After 1000 pellets down the barrel, my groups started to become very impressive. There were some flyers here and there during the break-in period, but they have all but disappeared now. I also found that several pellets shoot well out of the gun, and I'm sure I still haven't found the best pellet. I tested the gun from a two-bag benchrest at 20 meters today. I fired 2 10-round groups of each pellet type and measured my results. At a tie for last place come daisy and crosman pointed pellets. I couldn't keep them all on an 8.5"x11" sheet of paper. Just terrible. Crosman Wadcutters averaged .59" center-to-center, but could have done much better without a flyer in each group. I think that the skirts are too thin for the power level of this rifle, and some were getting blown out...or maybe the flyers were my fault. All flyers were vertical flyers and were dead-on for windage. Crosman Destroyers were just about even with the wadcutters, but the groups were a little more open in general, but had no real flyers.
      What others should know:The second best pellet was the Gamo Hunter domed pellet. It hits audibly harder than any other pellet I tried, and penetrated very well into my thick cardboard backstop. Groups were very consistent, and measured an average of .42". Probably a good choice for hunting tough game were a little extra knockdown (or flat-shooting characteristics) is more important than that last .1" of accuracy. The best pellet of the test was easily the crosman premier hollow points. The 2 10-shot groups averaged .22" center-to-center, with one group coming in at .19". I just kept expecting to see the one-hole groups open up on the last few shots, but they held. If there is a better pellet for the gun, I'm not sure I could shoot well enough to take advantage of it. This is my first airgun to approach MOA accuracy, and I am a happy customer. Oh, and if anyone is curious, the scope I used is a Bushnell Banner 6-24x40mm with mil-dots. It mounted just fine in the cheapo rings that were provided with the Gamo scope, and the cheekrest is perfectly adjusted when all the way up (for me at least). There is a problem with this setup though. The bell of the scope actually covers the loading port because the scope is so long, so I had to use an allen wrench to get the pellet into the chamber, and operating the rotating breech was almost impossible. I will be mounting a Centerpoint 4-16x40 scope and seeing how that works out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Derek from USA on 2011-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Obscene accuracy. Fairly lightweight for a magnum underlever. Very, very quiet. The adjustable cheekpiece allows huge scope objectives to me mounted and still have a perfect cheek weld. The pistol grip stock that has a small storage compartment for allen wrenches, pellets, or whatever you want. The excellent fiberoptic sights. The Nitro Piston exceeds my expectations. I have trouble believeing that anything in there is moving. It is almost silent, and the shot cycle ends very quickly. The nd52 suppressor is pretty effective when used in conjunction with the nitro piston. Trigger is not the best, but way, way better than any gamo I have ever felt, and I know that it will get better with use. Of course, I'll probably be installing a GRT4 trigger soon anyway. Uh, did I mention the absurd accuracy. The non-automatic safety. The comfy grip panels in the stock.
      Things I would have changed:Stop including disposable scopes with fairly high-end airguns. I would rather save a measly $5, or get some pellets than have another cheap "bundled" scope sitting in the pile of useless gun parts. I guess it might be okay on a cheap airgun or rimfire that isn't used for any kind of target shooting, or for the hunter that always shoots within the scopes limited parallax-error-free range at fairly large targets. Basically, though, I will not be disrespecting any of my rifles with a cheapo fixed 4x32. I would also like to see a better trigger fom the factory, and for it to be made of metal. There is also some side to side play in the trigger that does not impress me. This trigger is useable without making the gun unshootable, but it could be so much nicer. How about some provisions for a sling? I know springers hate shooting sling use, but just for carrying the rifle by a carrying strap it would be handy.
      What others should know:I was hesitant to spend this much coin on a Gamo, as I have always found Gamos to be very good guns in the $100-250 price range, but this cfr seems to be a very competitive gun even in this higher price range. I used field expedient sighting methods to get a rough zero at 50 yards, and then proceeded to knock 5 12 guage shells shotgun shells off my back fence at 50 yards with open sights from field target positions. It took 6 shots, and the one miss was definitely me struggling with the creepy second stage of the trigger. I'm sure that I will see some pretty crazy groups after I mount my Bushnell Banner 6-24x40 scope. Hopefully it will clear the loading port. My Centerpoint cheapo 4-16 fits just fine, but I want a little more scope on this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2011-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the physical weight of the rifle and stock, its very solid. Feels just like any of my normal firearms. Its a very positive feeling rifle, feels like it will last a long time. With crosman destroyers I can shoot consistent groups at 30 yards the size of a dime. It can reach farther but there is a fair amount of ballistic drop. The scope is enough for the gun, was easy to set up too once installed. Has held its setting through 500-600 shots and being kept in a rifle rack in the truck. It can feed some of the longer/larger pellets. Although they seem to feed a little rougher than i expected. The trigger and safety being operated by the same finger is very nice. The nitro piston gives a very solid upgrade to the standard CFR. When the trigger breaks it gives a very nice solid shot. Almost like its a 22 cal rim fire. I plan on using this for plinking, mice/rats, squirrels and birds. I have no doubt it'll do it and more. The "sound reduction" is very notable in comparison to my other rifles. It could be quieter but i enjoy not hearing that supersonic crack. I had the 10 for 10 test done, shot 900's to 950's.
      Things I would have changed:Im not sure if its me or the trigger, but it feels a rough. Maybe it'll break in and be smoother. The loading port could have been longer or a different angle or something... And i dont like how it has to be cocked to put the safety on. Also the included scope mounts just feel cheap. They have worked themselves loose several times. I've had to lock-tight them and even still i dont like them. But... they work. I had problems not stripping the hex heads. They are very small. The included allen key did not fit. Buy new mounts... just save yourself the headache. And just out of curiosity i wonder what it would look like with a stainless steel barrel...
      What others should know:Get an assortment of ammo. It shoots most ammo with no problem. I personally don't recommend the very light weight stuff for this rifle. The standard middle weight or medium heavy weight ammo seems to produce the best groups. The heavy stuff just seems to be overkill... Just remember every rifle is different and you're going to shoot it, so it's your choice...
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top