Date: 27/9/2016 22:15
0

Gamo Whisper CFR with Nitro Piston Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

Accuracy:5.0

By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-22 15:17:25

Things I liked: Solidly constructed, reasonably quiet, extremely accurate. I own a Gamo Whisper standard .177, Gamo IGT .22, and a Gamo Viper express shotgun. The CFR is best looking of the selection as the bluing is excellent. Accuracy is dime sized when using RWS diabolo or meisterkugeln pellets.

Things I would have changed: Replace plastic parts with aluminum or metal, not include scope and charge less $.

What others should know: This is a excellent air rifle and looks and is well built, Pyramyd's piston installation is great! With proper pellets this is an excellent training tool or hunting pellet rifle for squirrels and other small game!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By kevin from USA on 2013-04-13 23:06:51

Things I liked: Quality, weight and trigger

Things I would have changed: I would change how the pellits fit in the barrel

What others should know: I was shooting at 10 yards with crossman primere hollows and they were tumbling in mid air, every pellet i tested(5 types) didnt work well in the gun, gamo pellets didnt even shoot good!!! best group was 2 inches at ten yards, i am very dissapointed with the gun and dont waste your money. Also very loud.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2015-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just got this yesterday. I've only taken about 15 shots, but it feels like a very nice rifle. The scope is great, as are the fiber optic sights. The nitro piston installation is awesome. Good accuracy out of the box, which I only expect to get better. Good trigger, which I haven't adjusted yet. The adjustable cheekpiece and suppressor are very nice finishing touches.

    Things I would have changed: It's heavy for walking around. This is no problem for me, as I shoot using a bench rest. If you are looking to use this as a hunting rifle and will be moving around, you might want to look elsewhere.

    What others should know: Overall, a great rifle so far. I expect for it to get better as it breaks in. You can't go wrong with this rifle!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nathan from USA on 2015-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun! I have had A LOT of airguns thru out the years and although this isn't my absolute favorite, it is pretty high on the list. I have always been on the fence about break barrel rifles but definitely like the Nitro piston technology and this rifle combines the best of both worlds. This gun will basically never wear out. I'll never have to worry about the barrel pivot wearing out or loosening up which we all know does happen and does affect accuracy with break barrels. Also, I'll never have to worry about the spring weakening over time. Another thing worth mentioning is the ease of cocking with this gun. It's true that this gun may be a little weaker than other nitro piston air rifles but that is a good thing when you consider breaking the sound barrier destroys accuracy. I dream of one day owning a quality made lever action BB rifle with a small nitro piston instead of a spring. A NP Red Rider made in the USA would be awesome!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger feels good but it is plastic. I do not like a plastic trigger on any gun but a Glock.

    What others should know: This rifle is sort of picky when it comes to ammo. After about 50 rounds it should be broken in enough to start expecting good accuracy. After that start experimenting with different brands, weights, and shapes of pellets. So far I have found that the RWS Supermag field line and JSB Exact Monster pellets to be the most accurate. But for me, the funnest thing about getting a new air gun is sighting in the scope and finding just the right ammo.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dale from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle feels great with the adjustable stock and pistol grip. I am very impressed with the accuracy right out of the box. Didn't have to wait to put 100 rounds through to achieve 1" placement at 50'in my indoor range. Have not taken it outside for longer range testing but expect that will be excellent also. The scope that came with the gun is better than I expected. Very good optics.

    Things I would have changed: Only one thing.. it is louder that I expected of a Nitro Piston.

    What others should know: I have been waiting to pull the trigger on a Nitro piston under barrel lever cocking rifle and finally did on this one and am glad I did.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Zach from USA on 2015-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fantastic package that Pyramid Air and Gamo have put together. Accuracy is dead on, every time. And it's very powerful.I have a Benjamin Genesis in 22 and a Gamo Big Cat in 177, and my buddy has a B3. This is absolutely more accurate than any of these rifles, and it seems to put just as much energy into my spinning targets as my 22. I am super happy with the rifle, great trigger (I assume Pyramid can take credit for this). It's not nearly as heavy as I thought it would be. It feels ve very ergonomic and fairly easy cocking. You aren't going wrong for this gun, it is definitely in the league of much more expensive guns. It's putting my RWS Super domes pretty much wherever I aim. Fantastic gun.

    Things I would have changed: The scope doesn't do the rifle justice, if it either came with a better scope or none at all that would be great

    What others should know: You might need a push stick to seat the pellets

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Niclas from Finland on 2014-09-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am what you would typically call a novice air gunner. Have been shooting on and off since I was around 12 - some 35 years ago... I asked all the novice questions; Break barrel or fixed, gas piston or spring, hand made quality or mass produced etc. I bought a Gamo Shadow IGT - very nice, powerful and good value. But from above 20 yards I was not satisfied with the grouping, even if I tried all kind of pellets. I achieved within one inch groupings with a lot of practice, but was not satisfied. I bought the Gamo CFR Whisper IGT, factory produced gas piston. Wow! No, really WOW! It is like shooting a totally different gun! I am so glad that I did not spend double the money - still, this is just a spare time hobby for me. The groupings on the very first day of shooting from 20 yards are within 1cm!!!! That is 4/10 of an inch! And I do not see myself as a skilled marksman. If accuracy and value for Money is what you are looking for, it is hard to believe that this can be beaten!

    Things I would have changed: The underlever seems a little bit weak and time will tell if it will hold up. Even if the trigger is the same SAT as in my Gamo Shadow IGT, it feels a lot smoother and sensitive. From what I understand a quality air rifle is as good as new after 20 years and almost Daily shooting. For my needs, once everey now and then I do belive that my Gamo will deliver. If possible, I would have bought a version without fixed sights, using a scope is my preferance.

    What others should know: I am sure that there are many professionals out there, who all have so much more experience and knowledge compared to me. I am sure that there are arguments why you should consider a lot of other brands that can match or outperform this air rifle. But I challenge all of you to present an affordable - good value for money air rifle that will outperform this one!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ty from USA on 2014-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Gun is EXTREMELY accurate, consistently shooting quarter size groups at 35 yards.. Gun was purchased to eliminate squirrels from bird feeders around the yard. Not as powerful as some on the market but is the most accurate I've shot for under $500. Able to make head shots on squirrels out to 35 yds. time and again. If plinking and small game elimination is your goal, you won't go wrong with this one.

    Things I would have changed: Had immediate trouble with bundled mounting system even after loctite.. I have since ordered a BKL one piece mount from Pyramyd Air and scope or rings haven't moved at all. Provided 3x9 Gamo scope is descent but leaves some to be desired. I have also just ordered a Leapers 3x9, b/c I think this gun is capable of much more with better optic. Maybe Gamo should offer a cheaper price with no scope/mounting system provided..

    What others should know: This system is definitely worth the extra $$.. Have shot several brands of pellets, and gun performs solid even with cheaper Daisy brand. Have gotten my best groupings with H&N and Predator Polymags both purchased from Pyramyd. If a super quiet accurate gun is what you're looking for, this one is perfect. Would not hesitate to purchase this one again.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Claude from USA on 2014-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, Accuracy and Accuracy!

    Things I would have changed: The gun is big, bulky and heavy.

    What others should know: I'm doing sniper style shooting out my back window so the weight and bulk of the rifle is a secondary concern. My focus is on a humane kill or head shot so accuracy is of primary importance.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Al_in_Va from USA on 2013-07-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wow I can't believe how accurate this gun is!

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing!

    What others should know: I would highly recommend this gun for it outshoots some guns 3 times the money! Love it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By eugene from USA on 2013-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: out of the box very accurate. adding the nitro piston was a great addition to this gun. it also came with a great scope. it is heavy but i just target shoot from a bench rest.

    Things I would have changed: make the same gun in .22 and I'll buy it.

    What others should know: definitely not a fast loader, but acceptable for leisure target shooting. after awhile you get into a routine with the cocking, loading and it is just plain fun. for plinking i use steel pressurized cans like from wd 40 and it will go thru both sides like a 22 rim fire. it is quieter than my break barrels, the pellet hitting the targets are louder than the gun. no regrets for purchasing this rifle .

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By kevin from USA on 2013-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality, weight and trigger

    Things I would have changed: I would change how the pellits fit in the barrel

    What others should know: I was shooting at 10 yards with crossman primere hollows and they were tumbling in mid air, every pellet i tested(5 types) didnt work well in the gun, gamo pellets didnt even shoot good!!! best group was 2 inches at ten yards, i am very dissapointed with the gun and dont waste your money. Also very loud.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2013-03-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great rifle. Looks identical to my father's CFX. I used leaper's 1 piece high mount rings and Hawke 4x12x50 AO scope. I am getting dime size groups at 60 feet using gamo hunter pellets. Trigger is a tad better than my father's CFX. Maybe I got lucky, but the it has a much shorter pull than the cfx. Still it is an average trigger at best.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they would sell without the scope and base. The factory scope mount is weak.

    What others should know: If you don't run a couple of dry patches through the barrel, it will sound like a .22 rimfire! after cleaning, it is considerably more quiet than a springer CFX.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-09-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Noise level, accuracy, consistency versus break barrel Gamo Whisper .177, Nitro piston is also a plus! My Gamo break barrel springer will generally shoot 1-2" groups from 25 yards.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the plastic lever for the loading breech with aluminum or titanium lever, have option of buying air rifle without scope to reduce price as most people buy aftermarket scope.

    What others should know: At 25 yards this rifle produces 7/8" groups with RWS dome pellets, also I have hit aluminum cans from 40-50 yards with consistency! I recommend 8-10 grain pellets for accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By pelletgunlover from USA on 2012-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solidly constructed, reasonably quiet, extremely accurate. I own a Gamo Whisper standard .177, Gamo IGT .22, and a Gamo Viper express shotgun. The CFR is best looking of the selection as the bluing is excellent. Accuracy is dime sized when using RWS diabolo or meisterkugeln pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Replace plastic parts with aluminum or metal, not include scope and charge less $.

    What others should know: This is a excellent air rifle and looks and is well built, Pyramyd's piston installation is great! With proper pellets this is an excellent training tool or hunting pellet rifle for squirrels and other small game!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2012-08-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very solid rifle that has surprised me with its accuracy! Able to consistently shoot dime sized groups at 10M. The nitro piston is a great addition to the whisper really cutting down on the recoil and making the whole shooting action far smoother than a standard spring. Also really enjoy the under-lever cocking system, really dislike the idea of splitting my rifle in two every time i reload. That being said the breach loader is also excellent. Would highly recommend this rifle to anyone looking for a good all purpose gun!

    Things I would have changed: As most everyone would say the trigger could be improved on. Mine has a SAT trigger (Gamo claims to be better) but it still leaves a bit to be desired. The only other thing i would potentially change would be the weight if the rifle. With my scope attached its definitely on the heavy side but then again i am a bit on the light side so it may be fine for stronger shooters.

    What others should know: The scope i received with the rifle was a 3-9x scope with an AO opposed to the fixed 4x scope listed in the description. Not sure if i just benefited from an error or if its just mis-listed. Because i believed i was just getting a 4x magnification scope i had already purchased a Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x40 AO Mil-Dot Rifle Scope(Which is an excellent fit for this rifle). Cant really complain but it would have influenced that decision if i had known.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jason from USA on 2012-07-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid barrel/under barrel cocking features, Weight, look and feel of the rifle. This really is a nice rifle!

    Things I would have changed: The gun is great but the scope… not so much. As others have said the scope should be better or drop the price and not include the scope at all.

    What others should know: I did allot of research online before I made this purchase. I’m a noob with air rifles so I wanted my first one to be a good one. This was what I felt was the best bang for my buck for what I was looking for - an under lever air rifle with the nitro piston power plant. Also I found the JSB Exact Heavy to be the most accurate pellet in my rifle. 5 shots at 25 yards in a grouping the size of a dime.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2012-07-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is insane with the beeman kodiak 10.65gr. I tried lots of different sizes and brands.I found that the heavier pellets are way more accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Probably a better scope but for now the supplied scope is holding its own.Just make sure you loctite all screws.

    What others should know: After you purchase this rifle go to gatewaytoairguns forum and order the grt-4g trigger from charliedatuna it will transform the accuracy 10 fold!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By christopher from USA on 2012-05-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fairly quiet with the gas piston.I like the thumbhole stock a lot.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic parts that tend to fly off for no apparent reason. Epoxy fixed the end of the non removable suppressor and I lost one of the cheek piece alan wrench covers;no biggie.Lonnnggg trigger pull.

    What others should know: Upgraded to a one piece mount, upgraded the scope, used a bench rest...and the gun will not shoot the groups I'd like. After several boxes of ammo over the last couple of months from a bench rest at 35yds I get a 4.5in. group in seven shots.Plenty of power if you can hit your target.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2012-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first mid-range air rifle and im very pleased. Love the nitro piston. Very accurate, powerful, and consistant gun.

    Things I would have changed: The gun is great but as others have said, always get a better scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2011-11-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Beautiful gun to shoot – very smooth with the Nitro piston – Not as smooth as a PCP but close. With Kodiak Extra Heavy pellets I have a shot group of 2”at 65 yards (pretty good for me). This weekend brought the end to about four ground squirrels that were lined up waiting for a turn to try the CFR out.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger does not return to zero – once you start to pull it you need to finish. Trigger pull is less than stellar – I am looking for an upgrade already (same trigger pull as the other Gamos that I own, so was not unexpected)

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2011-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have had four 1000fps (springer) guns now, and this is by far the best. Last night I finally got to set up my 50M target after having sighted in for just under 20M. I printed a ground squirrel (maybe 7/8ths scale) and put him up. Even though there was a pretty good cross wind I was able to start hitting the target (clean kill shots) after the first two shot groups. Using the Beeman Kodiak Extra Heavy .177 Cal, 10.40 Grains pellets I was hitting my fake squirrel (chest shot) 4 out of 5 times. I believe the outliers were all due to wind gusts that were stronger than I predicted. This would not have been possible with my previous break barrel springers.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy, hard to use for a "hunting" rifle. Can’t shoot wad cutters, they don’t slide into the chamber.

    What others should know: Quiet, but of course not with the light fast pellets that have sonic cracks. Stick to heavy pellets and this thing is amazingly smooth and repeatable.

  • 12 Next
Navigation