Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Gamo Whisper CSI Camo w/Gas Spring & Scope reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (5 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (5 votes)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By steven from USA on 2009-02-22 11:07:39

    Things I liked:this is a fantastic rifle .....light weight, powerful, and accurate...very quite if you planning on shooting at home. With Centerpoint 4.5-16 Scope this rifle is on the money out to 50 yards with plenty of power. Seems to work best with pellets from 13.5g to 17g....domes, points, wadcutters all work pretty well. Crow Magnum .22 are my favorite. The gas spring make the gun have less recoil, easier cocking and after break-in it seems to be much smoother. The gas spring is a must....
    Things I would have changed:Not much..the regular sites are a little cheesy....but work well....I dont use them so it does not matter to me.
    What others should know:The sound from this rifle is minimal. Just oil the hinges every 1000 or so and keep it clean and it should last a long time.....Not the old Gamo product......this is nice...
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By George from USA on 2009-05-03 14:37:14

    Things I liked:We purchased our .177 Gamo Camo CSI about 1 month ago, and it is a wonderful air rifle. Am so glad I listened to others on youtube, and other WEB sites an ordered the Gas Venturi upgrage, though it sounds expensive for an additional $100.00, it is worth every penny! No recoil,none! We had our good budies at Pyramyd chrono the gun, very high consistent numbers. This gun is used by both my 16 yr old son and myself. And we both hit targets and get very tight grouping at 20 yards. Not bad for an air rifle! The rifle is very light, and the real tree camo is much better looking in real life the the pictures on this WEB site . Everyone that sees this gun, love it, and once you fire it, you are totally hocked. Very Very Accurate, easy to hold, no recoil and great balance. All round fantastic rifle for its price, can compete very well with rifles costing hundreds more.
    Things I would have changed:Gamo means lazy trigger... no exception here either... very long pull. We are going to swap out the trigger next month. But if you decide to keep the factory trigger, it only took my son about about 20 shots to get used to it, and probably a few more for me. But you can master the trigger with a little patience. Its just not competition set up, and probably the only weak point to this rifle.
    What others should know:The Scope is on back order from Gamo, so Pyramyd shipped us the rifle rather then have us wait for the scope, am so gald they did, its been over on month and the scope is still on back order from Gamo. I find that the rifle shots very tight groups with many different pellets. We use Crossman Premier Ultra Magnum (very good), also Gamo Rocket, Beeman FTS Double Gold, Gamo Match, Gamo Magnum all have very tight groups. I can not say enough good things about this rifle, and the assistance we got from Pyramyd Staff, they know their products extremely well and told us the pluses and minues of other rifles we were considering. I tried to get the same from a local air gun dealer (COBRA), they just didnt seem to want to help, didnt call us back or just plain n simply didn't offer much assistance (I tried engaging them 3 times). Pyramyd is the way to GO! We are extremely happy with this rifle, loved the support from Pryamyd sales. If you are considering a Gamo Whisper... Do yourself a favor and upgrade the the Air Venturi option, hands down the best decision we made. We love it!
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2009-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:We purchased our .177 Gamo Camo CSI about 1 month ago, and it is a wonderful air rifle. Am so glad I listened to others on youtube, and other WEB sites an ordered the Gas Venturi upgrage, though it sounds expensive for an additional $100.00, it is worth every penny! No recoil,none! We had our good budies at Pyramyd chrono the gun, very high consistent numbers. This gun is used by both my 16 yr old son and myself. And we both hit targets and get very tight grouping at 20 yards. Not bad for an air rifle! The rifle is very light, and the real tree camo is much better looking in real life the the pictures on this WEB site . Everyone that sees this gun, love it, and once you fire it, you are totally hocked. Very Very Accurate, easy to hold, no recoil and great balance. All round fantastic rifle for its price, can compete very well with rifles costing hundreds more.
      Things I would have changed:Gamo means lazy trigger... no exception here either... very long pull. We are going to swap out the trigger next month. But if you decide to keep the factory trigger, it only took my son about about 20 shots to get used to it, and probably a few more for me. But you can master the trigger with a little patience. Its just not competition set up, and probably the only weak point to this rifle.
      What others should know:The Scope is on back order from Gamo, so Pyramyd shipped us the rifle rather then have us wait for the scope, am so gald they did, its been over on month and the scope is still on back order from Gamo. I find that the rifle shots very tight groups with many different pellets. We use Crossman Premier Ultra Magnum (very good), also Gamo Rocket, Beeman FTS Double Gold, Gamo Match, Gamo Magnum all have very tight groups. I can not say enough good things about this rifle, and the assistance we got from Pyramyd Staff, they know their products extremely well and told us the pluses and minues of other rifles we were considering. I tried to get the same from a local air gun dealer (COBRA), they just didnt seem to want to help, didnt call us back or just plain n simply didn't offer much assistance (I tried engaging them 3 times). Pyramyd is the way to GO! We are extremely happy with this rifle, loved the support from Pryamyd sales. If you are considering a Gamo Whisper... Do yourself a favor and upgrade the the Air Venturi option, hands down the best decision we made. We love it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-04-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is an overall great gun. good accuracy. definetly worth the money. i like the camo color and the composite stock. great rifle
      Things I would have changed:As everyone else has said, the gamo trigger is horrible. i replaced mine with the grt-III trigger and was the best decision ive ever made. the trigger pull went from pounds to ounces. type in grt-III trigger on google or visit charliedatuna.com. easy to install takes 5 min.
      What others should know:i replaced the scope with a leapers accushot 3-12x44mil dot scope. the scope that comes with the gun is absolute minimal and if u can afford a scope like the one i mentioned i recommend at least getting 3-9x40 scope
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marvin from USA on 2009-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You can carry this rifle all day in the field with no muscle fatigue, my Beeman Kodiak .25 that's a whole different story. I bought the .22 for hunting, finally was able to go out and scope it in at 35 yds. I just figured that would be the normal shot. It shoots very well even the Beeman extra heavy pellets grouped in a two to three inch cluster. I use a Leaper's UTG 1.25-4X24 5"long eye relief Scope mounted on this .22 camo.
      Things I would have changed:Again as others have mentioned about the trigger it has a very long pull before it finally fires off. Gamo should have put a rounded shroud over the front sight on this rifle as they have done on the other whispers. And I also had to tighten down the screw on the rear sight as well after a days shooting.
      What others should know:Over-all this is a very fine rifle, even though my .25 Beeman Kodiak is all metal and wood, well it now stays at home. This Gamo .22 is a hunter's delight ... a keeper for sure. Have fun and stay safe out there. Clamdigger.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am a big fan of GAMO guns and this gun is no exception. The Real Tree edition really has a nice look, feel and balance to it and fits comfortably in your hands. The addiion of the Air Venturi gas spring was a perfect match with this gun. The fine folks at Pyramyd did a Chrono tape and I was impressed with the numbers and when you pull the trigger, you can feel the difference! I bought the .22 cal and it has lots of punch. Whether your shooting small game, or plinking, this is a great choice for an air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:It is a pretty well accepted fact that triggers on Gamo rifles are probably not what they could be, and this gun is no exception. Thankfully, with a little research on the web, a better trigger can be easily purchased and installed. That said, I think the rear site could be sturdier. After about 20 shots, it came loose. The single tiny sheet metal screw is all that holds the site to it's composite base. After tightening and taking another 20 shots, I finally decided it was time for some thread lock. Although the sites base is now solid, the site chassis seems to tilt left slightly after shooting for a while. This maybe due to the internal spring in the site itself and might be modified to help make the site more stable. It doesn't seem to make too much difference in terms of accuracy though as this gun will give you tight, consistent groups.
      What others should know:If you noticed I didn't say anything about the scope in this review it was due in part that I never plan on using it with this gun as I purchased it soley to shoot with the hard sights only. This gun is available in both .177 cal and .22 cal. I think whichever caliber you choose, you'll be as haopy as I am!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By steven from USA on 2009-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a fantastic rifle .....light weight, powerful, and accurate...very quite if you planning on shooting at home. With Centerpoint 4.5-16 Scope this rifle is on the money out to 50 yards with plenty of power. Seems to work best with pellets from 13.5g to 17g....domes, points, wadcutters all work pretty well. Crow Magnum .22 are my favorite. The gas spring make the gun have less recoil, easier cocking and after break-in it seems to be much smoother. The gas spring is a must....
      Things I would have changed:Not much..the regular sites are a little cheesy....but work well....I dont use them so it does not matter to me.
      What others should know:The sound from this rifle is minimal. Just oil the hinges every 1000 or so and keep it clean and it should last a long time.....Not the old Gamo product......this is nice...
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top