Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    HW 45 LP reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (8 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (7 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By TomL from USA on 2010-02-21 11:30:00

    Things I liked:Just about everything. High quality construction all around, no wobbly parts anywhere. I am confident this gun would last decades of regular use with only basic maintenance. Lots of power for an air pistol and excellent accuracy once you get used to the gun. In any case it shoots more accurately than I ever will and if any shot misses the mark it's my fault. Balance is surprisingly good and the cocking isn't too hard - at least not for an adult male. It might be somewhat harder for a youngster but then again, the HW 45 is not really suitable for kids anyway. Has the feel of a real firearm. Kicks quite hard for an air gun - approaching a .22LR pistol in terms of recoil. Hence a lot more demanding to shoot than a PCP or CO2 air gun. Yet it's exactly the steeper learning curve that makes the HW 45 that much more interesting. Seems to handle pretty much any .177 pellet well. Not finnicky about the ammunition.
    Things I would have changed:Hard to think of a single really negative thing... Well, the original grip scales are good looking and old fashioned but not necessarily the most comfortable. I bought a Colt 1911 replacement rubber grip (monoblock design by Hogue), which fits like a glove. Much better now. It doesn't abrade my fingertips and I can control the pistol better (my hands are medium sized). Also, my HW 45 is the older model with ordinary iron sights (the new model comes with fiber glass sights). Effective and bombproof but as any plain open sights, not very good against a dark background. I have painted the front sight with bright orange nail polish and it works perfectly.
    What others should know:Loading is simple but pay attention! Early on I've had the pellet slip out of the barrel when I closed the slide (I haven't pushed the pellet all the way in), resulting in an accidental dry fire about two or three times before I figured out what was going on. Very unpleasant but fortunately the HW 45 is built like a tank and tolerates dry firing much better than most springers. That said, it's still a bad thing to dry fire an HW 45! A challenging air pistol to master - hold sensitive! For consistent hits you absolutely need a consistent grip. Once you zero the sights do not change your grip! If you do, you will need to zero again. I use a two-handed grip (isosceles) all the time now and can achieve pretty tight groups but one-handed the gun will shoot about 4" high at 10m (requiring a new zero). Same thing for full versus half-power cocking. My HW is .177 caliber and I always shoot in full power mode. On a lower power setting the gun will shoot about 4" high @ 10m. All in all, not ideal for kids or total beginners but a perfect choice for an intermediate air gunner. It is not a match gun but it has plenty of accuracy and power. Also very heavy duty - well made. After two months of daily practice and over 3000 shots I still can't seem to get bored with my HW 45. I think that about sums up... :-)
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By hoppie from USA on 2007-08-27 18:55:31

    Things I liked:Solid construction, built like a tank. Can put Colt 1911 aftermarket grips on it. Very precise trigger. Excellent hunting gun.
    Things I would have changed:Recoil. Very accurate if bench fired. If you plan to shoot free standing, you have to sight in to account for the recoil. Sights are not very precise, had to put scope on it.
    What others should know:Takes a lot of practice to be accurate with it.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2011-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First impression, Not a kids toy......... I've shot almost a 500 cnt tin of diablo exacts through this new 22cal. airgun. At 20 yards the groups seem to be getting tighter the more the pistol is shot . The pistol frame is solid. Looks to be made of an aluminum alloy. It has a surprisingly smooth trigger. I never had to adjust it from the factory settings. The pistol is much larger than a colt 1911 but the diamond grips look like they should interchange. It has fiber-optic sights which are bright and have a click adjustment, although the rear sight is a little off canter . Cocking is easy and contrary to what other people have said, this .22 cal does have 2 power levels. Over all it is very comfortable in the hand and fun to shoot. Definitely a keeper
      Things I would have changed:OK, here we go....... Move the safety rearward slightly to have easier stronghand thumb access while gripping. Anyone else think this? Maybe someone sells thumb extenders. How about an under barrel rail. Maybe to mount a laser and still be able to use your open sights.....That would be great
      What others should know:Even though the black finish on the gun looks good at 12" away. If you take a real close look in the light, you will see very minor sanding/machining marks on the sides of the frame. Also could have ground the mold flashing of the hammer release a little better. Really not a big deal When you fire this pistol, its noticeably springy sounding. You can really tell its a spring piston style. Maybe it will smooth out after a few more rounds. It has a rattle in the cocking arms when you shake it, which i dont see a way to fix. Doesn't effect performance.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2010-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great feel and excellent accuracy. Nice balance. Excellent sights.
      Things I would have changed:Yes, the little hex head screw that holds the safety in place backs out. Loctite does the trick.
      What others should know:Shooting this gun is addictive. Buy lots of ammo!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Lawrence from USA on 2010-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks.The all metal construction.It is very simple(easy) to cock and load. The new model(not pictured here has fiber optic sights)It also has two power levels in .22 cal. It makes good power
      Things I would have changed:The safety retention screw kept backing out on the left side.I put a dot of loc-tite on it and that solved the problem.As long as this pistol has been in production that should not be happening. For the money this cost I would have thought including an inexpensive carrying case would have been nice.There are cheaper guns out there that do give you that.
      What others should know:If you can afford this gun get it ! It is a great practice pistol for when you can't get to the range.I bought mine because the indoor range near me had to close for a month to upgrade the backstops and just about everything else.I like to go there and shoot my open sighted 9mm M&P.So I started shopping for a pistol I could shoot indoors at home.I wanted something that would look and handle like a firearm.I settled on this one even though it was more $$ than I wanted to spend.I could not have made a better choice.It will be very cost effective as well because I can now shoot at home some instead of going to the range all the time.Ammo expenses are so much better as well.(have you checked out 9mm ammo prices lately)I think it is as accurate as my 9mm M&P,which is very accurate.This pistol is making me a better shot than I would ever have been without it.I love this gun! I have put 900+ pellets through it in two weeks.I have been shooting crossman premier 14.3GR domed and JSB EXACT Jumbo.Both have been equally accurate.Take advantage of the buy three and get one free pellet deal here because you will shoot this gun a lot!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TomL from USA on 2010-02-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything. High quality construction all around, no wobbly parts anywhere. I am confident this gun would last decades of regular use with only basic maintenance. Lots of power for an air pistol and excellent accuracy once you get used to the gun. In any case it shoots more accurately than I ever will and if any shot misses the mark it's my fault. Balance is surprisingly good and the cocking isn't too hard - at least not for an adult male. It might be somewhat harder for a youngster but then again, the HW 45 is not really suitable for kids anyway. Has the feel of a real firearm. Kicks quite hard for an air gun - approaching a .22LR pistol in terms of recoil. Hence a lot more demanding to shoot than a PCP or CO2 air gun. Yet it's exactly the steeper learning curve that makes the HW 45 that much more interesting. Seems to handle pretty much any .177 pellet well. Not finnicky about the ammunition.
      Things I would have changed:Hard to think of a single really negative thing... Well, the original grip scales are good looking and old fashioned but not necessarily the most comfortable. I bought a Colt 1911 replacement rubber grip (monoblock design by Hogue), which fits like a glove. Much better now. It doesn't abrade my fingertips and I can control the pistol better (my hands are medium sized). Also, my HW 45 is the older model with ordinary iron sights (the new model comes with fiber glass sights). Effective and bombproof but as any plain open sights, not very good against a dark background. I have painted the front sight with bright orange nail polish and it works perfectly.
      What others should know:Loading is simple but pay attention! Early on I've had the pellet slip out of the barrel when I closed the slide (I haven't pushed the pellet all the way in), resulting in an accidental dry fire about two or three times before I figured out what was going on. Very unpleasant but fortunately the HW 45 is built like a tank and tolerates dry firing much better than most springers. That said, it's still a bad thing to dry fire an HW 45! A challenging air pistol to master - hold sensitive! For consistent hits you absolutely need a consistent grip. Once you zero the sights do not change your grip! If you do, you will need to zero again. I use a two-handed grip (isosceles) all the time now and can achieve pretty tight groups but one-handed the gun will shoot about 4" high at 10m (requiring a new zero). Same thing for full versus half-power cocking. My HW is .177 caliber and I always shoot in full power mode. On a lower power setting the gun will shoot about 4" high @ 10m. All in all, not ideal for kids or total beginners but a perfect choice for an intermediate air gunner. It is not a match gun but it has plenty of accuracy and power. Also very heavy duty - well made. After two months of daily practice and over 3000 shots I still can't seem to get bored with my HW 45. I think that about sums up... :-)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Carl from USA on 2008-07-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful for a .22 handgun, feels like a .45.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Its not cheap, but fit and finish are perfect. I wanted a powerful .22 cal. gun and this one is it. Its accuracy is great, but it is a spring-piston type, so it takes some getting use to.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

         By Tom from USA on 2007-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The HW 45 is incredibly accurate. It will out-shoot a standard M1911A1 pistol at 50 feet. It has the same grip as the standard 1911A1, and is therefore a wonderful trainer. The gun has 2 power levels in .177, but not in .22. The trigger is adjustable and is light and crisp. The gun is easy to cock for the power it delivers. The build quality is excellent, but don't start taking it apart unless you know how to work on an aluminum-framed gun. It's easy to make the pin holes too large if you use the wrong drifting technique.
      Things I would have changed:The adjustable sights are excellent, but the 11mm optical sight rail could be cut deeper. It doesn't grab onto dot sight bases well. Also, there needs to be a positive scope stop built into the top rail, as the front sight gets peened by serving as an ad hoc stop.
      What others should know:Don't use the lower power setting. Just shoot on high power or your gun will start dieseling. The velocity with RWS Hobby pellets is more in the 550-560 f.p.s. range. 600 f.p.s. is out of reach for anything except trick pellets like Raptors, and they are inaccurate.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2007-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power for an air pistol. Easy to load and cock. Trigger is smooth and construction is solid. Takes some practice to get accurate, but the gun is consistent, it's my stance, grip, & sighting that aren't as consistent.
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice for the amount of money paid if it came in it's own custom case. A gun like this deserves it.
      What others should know:Although lots of fun and easy to plink with for hours, this can easily take care of backyard pests like squirrels with a well placed pellet.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By hoppie from USA on 2007-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction, built like a tank. Can put Colt 1911 aftermarket grips on it. Very precise trigger. Excellent hunting gun.
      Things I would have changed:Recoil. Very accurate if bench fired. If you plan to shoot free standing, you have to sight in to account for the recoil. Sights are not very precise, had to put scope on it.
      What others should know:Takes a lot of practice to be accurate with it.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top