Date: 10/12/2016 18:18
0

Hatsan 125TH Air Rifle, Vortex Piston, Black reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By raul from USA on 2012-12-17 20:41:17

Things I liked: power, accuracy, quality, color, TH stock, super quiet, .25 cal... EVERYTHING

Things I would have changed: scope works but should be a bit bigger, more clear and better, just not up to rifle's potential

What others should know: OK. zeroed at 18 yards had a 8 to 10 inch drop at 100 yards, managed a nice 2-2 1/2 inch group at 100 yards. YES @ 100 YARDS, "I" top 3 for 5 years consecutive in national sniper competition's in cuba (with air rifle). pretty good shooter if u ask me... dropped a squirrel @ 100 yards with a lung/heart shot... highly recommend JSB match exact king 25.4 gr for any range and extremely high quality, yet to try H&N field target trophy and gamo raptor for faster speeds and greater penetration , will reply with the results and different ranges and targets, expensive when it comes to plinking, I do about 95% of the time just hunting this is the way to go if u want the most accurate, powerful and best quality brake barrel springer out there

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By john from USA on 2015-11-05 12:35:06

Things I liked: Very powerful. Any pellet under 10 gr has the potential to go super sonic. Feels like a "real" rifle. Both love and hate the thumbhole stock. On my other rifles I love the thumbhole but not so much with this one. Explanation below.

Things I would have changed: Better scope and mount. Some sort of suppressor. Cocking can be a bit difficult when new. Fix the barrel droop issues.

What others should know: I didn't care for the thumbhole stock on this rifle due to the location of the safety. It requires using your left hand or a very awkward hand motion of your trigger hand to set it to the fire position. I simply prefer to have the safety located so it is accessable after the gun has been cocked and I have my target in site. Just wasn't possible with this rifle due to the location of the safety. I had to send this one back due to excessive upward barrell droop. Could not get a scope to zero at 20 yards even after shimming the scope. Still 6" high. Traded up for the same rifle in camo with a standard stock. Love this one and it is for sure a keeper.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power. Rugged feel. Thumbhole stock. Trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Lose the cheap scope. It immediately diminishes the overall quality impression of this rifle. I wanted to use all the included butt plate shims to extend the pull (I'm 6'2" with long arms) but stock screws were not long enough to allow. I probably could have found longer screws to sub but didn't want to change anything until I knew the gun worked and met my needs (which it does). Thumbhole position works for my grip but..... it is awkward at best or will be impossible for some to disengage or engage the safety from the firing position. I have to disengage the safety BEFORE I take my grip and aim, otherwise (if I forget), I have to release my grip, disengage safety then re-grip, re-aim and fire. I would prefer to disengage the safety after acquiring target, just before pulling the trigger without having to pause, remove my right thumb from the thumbhole while supporting the gun with my left hand, disengage the safety then re-grip, reacquire target and fire.

    What others should know: This thing is a beast; heavy and hard to cock, which I expected. Shot 8" high out of the box (open sights) @ 12 yds. Adjusted to zero and now hammering pesky squirrels. 25 cal. is "overkill" for small pests but I wanted power to dispatch larger critters if needed and am confident this provides a humane and effective means of control. Not sure if this gun is quiet since all I hear is the mechanical bang of the gas piston in my right ear when fired. No chrony numbers yet. Using JSB Exact King 25.39g. Very pleased w/ accuracy Did not try other pellets; no need.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jimmy from USA on 2016-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power and accuracy. I really like the thumb hole. It is also not the loud. Cocking is no problem for me due to my years of powerlifting.

    Things I would have changed: A better scope.

    What others should know: Be sure to clean your barrel. It hits very hard. I feel sorry for the next group of squirrels that come into the neighborhood.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2016-02-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate right out of the box with Iron sights,Mounted a UTG 4x16x40 on it and about 5 shots later I have 1" groups at 30 yrds,It's a solid feeling rifle,fit and finish very good, it is not as hard to cock as other reviews state,I'm 54 yrs old 5'4,170lbs I can shoot this for hours,Excellent gun for the money

    Things I would have changed: The scope,Hatsan should ship it without the junk scope and maybe lower price 20 bucks

    What others should know: It's heavy

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By john from USA on 2015-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very powerful. Any pellet under 10 gr has the potential to go super sonic. Feels like a "real" rifle. Both love and hate the thumbhole stock. On my other rifles I love the thumbhole but not so much with this one. Explanation below.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope and mount. Some sort of suppressor. Cocking can be a bit difficult when new. Fix the barrel droop issues.

    What others should know: I didn't care for the thumbhole stock on this rifle due to the location of the safety. It requires using your left hand or a very awkward hand motion of your trigger hand to set it to the fire position. I simply prefer to have the safety located so it is accessable after the gun has been cocked and I have my target in site. Just wasn't possible with this rifle due to the location of the safety. I had to send this one back due to excessive upward barrell droop. Could not get a scope to zero at 20 yards even after shimming the scope. Still 6" high. Traded up for the same rifle in camo with a standard stock. Love this one and it is for sure a keeper.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: my .22 cal was so good i decided to get one in .25 cal i had to sent the first .25 back do to barrel problems i got the secant one in 4 days FedX picked up first one Monday for return and the second one here sat BIG THANK YOU TO PYRAMYD AIR FOR THE QUICK SERVICE !!!!! second one took a round 400 rounds to brake in WOW now shooting 1 in to 3/8 in 5 shot groups at 26 yards with jsb exact king .25 cal jsb's 698 fps 25.39 gr.. Some velocities are as follows jsb 25 gr 698 fps h^n 28 gr 686 fps h&n 19.91 gr 771fps (NOTE 21 FPS FASTER THEN ADVERTISED THANK YOU HATSAN )the /22 and .25 both seem to hold 0 after sitting in the gun cabinet

    Things I would have changed: at his point nothing

    What others should know: the .25 is a crushing impact and slow like hitting some thing with a .45 acp compared to a 9mm hit one squirrel from back rear to front and completely flattened him nothing i have shot with this even chest shots has twitched at 69 years old this is now my small game gun oh yes 1.5 to 2 in at 50 yards also drop a little longer adjusting screw in the front of trickier makes it into a sweet gun both of mine have this and now love the trickier Good hunting Fred

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I now have 4 Hatsan 125 air rifles, one in .177, two in .22, and one in .25 caliber. My first one was a Hatsan 125 Nitro Piston Black Stock [.22] which impressed me quite a lot. Accuracy with open sights was my first impression. Adjustability with the Quattro Trigger was a treat after my Benji NP XL. I already had experience with the Nitro Piston. After my second purchase of Hatsan 125TH, I realized that my first rifle need a change [see below]. This one was really comfortable to shoot. My third Hatsan 125 was a Black Stock Vortex [.25] as i couldn't get hold of a TH - model. The fourth Hatsan 125 was a TH-model in [.177] with a Vortex power plant. I discovered that the Vortex had a little more power and though a little heavier to cock, seemed smoother to shoot.

    Things I would have changed: Things that I did change: By purchasing a new TH Black stock from Hatsan [Pyramyd doesn't sell them], I now had three models; each with different calibers, and switched the stocks around a bit to make sure that these three models were now 125TH versions with the [.22] model with a Nitro Piston and the [.177 & .25] both being Vortex pistons. I also installed Quick Disconnect sling swivels to all of these where the front QD was a Barrel Ring and the rear was the wood screw type; carefully drilled into the stock. Of course I did change the OEM rings and sights to UTG 4-screw 1" mounts and the Leapers UTG 4-16 x 50mm and 40mm AO Mil-Dot Illuminatable scopes on the two largest calibers, and I'll be saving up for another Leapers 4-16 x 40 for the [.177] model.

    What others should know: One thing you may find a bit discouraging with these Hatsan 125's is the amount of barrel Droop on all of these rifles. But fear not, as Pyramyd Air has droop rails that fit perfectly and are 11mm to Weaver adaptablefor less than $20.00. I will also purchase a drooper scope rail when I finally purchase the Leapers 4-16 x 40mm AO Mil-Dot scope for the [.177] model. Having four of these 125 Hatsans, you can see that I am completely delighted with the quality and accuracy of these rifles. According to Tom Gaylord [BB Pelletier] there are some parts of these rifles that are made in Germany, which may account for the accuracy. Note!!!: With these High power Magmum air rifles, be sure to use the heavier pellets to keep the velocity below Mach 1. Contrary to the way rifles are sold, velocity isn't as important as Muzzle Energy. You'll reach out quite well with these gas powered rifles and when you reach your target, it's the energy not the speed that is important. Zeroing begins @ 10meters

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice power, great trigger. Nice having the open sights.

    Things I would have changed: Kinda heavy

    What others should know: I purchased the .25 cal. if you are thinking about getting this gun, just get it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2015-09-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: every thing what an air gun should be need 2 hands to cock it cleaned it and it shot 1/2 in c to c as i adjusted scope to o 3to 9 not junk working good for me also the mounts are see through so you can use the iron sights if you need to for encounters under 5 yards 1022 fps through crono. with crossman 14.3 gr hp blowing right through 2 buy 8 plank at 26 yards beyond my wildest dreams over 31 fpe only 30 rounds so far can't weight to see what this does once i get a few hundred rounds through it

    Things I would have changed: not a thing the perfect hunting air gun and set up so you can adjust everything including the barrel pivot pin with locking screw !!!

    What others should know: i am 69 years old and this is a hand full to cock one handed LOL makes my ben trail xl seem like a toy ?? also not hold sensitive very forgiving gun i am impressed thank you Hatsan you got it right

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eric from USA on 2015-01-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The tack driving accuracy, awesome power, Quatro adjustable trigger.

    Things I would have changed: The for end of the stock is a bit flimsy.

    What others should know: I have shot thousands of pellets through this gun. Mine is the .22 version with the Nitro Piston. I find my gun is not very hold sensitive. This gun far exceeds my expectations, both in accuracy and power. I have managed sub 1/4" groups with this gun at 50 yards, (measured distance). I can't say that all my groups are that tight at that range but I have managed that on several occasions. My average group size at 50 yards is .35" when using JSB Exact Jumbo Heavy pellets, those are what my gun likes best. We live next to a golf curse and find lots of golf balls in our field so I use them as targets. At 50 yards, I never miss them. This gun even does well with Crosman Premier hollow points out to 30 yards with average groups similar to that of the JSB pellets do at 50 yards. What they say about this gun exceeding its claimed velocities is absolutely true. Mine produces up to 32 fpe. with the JSB pellets I mentioned above. I highly recommend this gun for long range hunting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Gator Proof from USA on 2014-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lots to like, I don't shot it that often as my PCPs get most of my shooting time. There are just so many things I like about this big guy. Soft butt pad to absorb recoil as well as the SAS shock absorbing system. I get my exercise cocking this monster, I love the thumb hole stock, the Quartto trigger, the checkered pistol grip and the checkered forestock adds good grip. The auto safety when he's cocked and a quick thumb release safety. The Truglo sights with the rear sight having great adjustments for windage and elevation. The nearly silent power. The pellets smacking the target back boards are noisier then the muzzle voice,. The muzzle brake has nice chevron grooves so your hand doesn't slip when cocking about 50 pounds resistance. I have owned this gun over 7 months and not a problem one, sturdy and reliable. This is not a 10 year olds gun or anyone who can't handle the sheer weight and cocking system require a fair amount of stength. It does include a very basic 3x9x32 Optima scope.

    Things I would have changed: The user manual is typical Hatsan "TO LITTLE INFORMATION" If you nit pick! you do get a rather hollow sound if you tap on the synthetic stock but it cost me $220 not a $1, 000, so not an issue.

    What others should know: I added the 4x16x40 scope and then I added a scope mounted a tactical light 200 lumens, and a powerful green laser sighted at 20 yards for Armadillos, and sighted the scope to 40 yards and out. When decked out it looks like what it is, a power house hunting rifle first and a plinking guy of course. I just cronyed him. He fired 19g H&N FTT pellets averaging 745 FPS with a high of 766 FPS and 24.89 FPE. With JSB 25.39g pellet with a high of 665 FPS and an average of 659FPS with a 24.65 FPE. With AA 25.4g with a high of 657 FPS and an average of 651FPS and 24.35 FPE, average groups at 25 yards 1". Strange that the FPE is the same with all different weight of pellets. So now I just use 19g H&N, I think they shoot a little farther and faster for less pellet price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Value, accuracy, power... everything.

    Things I would have changed: Rifle is a tad on the heavy side.

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle in .25 cal (go big bore, you won't be disappointed)and it is deadly accurate, with power to spare. I previously owned a gamo, the hatsan rifle is in a whole different league. The accuracy is amazing, my 10 year old daughter can shoot groups less than an inch at fifty plus yards. I have around 500 rounds through it, and about a half dozen kills thus far. Knocks small game off of their feet. My friend has the hatsan vortex s1000 in .177, and it is also a high quality rifle. I cannot say enough about the performance of this gun, buy it you will not regret it. Be sure to get a set of weaver style scope rings! Enjoy!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By terry from USA on 2014-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is a beast awesome power.This is my go to gun to carry on my trap line to dispatch coyote and raccoon one shot and lights out also pellets are easy to buy compared to rim fire ammo.

    Things I would have changed: Better scope is the only thing , and add a sling

    What others should know: Make sure you know what is behind your target and have a good back stop.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Simon from USA on 2013-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid air rifle. Was concerned at first because there were no reviews at the time I bought it. It came in and I was shooting right away. Seems as powerful as advertised and I like the fact that Hatsan quotes fps based on lead pellets. Other manufacturers should follow suit.I took out 2 squirrels in 1 day and both 1 shot kills.

    Things I would have changed: A bit heavy and no sling available.

    What others should know: Overall a great rifle and I would consider Hatsan products in the future.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2013-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: I prefer thumbhole stocks, just me. I feel more in control of the rifle with it. Trigger seems good, haven't checked the pull wt. though. Little take-up, breaks clean. Been very pleased with the accuracy at 10 yds indoor range, similar to OHAT groupings with H&N Barracuda Power 21.1gr copper plate pellets. The lighter weight pellets were NOT as accurate with my rifle. I appreciated PA offering the chrony testing of this rifle for $10. I bought this as a refurbished rifle and it came complete and looked unused. Very happy with purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Don't need the FO sights. Put the Sniper muzzle on it to quiet it down or make it an option. Offer it without a scope so buyer could use his own choice.

    What others should know: High cocking effort (for me), two hands for beginners? Anyway, 2 handed technique made it easier for doing multiple shots on target. I put a UTG 3-9x40 scope on mine. After all the reviews about the provided scope not lasting, I didn't bother to mount it up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2013-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish on this gun for the price is amazing. Love the truglo sights and the stock(If you have very large hands the thumb hole may be an issue)

    Things I would have changed: Scope sucks but I figured it would, Rifle is heavy

    What others should know: Looks Awesome I was pleased from the get go.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By davd from USA on 2013-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I first recieved the mod.125, I was disappointed with its' appearance although in my opinion it was well built. After a little cleaning(bore, etc)and 250 pellets later, this rifle quickly grew on me. It shoots accurate, and hits hard , I was able to shoot 5 shot groups that could be covered by a nickle @ 10 yards with the supplied scope.

    Things I would have changed: The stock, it looks awful(in my mind)but seems durable,one does not have to worry about dings and scratches. The performance of this rifle makes it easy to overlook the stock.

    What others should know: This rifle has good hunter/pest control potential. It sounds similar to my benji trail xl .22 but with a nicer trigger. This is the .25 cal version. BTW I used benji 27.9 gr pellets, they seem a fine choice for the mod.125.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By davd from USA on 2013-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is not a piece of art, however once one gets over its' ugly and "toy gun" appearance, this is a fine shooting .25cal gas piston gun. The rifle seems well made and hits very hard shooting benji 27.9 gr. domeheads, well into midhigh 20 fpe range as others chronoed. The stock trigger is very good, is adjustable, the supplied scope is plenty adequate for hunting out to 30yds until it is upgraded for this rifle is a capable 50yd shooter

    Things I would have changed: Offer a variety of stocks, even as available accesories, easy enough for most endusers to changeout. Aesthetically, the stock supplied is gross especially for the money.

    What others should know: Other than some appearence issues(my take), I would recommend the 125 for a good solid hunter/pest control choice in a economical format, easier to shoot than the benji trail xp .22, not as hold sensitive and better stock trigger. Besides the 125 hits just as hard or harder.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: No comment.

    Things I would have changed: No comment.

    What others should know: Pay attention to the fact that this rifle has open sights and that the stock is dropped to align the shooter's eyes with those sights when he has a good cheek weld. With a scope mounted it's more like a chin weld without a stack of CheekEeze. Average velocity with 31gr Baracudas was 608, with 27.8 Benji domed was 589 and with H&N FTT was 680 - so do not believe the claimed 750 fps.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By steve from USA on 2013-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got it in .22 cal. Accurate out to 50 yards with a decent ao scope and rings. Heavy but has a good balanced feel to it. Like the thumbhole stock. Nice light trigger.It is built to last, no loose screws or flimsy components. Clean the barrel and start shoot'n. Got a great deal fom PA before xmas and showed up at my door in two days for around $200.

    Things I would have changed: the scope, eeehhh use it on your plinker gun.

    What others should know: Get a better scope, rings, and a bottle of locktite. Cocking will smooth out after a couple hundred shots but you'll find yourself using both hands to cock this beast after 50 shots or so...I'm not too proud!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By raul from USA on 2012-12-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: power, accuracy, quality, color, TH stock, super quiet, .25 cal... EVERYTHING

    Things I would have changed: scope works but should be a bit bigger, more clear and better, just not up to rifle's potential

    What others should know: OK. zeroed at 18 yards had a 8 to 10 inch drop at 100 yards, managed a nice 2-2 1/2 inch group at 100 yards. YES @ 100 YARDS, "I" top 3 for 5 years consecutive in national sniper competition's in cuba (with air rifle). pretty good shooter if u ask me... dropped a squirrel @ 100 yards with a lung/heart shot... highly recommend JSB match exact king 25.4 gr for any range and extremely high quality, yet to try H&N field target trophy and gamo raptor for faster speeds and greater penetration , will reply with the results and different ranges and targets, expensive when it comes to plinking, I do about 95% of the time just hunting this is the way to go if u want the most accurate, powerful and best quality brake barrel springer out there

Navigation