Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hatsan 125 Sniper Air Rifle Combo, Vortex, Black reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Thom from USA on 2012-11-19 13:28:54

    Things I liked:I knew I'd be impressed...but WOW! I love this gun!!! Crazy power and accuracy! I bought mine in .25 and love the impact power! It's not as hard to cock as "they" say (or I expected), but you'll know your cocking a magnum air rifle for sure. I've only had a few other pellet guns (Gamo Whisper .177, RWS 48 side lever .177, and a couple of older randoms) but i can say that this is by far the finest and most fun air rifle I've owned yet! The finish, the trigger, & the adjustability is unmatched. It's not loud, totally back yard friendly...but when it hits its target it sounds like two 2x4's smacking together! I have a few acres and use it for varmint hunting, & to say it works well is an understatement! I thought the bipod would be worthless but for zeroing and bench shooting its not bad. I didn't think I was going to use the sling either but the gun is almost 10 lbs with a good scope & it's kinda nice to be able to give your arms a break on a long hike. I'm still experimenting with ammo and distance, definitely going to want a mil dot scope (.25 drops sooner than i expected compared to a .177 but that should be assumed) I got mine with the NPSS so i cant compare it to one with a spring, but it doesn't matter to me, I'm stoked with the way it is! If you're looking for a hard hitting comfortable magnum air gun, look no further, just gotta choose camo or black.
    Things I would have changed:Scope sucks! BUT it works adequately until you upgrade. Anything closer than about 10-15 meters is blurry (no AO adjustment), further out though is pretty decent.
    What others should know:BUY A SCOPE WITH THIS RIFLE! I didn't do so, but i quickly pirated one off another gun.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Cyril from USA on 2014-01-21 13:27:50

    Things I liked:I bought the .25 caliber Hatsan 125. It is accurate, powerful, quiet, and very easy to cock. However, my particular gun had some quality control issues.
    Things I would have changed:The rails for both the open sights and the scope rails were "off center" = a horrible thing to start with. I had to adjust the open sights windage all the way to the right == which left me no room for "real" windage correction. The scope rail/base was also off the mark and shooting way to the left = a horrible thing to happen. We lose scope accuracy when we have to adjust the scope too much to the right. No allen wrench was provided for the trigger adjustments, and it takes a weird size. I will have to go the Hardware store and try to find an allen wrench that fits it.
    What others should know:I should have sent the gun back to pyramid. The barrel/ methods of attaching the sights and scope are "cattywampus". The barrel is also too big in diameter. The JSBs and most other pellets just slop into the hole. They will fall out if you are not careful. Guess why I am going to keep the gun? I will keep the lousy gun with the lousy quality control of barrel alignment because == The Hatsan 125 sniper (NPSS) is extremely accurate = I mean I can hit a gnat's ass at 20 yards. I can hit empty .22 shells consistently at 30 yards. Provided I use a makeshift Artillery simulation on top of a bench rest. I should have rejected it based on the misaligned barrel/attachment rails. I should have asked for a replacement. However, after a few hundred shots, I felt I was lucky to get such an accurate .25 caliber break barrel air gun.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matthew from USA on 2014-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate... very well made - manufacturing tolerances in areas you can see / handle is really nice...
      Things I would have changed:Quite heavy... this gun is not for toting long distances into the woods! I somewhat regret not finding a similar gun but about 3-4 pounds lighter - IF something like that even exists in this price range / quality / style...
      What others should know:I purchased this model after having considered several other brands / styles - but after using Pyramyd's on-line customer service chat, settled on this model. First off - the customer service guys that i chatted with were AWESOME... very knowledgeable and easy to talk to. A GREAT on-line shopping experience... Everything they ended up telling me was 100% accurate. After receiving it, I got the gun dialed in at 25 yards within about 20 shots (using a different scope from the one which came with the package - FYI I put the supplied scope on my son's "much lighter" BB gun and got IT dialed in within about 5 shots!). The online guys recommended JSB match diablo 18 gr round nose pellets, and predator polymag 16gr pointed - BOTH are very accurate. Ultimately - if you are shopping for this style / price point / etc - and understand the weight of this gun (which is VERY comparable to other similar guns) - I am convinced you can't go wrong here...!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Eli from USA on 2014-06-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hard hitting in .25, and extremely accurate - I replaced the included scope with a Leapers 9x40, and the combo works well for me. I also used it with open sights for a few days, and it was really nice - I was tempted to leave the scope off! My only other big springer is an RWS mod 34 in .22, and the Hatsan NPSS feels like a great leap forward in technology. It's a lot quieter, and has less recoil snap than the (very nice) Diana. It was somewhat hard to cock at first, but after a few hundred shots it seems to be broken in and happy. It's relaxing, and easy to shoot all afternoon. I've been running The Excite 24.54g Coppa pellets with good results. I don't have many other guns in its class to compare this to, so my opinion is only worth so much. That said, I feel like I got an incredible value for my money, I love using this gun, and I'm always impressed by how much power it puts down.
      Things I would have changed:It seems heavy. The gun alone weighs 9+ lbs, 2lbs less than my RWS. Not much of a difference on paper, but you notice it when you pick it up. I wish they offered it in a 'no scope included' version for a few bucks less, it's a shame to take a scope off a brand new rifle and just put it aside or bin it.
      What others should know:I don't own a lot of air rifles, so my opinion may only be worth so much. Before I bought this, my goto for 20 years was a Sheridan CB9 in .20, I only picked up the RWS 34 in the last few years. When I bought the Hatsan, it blew my mind compared to these older models. My first camping trip with it was in snow, and it seems completely insensitive to outside temperature. At $349, I don't think you can lose. If you don't like the included scope, take it off and use it with open sights for a few days! Overall a wonderful product, well built and also well supported by Pyramyd.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By hadley from USA on 2014-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:hits hard and its quiet! gas piston is the bomb...
      Things I would have changed:the instructions need a little upgrade and of course the scope and the bi-pod are a joke. striped the screw hole on butt plate while adding layers. be careful the plastic will not tolerate over-tightening.
      What others should know:be careful of backstop. scope wasn't sighted and i blew a nice 25 cal hole in my crappy old garage door! lol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Don from USA on 2014-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:looks, feel and knock down power. It takes plenty of arm power to cock this beauty, but what power, outstanding.
      Things I would have changed:remove the bi-pod and the scope, add better a scope
      What others should know:between 30 to 40 yards away, can take a tree rat out with no problem, using the H&N field sport 16.36 gr. pellet, with open sights. love this rifle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This thing is dead on accurate. You really have to find the right pellet for your gun but thats with any gun.
      Things I would have changed:Man this thing is huge. Not sure how that could be changed without sacraficing the accuracy and power. Also the scope and bi-pod are worthless... not much else to say about that. Throw both away and get a better scope.
      What others should know:I originally bought this for some survival type camping trips. I do not regret buying this gun what so ever but now its for shooting small game with my son around the house or just joy shooting. For a camping food procurement gun I will be buying a PCP rifle that can be made shorter and lighter... Overall, I love this gun and am very happy to have it in my collection. It is my go to gun when just shooting for fun, not to mention its cheaper than shooting anything else these days.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Cyril from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought the .25 caliber Hatsan 125. It is accurate, powerful, quiet, and very easy to cock. However, my particular gun had some quality control issues.
      Things I would have changed:The rails for both the open sights and the scope rails were "off center" = a horrible thing to start with. I had to adjust the open sights windage all the way to the right == which left me no room for "real" windage correction. The scope rail/base was also off the mark and shooting way to the left = a horrible thing to happen. We lose scope accuracy when we have to adjust the scope too much to the right. No allen wrench was provided for the trigger adjustments, and it takes a weird size. I will have to go the Hardware store and try to find an allen wrench that fits it.
      What others should know:I should have sent the gun back to pyramid. The barrel/ methods of attaching the sights and scope are "cattywampus". The barrel is also too big in diameter. The JSBs and most other pellets just slop into the hole. They will fall out if you are not careful. Guess why I am going to keep the gun? I will keep the lousy gun with the lousy quality control of barrel alignment because == The Hatsan 125 sniper (NPSS) is extremely accurate = I mean I can hit a gnat's ass at 20 yards. I can hit empty .22 shells consistently at 30 yards. Provided I use a makeshift Artillery simulation on top of a bench rest. I should have rejected it based on the misaligned barrel/attachment rails. I should have asked for a replacement. However, after a few hundred shots, I felt I was lucky to get such an accurate .25 caliber break barrel air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rocky from USA on 2013-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This thing is a beast in .25 cal. awsome destructive power, awsome accuracy. Solid, well made. Makes me laugh outloud everytime i shoot it. So far, excellent results with the following ammo: *JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.4 Grains, Domed *Predator Polymag .25 Cal, 26 Grains, Pointed *H&N Crow Magnum .25 Cal, 26.23 Grains, Hollowpoint (these do so much damage it's just stupid, lol)
      Things I would have changed:I wouldnt change a thing
      What others should know:This very quickly became my "go-to" gun, been poppin golf balls out to 50-60yds from my office window in the farmland behind the house. Ya just can't go wrong with this one boyz. Now i leave the .22 marlin @ home, why make all that noise? P.S. like most airgun combos, upgrade the scope, imho
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Azazel from USA on 2013-05-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the power and accuracy of this gun. Like they say power & velocity mean nothing if you're hitting nkthing. But im shooting 1/4 in groups at 50 yards! I really like the quatro trigger! When I 1st got this rifle the trigger was really heavy butafter reading the owners manual it's just perfect ^_^
      Things I would have changed:I (like most people) don't like the 3-9X32 scope provided. You can't sight it in closer that 15 yards and it don't look so well after 40 yards... I changed mine out for a leapers 3-12X40 a/o IE illuminated reticle with a leapers accushot 1 piece high mount.
      What others should know:This air rifle has a ton of power! While sooting in my back yard, I accidently shot thu a 1inch phone book and the pellet still managed to go tru my 3/4 inch fence board (from a short distance of 15 yards! [I sneezed at the last minute and pulled up and to the left from my ppellet trap into the book behind it]) This is not a kids aire rifle, it is most definitely an adults air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nic from USA on 2013-04-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a beast! I love the absolutely menacing look and feel of this gun, this thing is no toy. I got the .177 version of the gun, so it hits speeds of about 1250 with 7.1g pellets so its super-transoinc and it creates a loud crack, so if you need stealth for a suburban area, you need to use 10.5g pellets and they are substanially quiter. The accuracy is absolutely amazing for the price. A wasp landed on my target and I just destroyed 'em, with the stock scope. By the way the scope is adequate but you can do much better, I'm getting a Centerpoint 4-16x40AOIRMD scope which will suck every last drop of accuracy out of this gun. Barrel lockup and the locking joint are very firm and will last for a long time and will be accurate for a long time.
      Things I would have changed:Just drop the bipod and scope and offer the gun for a cheaper price. The bipod is 'aight but I'm going to replace it.
      What others should know:The Crosman 10.5g Premier Domes work really well in this gun, as do other heavy pellets. The sling is also great! Great rifle and a must have.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Shane from USA on 2013-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy. Craftsmanship is top quality. 25 Ammo makes a big hole, travels straight and not effected by crosswinds as much as smaller caliber ammo. * Shoulder sling is great for hunts on the move. * Very quiet, allowing for multiple shots on groups of small game. * Feels and fires like it means business.
      Things I would have changed:Adjustable chin stock is a pain, with the screws tight, I still managed to lose one of the bolts. Make sure you Loctite these. * Gun is very heavy but understandable, a lighter weight would be nice. * Factory scope is throw away and so is the bipod ( bipod is worst I have ever seen, belongs on a child's plastic toy gun.
      What others should know:Love his gun, it is my first choice for small game hunts. Hatsan quality being a family owned factory is amazing for the price. Adjustable trigger is great. Buy a decent scope, I use a Leapers 4x12x44 mildot Ammo I use for hunting : Polymag Predators Straight out of the box this gun was doing half inch groups at 35 yards. Massive power will easily punch it's way through game you would normally hunt with a .22 firearm. I found the loading to be easy, it is a long reach but I don't think it is that hard. I found no problem loading the gun while crouching and even lying on my back. * Important : Once you set up the adjustable chin piece, Loctite those screws, the threads are small, short and can vibrate loose. If you are going out into open fields with no fences, trees for support rest, make a pair of Hunting sticks to take with you. This gun loves to be resting for long shots. ( YouTube " how to make hunting sticks ) Very happy with this gun. Overall I rate this gun more than my Gamos and Gamo Whisper. Hatsans 125 is a powerful beast that shoots exactly where you want it. Heavy but the shoulder strap allows for long hikes without any problem. I like the auto safety, it works well. I like the quality of production and value for money. I highly recommend if you are into hunting rabbits, small game etc, grab the Hatsan 125 in .25 with the nitro piston conversion.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Russell C from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels and kicks like a powder rifle. Nice trigger adjustments. Feel much more powerful than the Gamo Whisper but only rated 50fps faster. Nice check adjustment.
      Things I would have changed:Lighten the weight a bit. It's almost 4 lbs. heavier than my Gamo Whisper. Cocking effort is way too difficult and there is no positive click when the barrel closes.
      What others should know:The bypod is useless. Buy a quality scope. I haven't found the specs on cocking effort but I two hand it to cock it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Xiao from USA on 2013-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:More powerful than other .25 cal NPSS air rifle, and the style is cool. The sound is more quite than other.
      Things I would have changed:The original scope is so sock. I bought a really nicer scope to match with this rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By microcarl from USA on 2013-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Hatsan 125 Sniper is quite the pellet rifle! Iv'e only put about 300 tounds thru this rifle but I like it. I really like the sholder strap swivels. I like how quiet the gun is. Akk I hear is the internal working when the trigger is pulled and no barrel noise, except with the lighter pellets that actually break the speed of sound.
      Things I would have changed:Provide a Lepers 3-12X40 scope. The Optima is way below the class of this rifle.
      What others should know:When I got this rifle the trigger was incredibly hard to pull - like 20 pounds of force was required to fire the gun. After studying the picture of the Quatro trigger mechanics that Hatsan shows in their marketing literature, I determined that it was possible that the Hex-head adjustment screws might be too short. As an experiment, I replaced the original adjustment screws that that came with the gun with Hex-head screws that are about 1/8" longer in adjustment positions #1 & #2 and now... the trigger operates incredibly smooth and I have full control of trigger pull force.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thom from USA on 2012-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.04 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I knew I'd be impressed...but WOW! I love this gun!!! Crazy power and accuracy! I bought mine in .25 and love the impact power! It's not as hard to cock as "they" say (or I expected), but you'll know your cocking a magnum air rifle for sure. I've only had a few other pellet guns (Gamo Whisper .177, RWS 48 side lever .177, and a couple of older randoms) but i can say that this is by far the finest and most fun air rifle I've owned yet! The finish, the trigger, & the adjustability is unmatched. It's not loud, totally back yard friendly...but when it hits its target it sounds like two 2x4's smacking together! I have a few acres and use it for varmint hunting, & to say it works well is an understatement! I thought the bipod would be worthless but for zeroing and bench shooting its not bad. I didn't think I was going to use the sling either but the gun is almost 10 lbs with a good scope & it's kinda nice to be able to give your arms a break on a long hike. I'm still experimenting with ammo and distance, definitely going to want a mil dot scope (.25 drops sooner than i expected compared to a .177 but that should be assumed) I got mine with the NPSS so i cant compare it to one with a spring, but it doesn't matter to me, I'm stoked with the way it is! If you're looking for a hard hitting comfortable magnum air gun, look no further, just gotta choose camo or black.
      Things I would have changed:Scope sucks! BUT it works adequately until you upgrade. Anything closer than about 10-15 meters is blurry (no AO adjustment), further out though is pretty decent.
      What others should know:BUY A SCOPE WITH THIS RIFLE! I didn't do so, but i quickly pirated one off another gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Roger from USA on 2012-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:When I ordered this rilfe, I was hesitate. I have always purchace German made airguns. Wow, what a rifle. Very accurate, balanced & easy loading.
      Things I would have changed:Probably would change the scope to get the best benefit out of this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By shootemfulloholes from USA on 2012-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i like the power and accuracy that the 25 cal has to offer, the adjustable cheek piece is very handy to have. The Quatro trigger is awesome.
      Things I would have changed:i would ditch the bi-pod and the scope for a better price on the gun since most people would probably swap the scope out any way!!
      What others should know:Get a good back stop or pellet trap this air rifle has lots of power and will go through most things!! I think that 22 cal and up is the way to go after all this is a magnum air rifle that will dispatch small game very well with more lead!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Varmint Control from USA on 2012-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle is probably one of the the most powerful break barrel .22 cal. on the market today. It is also considerably quiet to shoot (thanks to the built in suppressor). With the right ammo, it's also quite accurate. I like the quatro trigger. It's a much better stock trigger than say (ie: alot of Crosman's stock heavy triggers). It comes with a decent sling & sling mounts, too.
      Things I would have changed:I do wish this gun was a little shorter in length & lighter in weight, but what can you do about that with a .22 cal. magnum powered break barrel air rifle that is this powerful & quiet? The adjustable cheek piece needs to be adjusted a little lower or not at all (on mine, anyhow), because it will come loose with recoil if adjusted too high. The plastic circle pieces surrounding the two cheek piece bars cracked apart the first day of shooting. The cheek piece still functions fine, though. I guess you don't really need to change much about this beast of a break barrel. I was just nitpicking a little.
      What others should know:This rifle does not seem to be quite as hard to cock as other reviewers might point out. It will take some effort, though. If you are an able bodied full grown adult, you should be able to fire many rounds through it without much trouble. This air rifle is NOT a young person's gun! Mount a good Leapers (or your preference) scope on it. The first pellets I was using for it were JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo 15.9 grain. There was some decent accuracy & power at 30 yds. with those. Really though, if you want more accuracy & knock down power (you know you do), consider H&N Baracuda Match 21.3 grain 5.53mm head size. They fit the barrel (mine, anyhow) like a glove. I can really see the difference it makes in power & accuracy at the same distance. H&N has to be making some of the best rifle fitting & shooting pellets out there today...in my opinion. My .177 cal. Remington NPSS shoots H&N Field Target Trophy 4.52mm head size very well, also.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By chad from USA on 2012-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:everything this thing is more powerful and quieter than my other gas pistons 25 caliber gets rid of pests quickly
      Things I would have changed:better scope and cheaper
      What others should know:definitely want to change the scope lot more accurate a lot quieter than the benjamin trail xl in the same caliber
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Troy from USA on 2012-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Although this rifle has some wieght, it is superb. With the adjustable trigger, quality of workmanship, it's hard to beat in a breakbarrel. I love the adjustable cheekpiece. At 50 yards, this rifle is a tack driver. It's loud, so be prepared, wether PBA or lead, this gun has a bang. Auto safety is a great Plus.
      Things I would have changed:Better bipod
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top