Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Hatsan AT44PA PCP Air Rifle, Black reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:5

    By Andrew from Canada on 2013-04-12 02:53:11

    Things I liked:I've had the .22 model of this a/g for a while, and its great, I've alway's been into springers,and this is my first venture into pcp, What a difference, Coming from a host of top of the line springer's, (Cometa Fusion Premier.22, as one example)This blows it away. I'm getting close to 1000fps with H&N FTT 5.54mm(16-gr,.),and with 9gr Prometheus Hunters,I get close to 1140fps, and thats with deadly accuracy, Accurate enough to knock off a 25pd Racoon 75ft up a Pine Tree, and it was dead before it hit the ground with a head shot!. If you hunt with your a/g's, then this is your gun, after you get used to the shooting cycle, You'll be squeezing them off like Chuck Conners, But seriously, This gun is awesome!, Very easy to get your line of sight, and you keep it, even going through the pumping cycle, It's a polymer stock, but it's rock hard, not like the plastic Crosman Uses (Crosman M4177, as an example). Choosing the right ammo for this shooter may be a challenge, I've found that alot of my favourite pellets don't cycle well, It's a shame, I really like hunting with Skenco Metal-Tipped Ultra Mag's, but they're just too long, As with most of the point's in my arsenal, I However, I did find it shot excellent with H&N SilverPonts(17.10gr,.) In domes, the only pellet that was a little too long was H&N Baracuda's, Hunters, H&N Field Targets, Silouette's, FTT, FTT Power, Gamo Pro Hunters/Hunters, AirArms FX SmoothTwist pellets all performed well and left everything in the black @ 20M
    Things I would have changed:The weight!,,It's a heavy gun, and w/ that kind of heft, It should come with factory swivels, a shot-gun sling will be hard to place on this gun due to it's configuration.Any swivel attachment should be done professionally. Also, Magazine placement should be more internal, Too much of it is sticking out, and makes scope placement problematic.
    What others should know:Finding Optic's for this Beast may become a problem, If you plan on using a standard scope, You're going to need high mounts, and an Objective of Less of than 40mm, a Red-Dot may do the trick, but the rail's are a tad too thick for any Q/D type of mount. I put a JGBG M8 3.5X40 I/R, Integrated Laser on mine, and it fit's just right, and performs Extremely well with this gun, and doesn't add alot of weight.Get yourself extra magazines, I found that 6, will get you through all of your gun's power shots per fill-up, I also sprung for an extra air cylinder, tossed in my rucksuck, provides me with me more than enough air for a day in the field. Once you get used to this gun, It should become the pinnacle of your collection, It's very well built,a fantastic trigger, This gun should provide you with years of good shooting/Hunting. Chher's, and Happy Huntin', Andy.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:5

    By Richard from USA on 2013-10-08 17:50:00

    Things I liked:The feel of the gun, the way it throughs up. Power and accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:The magazine, the design and better metal quality of the cycling mechanizm. Also, tolerances vary from one rifle to the next. I've given up on the PA and hope to never own another.
    What others should know:The pump action is too abupt, too forceful! I've spent countless hours freeing a jammed magazine from the breech due to a pellet. It cycles better with lenghly round nose pellets. I've returned the 3rd gun Pyramids sent me and hope to never own another. Buy the side lever action AT44 rifle . With a little finese, jams can be avoided.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By cherokeesteve from USA on 2013-12-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:feel of the thumb hole stock is extremely comfortable. I like the Quattro trigger, could be lighter but breaks consistently. The accuracy of this rifle is unbelievable for a pcp rifle at this price point. Threaded barrel end is a great plus, I added the Hatsan air stripper to mine. Great powerful rifle,can't do better if this is your first pcp rifle.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is LOUD. Not for shooting outside if you have close neighbors. Find some open space for and enjoy this gun.
      What others should know:I made some modifications to my rifle and can hit 1050 fps with 25.4 grain .25 caliber JSB's, that's over 60 FPE from a $360 air rifle. I like the pump action magazine. It allows you to keep your gun in a shooting position with your finger on the trigger the whole time, great for follow up shots when hunting. Throw a nice scope on and you're good to go.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Fred from USA on 2013-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fairly reasonable accuracy, keeping shots w/in 1/2-3/4" at 25 yds w/ a few fliers with JSB 10.5gr. Anti-double feed mechanism. Trigger is crisp and repeatable but 2nd stage pull is heavy. Powerful!
      Things I would have changed:Add a baffled shroud... it is loud! Pretty good at this price point.
      What others should know:Mine was tuned to shoot 1040fps at 200 bar out of the box decreasing to 940fps at 125bar shooting JSB 10.5.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:2 2.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The feel of the gun, the way it throughs up. Power and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The magazine, the design and better metal quality of the cycling mechanizm. Also, tolerances vary from one rifle to the next. I've given up on the PA and hope to never own another.
      What others should know:The pump action is too abupt, too forceful! I've spent countless hours freeing a jammed magazine from the breech due to a pellet. It cycles better with lenghly round nose pellets. I've returned the 3rd gun Pyramids sent me and hope to never own another. Buy the side lever action AT44 rifle . With a little finese, jams can be avoided.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By elijah from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful,almost no recoil, fantastic trigger, very comfortable and easy to shoot.
      Things I would have changed:The synthetic material on stock is a little dull and easy to leave scratch marks. The cocking action is a little rough, even the stock on my benjamin trail has a nicer finish. The stock is very sturdy though
      What others should know:Just the stock.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By jack from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:accurate, well made
      Things I would have changed:change fill adapter to foster fitting
      What others should know:had trouble cycling rounds til I figured how to use pump action correctly. was skipping pellets in clip. all good now. heavy rifle. very loud
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2013-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is POWERFUL! I own several air rifles and this is the first “BB gun” that got a second look from my wife with the comment “that thing look dangerous.” I don’t have a chronograph, but after shattering some 54mm cast lead figures, punching holes thru a 1/8” thick slab of lead and breaking my Gamo spinner target at 85 feet, I am inclined to agree with her. (The rifle actually blew an English sparrow in half when it landed next to my target!). The synthetic stock nice because I don’t have to worry about dings and scratches like it do with my antique or fancy air rifles.
      Things I would have changed:The pump action on this rifle is stiff. You feel like you are cocking a springer when you operate the pump. The thumb-hole stock prevents you from simply raising your thumb to push in the automatic safety. This is annoying if you do a lot of target shooting but not a problem if you are hunting. As others have said, this rifle is LOUD! A version with integrated baffles like the Marauder would be nice, otherwise, you will have to find another way to make it “neighbor friendly” if you plan on shooing it often.
      What others should know:In life there are the rifles that are proper, well behaved and beautiful that you keep close to home and show off to your friends. Then there is the one that just looks wicked, not so refined but somehow you know if you were to take it into the woods, it would do whatever you asked it to; A rifle that would put a smile on your face and make a lot of noise while doing it. The Hatsan AT44PA falls into this latter category!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Danny from USA on 2013-06-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has PLENTY of power and is very accurate too. This is my first PCP rifle and I don't think I'll be shooting my "springers" much anymore. Great value also because it costs a fraction of the price of other PCP's of the same power rating.
      Things I would have changed:As others have mentioned this rifle is very loud. They definitely need to make some sort of sound moderator that comes already installed like they do for their spring powered rifles. If you live in a town or city I don't recommend getting this one cause your neighbors will think you are shooting a .22 Long Rifle cartridge instead of a pellet gun.
      What others should know:Get high scope mounts unless you just want to use open sights.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Roy from USA on 2013-05-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an awesome air rifle for the money.
      Things I would have changed:The auto safe is annoying.
      What others should know:You can't get very aggressive with the pump action, as sometimes the magazine will advance two slots.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Andrew from Canada on 2013-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      53 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've had the .22 model of this a/g for a while, and its great, I've alway's been into springers,and this is my first venture into pcp, What a difference, Coming from a host of top of the line springer's, (Cometa Fusion Premier.22, as one example)This blows it away. I'm getting close to 1000fps with H&N FTT 5.54mm(16-gr,.),and with 9gr Prometheus Hunters,I get close to 1140fps, and thats with deadly accuracy, Accurate enough to knock off a 25pd Racoon 75ft up a Pine Tree, and it was dead before it hit the ground with a head shot!. If you hunt with your a/g's, then this is your gun, after you get used to the shooting cycle, You'll be squeezing them off like Chuck Conners, But seriously, This gun is awesome!, Very easy to get your line of sight, and you keep it, even going through the pumping cycle, It's a polymer stock, but it's rock hard, not like the plastic Crosman Uses (Crosman M4177, as an example). Choosing the right ammo for this shooter may be a challenge, I've found that alot of my favourite pellets don't cycle well, It's a shame, I really like hunting with Skenco Metal-Tipped Ultra Mag's, but they're just too long, As with most of the point's in my arsenal, I However, I did find it shot excellent with H&N SilverPonts(17.10gr,.) In domes, the only pellet that was a little too long was H&N Baracuda's, Hunters, H&N Field Targets, Silouette's, FTT, FTT Power, Gamo Pro Hunters/Hunters, AirArms FX SmoothTwist pellets all performed well and left everything in the black @ 20M
      Things I would have changed:The weight!,,It's a heavy gun, and w/ that kind of heft, It should come with factory swivels, a shot-gun sling will be hard to place on this gun due to it's configuration.Any swivel attachment should be done professionally. Also, Magazine placement should be more internal, Too much of it is sticking out, and makes scope placement problematic.
      What others should know:Finding Optic's for this Beast may become a problem, If you plan on using a standard scope, You're going to need high mounts, and an Objective of Less of than 40mm, a Red-Dot may do the trick, but the rail's are a tad too thick for any Q/D type of mount. I put a JGBG M8 3.5X40 I/R, Integrated Laser on mine, and it fit's just right, and performs Extremely well with this gun, and doesn't add alot of weight.Get yourself extra magazines, I found that 6, will get you through all of your gun's power shots per fill-up, I also sprung for an extra air cylinder, tossed in my rucksuck, provides me with me more than enough air for a day in the field. Once you get used to this gun, It should become the pinnacle of your collection, It's very well built,a fantastic trigger, This gun should provide you with years of good shooting/Hunting. Chher's, and Happy Huntin', Andy.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By william from USA on 2013-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fast pump action, many fellow air gunners were surprised to find out such a model exists. Compact size is very handy A very good value for a PCP.
      Things I would have changed:Better instruction manual especially about the pump action operation, the magazine loading sequence and the various safty features
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Khorgan from USA on 2012-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Once more the pictures don’t do any justice to this gun. This gun is beautiful, extremely elegant design, well balanced and feels good in your hands. Extremely accurate gun and indeed very powerful. I bought mine in .177 caliber and installed a very good scope although the gun was shooting pretty well outside of the box with its open sights. I added an air stripper and the design and the accuracy improved even more. Light pellets can easily go supersonic so I suggest heavier pellets.However this gun can be accurate with many different shapes and weights.
      Things I would have changed:I wish there was a way to install a sling because this gun is heavy. After adding the scope it was around 9lbs. Is also loud, but then again this gun’s vocation is not for indoors shooting as the pellets are thrown out screaming at more than 1.000 fps. The pump mechanism rattles a little and that is very annoying.
      What others should know:Always be sure to use eye protection as some pellets are virtually disintegrated into a million lead particles that can go very far and be sent back to you no matter the distance you are shooting from. It happened to me shooting at 30 yards from the target. Groups of 10 shots from 35 yards on a single hole that increases its size a little every time you shoot are common.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By rjpp from USA on 2012-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:being a southpaw i like the pump action on this rifle and i am going to be adding a weaver rail on bottom for a foregrip mounting point.mounted a 3x9x40 centerpoint scope on top of a weaver riser and shimed back of scope so i can use open sights as well very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:a longer barrel like the one offered on the bt65 as well as 255cc air cylinder.purchased an air stripper(muzzlebrake)and there is clearance issues when removing air cylinder
      What others should know:hatsan has a pcp pistol based on this design with 50cc air cylinder that makes a good carry along partner to this rifle.i only hope that pyramyd air offers this pistol in the future btw the pistol is in .177,.22,and .25 (gotta check out airgun depot for more info)
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By ROY from USA on 2012-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:as they say tack driver accuracy.i left this gun open sight and i dont regret it.If i line it up on a target the rifle responds by striking the bulls eye repeatedly. The impact is instant to target at 50 yards.i chronoed the gun with 14 grain crossman premiers which are working perfectly in this gun,at 950 average (fps).This is my 3rd PCP rifle and although I think PCPs cant be beat for overall accuracy , this one is top of the line for accuracy. The pump action is smooth and has not jammed in over 250 shots.I've been charging to 200 bar and shooting thru 50 rounds and still has ample power left. I like the craftmanship for a gun costing aprox. 400 dollars considering I have pcps costing twice as much as this one I can say this a great value for the cost.I would say its worth more than the asking price. Oh ..BTW.. the trigger first stage very light an 2nd stage very crisp and predictable.
      Things I would have changed:A built in suppressor would be nice .cracks out as loud as a 22 rimfire. Not an issue for some . There are after market suppressors available however there can be legal issues in some states .Pyramyd has a section on "silencers" on their website.
      What others should know:If you are considering a precharged rifle..this is a really nice gun that will make the venture into precharged a rewarding experience. If you are adding a gun and are familiar already with precharged guns.you will find this is everything they say it is as far as performance,quality,and accuracy. If you can find them in stock..the Hamerelli Pnuema is of equal performance ( ive heard) for a bit less money.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The shot count on this gun is great. I was using .22 cal 15.9gr JSB Jumbo Exacts and got well over 50 usable shots. Now we all have our own idea of what a usable shot is, but for me if I can hit the same 1" target at 25 yards then the shots are still usable. I started off with a 200bar fill and think I had some vapor lock with the first 10 shots (744,698,752,766,768,779,785,787,796,802). However on the second magazine the gun started to take off (802,803,812,820,824,831,845,849,858,867) Keep in mind while I am sending these pellets through the chronograph, I am also shooting at a paper target and hitting inside a 1" square with open sights. The third magazine was amazing also (871,876,884,890,886,896,893,907,907,908). The 4th magazine was about the same at (906,907,904,899,893,890,884,876,872,868). Thinking the gun was about finished with its air supply I loaded what I thought would be my 5th and last magazine and fired away (862,853,840,832,820,810,799,790,777,763). I was still dead on my target and still had air left so I figured I would keep going with magazine #6 (751,734,724,702,702,702,639,639,639,639). Now obviously these pellets were not going to be much more effective past 25 yards with the last magazine, but it still would have enough power to put a rabbit on the dinner plate with shot #60.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing that kept me from giving this gun a 5 star rating was it's sloppy pumping action. You have to pump it like you mean it to cycle the pellets properly. Once I got it in my head that this rifle was not going to win any speed shooting contests then it became a great rifle. The other thing I would like to see upgraded is the front sight. With a front globe the size of what appears to be large grape, it makes it hard to zero in on small targets. I would also like to see this gun available in a 255cc long version for more powerful shots.
      What others should know:When I first got this gun, I almost sent it back because of the action being a little sloppy. I got in a hurry trying to fire fast and short cycled a few pellets. I was really torn between the Hatsan bt65 and this pump action gun. I went with this one because of the fact I am left handed and this pump action is truly ambidextrous. The thumb hole stock and overall feel of this gun is great. The trigger is amazing and I have no doubt that if scoped this gun would seriously compete with any other pcp on the market today. It is a bit loud but not too bad. I would recommend this gun to anyone wanting to hunt with open sights. After all the average velocity with the first 50 shots was 840fps!!!
    Over
    ammo packs sold