Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Hatsan Torpedo 100X Air Rifle, Walnut reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (8 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By william from USA on 2013-11-30 09:52:02

    Things I liked:The fit and finish of this gun is perfect. I have paid much more for other brands and gotten less quality. I have only put 100 pellets through it and already this gun groups very well at 30 yards. It really hits target hard in 22 cal. I really like the open sights Hatsan has put on this rifle. This is one very nice looking rifle. The trigger on the rifle is great. One of the best I have seen straight out of the box. It feels very good in hands and not as heavy as many make you believe. I must say this gun works great for bench shooting. I really like the design of this under lever gun. The sliding barrel design is a great idea and a very safe idea. I hear horrer stories of how people are hurt by side cocking and under lever gun. Not with this gun. Just can't happen.
    Things I would have changed:I really do not have any complaints. I would like to see a brass trigger guard. Plastic does not really does this rifle justice.
    What others should know:After buying and using a PCP rifle, I thought I would never go back to a springer. But I must say I am very impressed with this gun, in the future I will buy more guns from Hatsan. I mainly got this to plink at 30 and 40 yards out back of house. But I must say I will go hunting with this gun. In fact I will buy more Hatsan products. It is great to guy a gun and go out shooting and not have to modify it to shot better. Funny how this lower priced rifle can out shoot my more expensive rifles. I will say this gun is more accurate than I am. Great gun and I highly recommend it. I will get the 25 cal in this rifle soon.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2013-07-15 10:55:48

    Things I liked:Overall fit, finish and function are AWESOME! I am really impressed by the looks and operation, and it's a really nice piece of walnut for the stock. All controls are positive and work well. Tru Glo sights work really well.
    Things I would have changed:It is what it is, and it is heavy! I don't mind- some may! I think a GREAT improvement would be to make a rear sight that fits on the picatinny rail, so it can be removed to make room for a scope if desired.This would also increase the sight radius. Rear sight had to be removed for my scope anyway!
    What others should know:This rifle seems to hit hard and shoot well- I am learning this "artillery hold" method of spring piston shooting- it makes all the difference. I am still in the break-in period, but it is definitely capable of ragged 1-hole 5 shot groups at 10m. At 25 yards I am getting about 1" groups, but I think it is capable of better- my inexperience, time constraints, and a windy range time conspired against me.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2014-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The hatsan 100x has a nice balance and is not difficult to load. With The 10 for 10 it was shooting 11.9 hobbies at 900 fps.
      Things I would have changed:the sights are a little bulky.
      What others should know:little recoil and feels balanced.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Khorgan from USA on 2014-07-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:What do I like about this gun? Well, everything! Excellent manufacture, beautiful wood, perfect balance and extremely accurate once you learn how to control the tremendous recoil. Mine is .177 caliber and this was my latest acquirement from PA. Lately I've been into PCP air guns but I still like the 3 under lever I have and it's in my plans to purchase a break barrel. This gun is not only beautiful but also a high quality product that you can notice in the smallest detail. The security system is impeccable. The main reason I love this gun is its accuracy. I mounted a very good Leapers UTG 6-24x50 scope and at 45 yards what I see I can hit. The trigger was a little heavy outside the box but I didn't touch it, and it smoothed after a couple hundred shots.
      Things I would have changed:This gun is heavy. Very heavy and it deserved to come with a sling and although it came ready to install a sling the sling didn't come in the package. I tried to purchase a Hatsan sling but PA does not have it for sale and that is a big disappointment.
      What others should know:This is not the ideal gun for someone recent to air guns. This gun is a power house and has tremendous recoil which makes artillery hold a requirement to get some accuracy. Only when you are comfortable using this beauty you will see how accurate it is. I can shoot a dime time and time again from 45 yards away now but it needed a small learning curve to become one with the gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By CAREY from USA on 2014-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit, finish & overall quality of the metal & walnut stock is very good-to-excellent-especially at this price point. Unique sliding barrel loading arrangement doesn't appear to sacrifice accuracy and eliminates the possibility of injury should the bear-trap mechanism fail.
      Things I would have changed:Man, this thing is heavy-especially with a decent size scope mounted! Also, while I've read positive comments about Hatsan's trigger, compared to my Beeman rifles' triggers (R7 & RX) the Hatsan's pull is noticeably heavier and (so far) I've been unable to adjust/reduce the effort significantly. Otherwise the trigger action is not, but to me it's not nearly as pleasurable to use as my Beeman R7's Rekord. Also, while my .22 caliber rifle's relatively high velocity and hard-hitting take-down power may be great for hunting, I'd be willing to trade a little less power and velocity for less cocking effort and a somewhat smoother firing action. A also don't understand why it's necessary to have to depress a button under the rifle in order to return the cocking lever, for the barrel design would appear to eliminate danger to the shooter due to bear-trap mechanism failure.
      What others should know:Based on what I've read it sounds like Hatsan's more expensive (and more powerful) Torpedo "super magnum" under-lever rifles are even harder to cock and fire accurately, which is why I chose the 100X. I also agree with what Rick Eusler has said about Hatsan products tendency to be be somewhat "crunchy" out of the box, but that they generally smooth-out with use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By christopher from USA on 2014-01-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very nice walnut stock. The factory sights are micro-adjust so I was holding a dime group at 25 yards. Very nice steel, well built firearm.
      Things I would have changed:Super heavy gun, most likely because of the good quality steel. Gun is super long, need an oversized case to put it in. If you do mount a sling on the factory mounts, they are smaller than an inch and the sling has to be able to support the heavy weight of the gun.
      What others should know:Very little to no break-in period. JSB pellets at 18.13gr shoot great. If you do not mind the heavy weight, this is an accurate, and very powerful gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By william from USA on 2013-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish of this gun is perfect. I have paid much more for other brands and gotten less quality. I have only put 100 pellets through it and already this gun groups very well at 30 yards. It really hits target hard in 22 cal. I really like the open sights Hatsan has put on this rifle. This is one very nice looking rifle. The trigger on the rifle is great. One of the best I have seen straight out of the box. It feels very good in hands and not as heavy as many make you believe. I must say this gun works great for bench shooting. I really like the design of this under lever gun. The sliding barrel design is a great idea and a very safe idea. I hear horrer stories of how people are hurt by side cocking and under lever gun. Not with this gun. Just can't happen.
      Things I would have changed:I really do not have any complaints. I would like to see a brass trigger guard. Plastic does not really does this rifle justice.
      What others should know:After buying and using a PCP rifle, I thought I would never go back to a springer. But I must say I am very impressed with this gun, in the future I will buy more guns from Hatsan. I mainly got this to plink at 30 and 40 yards out back of house. But I must say I will go hunting with this gun. In fact I will buy more Hatsan products. It is great to guy a gun and go out shooting and not have to modify it to shot better. Funny how this lower priced rifle can out shoot my more expensive rifles. I will say this gun is more accurate than I am. Great gun and I highly recommend it. I will get the 25 cal in this rifle soon.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall fit, finish and function are AWESOME! I am really impressed by the looks and operation, and it's a really nice piece of walnut for the stock. All controls are positive and work well. Tru Glo sights work really well.
      Things I would have changed:It is what it is, and it is heavy! I don't mind- some may! I think a GREAT improvement would be to make a rear sight that fits on the picatinny rail, so it can be removed to make room for a scope if desired.This would also increase the sight radius. Rear sight had to be removed for my scope anyway!
      What others should know:This rifle seems to hit hard and shoot well- I am learning this "artillery hold" method of spring piston shooting- it makes all the difference. I am still in the break-in period, but it is definitely capable of ragged 1-hole 5 shot groups at 10m. At 25 yards I am getting about 1" groups, but I think it is capable of better- my inexperience, time constraints, and a windy range time conspired against me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is georgous. Beautiful stock and metal work. Mine is in .22 cal. and loves the inexpensive Crossman HP and also the JSB Jumbos. At my 20 yard range it will constantly stay at .40 or less.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I would like to thank Rick Eutsler at AirGun Web.Com for the great video review he has done on this rifle. He stated that although it is a springer it will shoot just as well of sandbags and gun rest. I found this statement to be true. It shoots the same either way. Thanks Rick for all your help.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2012-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got one of these in .22 caliber, and let me just say that I am impressed. First of all, the nice checkering, blued steel, brassy trigger, and attractive wood make the rifle itself a very pretty piece. Second, although I initially found it a bit awkward, the bolt-action-style loading port is actually quite fun to use. The whole loading and cocking process makes a very satisfying bunch of mechanical noises. Thirdly, this gun is quite accurate. My groupings were a bit shaky at the start, but after putting a few hundred pellets through it, I can now reliably put shots through the same hole in a .25" bullseye at 10m using the iron sights. The hammer-style safety is intuitive and attractive, and the sights are good. The 11mm/Weaver combination scope rail is also a nice touch.
      Things I would have changed:My Torpedo is picky about what fits in its breech. Two kinds of RWS pellets and H&N Barracudas have fit quite nicely, but the H&N Crow Magnums won't fit without a great deal of force applied. The Gamo Rockets I tried also had trouble fitting. I'm curious to see if other people have this issue; maybe this rifle just has a narrower-than-usual breech. Also, to get the irons to function properly I had to adjust the rear sight really far to the left.
      What others should know:For me, the best-performing pellets in this gun have been the H&N Hollowpoints, followed by the H&N Barracuda Match pellets. My rifle will shoot either one near-perfectly without adjusting the sights in between. I suspect that at ranges longer than 10m, the Barracudas will do better because of their higher weight. RWS Super-H Points did almost as well as the H&N pellets. The RWS Lead-free Hyper Velocity pellets were also really, really accurate, but they shoot so differently from other pellets that a lot of sight adjustment is necessary to use them.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top