Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    IZH 46M Air Pistol, LH or RH, Upgraded Trigger reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By dwlpost4 from USA on 2012-03-26 13:51:10

    Things I liked:Accuracy right out of the box. Did a quick clean of the barrel to remove packing grease, then wiped the pistol down and started shooting. After 3 sighting shots, set up at 10 meters: 9x10 in the 10 ring - a large ragged hole. Love it!
    What others should know:The grip comes with alot of extra wood. I took my Dremel tool to it to customize it to my hand, then sanded with 100 grit then 150 grit to smooth. When I was done, perfect!
    1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By DIMITAR from Bulgaria on 2012-03-21 02:08:14

    Things I liked:Hi there. Very good gun.very convenient and accurate.Who has no regrets.One of the best Russian air pistol.
    Things I would have changed:Things I would change-The price is very expensive.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Patro from USA on 2014-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this pistol. I get my best results with Vogel 4.495 head pellets. Some complain about the grips being bulky. Of course they are! It presented a great opportunity to whittle and sand my way to very well customized grips.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2014-05-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid, easy to use. Accurate.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't recommend the upgraded trigger unless you have very long fingers. Doesn't change any real function of the trigger anyway.I changed it back to original.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Have considered one of these for sometime. Trigger is great. Accurate right out of the box. Still getting used to it but am quite impressed. Shooting in my garage into a 22 trap. This is going to make those long winter days a little less boring I think. Purchased through the CMP which saved me quite a bit of money as well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing so far!!!
      What others should know:Could have purchased any number of 22 or center fire hand guns for the price of this air pistol but am very glad I purchased this instead. Makes shooting in the home quite easy and practice with this is going to make me a better handgun shooter all the way around. Know that I will need to work on the grip to fit my hand a bit better but going to shoot as is until my hand tells me what to change.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2014-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Installed an Aimpoint Matchdot II. Use it for metallic silhouette. Completely satisfied. Quiet, accurate, good trigger. Grips are too large for me, but it still shoots very well. I'll take the Dremel to the grips soon. It came with the upgraded trigger installed. The reach was too long for me. It also came with the original trigger separately packed. I installed the original trigger ... much shorter distance to the trigger. Fits me much better. Not pellet fussy. I've benched it to 20 yards.
      What others should know:Leave the breech bolt unlocked when you store the pistol to take the pressure off the seals. Read the manual. Lots of info on line, particularly on Targettalk and Yellow forums. If you don't have one, you need one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joel from USA on 2014-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great air pistol for the money.extremely accurate,easy to cock.I have large hands and the grip was easy to modify to fit comfortably.
      Things I would have changed:I ordered the optics package,it would be nice if the factory would build in a rail mount.
      What others should know:The first pistol I received developed a problem after about 75-100 shots.I called Pyramyd Air,they said no problem and had me return it for a new one.Good service,"thanks Pyramyd"!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Anthony from USA on 2014-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Accurate. Match quality gun. Shoot in gun club ISSF/NRA competitions. NRA High Masters even use this gun. Pump is easy to use. I can get 45/50's per target at this moment.
      Things I would have changed:Make the grips slightly smaller.
      What others should know:The upgraded trigger compensates for the grips.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2014-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got mine in 1993 for $320. This is an affordable match grade air pistol. The design is excellent. I also have the IZH MP-532 Match Air Rifle .177. Basically it uses a larger air chamber and longer barrel than the 46M. It too is an exceptional design and affordable. I paid @ $800 here at Pyramid Air back in October 2011. I must have gotten the last one. Too bad because all of you who love the 46M would also love the MP-532 Match Grade Air Rifle.
      Things I would have changed:I changed the fitmant of the grip just as IZH intended. For all of you who say you cant reach the trigger why not file of some more wood and make the pistol fit perfectly.
      What others should know:Most people will be satisfied with the 46M. The PCP Match Pistols are only using a different power plant and have nothing on the 46M other than you don't need to pump. Well I guess it's easier to control your heart rate using a non pump PCP. If your healthy then for 99.9% of people we don't need the PCP versions. Please ask Pyramid Air to import the MP-532 Air Rifle version of the 46M. I got the last one in October 2011 from Pyramid Air. It's an excellent Match Grade .177 air rifle. Shooting as well as the much more expensive PCP air rifles but only costing a little over $800 when I purchased mine. Thank you Pyramid Air for importing these air gns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2014-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:WOW! I don't think you can get a better deal in air pistols today! This thing shoots! Out of the box, it is without a doubt the most accurate pistol I have ever purchased, air or metallic cartridge. The build qualith is awesome, no junky or cheap felling parts. I personally love the grips, it allows full customization without having to buy anything else. A couple hours with my fordham and the some teak oil to finish and it truly feels like a custom made grip.
      Things I would have changed:loading is not the easiest thing to do. if you have fat fingers, it might be a real challenge. I have not personally had problems, but it certainly is not quick and easy.
      What others should know:If yoy have ever wanted to try 10m air pistol but did not want to dive in @ 1500+ this is the way to go. super fun, quiet and way more accurate than expected.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made. Nice fit, finish, and blueing. The wooden grips are made large and blocky so you can do your own custom fitting. Upgraded trigger is nice for getting a good finger cradle. Unbelievable trigger pull right out of the box, light and crisp. A firm but easy pull for compressing the gas. I just got it and shot it for 3 hours without any problem which made for a very fun first session. Its a very basic gun but I think in this case its perfect for what it is. No excuses gun. Once you sight it in, if you miss, its clearly your fault. 10shots/10meters on a bench rest and groupings generally look like 5 maybe 6 shot groups. I also purchased a BSA red dot with it, once it was sighted in, worked great. The mount they offer is made well and easy to install. Overall, there is not much to not like about this gun.
      Things I would have changed:Not much...maybe make the grips just a little longer. I have big hands but not huge and I took all of the allowed adjustment on the base plate and had to do some wood removal to fit it correctly and still allow the compression arm to seat fully. But once I took a dremel, file, sandpaper, and some artistic license, it fits great, looks great.
      What others should know:The only thing I found odd for my particular gun was the rear sighting blade had to be adjusted to the extreme right. It was within the adjustment that the gun permits being that I also had to loosen the blade itself and move it far right as well. When I mounted the red dot it too had to be adjusted completely right. Although I found it odd I didn't find it enough of an issue to complain to Pyramid about it. It did sight in and continues to shoot extremely accurate. Plan on having to some work on the grips. They are left rough and its obvious that they intend for you to do some work. They do take the time to patch glue them together for you. So once you remove the base plate and 2 screws, the grip assembly comes off in one piece. Makes it easy to do what you need to and just slide back on when finished. Since they are raw you it leaves it open for you to use water based wood dyes and such (I went with a deep blue). I found it to be a fun aspect of the gun and rewarding as the fit you can achieve is unlike most any other pistol you will ever shoot and looks to boot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2013-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. Tried three different pellets, none high end match, each different weight. All shot little tiny groups, in different locations, but very consistent. Grip is easy to adjust. Easy to dry fire without pumping, just to practice technique while watching TV. Readily admit this is one UGLY item, but you can take a rasp to the handle to custom fit it without feeling bad! Smooth those spots with a little fine sandpaper and the grip is outstanding. I even used a rat tail to put finger grooves in mine. Mine came with much darker wood than I expected. Looks really nice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: After reading all the praise people heap on this pistol I have to agree its well deserved. The accuracy of this gun is amazing. The trigger pull on this pistol is beyond belief, I don't have a gauge but I own 2 quality .22LR target pistols that I felt had incredible triggers, after shooting the IZH the other guns triggers feel as if they weigh a ton.
      Things I would have changed: It would be nice if they included detailed disassembly instructions if in the future you want to replace the piston seals but I think you can find instructional videos on You Tube that cover this.
      What others should know: If you`re a new purchaser of this pistol, be careful since here is no safety on this gun, with a trigger pull this light I unintentionally discharged the pistol twice but if you`ve ever shot at a range you know the protocol = muzzle pointed downrange at all times. The grips are oversize but I have a few round files and plenty of sandpaper to cut finger grooves and shape them to my own hand. This takes a bit of time but after all its a labor of love.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By lars from USA on 2013-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Better even than expected. Extremely accurate and consistent groups. The upgraded trigger is not essential but really a nice touch. Pyramyd Air was very easy to work with. Will be back.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing significant.
      What others should know:As others have stated, a dremel tool will go a long way towards a custom fit on the handle
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By nivell from Norway on 2013-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A real match-grade air gun. Exchangeable sights to get the correct sight picture for you. Nice touch with the extra gaskets in air sealed bag. From the looks of it, this would be the only thing you'll ever replace in years. Sturdy no-nonsense Russian construction. This air gun really shoots hole in hole. It gives you a great feel of a correct response from your actions when practicing. This gun will improve my shooting!
      Things I would have changed:It would be great if you could order this air gun with different size grips. The grip is really XL size, and requires work. Since I don’t have the tools/knowledge for this, I ordered a new grip from Rink Formgriffe. They are great, but expensive. Maybe Baikal could provide different grip sizes as accessories for a better price?
      What others should know:The gun is quite heavy. The gun weighs in at a little more that the Walther GSP(.22 cal), which is great for practice - but also requires getting used to. The charging mechanism is great (not to heavy) and doesn't strain you when shooting. The lift for each shot requires more effort than the charge between shots. The cocking mechanism needs some wear before working 100%. It took some shots before the "hammer" went all the way back for charging air without manual help. (This was probably just a result of preparing the gun for storing from the factory). Great gun :)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2013-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger is excellent--glass rod break. Cocking effort is reasonable. Grip removes easily for fitting. Sights are easily adjustable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Frederick from USA on 2013-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:A remarkable target pistol that consistently places the pellet where you aim. Trigger is predictable and easily adjustable. The package includes tools and gaskets as well as additional sighting inserts. I have installed the UTC dot 1X scope and I can consistently place all the pellets (once I had sighted-in the pistol & dot sight) within a 10 meter pistol target #8 ring and almost 60% within the #9 ring. I have now shot in excess of 400 pellets since the package arrived and remain totally satisfied with this pistol and purchase.
      Things I would have changed:The grip is very large and I am slowly filing it down to fit my medium right hand. This has been fairly easy to do but my wood working skill-set is meager at best so I am hoping for the best.
      What others should know:When/if you are installing the UTC dot sight on this pistol make sure you do not block the breech slide and bolt range of motion with the barrel mounted adaptor.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is great! The accuracy is spot on. After I sighted it in, my shooting immediately got 8-10% better. I've only been shooting 10 meter for about a year with a Crossman 2300 and the 46m is night and day better. I also love the adjustable trigger! I have pretty large hands and its nice to adjust the trigger to me instead of me to the trigger. I also really like the oversized grip and being able to customize it to my hand.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe add another size front blade. Also the box it comes in from Baikal (not Pyramid air) could use some extra protection for the gun. The sights ate holes in the top of the box by the time it got to me. These are just suggestions though and wouldn't change my mind on getting the gun again.
      What others should know:I've seen other people complain about the grip. It comes oversized on purpose so that you can sand it down to fit your hand. Pyramid Air's video review on this gun even brings this up. All you have to do is sand it down using a dremel with a sanding drum. Once you've got it perfect you can stain it with whatever color you want. I would recomend taking the grip off first so that dust doesnt get in the gun. You can also look at images on google to get ideas from other grips that have been sanded down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2013-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great fun! Very accurate, well made.
      Things I would have changed:Grip is a bit bulky. ( looks like a homemade wood shop project)
      What others should know:10-20 meter target plinking fun. Site on
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ease of operation and accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The handle is a little large for my hand. Could have offered different size grips.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2012-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shoots great and trigger is perfect for me.
      Things I would have changed:Would like to order with smaller grips. I spent a lot of time sanding and shaping them.
      What others should know:I have owned several high priced, high end. air pistols for competition shooting. For me this one shoots as well or better than all of them. I think the only backup pistol I need is another IZH 46 M...just in case.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wilfrido from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everyting. A beatiful well designed pistol. More accurate than I can ever hope to be.
      Things I would have changed:Clearer instructions on how to adjust the trigger. A value on how much the point of impact moves each click (elevation and windage)of the rear sight. Having short stubby fingers, the trigger position is too long. I need to sand down the grip more.
      What others should know:Best buy for the price. Perfect for wannabe Olympians. You need to work on the grip to conform to your hands.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top