Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    IZH 53M Air pistol reviews - page 3



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Mario Morrell from USA on 2012-01-11 08:49:11

    Things I liked:The trigger, the sights, the balance
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Did I mention the trigger. It is crisp, no creep and light. This is a heck of a bargain for $65. Would I buy it again? Without a doubt.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Arthur J from USA on 2013-09-28 17:26:30

    Things I liked:Well made air pistol at first sight. Solid feel and a nice balance for its size. Shoots a very small group at 33'. However the quality control is non-existence. The first gun I received looked like it was used, marks all over the frame, bare metal showing on the trigger and the elevation and windage knobs were frozen. Called customer service asking for a replacement and could someone please check the replacement b/4 shipping. The second gun had an off center front sight to the right and the elevation and windage knobs were frozen. Called customer service again requesting a replacement and if someone could please check it b/4 shipping. The third gun had the front sight off center but the elevation and windage knobs worked. However with the windage knob adjusted to the extreme right and the elevation knob adjusted to the highest elevation the gun shot to the left and below the bull at 33'. There was no adjustment left to get a group in the 10 ring.
    Things I would have changed:Test fire these air guns before shipping and advise the importer of the lack of quality control. Change the rear sight to a better quality even if it increases the cost. This air gun could be a very accurate shooter if a little quality control was used.
    What others should know:If you decide to purchase this air gun anyway order it with the 10 for $10.00. Maybe you will get a better one than I did.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Everett from USA on 2012-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid well built. accurate and well balanced. The trigger is fantastic for a pistol at this price. The Russians build simple good quality guns.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I didn't come to air gunning like most of the people on this site. My first air gun was a FWB 65 which I shot in competition followed by an IZH 46. I never had a BB gun as a kid, went straight to a Sears and Roebuck .22 which was a constant companion. I finally got a Beeman R1 in .22. I went hunting with a friend and his Sheridan blue Streak -- he killed more rabbits than I did so I ordered a "steroid" blue Streak from Mac-1. It is superbly accurate and easier to shoot than an R1. I wanted a spring powered pistol to shoot in the backyard, no CO2 or pumping required. I was ready to order the HW 70 when I noticed the IZH 53 and I ordered it. Because it is spring powered it requires technique different than any other air pistol I have. It has been a challenge to learn how to shoot it accurately. Highly recommended.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Barry from USA on 2012-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Built like a tank. Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:Not alot. Seems to be a good value.
      What others should know:Very hold sensitive. It took quite awhile to figure this thing out. Once you do though it shoots well. What has worked for me is a light grip with my trigger hand on the grip with a lot of pressure on the front with the other hand if you can understand what I mean.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:WOW, what a fun and way more accurate pistol than I could ever hope to shoot with. Very consistant and has a nice balance in your hand. Very quite as well so my neighbors do not complain and nice and easy to cock. The trigger is very smooth and easy to feel.
      Things I would have changed:Make the sights have a peep sight. Super nice little pistol.
      What others should know:I love it. I can shoot inside again at 5 meters and it is very quite and like I mentioned before, more accurate than I am. Now how much is the 46M pistol again... I want it now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By tempest from USA on 2012-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy,with solid dependable build quality. I find the grip very comfortable. Simple rugged design reminds me of the Webley Premier I had when I was young. Power level well suited for indoor use.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The sights have evolved over time, my version has the solid front sight and shoots to point of aim, even at close range in the garage (about20'). The drum that holds the rear sight blade can be moved, by loosening its set screw, into one of three positions for coarse adjustment in addition to the fine adjustments offered by the windage screw.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By P from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:the grips are comfortable. the open sights and the click adjustable windage/elevation work very well, good sight picture (good design). the accuracy once sighted in is very good (crosman competition wadcutters). shot cycle is quiet (mostly). the trigger is superb. easy to disassemble for tuneups and repairs.
      Things I would have changed:the ratchet beartrap mechanism CLACK CLICK CLACK CLACK the power level is barely adequate. would have liked the option for an optics rail to mount a dot sight.
      What others should know:accurate enough to bag wasps at ten feet. aluminum cans at tens yards =easy. loses power after that range. a great plinker pistol. not enough power to puncture a soup can at five feet range. probably the best starter/introductory target pistol "for the money you pay"
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Duane from USA on 2012-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The handling of either left or right handed... The grip fells comfortable... The weight is good for me... Bringing me into another small world of target shooting... Enjoying...
      Things I would have changed:I'm sure there are, just have not found them yet..
      What others should know:Gives someone wanting to target shoot, within a cost manageable to begin with, until you know if you would like to spend bigger bucks on an upscale model...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2012-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the trigger, very light, easy to cock and shoots great.
      Things I would have changed:I really can't think of any thing I would change .The gun is price reasonable and shoots great.
      What others should know:Pistols are only accurate as the person who is pulling the trigger make them, good Technic makes for good shots.It's true a high dollar pistol can make a difference if you are match shooting but for plinking in the back yard my groups are great with the IZH53M.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the money very accurate and nice.
      Things I would have changed:Would be nice to hold more than 1 bb
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mario Morrell from USA on 2012-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The trigger, the sights, the balance
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Did I mention the trigger. It is crisp, no creep and light. This is a heck of a bargain for $65. Would I buy it again? Without a doubt.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This air pistol lived up to its expectations which were very high. Simple, built like a tank and very accurate. I bought it to try a IZH/Baikal product before buying the $500 target pistol. It took one shot to hook me. The trigger was light, smooth and the break was crisp. Have since given it to a friend and he is thrilled with it too.
      Things I would have changed:Not much
      What others should know:Very best value out there
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Plinker50 from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fact that it is easy to cock and the trigger is light.
      Things I would have changed:It needs a way to add a scope.
      What others should know:Unfortunately the speed that it manages with the pellet is not as fast as I would like but I couldn't afford the Browning pistol which seems to be almost a twin of this one. The Browning has the features that I would've liked to have on this gun. Oh well.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steve from USA on 2011-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is my third Baikal air pistol after the 46M and the MP-655K-----I love Russian guns be they air or firearm---They all seem to be rugged but work great when used properly----If you don't own a "Beeman Pell Seat" you should get one as you'll be using it a lot with this gun----You can substitute anything from the end of a chop stick to a ball point pen, but do yourself a favor and buy a "Pell Seat" by Beeman---Pyramyd sells them, they are inexpensive, and you'll use it alot----I didn't experience the sighting in problems that folks wrote about in reviews that are a year or so old, so the Russkies must have taken note and fixed the problem with a new sight system----The main thing I experienced affecting accuracy was pellet/breech depth placement---I had best luck seating a pellet at about 3/16 inch or more into the breech---Seating a pellet flush with the breech or just into the breech threw them all over the place--- The breech opening seems large but quickly narrows---
      Things I would have changed:Nothing much for the price----The barrel swings in the breeze when cocked, before putting back into battery, not like a European air pistol, and the breech seal is at the port, not at breech end of barrel, same as other Baikal/Izzy's-----
      What others should know:Tighten screws as necessary with proper gun type screw drivers---The pivot screw will take a turn or so when barrel is not in battery, while in battery it seems tight, so use your own judgement----and try different pellet breech seating depths for best accuracy from your gun----Happy shooting
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-11-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very easy to use product that is well built. Great power for such an easy to cock pistol. This was built as a workhorse and delivers on that. It is lacking in the looks department but frankly for the value and accuracy, who cares about looks. Seems to really like the Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum. Overall I am very happy with this purchase. It took less than 25 rounds to get it set up for 10 meter to a point that shots are now very consistent using a rest. It will improve as more pellets go through it. Buy one, you will love it's accuracy and simplicity
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Would love to see some means of putting a red dot on it or a better front sight as an option, upgrade.... Would be nice if you offered custom grips for it, this thing is worth upgrading specially given it's base price
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By DARIO from USA on 2011-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Russians knows how to build something simple, practical, build to last , at a good price. And this air gun is a good example of it. It surprise me the accuracy of this gun ( under $70) , really easy to cock, and I don't have any problem with the sight as I read on some reviews.
      Things I would have changed:Would like to have some rail on the receiver to install my red dot sight.
      What others should know:The gun I received is the same one showed in the picture on this site, but the instruction manual and the picture in the box show the same gun with different sights. Mine has the rear sight built in into the receiver and a fixed front sight, different than some other series with spring front sight and over the receiver rear sight. Not recommended for kids, no safety and the trigger is really sensitive.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2011-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Russians got it packed right when they designed this pistol. I love it
      Things I would have changed:Groove it for a scope or etc.
      What others should know:Fine pistol, everyone should have one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Alan from USA on 2011-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good buy for the money. I did not have the problem of the pistol shooting high like some of the other reviewers have stated. It looks like the front sight has been redesigned on the pistol I received. This pistol is also very quiet.
      Things I would have changed:Some pellets are very hard to insert into the breech. I have found that a cheap ballpoint pen works best to seat the pellets. The cheap Crosman wadcutter pellets so far seem to be the easiest to insert.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kjetil from Norway on 2011-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The solid build quality of this little fellow is surprizingly good considering the low price. Also, the trigger is more than satisfactory, it`s light pull feels very predictable. The simple rear sight has very good adjustement ranges. I think the pistol is quite well balanced too, and the cocking is effortless so you can plink with it all day. Reasonable accuracy up to about 15 meters. A lot of quality considering the low cost of this pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Considering what you get for the price, there isn`t much that needs changing in my opinion. At short range it overshoots quite a bit, so they should make a little correction of the front sight on the assembly line. The anti-bear trap is a nice safety feature on some magnum springers, but i really don`t see the need for such safety on this little guy.
      What others should know:Like many springers, this gun is quite hold sensitive. A lot of the 53`s will shoot a bit too high at short range, and you may need to do a little bit of filework on your front sight to correct this
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Matt from USA on 2011-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Price was great, and I read the reviews and thought it would be a good buy, but I was very disappointed.
      Things I would have changed:The gun simply would not group. Tried several different kinds of ammo, but it simply sprayed them all over the target with 3" groups at 10 meters.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By MK from USA on 2010-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the solid, simple construction. The balance is good.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the sights. Like other reviewers, I could not get shots in the bullseye with any adjustment of the iron sights. Daisy 7.5 grain flatnose pellets typically hit 4 inches (10 cm) high. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I cut small notches in the edge of the plastic butt pad to permit access to the dovetail mount, removed the rear sight, and replaced it with a Daisy 7809 point sight.
      What others should know:It's not clear where to get replacement parts like a barrel seal. Get a cleaning kit with a soft aluminum cleaning rod instead of using the steel rod included with the gun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By aleksandr from USA on 2010-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great pistol, unbelievable value and quality for the price. I owned one back in Russia and it took all of the abuse from me for 11 years. Recently wend back to Russia to check on my parents and guess what boys in the neighborhood still using my pistol. It's like 20+ years of service.
      Things I would have changed:Pistol shoots high. You would have to adjust rear sight to the lowest possible setting and aim a little bit lower then desirable point of impact. Or just remove the rear sight and install Daisy red dot sight (I believe it's like $12 here on Pyramid Air), will work very well.
      What others should know:One of very few items this days that is not made in China ...
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top