Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    IZH 53M Air pistol reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:4

    By Mario Morrell from USA on 2012-01-11 08:49:11

    Things I liked:The trigger, the sights, the balance
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Did I mention the trigger. It is crisp, no creep and light. This is a heck of a bargain for $65. Would I buy it again? Without a doubt.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:4

    By Arthur J from USA on 2013-09-28 17:26:30

    Things I liked:Well made air pistol at first sight. Solid feel and a nice balance for its size. Shoots a very small group at 33'. However the quality control is non-existence. The first gun I received looked like it was used, marks all over the frame, bare metal showing on the trigger and the elevation and windage knobs were frozen. Called customer service asking for a replacement and could someone please check the replacement b/4 shipping. The second gun had an off center front sight to the right and the elevation and windage knobs were frozen. Called customer service again requesting a replacement and if someone could please check it b/4 shipping. The third gun had the front sight off center but the elevation and windage knobs worked. However with the windage knob adjusted to the extreme right and the elevation knob adjusted to the highest elevation the gun shot to the left and below the bull at 33'. There was no adjustment left to get a group in the 10 ring.
    Things I would have changed:Test fire these air guns before shipping and advise the importer of the lack of quality control. Change the rear sight to a better quality even if it increases the cost. This air gun could be a very accurate shooter if a little quality control was used.
    What others should know:If you decide to purchase this air gun anyway order it with the 10 for $10.00. Maybe you will get a better one than I did.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By PBSlinger from USA on 2010-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely affordable performance. Rear sight adjustments - Excellent little pistol fun to shoot good for plinking or 10m minor issues (See Change) 1000 pellets later still going strong. Exceptional value for the $$. Highly recommend to anyone that likes springers. I also have the 46m which is another sweet product from our Russian brethren. Highly recommend both!
      Things I would have changed:Rear notch too wide for my taste. Shoots high even with 1911 hold. Drilled a 4-40 and tapped for a set screw in the front sight behind the pivot point and then took of about 4mm off the bottom of the front sight back end now I can adjust the front sight height as needed added a little Loctite and Viola! - Trigger adjustment screw needed to be straightened and re-tightened to make contact with the trigger. Having owned German springers, I found one particularly annoying aspect, once fully broken open barrel swings free, doesn't lock open.... drives me crazy but such a fun pistol I can live with it.
      What others should know:Love this pistol. Have owned other German pistols and while granted the fit and finish is not quite as good, the performance is great considering the price. This pistol hits hard I'd like to see the chrono results. ALSO hold sensitive. If you've never shot a springer and wondering if you'll like it this is a great little pistol to start with or as a 2nd, or 3rd or 4th. Pyramyd Air your customer service is great Thanks Sandra!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2010-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, easy to cock, great value for the price
      Things I would have changed:it could be a little lighter, could use a more ergonomic grip
      What others should know:this gun has a rather heavy recoil, so you must either compensate for this or adopt a non-traditional grip style to handle it. however once you get the recoil under control, this gun is more than capable of quarter size groups at 10 meters one downside i found with this gun is that you must disassemble the gun in order to remove the rear sights, however, i found that cutting 2 small groves in the plastic end cap will solve this problem.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jason from USA on 2010-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the price and it is well built, I have the RWS and the Browning... I enjoy shooting this one, it is much easier to cock and seems to be better balanced than the RWS and the Browning.. ..
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a little bit more power..
      What others should know:Day-Glo sights would be a very nice upgrade that I would be willing to pay for.. I am not sure if they offer an after market sight... I placed a bright pink sticker on my front sight to help the "sight allignment" ... It is very accurate .. I use it mainly for shooting minnows in a ditch behind my back yard... If I was going to shoot any "small game" I would most defanitely reach for the .22 Browning.. But If Im just plinking for an hour or two at a time Im ultimately reaching for the IZH 53 .. I have no regrets with this pistol I have shot it over a few thousand times and it operates just as good as they day I got it... If this pistol were to break today, I would purchase another within an hour of it breaking.. Pyramid Air has also been great to deal with..
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By williy from USA on 2010-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to load . trigger is nice!! easy to hit tin cans for my boys and wife ten yards!
      Things I would have changed: safety on it would be nice !
      What others should know:I like it. so i order one more. i'm useing 7.9 gr crosman premier @335fps. The boys,wife and I are haveing fun ! Be safe and have fun !
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Ed from USA on 2010-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Typically well made by IZH. Operates smoothly, very easy to cock. Excellent trigger. I would say accuracy maybe one step below match pistols---but still surprisingly good. I have 10 air pistols, Sheridan, Crosman, Umarex, Baikal MP654K......the 53M is the most accurate of them all by a fair margin. I am getting good groups at up to 20 yards. Pretty fair velocity also. Very comfortable grip and very nice weight balance, at least for me. Great sights too--mine doesn't shoot high like some other reviews.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a little more velocity and definitely a .22 model! I suppose also, the scope dovetail should be longer for more flexibility in mounting dots/scopes, but really this is the first pistol I own where I am not anxious to change the sights.
      What others should know:Great gun for a great price.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2010-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is cheap to buy and provides hours of fun. This is my first springer hand gun and I have found it very challenging to learn how to shoot. I suppose it would be a bore if it was bullseye every shoot out of the box. Watching Tom Gaylord's video on how to hold any pistol was a tremendous help on getting those groups small. Many people report this gun shooting high and mine did as well, but that was all due to my hold. Watch Tom's video and that problem will go away. This gun is so easy to use you will go through a tin very quickly. I have put about 1500 rounds through mine and I have no issues. The gun is also very quite allowing me to shoot in my home 25ft range any time and not disturb anybody.
      Things I would have changed:Allow the rear site to come off easily to mount other things. A safety would have been nice since the trigger is so crisp
      What others should know:I have tried many pellets and the one I have the best results with are Daisy Flat nose. That is great because it makes the gun much cheaper to shoot with all day, The gun will shoot high from the recoil of the spring, so be sure to check out the video/article on PyramydAir on How to hold any Pistol and that problem will be gone. My gun is very hold sensitive, it doesn't like a lot of you touching it. So get your hold down and practice it and the accuracy of this gun will surprise you. The trigger is very crisp and there is no safety so keep your finger away from that trigger until you are ready to shoot. This gun is awesome, have some patience with it and try a variety of pellets until you get one that groups well.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2010-03-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is well construced and easy to use. I can shoot it for hours. It is very quite so it is good for indoor use and in the backyard with fussy neighbors. The sights on it are real nice. Very accurate and seems to like just about any pellet I put in it.
      Things I would have changed:This gun shoots very high and almost made this gun the most inaccurate gun I have. I did find a solution to that problem. Making the front sight adjustable would be the best thing to change on this gun.
      What others should know:As I said before this gun shoots very high. My solution was to use 10.5 grain pellets. This dropped the shot a lot. All I needed to do was adjust my rear sight to shot a bit higher now and I'm dead on. Still enough velocity to penetrate the cardboard box. I am going to try out 9grain pellets and see if that will work out as well so I can regain some velocity. THIS GUN SHOOTS HIGH.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By George from USA on 2010-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy at 10 meters Quarter Size Shot Groups Real Quality for the Price , Nice Balance. A very nice Target Pistol.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The Only Pellet that worked for me is the Daisy Flat Nose. All other pellets were all over the Board.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accurate & Inexpensive to Shoot.
      Things I would have changed:Removable front sight would be nice. It is not needed with the scope mounted.
      What others should know:SET TRIGGER: With the barrel 'cracked' pull the trigger and release before closing the action. This sets the trigger to be much lighter and crisper.
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Tim from USA on 2010-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Seems well constructed. Son loves it but I'm leary to let him go out alone with it as he's still a beginner and this gun has no safety.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a safety. I bought this for my son and have preached and preached gun safety only to get this gun and it has no safety. WTH?
      What others should know:No safety on this gun.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By ElmoM. from USA on 2010-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:price, decent accuracy, easy to use. this gun is a great value for the price. a really good starter air pistol for someone and a lot of fun for the experienced air gun shooter.
      Things I would have changed:the sights could be a little better. but then so could my eyes. for the price however, I don't think changes could be made without making the gun more expensive.
      What others should know:nothing I can think of the IZH53 is just a great value and a lot of fun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By gok from USA on 2009-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice design. Good weighting and pretty stable accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Add more space to adjust front/end sights. Many people reports high shooting. Can confirm it is true for most of pellet types.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By NicEllis from USA on 2009-12-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:great trigger, easy to cock, single pump.
      Things I would have changed:this gun seems to have some issues that have not been raised in other reviews, so it may be an anomaly or a different batch. that said i found the breech to freely bored as some pellets just sort of fall in about 1/4 inch and others the tip is secure but the skirt is unsupported. also the recoil is intense for the amount of power this pistol has.
      What others should know:this pistol is very touchy. it is picky about pellets and your hold. i would not call this a target pistol for sure, but i find it a good trainer gun, accurate enough to shoot fairly well, but it will really let you know when you are shooting sloppy.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mike in MN from USA on 2009-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very happy with the accuracy so far. I've shot at least 100 rounds at a 5" square target, standing, from about 20 feet away and every single shot is within a little inch and a half circle. Some 10 shot groups at 20' were nickel-sized. Finish on the metal is very nice as well, barrel and compression tube are deeply blued. Cocking is very easy, noise when firing is minimal. Rear sight is adjustable for windage and elevation.
      Things I would have changed:The sights need some kind of white dots on them, it is easy enough to do that yourself to your liking. As others have said it does shoot high at 15-20 feet so I guess the rear sight could use a little more adjustment. The trigger is not as smooth as it is in a typical firearm, but it's fine for the money. Little more velocity.
      What others should know:I own 3 handguns and I will definitely get valuable practice from this airgun. Mine did not come with a spare spring as others have said they got.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By NicEllis from USA on 2009-11-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i have only shot just received this gun and fired it under 100 times so read this as a first impression review. i like the balance and ergonomics, and the feather light cocking effort. and the trigger is superb for such an inexpensive gun.
      Things I would have changed:recoil, it seems like this gun puts more energy into making the muzzle jump than it does into the pellet, maybe it should be a bit weightier to absorb some of the recoil. it also seems like the barrel is rather free bored, some pellets just drop into the breach.
      What others should know:right now i would say this pistol is a harsh mistress, it seems capable of some accuracy but you will really have to earn it. i have yet to find a way to make it group well at all, but i just got it and spring pistons are not my favorite power plant. I have done some experiments resting the gun, and changing the hold shifts the point of impact by about 5 inches @ about 10 yards. for me 10 shot groups have been forming up to be about 1/2 inches wide and 3 or 4 inches high. i normally get sub inch groups from my stock crossman 1377 so these results are pretty poor for a "target pistol". this would be a frustrating pistol for a beginner to be sure.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By krul from USA on 2008-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am a NRA pistol instructor however this is my first air pistol. a fun pistol, with good accuracy for the money.
      Things I would have changed:white outline on the rear and front blade
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By David from USA on 2008-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great price only $49. Very easy to cock so it makes a nice training pistol for a newcomer or all day plinker. Fairly quiet and not much recoil for a springer. Comes with a spare spring which is thoughtful. Overall a solid design, decent trigger (given the price of the gun), fairly accurate with the rifled hammer forged barrel doing it's job well. The rear sight is removable which gives you a 2.5" grooved rail for a scope mount, but Pyramyd says the gun needs to be disassembled to mount a scope. Haven't taken the sight off myself so can't comment on that.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it was more powerful; would like to see at least 425-450 fps out of it. It does not have a safety so be careful if training with kids.
      What others should know:I own several Baikal products and they are all great guns for the money.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joel from USA on 2008-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Getting crazy, I know, this is my THIRD review of this pistol, so look below for Things I Liked. (Still love the rear sight)
      Things I would have changed:Things I DID change: tuned trigger, fixed front sight.
      What others should know:This addresses the front sight issue. I had the same problem (shooting high, no matter what) as a lot of people commenting on this gun online here and other forums. The fix was simple. I drifted out the pin holding the front sight and removed the entire front sight lever. Using a Dremel or a file (I used a file), take some material off the back of the base of the sight lever. Without alteration, only the very very very-end of the lever touches the sight assembly, so if you file that corner off, you quickly raise the front of the lever when reassembled. I spent about 45 minutes, taking off a couple hundredths of an inch at a time and checking to see how it was shooting. It's an easy fix. Post below this one mentions DRY FIRING. Don't dry fire your spring piston guns. Ever. Of course the "recoil" is surprisingly harsh, the piston is slamming into the front of the compression tube because you don't have any pellet in the bore to offer resistance. Sheesh!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joel from USA on 2008-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:See below, this is an addition to my last review.
      Things I would have changed:Shoots high, front sight needs to be raised a little. This can be accomplished by removing the sight blade and filing the base of the rear of the blade. Basically makes it rotate through a slightly longer arc, raises the sight post, lowers POI. Will try this later this weekend.
      What others should know:I took my 53M apart last night. It's really easy to get the trigger parts out. Polished the contact points on the trigger piece (behind and within the blade) and the sear lever with a rubber polishing disk on my Dremel, cotton buffing disk, then a little 60% Moly. Also took a lot of the travel out with the adjustment screw. Now my trigger pull is 19 ounces and really smooth, took me all of 30 minutes, and only needed the Dremel and a screwdriver. This is turning out to be a great bargain! Shoots about as accurate as my Webley Tempest, but a bit weaker. I got 390 FPS out of Gamo Match wadcutters, though, with 1-inch groups off-hand at 12 meters. Not a match gun, but a great plinker.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joel from USA on 2008-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ergonomics are great; easy to cock; decent power and good accuracy. Sights are nicer than I expected, rear is adj for windage and elevation with little thumb-knobs (wish they used this sight on the bullpup!). I didn't think this would hit very hard, but it has a nice punch at 20M. "Coke-can-accuracy" out to 40M. Front sight is spring-loaded so it doesn't stab the palm of your hand. Comes with extra spring, breech and piston seals, great manual.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger feels "gritty" when pulled, lots of creep and heavy. Hard to adjust trigger, and only adjustment is pre-travel.
      What others should know:Really super easy to cock. Firing action is pretty smooth, no twang in mine, if I can tune the trigger, it has potential to be a tack-driver. Compression tube is deeply blued, barrel is naked metal, but looks good. Nice, serviceable, rugged pistol. This would make an outstanding carbine, if anyone bodges up a stock. Grips are HUGE. If you've got big hands (I don't) and are looking for a good fit...here you go. This is a BIG pistol.
    • « Previous 12345 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold