Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    IZH 60 Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By GILMORE from USA on 2010-05-16 13:11:33

    Things I liked:Everything
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Try using the crosman lead free ssp hollow point pellet or the rws lead free hypermax, you will be pleasantly surprised how serious this little fellow can be.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Melvin from USA on 2012-12-09 23:29:13

    Things I liked:Most of the materials are fine, light weight, adequate power for short distance target shooting, easy side lever effort, and low decibel report. It's a fine instructional gun for beginning shooters... which is why it was purchased.
    Things I would have changed:The "bolt" handle is a heavy gauge wire, bent into an "L"... leaves a lot to be desired. The barrel was mounted crooked on the one I received.
    What others should know:I put a Williams rear peep sight on the rifle. The Williams sight has a lot of windage adjustment, but not enough for the rifle I received. The barrel was so far out of alignment with the plastic stock that the Williams sight could not be used. I could look down the barrel and see the fore grip below... very much out of alignment. The stock sights would have worked OK as they are mounted on the barrel, but the much better Williams sight is mounted on the stock behind the barrel. I kept the Williams sight; returned the IZH 60. PA made the return painless. Thank you.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Derrick from USA on 2014-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price was good. Accuracy got better after a cleaning and a few hundred pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Needs a metal breach. I think they make one I just got the plastic one.
      What others should know:I want to thank whoever sent this rifle back in. I wouldn't have gotten such a good deal without you.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Walter from USA on 2014-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Inexpensive/accurate
      Things I would have changed:no6thing for the $.
      What others should know:I was stunned by how accurate this thing is. I had some old Crossman wadcutter pels, so I thought I'd try them out, bought a cheap 4x scope made in China at a gun show once, it's not air gun recoil proof, but the recoil is so light it does not bother it. This thing shoots boringly straight over and over again, just a ragged hole if you can hold it still, shoots any pels I have put thru it good. Stay in the under 8 grain area. There are guys that soop it up by putting a washer in the back inside, but just leave it alone. Mine has the early adjustable trig. Great item for the wife and kids during a picnic, or just buddies coming over. Guaranteed you will love this hammer forged barrel. These will be gone soon with Obama on IZH ban, so don't think too long, there is really nothing in it's class holds most of the world gold medals in junior category.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2014-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:With Obama making illegal gun ban executive orders that are going to make there hard to get in the near future I figured I better get one while they are still in stock. I had an MP-61 and wanted an MP-60 to complete my Russian gun collection. With this being a single shot rifle as long as I can get a pellet in the breech I can use it. With the MP-61 you have to use shorter pellets or they won't fit in the magazine. So the MP-60 is a little more forgiving in the pellets you can use.
      Things I would have changed:I had to take a knife to the back of the breech and shave off some plastic that was pinching the 0-ring seal on the bolt otherwise over time that seal was going to be cut to ribbons and likely wreck the gun. I didn't want that to happen.
      What others should know:Better get them while there are some to get. Our dictator-in-chief doesn't want you to enjoy a fine russian pellet rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JOSHUA from Canada on 2014-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:First of all, the accuracy of this gun is great! After shooting many air rifles this one comes in second place. The rifle that I found to be the most accurate was the CZ Slavia 634 (break barrel @ 495fps). This air rifle was accurate out of the box. I bought wadcutters by Crossman and they were very accurate. I shot a sparrow @ 15yards in the neck after breaking the gun in, and that was with iron sights. Although this gun looks a bit awkward, it doesn't feel like it at all. The bolt action is great and eliminates the break barrel action allowing for ease of use and fast reloads. The adjustable stock is nice, allowing for ideal comfort. The trigger is AMAZING. Beautiful 2 stage trigger allowing for ideal accuracy and consistency.
      Things I would have changed:There are, however, a few drawbacks to this rifle. The 11mm rail is made of plastic - I wish it were metal, although I haven't tried mounting a scope on it yet. The spring that is used in the air rifle sounds cheap when you are cocking it; there is no drawback to performance but it sounds cheap. There is no safety on this gun. Once you pump it up it's ready to shoot even if you aren't. I tried firing the gun when it was pumped and the bolt was OPEN and the gun discharged(dry-fired).
      What others should know:This is one of the best spring air rifles I have shot. If you want a good air rifle but dont want to shell out more than $200 just buy this one. My brother will likely be buying one of these for himself. Rated 4 stars overall because of plastic rail.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DeadEye from USA on 2014-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simplicity. Accuracy. Adjustability of grip length. The IZH 60 is an unbelievable value. You can pick up the standard 60 for under $100 on sale. Out of the box with Crosman Premier Heavy .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Domed pellets it was doing less than dime sized 5 round groups at 30 feet. Add a scope or aperture sights and it becomes a great indoor plinker with astounding accuracy. The stock grip is adjustable so this rifle can be used by both children and adults. The low cocking force lets you shoot hundreds of rounds without fatigue.
      Things I would have changed:At this price point there is not much you could change. Be advised plastic (high quality) is the primary component of this rifle - all except for the barrel, the sights (the front hood is plastic but the pin is steel), and the pneumatic plant components and the bolt are plastic. The receiver is plastic. If the receiver was steel or a hard grade of aluminum (as the older versions of this rifle apparently had) the IZH 60 would be an awesome rifle. A safety would be a good addition.
      What others should know:If you want to have a great low-cost indoor practice rifle or want to teach your children safety and marksmanship with a simple rifle that they will never out-shoot, the IZH 60 fits the bill. It is NOT powerful enough to hunt even small game - target use only. ALSO BE ADVISED - THERE IS NO SAFETY ON THIS RIFLE. Once it is cocked, the trigger is hot - an open bolt does not even make the trigger safe. If used for training, strict range safety practices are required. All that being said, the IZH 60 is just a hoot-to-shoot. It shoots where you point it, it can be used indoors, and is relatively quiet. I own three and they all perform above expectations with "standard" ammo.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tony from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle was a pleasant surprize! Very easy to crank out shots all day long! So cool looking too! I like the way it opens the breech automatically upon cocking for easy loading! Very lightweight! A GREAT air rifle! Buy one you will love it too! All my Russian guns and air guns are very accurate!
      Things I would have changed:No changes that I can think of.
      What others should know:This quickly became one of my favorite air guns and I have a large collection! Love shooting air guns all day long without breaking the bank! Shooting indoors makes winter a bit more tolerable! Have fun! Buy one!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has quickly become my favorite pellet rifle. I have five others and excepting my QB78, this is the one I have gone to. The reason I have gone to this gun is that it' doesn't need CO2. Two, being a .177 caliber, I can use my 6x6 gamo pellet trap, setting it on the railing of my deck and shooting the gun from 21feet. My QB78 is a 22 caliber and it overpowers that small pellet trap. Third, I have three break rifles and each takes considerable effort to cock. This rifle takes only about 10 pounds to cock and it cocks from the side. With my arthritic hands, the lower effort it takes to cock the rifle makes it more fun to shoot-- and less painful. Four, this rifle is extremely accurate. With the diopter sight I put on the gun, I am shooting quarter size groups free handed from 21 feet. If you put the front sight on the target and hold it, this rifle will hit it. Five, the rifle's design and light weight makes it nice to hold and less tiring to use.
      Things I would have changed:The bolt is very light-weight. It's not much more than a piece of heavy wire. I don't know if it can be beefed up or not, but It would help to make the loading process easier. Again, with my arthritic hands, the small bolt handle digs into my hand and is uncomfortable. The end of the bolt handle does not have a ball on it, so end of the handle has sharp edges--not so sharp that it cuts, rather "pokes" the fingers. Also, the button one pushes on the cocking lever has sharp edges, making the cocking process uncomfortable sometimes. I put a bandaid on the finger I use to push the button. I'm trying to figure out a way to put a soft cover on the button to make the gun more comfortable cock.
      What others should know:The changes I would make were not deal breakers. I really like this rifle. Other than the changes I cited above, this gun is a joy to shoot. With its accuracy and ease of cocking, this rifle is a winner.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I read many reviews and videos extolling the accuracy and unique styling of this rifle. For me, this rifle is perfect for my purpose. Indoor 10 meter range through the cold season and plinking at 20 meters next summer. I have found the rifle to be very light and convenient to handle... I am left handed and even though the rifle is built "righty", it is not a problem. Even with failing eyesight, I am shooting tight groups at 10 meters with the standard sights. I will be installing a red dot sight soon. I favor the single shot version because it slows me down while shooting.
      Things I would have changed:I am fully satisfied with this rifle. Taking price into account, the rifle is a "lot of bang for the buck".
      What others should know:This rifle is a lot of fun. Easy to shoot successfully. Seems to like the 7.6 gr Crosman wadcutters just fine.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By larry from USA on 2014-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light, accurate, dovetail mount, easy to cock, relatively quiet.
      Things I would have changed:Quieter spring mechanism.
      What others should know:Great indoor/winter gun! I like it more than their pistol. I got a red dot for it, not sure I even need it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Full length dovetail on receiver, single shot, ease of cocking, large adjustment range of length of pull, accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Main spring and mech could use some lube. Make receiver out of metal.
      What others should know:I prefer the single shot 60 over the magazine fed 61. The magazines do a poor job of holding the pellets and the 61 has a short section of dovetail behind the magazine. The magazine release blocks use of some of that dovetail. So mounting optics on the 61 is harder than on the 60 which has dovetail the full length of the receiver (see pics of both guns). My 10yr old son digs the 60 and didn't like the 61 mainly because of the magazine not holding pellets well. Even if pellets seat in the mag (R10 match seated well) the recoil can still pop them out. Another feature that makes this gun great for kids is the ease of cocking and the very adjustable stock length. In addition to sliding the bolt has two positions that further increases adjustment range.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2013-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price, accuracy, weight,easy,to cock
      Things I would have changed:Longer or more adjustment in stock
      What others should know:This is a great plinking gun for $99.00. Super good groups at 10 meters. Easy side cock so you can shoot more with less effort.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2013-10-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Amazing price, nice trigger, consistently accurate. Shockingly good value for money. With a Bug Buster scope it'll pop round after round into a nickel sized hole from 100ft.
      Things I would have changed:A little less plastic would be nice, but remember the price...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from USA on 2013-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy cocking. Very accurate. Price
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight. I wish it had a knob to adjust the windage instead of two small screws
      What others should know:This is an awesome little gun. I bought to shoot in my basement for the winter but I cannot put this thing down. It is so much fun to shoot. I bought a reflex sight to put on this and I have not used it yet. This thing is so accurate at 10m and I have not even done a pellet search for this gun yet. Right now it likes Beeman coated wadcutters and CPLP
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2013-10-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lightweight, easy cocking, sweet trigger, short overall length, looks, low cost.
      Things I would have changed:Go back to a steel receiver, QC on front sight
      What others should know:Upon first firing, I ran out of rear sight adjustment. After some fiddling, I realized the front sight was canted. I was able to straighten it by hand with considerable effort, which solved the problem. This is not broken in yet, and I have only tried it with RWS Hobbies and some other wadcutter pellets I had. Shooting 1" groups at 10m, so a very promising start. The form factor is very nice, and the size, cocking, and weight would make it a great kid's starter gun. Fortunately I like it too, and since my daughter is not quite 4, I expect to keep it to myself for some time. If I find the older steel breech version for sale I will jump on it, now that I've tried this one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Len from USA on 2013-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Another great Rifle added to my stock .This shoots smooth and straight.I know have both models and two of my best..Made well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I put a red dot sight on this one and i can hit the target at 100 feet everytime..I havnt tried further .Great in my book
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Len from USA on 2013-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this and the 61 Model are good..I got the 61 first and the 60 will be at my door this wednesday ..I was reading the online reviews and figured the single shot version would be cool for the collection..I had a green laser i got off my friend and mounted it with a sensor pad...Love it...Great gun..
      Things I would have changed:It would be nice to see a 22 cal version with some more power...
      What others should know:Buy both models..Buy everything in the store..I sure am trying...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jerry from USA on 2013-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is an amazingly amusing gun. it is accurate, esp for the price, and very very easy cocking, which is important to me as i am 70. i paid $99 for it and i just don't think you can find more fun for so little money. also, i love that the stock can be adjusted. loading is very easy too.
      Things I would have changed:the trigger is good but i would love a better trigger. at present there is some first stage distance in the trigger but it is predictable. second stage is fine. still more adjustments would be good, though that would add to the cost. some complain of the plastic; there is not much, other than the stock, and that is very stable.
      What others should know:i can not think of a single gun that is great for both new shooters as well as skilled shooters. this is a pickle of a gun. i put a scope on it and i shoot targets at 50 yards. yes, 50 yards. the scope helps my poor old eyes but the gun has enough power to go the distance. for the money, every airgunner should have one of these. just so you know, i also shoot an izh 46m for which i have a shoulder stock. no, the 60 is not in the same league because the 46m trigger is just a whisper and a breath to shoot. but even so, the 60 is just plain fun. btw- the 46m also shoots to 50 yards and gosh is it accurate. baikal=pickles of fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2013-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks very cool! Love the adjustable stock. Easy cocking effort. quite accurate for the money. That pistol-type grip is very comfortable. The front sight gives a wonderful sight picture. This gun is a terrific value for the money!
      Things I would have changed:I went back and forth whether to get this single shot or the repeater. The single shot works best for me. There is really nothing I would want to change about this rifle.
      What others should know:I spent weeks trying to pick the best value for my money, looking for an accurate, fun, inexpensive rifle for shooting targets at 10m in my basement. I think I made the right choice. This gun is loads of fun. It is easy to load the one pellet at a time and the single shot is supposedly a bit more accurate and less prone to jams from the comments I read. Don't think you could go wrong either way. This is my first spring piston gun and if you use that artillery hold you will find this gun plenty accurate at 25' - 10 meters. I put 150 shots thru it the first night I had it because it was too much fun to put down. Hey, if there is one thing Russia should do well, it is manufacture guns. I think IZH-Baikal nailed this one. Note that there are two positions for the screw that holds the adjustable stock, it adjusts back further than you think (a very good feature for me in making the gun comfortable to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2013-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is one sweet air rifle. Easy to cock. Accurate. Cheap and yet made to last. Accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing.
      What others should know:Great for indoor or outdoor use.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2013-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like this one even more than the 61. You do not have to worry about firing on an empty chamber and blowing the piston. Very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Just have fun.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top