Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    IZH 61 Target Pro Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Jon from USA on 2013-05-13 12:21:43

    Things I liked:Very pleased with the gun..easy to cock, sight, and extend the length.
    Things I would have changed:There has to be some way to keep the rear peep sight from walking. Two shots and you have to stop, untighten and retighten the sight knowing that your are going to be doing this again in two shots. Shortly begins to take the pleasure from shooting this gun. Someone must have an answer. I want to keep using a peep sight.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By noel from USA on 2013-11-12 23:54:54

    Things I liked:This low buck rifle is a good way to learn how to shoot off hand with peep sights. It is so fun to shoot that I went through a 500 pellet tin in four days. I found the gun and the magazine feed worked well although it is like many things made in Russia, it is roughly made and you might have to do a little tinkering to work the bugs out.
    Things I would have changed:The rear sight is not made in Russia, it is made in red China. Parts were missing and it was not put together right. I was able to get it working right but had I known of the poor workmanship I would have looked for a better one.
    What others should know:This is not a match rifle, more of a gun to get the basics and have fun. When I was testing pellets for this gun they were all over one inch at 10M until the 10th one shot 3/16" so it is picky about pellets.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2014-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I converted my MP-61 to this version. I found I like the closed dot front sight and the diopter. It took a bit of fiddling around but eventually I got the gun dialed in and am getting very tight groups that I would be hard pressed to keep up with on a more expensive target rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. It's a fun little gun
      What others should know:There's not much that you can upgrade on these. Find out where the sight is hitting, get it dialed in and enjoy. They are fun. Be sure to count your shots and be sure you don't dry fire.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bill wooden from USA on 2014-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:fun design, and VERY accurate, Accuracy of of $1000 gun
      Things I would have changed:OK Team we need to work on a fix of the clips to keep the pellets in... we should have a contest Also Dove tail and diopter sight . ok but could be a better fit tends to loosen an fall off. bummmer
      What others should know:It is a blast for target practice and blasting away at your diaroma and loft over Happy meal toys :)))))) Just don't expect the finish of a high end target rifle but the accuracy and fun are all there.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By noel from USA on 2013-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This low buck rifle is a good way to learn how to shoot off hand with peep sights. It is so fun to shoot that I went through a 500 pellet tin in four days. I found the gun and the magazine feed worked well although it is like many things made in Russia, it is roughly made and you might have to do a little tinkering to work the bugs out.
      Things I would have changed:The rear sight is not made in Russia, it is made in red China. Parts were missing and it was not put together right. I was able to get it working right but had I known of the poor workmanship I would have looked for a better one.
      What others should know:This is not a match rifle, more of a gun to get the basics and have fun. When I was testing pellets for this gun they were all over one inch at 10M until the 10th one shot 3/16" so it is picky about pellets.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from Canada on 2013-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The synthetic stock is lightweight and surprisingly strong. The Auto - indexing 5 shot magazine enhances the fun of this "Lil-Comrade". Just over 1000 pellets sent down range (10 meters/ 32 ft)with the Diopter (Peep) sight setup and the groupings, when the shooter doesn't muck it up, are consistetly in the nickel and even dime sized range. The ratcheting mechanism in the cocking lever is a nice addition and helps prevent pinched fingers should your hand slip from the cocking lever. The Diopter (Peep) rear sight and interchangeable front sight inserts enable customization of the sight picture to suit a wide range of shooters. You also have the option of removing the Diopter and going with the open sights. This rifle has a lot of features found on more expensive rifles and will provide hours of funs for novice and experienced air gunners.
      Things I would have changed:Rework the pellet holes in the magazine/clip to reduce the their diameter by 0.2mm to maybe 0.4mm to enable the magazine to have a slight interference fit/grip on the pellets. Provide adjustment for Trigger weight along with the existing free travel adjustment.
      What others should know:Before you fire it for the first time. Carefully read the manual from Baikal paying attention to the Figures indicated for the breakdown of the rifle and do the "Field Strip" of the gun. Carefully wipe the heavy storage oil from the surfaces of the piston and piston seal. Use a long wooden dowel and a clean cotton rag to clean the cylinder bore. With the piston seal cleaned put two drops of Silicone based air gun oil on the piston seal and spread it around evenly. Avoid using anykind of a degreaser solvent as the residue might damage the piston seal or worst case explode under the heat of compression when the rifle is fired. Re-assemble the rifle again paying attention to the Baikal manual and you are ready to fire. Any dieseling will be greatly reduced and will settle down very quickly. Once broken in and you get the easy hang of inserting the mags without losing a pellet in the process this is a solid hitting and very accurate springer. It is definately a springer which benefits exceptionally well from the "Artillery Hold". When retightening the retaining collar on the Front Sight after swapping the insert. The insert can move off centre resulting in a shift from the original Pint of Imact (POI). Easily resolved by monitoring the relationship of the insert to the centre line of the barrel while tightening the retaining collar and adjusting/maintaining the desired position as the collar is tightened.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By scolest from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Easy for younger kids to cock than many other guns you could choose. Seems quite well made.
      Things I would have changed:I think I'd rather try the IZH-60. The arrangement of the five shot clip mechanism makes it very difficult to know when you're out of pellets in the clip, and of course you don't want to dry fire this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jon from USA on 2013-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very pleased with the gun..easy to cock, sight, and extend the length.
      Things I would have changed:There has to be some way to keep the rear peep sight from walking. Two shots and you have to stop, untighten and retighten the sight knowing that your are going to be doing this again in two shots. Shortly begins to take the pleasure from shooting this gun. Someone must have an answer. I want to keep using a peep sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By some guy from USA on 2013-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have gotten excellent accuracy out of this rifle at 10M. I had the best luck with heavy domed pellets (Crosman Premier). I think domed pellets feed better and are more accurate than wadcutters in my gun. You may find differently. This gun is decently accurate with the stock rear sight, but the diopter sight with the sight inserts is really a huge improvement. Front sight comes pre-modded for the included sight inserts, which you really need with the diopter. Stock is plenty adjustable for small or big shooters (you just have to switch the nut to make it extend more). I would not hunt with this gun due to the low FPS and target sights (OK, maybe chipmunks or starlings but that would be it). Low noise and works great indoors for winter practice.
      Things I would have changed:I wish extra mags were cheaper, I would like to have 20 of them.
      What others should know:Like others said, use blue loctite on the diopter sight screw, and use a tool to tighten it more than hand tight, or it will slip eventually. Clean the bore thoroughly and also any of the outside metal as it is covered with a preservative oil. Some people have complained about pellets falling out of the mag; this only seems to be an issue with light pellets. I don't really care about FPS as I am shooting for accuracy at 10M, so I'm not concerned with the drop in speed with the heavy pellets. Read the manual well before you run the gun. Speaking of the manual, I like the stamping and signatures by the guys in the Izhevsk factory. Dosvydanya comrade
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Philip from USA on 2012-11-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:There's never been a better basement/back yard target plinker. Easy to load and shoot. One hole at 10 meters,(most of the time) diopter sight just right. I just turned 60, eyes are not what they used to be. This rifle is perfect for off hand shooting because it is light, and I can hold it steady.
      Things I would have changed:Needs soft buttpad, kind of digs into shoulder because I just can't stop shooting this fun gun.
      What others should know:Use blue loctight on mounting grooves for sight, and it will never move. Never rest a springer air rifle on a hard rest, place hand between rest and gun, hold gently.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By zarir from India on 2012-09-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the gun as it feels a good aristrocatic weapon for its price and is pretty acurate at even 20 meters worth the money
      Things I would have changed:the stock is made very high and some height should have been reduced it would be a easy to store and carry
      What others should know:I love pyramid air as they supply stuff i have a collection of atlease 60 airguns as i do a lot of simulation
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Xiaorong from USA on 2012-08-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:just bought this about one month ago. Have shot 400 rounds. works great and very accuracy. The rifle is light and easy to cock. Overall, I like it. Highly recommend for those are interested in 10 meter shooting.
      Things I would have changed:I wish I got a $119 one and spend worth money on a decent peer rear sight.
      What others should know:The major difference of this target pro and $119 one is the rear peer sight and Globe front sigh that already has inserts. The peer rear sight looks cheap and easy to get loose after several shots. You have to move the sight forward and tight again. If you can find a better rear sights, you don't have to buy this target pro spending extra $60 just for a peer sight. The basic $119 is good enough. To me, the original sight works very well although the peer sight does help to focus better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2012-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My IZH61 is a few years old, but I upgraded it with the air venturi sights It was accurate before, but with these air venturi sights and front globe inserts I have no doubt this gun can hold it's own against the olympic grade rifles costing thousands of dollars. Put that with the weapons grade stock and it's one of the best 10 meter guns i have seen in a long time Especially in this new age of plastic pellet guns.
      Things I would have changed:I found my butt stock loosens up a bit after several shots so I need to keep an eye on it.
      What others should know:older or this updated model, this is a very good gun. If you shoot 10 meter, you need one of these. The guys with the $3000 guns might laugh when you bring it out, but they will leave crying when you use it to win the match.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top