Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Legends C96 CO2 BB Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Edward from USA on 2013-11-25 03:27:47

    Things I liked:The pistol is remarkable, a great replica. The blowback feels very authentic. Sliding ramp style sights are useful for adjusting for range.
    Things I would have changed:The notch and front blade on the sights are too small- can't get good sight picture.
    What others should know:The look, the feel of this gun is wonderful. So far, it shoots well enough, for accuracy.
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Richard from USA on 2013-12-21 00:07:27

    Things I liked:Sadly, there is not very much I liked about this gun to recommend it. I had been looking forward to a CO2 broom handle Mauser for years and when I saw that Umarex was releasing this I pre-ordered it immediately. I have the Umarex P38, P08 and the PPKs and have been completely satisfied with them all. They are all quality guns made out of metal to a high standard. While this gun does look like a Broom handle Mauser, actually it is modeled after the later M712 Schnellfeuer rather than the earlier C96 . All of the externals of this gun are molded out of a rather cheap looking black plastic. Some of the internals and the parts that make up the magazine are metal. Unlike the recent PO8 Luger, the molding of the details on this gun isn’t very crisp.
    Things I would have changed:Just about everything. I was really excited and looking forward to this gun, expecting the same quality as the recent PO8 and the P38 releases. I was very disappointed when I opened the box and saw this gun. The biggest drawback with this gun was the total lack of accuracy. The inner metal BB barrel is unsupported in the larger outer plastic barrel. On my gun the inner barrel was off at an odd angle making it totally inaccurate at even 5 feet. They need to fix this. At one point when I was trying to use this gun I also noticed that the inner barrel was starting to work it’s way out of the gun. When I attempted to push it back in I discovered that the breech block is just a molded rubber block that the barrel is pressed into. The Bolt is also very cheaply made out of thin piece stamped and folded sheet metal.
    What others should know:I only had this gun for one day and returned it. In my opinion this gun isn’t even worthy of being called a wall hanger. The gun I received was totally inaccurate. It was made out of a cheap looking plastic. Other reviewers have said that their gun was accurate. I suspect that it is totally luck of the draw if the gun that you receive has the barrel been pressed into the rubber breech block straight or not. Perhaps I was just unlucky and the barrel in my gun was pressed in crooked, maybe others will have better luck than me but I wouldn’t want to gamble another $100 dollars on it though.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-09-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am a collector of military replicas. I like this gun and it helped that Han Solo's blaster was based on this gun. The blow back is unique. Extremly accurate and tight grouping for a BB pistol. Detailing on the pistol is authentic.
      Things I would have changed:I am a favor of separate ammo clips so you can have a few and just swap them out when it's time. The reloading isn't hard, it just takes longer when the CO2 cylinder and magazine are combined. More metal is always better too, but this is well made. An available holster would be nice so it could be carried.
      What others should know:It's fun to shoot! 19 BBs go fast!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very good copy of the 1930 Mauser. Except that it is not full auto. The gun is a little light compared to the real pistol. The gun handles well both one handed and if a two hand grip is used. Very accurate I get quarter sized groups once I figured out the sight picture, Blow back is crisp but very fast.
      Things I would have changed:It would cost a lot more but a full metal version with a working full auto position would be even more fun to shoot. Include a spare magazine it would fit in the box nicely. The loading process is slow but no worse then then my old Crossman 357 trooper pellet gun.
      What others should know:Buy a spare Magazine, This pistol is very fun to shoot, The loading process is slow,
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PHILIP from USA on 2014-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Action works like the real Firearm
      Things I would have changed:A metal receiver and finish the slot in the back and make available a shoulder stock You might want to even make a select fire model semi & full Also a Carbine model would be nice with an 8 inch barrel forgrip and rifle stock
      What others should know:Only Use New Co2 in this pistol if You have older Co2 it may not cycle
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-05-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The heft, the feel in the hand. It has a fast and snappy blowback, but it is mild compared to some other CO2 BB pistols with blowback. The trigger is pretty good, with a short, light first stage followed by a short, crisp medium weight second stage. The accuracy from 25 feet or less is very good compared with most other BB pistols, especially if you brace it with your off hand grasping the magazine. It is slightly less loud than other CO2 BB guns. Loading BBs is easy and straightforward. I'm still on the first CO2 powerlet and I've probably already shot it 60 times, so for a blowback pistol, it is economical on the gas. Speaking of gas, this is a GAS to shoot. A great plinker.
      Things I would have changed:Even though I am VERY experienced with CO2 powerlets and did everything properly, the pistol did lose maybe 10 percent of the gas as I tightened the twist screw to charge the gun. I have done this only once so far with this pistol, but I have a strong feeling this will be the case each time.
      What others should know:Much of it is durable plastic, but it does not look or feel like plastic. It looks and feels like the real thing. Eventually I think I will purchase two more of the BB/CO2 magazines. They are expensive, but by the time you've gone through a magazine of BBs, the gun is cold enough that changing out the mag for a warm one would improve the performance. The CO2 stays in the magazine when you take the unit out for reloading BBs, and waiting ten minutes for everything to warm up as you shoot with the other mags and then reload with more BBs should eliminate much of the "cold gun" problem associated with CO2.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rob from Canada on 2014-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The C96 gives the general impression of the real pistol. That means , it's cool-looking. Although it's about 85% plastic , the magazine and other metal parts together make the gun weigh-in at a reasonable heft. This helps to make for steadier , more-accurate shooting as well. This C96's magazine is built like the proverbial brick sh--house and I think that , that will probably make it pretty durable in the long run. The blowback bolt works smoothly on the initial charge and then provides quite a kick each time the pistol is fired. That is definitely a mass-cool feature. We all like any gun that is accurate right out of the box and this C96 is no exception. After firing the first 10 or 15 shots , this neat little gun was grouping consistently within about two to three inches at 25 feet. Not bad at all.
      Things I would have changed:On this present model of the C96 , nada. BUT , YES , Yes and YES again - - - Everybody that I know and most of you other C96 review writers out there , WANT a FULL Metal Version of this gun! Are you listening manufacturers ? If you guys were to build the C96 in a 95%-metal-version , say , with the exception of the grips , our good friends at Pyramyd Air would need extra transport trucks just to ship-in these C96 pistols alone to their warehouse. It's almost a given that most shooters that I know would be willing to pay an extra 50-plus dollars per pistol just to get their hands on a C96 full metal monster! Okay manufacturers , what are you going do when there's a demand like this? It's time to re-tool.
      What others should know:This model is a C96 , but it is the 712 version , with the magazine positioned-in from the bottom. That's not really an issue for me. I've seen both and they are both really cool. The bolt does not remain back like the slides do on other semi-auto pistols after the magazine is empty. However , the hammer on the C96 is not left cocked back either and this shows the shooter that it's time to reload the magazine. I placed a dot of gloss-white paint at the top of the nearside of the front sight. That alone , helps to make for much faster sight alignment on the target. Also , as I've done with several other sets of plastic grips on pistols , I applied a liquid protector to the C96 grips. This stuff worked great on the pistol. It slightly dulls and darkens the plastic making it look a little more like wood. You can buy it at most auto-supply centres. I've described the how-to in other gun reviews with PA. The C96 is well worth your time and money. Get one and I think you'll like it.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy. At 15" off a sandbag, the group (using my mics) was .997 with a .664 ragged hole.
      Things I would have changed:I have rubber cemented a balsa wood filler on the back of the grip below the hammer to ease the pinching of the square back.
      What others should know:At the end of the CO2 cartridge, when the bolt won't reset automatically, it is possible to get an additional 6 to 8 shots by manually retracting the bolt to reset it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2014-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice accurate gun.
      Things I would have changed:Really nothing.
      What others should know:I don't know if anybody cares but it was (the real gun)Winston Churchill favorite gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Terry from USA on 2014-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is great!
      Things I would have changed:Make it metal like its airsoft counterpart and it was be awesome!
      What others should know:Great gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By bennett from USA on 2014-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:right out of the box, pretty darn accurate. shooting one inch groups at twenty five feet.smooth trigger pull excellent replica
      Things I would have changed:for the price, I think all metal would be nice.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from New Zealand on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The weight, the blow back, the accuracy, the looks I have always wanted one and now I have!! Looks great with the other classic real pistols that they have made into air pistols.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see it in all metal, slide lock back when magazines runs out.
      What others should know:Don't be put of by the plastic it is still worth owning I have no regrets in buying it, it is great gun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jorge from USA on 2013-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the look and feel of the gun. It shoots well for what it is, and looks good doing it.
      Things I would have changed:Less plastic, more metal.
      What others should know:It's pretty accurate but by all means not a match pistol so don't rate it as such.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol looks and operates exactly like the real thing. I was impressed when I opened the box and saw how realistic it looked and felt. I was further enamored when I shot it. With a little pratice it will hold 2" five shot groups fired free hand at 10 yds. which I consider accurate for a smooth bore B-B pistol.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change a thing to this gun. The manufacturer nailed it dead on with the first try. A price point of $74.95 would be a real plus.
      What others should know:Try it, you'll like it !
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the feel and looks of this gun. It was easy to adjust the site so is very accurate at 10 yards.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the safety as is little unusual. An all metal version would be great.
      What others should know:Even my friends who would not be caught dead shooting an air gun love this. It has a great look and feel.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy of design as a reproduction, overall mechanical design, overall shooting accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:Ads made it sound as if the gun were made of more exterior metal. And I would have appreciated that. Also blowback would be nice, but that would require a complete redesign, I think. And a higher price. But more metal for the same price would be a better value.
      What others should know:Overall, I really like the pistol. The design is not dead on, but still quite accurate. I'm sanding the grooves in the broomhandle to make it easier to handle for extended periods of time. Wood, rather than plastic, would have been nice here. Magazine and CO2 in one place is nice. And for a non-rifled barrel, it shoots well at shorter distances (up to 20 feet). I've been using up a box of Copperheads in most of my BB guns, and although there are wild ones, most go where I want them to. Good addition to my collection, both for reproduction accuracy and shootability. Still, a trifle pricey for what you get, considering the Makarov is almost half the price and is wicked accurate.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sadly, there is not very much I liked about this gun to recommend it. I had been looking forward to a CO2 broom handle Mauser for years and when I saw that Umarex was releasing this I pre-ordered it immediately. I have the Umarex P38, P08 and the PPKs and have been completely satisfied with them all. They are all quality guns made out of metal to a high standard. While this gun does look like a Broom handle Mauser, actually it is modeled after the later M712 Schnellfeuer rather than the earlier C96 . All of the externals of this gun are molded out of a rather cheap looking black plastic. Some of the internals and the parts that make up the magazine are metal. Unlike the recent PO8 Luger, the molding of the details on this gun isn’t very crisp.
      Things I would have changed:Just about everything. I was really excited and looking forward to this gun, expecting the same quality as the recent PO8 and the P38 releases. I was very disappointed when I opened the box and saw this gun. The biggest drawback with this gun was the total lack of accuracy. The inner metal BB barrel is unsupported in the larger outer plastic barrel. On my gun the inner barrel was off at an odd angle making it totally inaccurate at even 5 feet. They need to fix this. At one point when I was trying to use this gun I also noticed that the inner barrel was starting to work it’s way out of the gun. When I attempted to push it back in I discovered that the breech block is just a molded rubber block that the barrel is pressed into. The Bolt is also very cheaply made out of thin piece stamped and folded sheet metal.
      What others should know:I only had this gun for one day and returned it. In my opinion this gun isn’t even worthy of being called a wall hanger. The gun I received was totally inaccurate. It was made out of a cheap looking plastic. Other reviewers have said that their gun was accurate. I suspect that it is totally luck of the draw if the gun that you receive has the barrel been pressed into the rubber breech block straight or not. Perhaps I was just unlucky and the barrel in my gun was pressed in crooked, maybe others will have better luck than me but I wouldn’t want to gamble another $100 dollars on it though.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By edouard from Canada on 2013-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Would of liked a synthetic wood look buttstock like the original, should of came in a pkg,I would of easily paid more
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Jim from USA on 2013-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Gun looks great. It's got a nice feel with the co2 cylinder in. Shoots well.
      Things I would have changed:Gun is very plasticky Very light without magazine and co2 cyl It jambs a bit easy It does not let you know when you fire the last bob
      What others should know:A fun gun, not great
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Bret from USA on 2013-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It has a good heft like the real fire arm. The sights are good and it shoots 1 inch groups at 20 feet. This gun looks great on the wall display.
      Things I would have changed:Make the grips out of wood and offer the shoulder stock holster for sale,
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Tanstaafl from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:At a glance, it looks a lot like the Mauser broom-handle pistols you see in the movies. Actually, it looks more like the M712 Schnellfeuer, with its detachable magazine.
      Things I would have changed:For $100 dollar replica pistol, there's an awful lot of plastic. The barrel shroud is plastic, so that includes the front sight. Overall, the impression I got upon taking it out of the box was that the quality is rather disappointing. Umarex really could have done better. I have to wonder if they rushed this to market to make it available in time for the 2013 Christmas shopping season.
      What others should know:Sorry, but I think I'd recommend that others give this one a miss -- unless they've just gotta have a Mauser C96 replica in their collection -- then of course, you can probably find a spring airsoft model for less than $20.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Howard from USA on 2013-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The original Mauser was a weird gun, and this is a good approximation of it.Yup ... all plastic except the magazine/capsule assembly and a couple of internal parts. about AS CLUMSY A Pistol as possible.
      Things I would have changed:I found the "recoil" very strong... from a rest I needed both hands and a death grip to hold it on target.Accuracy sucks ( Copperheads gave me 2 inch groups at best.) REMEMBER to 1) PUSH THE SLIDING BIT AT THE TOP OF THE MAGAZINE forward before loading, and make sure it is still forward when you insert the magazine ... or YOU WILL GET A JAM. 2) push THE SLIDE ALL THE WAY FORWARD AFTER YOU HAVE PULLED IT BACK TO LOAD AND COCK THE PISTOL. mine DID NOT CLOSE THE LAST 1/8 INCH AND THE GUN FAILED TO FIRE.
      What others should know:This is an amusing addition to a collection, but don't buy it if you a looking for BB gun accuracy. I'm not even going to bother trying to shoot it free hand the recoil is so severe. (And this gun had the 10 for $10 treatment.Money wasted.)
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top