Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Logun S-16Xs reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Sharon from USA on 2007-08-21 14:40:00

    Things I liked:This rifle has a shrouded barrel, so it is virtually silent! Great hunting air rifle since it has 2 eight shot magazines back to back- 16 shot magazine! Very comfortable to hold because of the pistol grip and the butt plate on the tank. Holds a ton of compressed air, you can shoot up to 50 shots per fill! Easy rail on top of the gun to mount any optics of your choice! My pick would be both an air rifle scope and the logun laser! You can also purchase a co2 adapter for this airgun to alternate with the compressed air tank. This is great for indoor practice shooting or any informal plinking. The velocity decreases a bit- but the option is great.
    Things I would have changed:The magazine does not feed the pointed pellets well, so I suggest not using pointed pellets in this air rifle.
    What others should know:Buy some heavy pellets if you are using this air rifle to hunt with. Try the Baracuda Match pellets, Beeman Kodiaks or even the Eun Jin 28.4 grain pellets. The Quiet Pellet trap works well with this item. I love target shooting with this air rifle!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By ShysterXD from USA on 2008-01-30 11:56:41

    Things I liked:The gun is metal and has a well machined, solid appearance and feel. This does however make it on the heavy side.
    Things I would have changed:The gun tends to jam a lot. The accuracy is not that good. Extra mags are too expensive.
    What others should know:While the Logun is an S-"16" you have to flip the magazine over 8 shots. Also, it's not a true semi-automatic; you have to load each round using a bolt on the side -- it doesn't automatically feed in the next pellet.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2008-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:rarely do accuracy, power, quality, and quietness come packaged together, let alone packaged in something as handsome as this rifle!!
      Things I would have changed:make warranty information and general information more readily available in the U.S. in my opinion, a product is only as good as the support structure in place for it.
      What others should know:this gun is deceivingly QUIET. the first few shots i thought something was wrong causing it to shoot way under power.... BOY WAS I WRONG!!! it is sending 21 grain pellets over the chrony @ 799fps.... thats 29 foot pounds of energy!!! the cocking action takes a bit of betting used to as well as some breaking it. the only reason i can think of that people are getting jams, is that they are leaving the rifle cocked and loaded, then forgetting and cocking it again which loads another pellet. at first mine would not chamber larger pellets, it was simply too hard to push the cocking arm, but after a couple hundred shots to break it in, it will chamber any pellets that fits in the rotary magazine. finally, the customer service at Pyramyd Air is outstanding!!! my sales rep spent almost 2 weeks dealing with me and my phone calls, taking ALOT of time to answer my questions and help me make my decision on this purchase, and i couldnt be happier... both with my new "Sweet 16" and my experience with Pyramid Air!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Norman from USA on 2008-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet. Puts 14.3 grain pellets out there at 900 plus fps with litttle more than a click. Until they hit something. Great trigger once sorted out. Accuracy settles in after a couple hundred rounds. The sense of quality of the parts is very high. The thing balances on the hand grip so handling the considerable weight is very good.
      Things I would have changed:The manual is a joke. The conditions for the "lifetime warranty" are absurd. Who is going to send one of these things to UK every two years for a grease job? For $180 plus shipping? Add a power adjuster.
      What others should know:Looks like one has to expect some teething issues with this one. It's well worth the fussing around to sort things out IMHO. This is an utterly fantastic air gun once you know how to drive it and much cheaper than other exotics. Be sure to use the 10% off coupon! As received, the trigger was as bad as a Chinese Gamo copy. It took a few hours of guessing and trying on the adjustments to get it where it should have been from the factory. But it got there. Accuracy was terrible at first: 2" groups at 10 yards!! I was ready to send the thing back. It finally got down to 1/4-3/8" after 200 rounds or so. There is no recoil so it was not a matter of managing a gigantic spring's thrashing. It takes 220 strokes of a hand pump to pressurize the big bottle and you get about 70-80 full power shots. No leaks, though. Came with nice soft case, but PA didn't put it in a plastic bag for shipping and it showed up a little dirty from sliding around in the shipping box. Looks like the Webley group is taking over Logun so the website is useless for now. Other info suggests Webley is not much concerned with quality control. I understand this gun is made in Bosnia. I can't guarantee this paragraph! It is extremely important to be sure to get the hang of the bolt with its latch. Works great, but it's different. "Supa speed" it's not. Once the magazine is inserted, one MUST pull the bolt all the way back and push all the way forward firmly until it latches to avoid feeding problems. Do this, and it feeds all pellet types just fine, thanks. If feed doesn't work right, pull the bolt back to it's hold open position and drop the magazine out. You can tell if it has misfed, index back to an empty chamber, etc., as necessary. Good arrangement, actually.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JIM from USA on 2008-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's SILENT! The only noise comes from cocking the bolt & pellet impacting the target. No more visits from the city COPS! Outstanding quality & finish. Love the air pressure guage. With a 8-30X50 NCSTAR scope & Premier hollow point pellets I easily get 3/4" groups at 30 meters, less than 1" groups at 40 - 50 meters. 70+ meters is do-able. It's a pleasure to shoot, cocks smoothly, the 16 shot mag works great, is simple to load, and my S-16 gets 80 shots per air-charge (still in the green). The Logun S-16 is silimar looking to my Airforce Condor (a very good thing) but, for me, the S-16 is more accurate, shoots 16 shots between reloads, and is very very quiet. REPEAT - IT'S QUIET!
      Things I would have changed:It's too heavy. With my scope, full clip & charged air bottle it weighs 10 1/2 pounds. It's not that bad, but compaired to my Condor it's a porker. LOGUN - lighten the S-16 up! Please. If it weighed 2 1/2 pounds less it would be perfect! The SCUBA clamp adaptor will NOT FIT on low neck K valves! An easy fix by filing down the clamp about an 1/8" with a 1/2 round file where it hits the K valve. Easy, but it should fit without you needing to fix it first. PYRAMID AIR- FIND QUIET A SEMIAUTOMATIC .22 CALIBER PELLET PCP RIFLE WITH A SILIMAR DESIGN AND IT WILL SELL BIG TIME.
      What others should know:I loved my Airforce Condor - but it was way too loud - ticked off the neighbors & resulted in 5 visits from the local cops (San Diego area). The Logun S-16 isn't cheap at $1000+. But, if you want a powerful PCP repeater rifle that's also super quiet - there is currently no other choice at any price. Getting 80+ shots per fill is a big bonus.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ANDY from United Kingdom on 2008-08-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good solid build quality,built in pressure guage,shrouded barrel/moderator,plenty of full power shots from large reservoir.lazer housing built into stock and 16 shot magazine .Matt finish and nice and easy to maintain.Very very quiet.
      Things I would have changed:Butt sleeve is rubber,uncomftable against cheek.a little on the heavy side to carry all day.Difficult to accomodate a bipod for target shooting also obscures the lazer once attached to the stock swivel.
      What others should know:I have owned one of these in the UK for two years,fell in love with it when it was released,built from machine grade aluminium with stainless innards its virtually indistructible.the best pellets i've found so far are Gamo pro magnums groups of less than one inch at 30 yards plus are not uncommon best velocities achieved at 180 bar.A point worth mentioning is watch out for the shroud coming loose when shooting It's happened to me once or twice and suddenly the shots are going wild because the pellets are clipping the baffles.Make sure you use the moly grease supplied for the O rings and not any other,because it may cause the rings to swell up and leaks are then possible.Many reports of jamming are not due to defects but miss use make sure you firmly push the bolt forwards each time and keep the bolt lightly greased,i've got used to leaving the bolt forward after the last shot and only cocking when abot to shoot,this prevents double loading.If you do get one stuck in the barrel,dont try to force it back as you will probably damage or dislodge the probe O ring,remove the barrel and push it out the correct way.Supplied with the bottle is a cap to protect the valve,make sure you replace this when not in use because its not cheap to replace also it prevents any debris from getting into the chamber and always remove the cylinder from from the rifle when storing,dissapointment is always an option when you have an empty cylinder,full tin of pellets, and no means of filling it.in summary if you want arguably one of the best PCP's on the market with a lifetime guarentee,if you have it serviced every two years for 80 pounds a time,this will be the one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chris UK from USA on 2008-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have used this gun for about a month now and love it more and more as i have used a lot of more classically styled PCPs I was not sure at first but i found it to be the most comfortable gun I have used with one proviso (see things I would change) really solid build quality ..laser position is great its almost impossible to knock it out of alignment in the field....all the comments you hear about pellet jams are down to the user I was guilty myself when i first used it but now it never happens once you get used to the bolt action
      Things I would have changed:Not a lot but i have a beard and the rubber stock gives it a damed good pull when I'm positioning my head on the scope had to do a mod on that
      What others should know:The comment by another reviewer about an oddball screw on the scope rail it is actually a security plate for what purposed I'm not sure and the Logun manual should mention it but don't ......anyway just give it a good tap with a fine point punch or just a wood nail to pierce it and it will just pop out and you will find the hex screw underneath
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Vik from USA on 2008-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:According to my experience, there is tons of WRONG info about this rifle on the web on the pellet jamming part. Leaking is the issue for people not maintaining the o rings or using wrong lubricants just because they are safe on rubber. 1. Very accurate 2. Very powerful for a 14.5" barrel. Gives 32FPE with 28.4gr and 30 FPE with 21gr. 3. Built like a tank, stainless steel internals and the shell is thick 6 series aircraft grade aluminum. 4. The bolt is very smooth on mine with a serial number starting with 19 which is a new batch. 5. The trigger is crisp 3 lbs (heavy for some) but is very fun to squeeze. It's all in the manner of how it breaks. Very clean and no wiggle. 6. Shot capacity. I'm getting 60-64 great 36 yard shots. Last eight shots (gauge showing 80 bar and in the red) were low by only two clicks on the Bushnell, and that's it. 7. I had NO pellet jams. Period. That's because (On the risk of being self promoting) I read the manual thoroughly and know how to operate this rifle and cycle the bolt fully. People, who don't do that and blame the rifle, piss me off. I always keep one mag chamber empty so when in doubt, align the empty chamber and push the bolt fully forward. If there is a pellet in the breach it will fire, otherwise it will be a dry fire with no harm. This takes care of double loading. Also, I never fire (dry or otherwise) without the mag being in its chamber. No doing so will destroy the breach seal because the probe will hit it full force when the bolt is released. Many users have destroyed their seals in this manner. 8. I fill the bottle to 210bar and leave it attached all the time. NO leaks. I make a point of lightly greasing the bottle receiver O-ring with LOGUN's SG3 grease every time I attach it. I don't over tighten the bottle either. There is a point when the bottle just stops rotating, firmly. That's it. *Some people who are having leaks are using PTFE based synthetic grease. They think that is great. NO, it is NOT! PTFE synthetic grease like Super Lube or Syncolon is formulated for metal to metal parts in a dynamic (moving) state. PTFE does a number on Nitrile rubber of Shore 70A- rating. This is the material (a.k.a. BUNA-N) that 99.99% of PCP washers are made up of. Steyr uses Polyurethane which is very robust and expensive, but then it's a Steyr. PTFE (nano particles of Teflon suspended in synthetic grease) bloats or expands the Nitrile O-rings. One should use 100% synthetic grease on Nitrile. Period. Funny thing is that if you tell these folks the truth they get offensive. Oh well it's your money. 9. The gun is very quite and the ultra shroud is very effective. 10. The gun can fit in a very small case for ease of travel. 11. Taking the gun apart and cleaning the barrel is a very easy and an entertaining job. Once you do that, you notice that it is not just another gun. It is a mechanical marvel with SS link rods, stainless steel match grade bushing that free floats the barrel, loading arm and what not. It is a very complicated rifle inside. A lot of time and R&D money has gone into designing it. No wonder it is one of the most popular rifles in the U.K. People like 220 Swift will love this rifle. 12. The double magazine is to die for. Holds 16, easy to load and cycle and, very cool. 13. Hunters could drop this rifle in mud and it will still shoot just the same. Take it out during heavy rain, no worries. 14. Even though it has a modular shroud with individual baffles, there was no pellet clipping issue even at lowest pressures. 15. For a gun of this caliber it is very reasonably priced. I can say this because I own very high end PCPs and none of them are as complicated as this one. 16. Heavy duty forearm with laser housing. 17. Excellent rifle for hunting or target shooting. 18. The gun loved a variety of pellets JSBs, H&Ns, Kodiaks ( not cheap ones, I hate CPs, very dirty)
      Things I would have changed:1. The bottle stock is VERY uncomfortable for tall fellows with long necks. Hate the feel of rubber against my face. It was freezing on top of it. The forearm is round. No good for bench rest either. 2. This rifle has a learning curve which has to be mastered. You can't just hand it over to your friend for shooting. 3. The rubber grip although good to look at is skinny and VERY uncomfortable especially for long sessions 4. Inconsistency in the size of bottle valve discharge ports. One bottle has very small ports, the other has large ones. The one with the larger ports gave me lesser shots, but still above 50. 5. No place for bipod. You can't use the sling stud insert because it will easily pop out of the rubberized forearm. I will have to get the FX clamp, as a bi-pod base and attach it to the shroud. 6. Trigger is heavy. Those who depend on a light trigger for accuracy should move on BUT, those who are hot shots or great shooters should take a look because the trigger is very clean and crisp and since their shooting skills are not dependent on a 55 gram trigger, they will love the way this one breaks. Any one who has used a very high end rim fire will love this trigger. Those folks who have experienced several high end triggers will know what I am referring to. 7. The coated finish is beautiful but not as sturdy as it should be. It rubs off on sharp bends and edges of the shroud. It is not like an anodized finish. 8. The gun is heavy for hunters (weaker ones). 10.8 lbs with scope, rings and full bottle. The necessary bi-pod will make it around 12lbs appox. But this weight is handy while target shooting which is what I am using it for. 9. This is a high maintenance gun. People, who don't maintain their rifle, need not apply. This gun is for people who love mechanics and play around with their guns apart from firing them. 10. No quick fill. It's a PITA to install and uninstall the bottle but more importantly, the O-ring takes a beating. Maybe 220 can device one for me. 11. Can't use pointed pellets. Only round nosed like the JSBs. 12. Have to invest in a custom stock and grip = more money.
      What others should know:If the owner does his part in maintaining this rifle, it will last him his life time. Just maintain the O-rings and LEARN this rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By ShysterXD from USA on 2008-01-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is metal and has a well machined, solid appearance and feel. This does however make it on the heavy side.
      Things I would have changed:The gun tends to jam a lot. The accuracy is not that good. Extra mags are too expensive.
      What others should know:While the Logun is an S-"16" you have to flip the magazine over 8 shots. Also, it's not a true semi-automatic; you have to load each round using a bolt on the side -- it doesn't automatically feed in the next pellet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2007-12-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, exceptional accuracy, good pellet and air capacity, and almost silence of report. (this is the .22 precharged air, not CO2 I have)
      Things I would have changed:Better documentation and advocacy--you REALLY have to be mindful of cocking the lever and jamming the next pellet in. If you don't you end up allowing some of the air to escape out the side, potentially jamming the pellet in the barrel, but worse loading multiple pellets in, thus increasing your chance of jammage. The manual also speaks of being able to remove the barrel for cleaning and references removing the screws on the scope rail, however the two models I've had, there's one hex screw that you can get off and another oddball screw that has a smooth dimple in it that I'm not sure you could get out w/o drilling out. They need to address that.
      What others should know:This is a GREAT gun. This is my 5th air rifle coming from Crossman pump models of various powers, Daisy Red Rider, a Beeman 0035 break barrel, a Crossman 1008 pistol and a Gamo Varmint Hunter. This gun exhibits great accuracy at very far distances (I'd say 100-150 feet--I haven't measured exactly). When using the blog-recommended RWS Superdomes I get excellent grouping and have even been able to split small vines with this rifle using an 8x32x56 Leapers scope (this scope REALLY compliments this gun). For target practice and possibly hunting (I don't), I don't believe you can go wrong with this rifle.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pobox28298 from USA on 2007-10-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:LOOKS, SOLID, ACCURACY, QUIET REPORT, VERSATILITY IN CO2/AIR PROPELLANT GAS. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
      Things I would have changed:PRICE A BIT TOO HIGH AND A BIT ON THE HEAVY SIDE BUT YOU CAN'T HAVE YOU CAKE AND EAT IT TOO. NEED MORE PARTS ACCESSORIES AVAILABILITY FROM PYRAMID AIR......LIKE SILENCER MODULES FOR THE SHROUD. OTHER WEBSITES IN ENGLAND OFFERS IT.
      What others should know:THE CO2 ADAPTER CAN ACCOMMODATE ALSO HIGH PRES. PAINTBALL AIRTANKS, AND THAT'S A PLUSSSSS+
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sharon from USA on 2007-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This rifle has a shrouded barrel, so it is virtually silent! Great hunting air rifle since it has 2 eight shot magazines back to back- 16 shot magazine! Very comfortable to hold because of the pistol grip and the butt plate on the tank. Holds a ton of compressed air, you can shoot up to 50 shots per fill! Easy rail on top of the gun to mount any optics of your choice! My pick would be both an air rifle scope and the logun laser! You can also purchase a co2 adapter for this airgun to alternate with the compressed air tank. This is great for indoor practice shooting or any informal plinking. The velocity decreases a bit- but the option is great.
      Things I would have changed:The magazine does not feed the pointed pellets well, so I suggest not using pointed pellets in this air rifle.
      What others should know:Buy some heavy pellets if you are using this air rifle to hunt with. Try the Baracuda Match pellets, Beeman Kodiaks or even the Eun Jin 28.4 grain pellets. The Quiet Pellet trap works well with this item. I love target shooting with this air rifle!
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top