Makarov CO2 BB Pistol reviews - page 5

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2011-02-14 21:12:53

Things I liked: I collect Makarov firearms and air pistols, and this is the nicest air pistol version of the gun. The finish on the metal is flawless, and the gun feels like the real deal in your hand. It's a very realistic copy of the firearm. Anyone would be proud to own this pistol. And the accuracy is stunning. It shoots like a pellet pistol, rather than a BB pistol. And it shoots right to the point of aim.

Things I would have changed: I wouldn't change a thing! This gun cannot be made to have blowback, so there is no sense asking for it. That would take a complete redesign. But as a shooter, there aren't many BB pistols that can beat it.

What others should know: I got 86 good shots from a single CO2 Powerlet. That was by waiting 10 seconds between shots. If you are shooting for accuracy, that's easy to do. If you shoot faster, expect fewer shots per cartridge. I found Daisy zinc-plated BBs to be the most accurate. And don't forget to always put a drop of Crosman Pellgunoil on the tip of each new CO2 cartridge before puncturing it.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By Marian from USA on 2011-12-21 12:01:08

Things I liked: This is my second review of this gun. I've had it for over a year now, and it is a good shooter. Unfortunately, recently the CO2 cartridge seal stopped working. I contacted Umarex about having the gun fixed but was told, I quote, "...Unfortunately we do not repair that model..." I liked the gun so much that I was willing to buy another new one if the cost of repair+ S&H was too high, but with this statement I'll pass on their products altogether.

Things I would have changed: Better support. Why would they not fix their own product is beyond me. I would pay for the repair.

What others should know: Be aware that after the warranty expires, you are on your own!!!!

Sort by:
  • Previous 12 ... 456 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2010-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Accuracy is only limited by my trigger squeeze and ability to use the sights, up to 15 meters. Get 72 to 90 rounds per CO2 cartridge, which seal perfectly. All metal construction has nice heft to it, feels solid for what I am guessing is cast metal. It just feels neat to load a magazine and start plinking. Best bang for the buck as far as I am concerned, and Pyramid sells demos for around $35 if you keep your eyes open.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is a little stiff in single action, reducing accuracy. only shot about 110 rounds also so that might change. Or get modified. The handle grips slide too easily, mostly when I take it out of my holster. If you have a pistol lanyard, it will not work since the lanyard attachment is part of the sliding grips and not the gun's frame. Oh well thought, no biggie.

    What others should know: They sell spare magazines for just under $20, upon request only though. It's always good to have backup! Daisy Precision Max BB's work flawlessly. Double action has easier trigger pull, but sometimes empties the 'chamber'. That might be user error though.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ed from USA on 2010-10-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fits my Mak holster perfectly. Feel in the hand. REAL nice pistol.

    Things I would have changed: Finish is fine but a matte finish might be better. Loose grips but not anything to fret over believe me.

    What others should know: After 9 months I called Pyramid about spare mags. The girl said none were available and there was no indication as to when they might be available. She also looked it up on the Umarex web sight and said they did not show them as available. Disapointment ! I asked her to put this on her agenda for her next customer service meeting and she said she would. Then I called Umarex directly and talked to Anna who said they indeed had the mags for the Mak, how many did I want !!? Umarex' web sight is not up to date or they are holding back high demand parts for a hot selling pistol. Go figure. Got my extra mags.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By mellan600 from USA on 2010-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice little pistol - ok for adult supervised children use. Small size makes it easy take with you. I have also Russian made Baikal co2 -Makarov - I prefer the Umarex made.

    Things I would have changed: Sights not very nice - both front and rear one too narrow for my liking. Blow-back would be nice to have!

    What others should know: An Estonian netpal told about using real Makarov as service weapon. The Makarov was known as "throwing weapon" as they find it easier and more accurate to throw than shoot with it! He also advised not to safe cocked Makarov - as the hammer then drops down it quite often goes bang..

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2010-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an all metal gun with a detachable metal clip. The metal clip was especially important to me because the cheap plastic clip on my Walther PPK split along the seam. Almost all of this gun is metal except for the grips (which are also plastic on the real thing) and the C02 pierce screw. I like the way the grip slides back to enable replacement of the C02 cartridge. The pistol disassembles just like the firearm. The gun is accurate enough, the fit and finish is good, and the weight is spot on.

    Things I would have changed: I am comparing this pistol with my Walther PPK which the Makarov was designed after. Just a couple of complaints. The shooting action is a little disappointing to me. I expected it to cycle like my PPK where the slide retracts for each shot. This provides a more realistic firing behavior. Unfortunately the Makarov does not have this action. Even though the slide functions to cock the gun, it does not move when firing. Also, the C02 pierce screw is made from nylon. I am very disappointed that it was not made of brass or another type of metal. My PPK's plastic C02 screw is stripped and now the gun is unusable. Of all things they chose to make plastic!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tony from USA on 2010-08-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight is very realistic, nice heft. The 16 rd clip adequate. One of the most accurate CO2 pistols I have shot. I have hit grasshoppers at 15 to 20 ft.

    Things I would have changed: The plastic grips detract from an otherwise nice pistol. The fit is loose, though manageable. I wouldn't be surprised if they break within a year. I would then prefer to obtain wooden replacements if possible.

    What others should know: The 18 round clip (2252233) is available at Umarexusa.com (ask).

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Marian from USA on 2010-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Look pretty realistic. The weight seems correct for the size; the gun is all metal. Take down is like in the real-steel. The gun's is consistent with its point of impact(POI)and gives very tight groups for a pistol with a non-rifled barrel(1&1/8 inch from 15 ft). However mine had the POI about 1.5" hight and 1.5" to the right of the point of aim (POA). Good on C02 use, I'm getting approx. 100 strong shots/12g capsule @ 80+ F. Strong and noisy

    Things I would have changed: The tolerance between the slide and the frame is pretty "liberal"(or sloppy, if you will), so the slide can shift to one side, as mine did, hence messing up the POI vs. POA arrangement. I added some electric tape on one side of the barrel close to the muzzle to force the slide right & up with respect to the barrel, and the POI alligned with POA very nicely.

    What others should know: This pistol, just like the original, has a lanyard attachment loop on the bottom, left-hand side of the grip. If you are left-handed, as I am, this hard loop will dig into your left hand, making long shooting sessions uncomfortable. Double action trigger pull is actually easier and more predictable then the single action pull, at least in my gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jonathan from USA on 2010-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about this pistol is high-quality and reliable. Very realistic unless you're looking at the end of the barrel. This is an affordable, high-quality plinker. The value for the price is just unbelievable. Overall I am VERY pleased!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. If you want more realism then buy the real thing!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: metal magazine. when safety is on it locks the entire gun so nothing but magazine moves. I compared it to the real thing and it's accurate in size, weight, and markings. It also can be taken down like the real thing but it'snot very easy to put together again.

    Things I would have changed: It's a nice gun for the price. I wouldn't change anything

    What others should know: very believable. looks like the real gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: Like all pistols it is not the most accurate beast you can get, but it had plenty of power and was fairly loud. the frame is all metal so the heft is about the same as a real Makarov. It appears to be the same dimensions as the real one as well. I see lots of belly aching here about the co2 charging screw on the bottom of the gun. I see it for myself and it is low profile enough that nobody watching you shoot the thing will notice it.

    Things I would have changed: It would be better with a blowback design even if that cuts in to the muzzle velocity, The single action or double action is a good thing since the trigger feels a bit awkward as does the real thing.

    What others should know: Even though I see lots of griping about this gun, I recommend it, especially if you are doing some kind of reenactment and need a russian bad guy... or good guy, depending on your point of view. After all, history's bad guys always had people that believed in them, or else how did they come to power? (Note: this is not an endorsement of what histories bad guys did, it's just a logical point.)

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Matt from USA on 2010-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: looks exactly like a real makarov except for the co2 charging tab under the grip and the fact that the 4.5 mm barrel extends all the way to the end of the barrel instead of being recessed back to make it look more realistic. i suppose this was done so it could immediately be identified as an airgun when looking down the barrel. It is rather powerful but uses co2 quite efficiently. It is really loud for a peashooter. fairly accurate and easy to use.

    Things I would have changed: It needs to have a blowback mechanism. The real gun was a blowback operated single action, so why not use the same principle for the replica? I also think the co2 cylinder should be incorporated in the same unit as the clip that would add realism and do away with the grip panel problems. That modification would also enable the mag release on the side of the gun to be used. The takedown lever AKA the trigger guard has alot of play and seems flimsy it doesn't lock in place either; that should be addressed.

    What others should know: Its a fun little plinker that looks strikingly similar to its real 9mm counterpart. Fair accuracy, good power. just a fun gun to shoot. It obviously wasn't engineered very well, but it works... and its a bb gun, so whatever. Not a very big dent on the credit card statement either.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Philip from USA on 2010-03-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: Nice feel, can be modified rather simple to use Crosman barrels instead of the provided straw smooth-bore barrel. Nice shot count. Out of the box it will group well at 20-25 feet. Mine will group well at 50 feet after mods.

    Things I would have changed: For starters, Umarex needs to carry and supply parts for this gun, i.e. seals and orings - they are not going to. It is made in Taiwan by a reputable airsoft maker. In fact, the new Crosman C41 is made by the same folks and may use the same valve and what not. Crosman is not going to supply parts for theirs either nor will the original manufacturer. Essentially, when the seals go, it makes a nice paper weight or wall hanger. I have retro-fitted some Crosman seals, but it just isn't the same. The CO2 piercing disk on this will fail quickly. When that happens you will need to retro fit a Crosman Piercing disk which is 1/2 inch in diameter; the original is only 3/8 in diameter. Get your dremel tool ready...

    What others should know: It's great, but when the seals go you may as well buy another for parts.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By cnoel60 from USA on 2010-03-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Has the capability to shoot 1.5" groups at 30 feet

    Things I would have changed: Flex & wiggle on the handgrips. Drops the first bb out of the barrel about half the time. Hammer cocks hard sometimes.

    What others should know: All three of the Makarovs I purchased recently pull to the right - two to four inches at 30 feet. The Umarex people were no help, they promptly retuned it to me without a word. Be prepared widen the rear sight blade a fabricate an overblade if you want this thing to shoot straight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Christopher from USA on 2010-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Weight and feel of a real firearm. Takedown and operation is similar to the real Makarov. It is a pleaure to shoot and practice with. Metal construction is solid (even the mag!).

    Things I would have changed: Other than making it a blowback gun, little else. The grip is a little sloppy and is plastic; that's my only detractor.

    What others should know: The DA trigger pull is a little spongy and the SA pull is noticeably more crisp. The gun shoots better than the shooter. It's efficient with the CO2 and is an all-around fun repeater. Since it mimicks the real firearm closely in many aspects this will serve a good trainer for me and my family.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kent of Exeter from USA on 2010-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I*ve shot BB guns all my life. But this is the first co2 pistol. I love it. Shot 9 holes in my bathroom door the first night. Pretty accurate little bugger also. Very similar to the Russian made Makarov. They done good for the price. And the steel feel, feels good in your hand. Nice finish, but the hand grips need work.

    Things I would have changed: Made stronger, tighter grips.

    What others should know: Buy one for yourself, they are great.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By t34skyhawk from USA on 2010-01-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: gun is just plain badass...accurate, all metal ...props to umarex

    Things I would have changed: wierd knob at base of grip

    What others should know: buy it!

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By franksauser from USA on 2009-12-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks great. Packaging is excellent.

    What others should know: Out of the box, would not hold gas. Unshootable.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Timothy from USA on 2009-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The build of this pistol is incredilble. I have found it to be very accurate. The price overall is a bargain.

    Things I would have changed: The grips are a bit loose. Some aluminum tape placed at top and bottom of both sides fixed this problem easily.

    What others should know: This is by far the best BB pistol I have purchased so far. I was not expecting it to be accurate. From 25ft I shot consistant nickel size groups which for a smooth bore short barrel BB pistol is fantastic. I honestly can't figure out why it is so low priced.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2009-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very realistic little gun. Very good weight, feels comfortable in the hand. After getting used to the sight I found it very accurate

    Things I would have changed: The plastic handle that slides open to load the CO2 could be a lot more sturdy. I found it to be adequate but would had been nicer if it had a little more weight so it does not slide during firing. I found the mag a little awkward to load

    What others should know: Would like to have the option of a second mag. Overall a great little gun well worth the price

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2009-09-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate at 10 to 15 feet. Quite a loud report (sound on full CO2 cylinder) though there is very little recoil if you can hold the gun steady. Weight of a real firearm. Full metal, replica of original Makarov. It has an option to cock it using the movable slide and fires like an auto. Drop down magazine is also made of metal.

    Things I would have changed: Wood grips instead of plastic ones. Slide should eject a chambered BB and ejection hole should allow a single pellet to be loaded (dual ammo).

    What others should know: Use a rubber band over the plastic grips as that does get a little loose with time (mine is still quite new) and a shaky grip may result in poor accuracy. You can empty the 18 bb magazine in seconds through single action rapid fire but if you wait a second or two between each shot under normal conditions you will get max power with CO2.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2009-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Like the look and feel, have reviewed this two months ago, and have shot it heavily. It still performs great! I agree with lonewolf051, the grip has serious issues, in fact mine came off the frame easily when I was reloading the CO2!Still, the amount of gun you get for the price is amazing...and it feels so much like the real gun, I feel I'm getting valuable practice every time I pick it up and shoot, or just mess around with it...

    Things I would have changed: The grips

    What others should know: What a great value

  • Previous 12 ... 456 Next
Navigation