Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Ruger Air Hawk Combo reviews - page 3

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By paul from USA on 2012-06-08 20:59:25

    Things I liked:I like a lot of things about this rifle. When it came I thought, that's a lot of rifle for the money! It has a nice weight to it, maybe more than you'd want to carry all day in the field, but to me the heft is an advantage. It feels very solid and I think the mass helps accuracy. The trigger is fine. This rifle is manufactured under license in China, but it seems very well made! and I have had zero problems with it. No leaking seals, no loose screws, zero problems. I like the wood stock a lot. Cocking effort is manageable. I have no complaints! It is also deadly accurate. I'm picking off crows at 50-80 feet using Beeman Crow Magnums. I haven't even mounted the scope, just using the nice open sights. I do miss some shots, but I believe when I miss, my marksmanship is probably more to blame than the rifle. It's a great way to train yourself to be a more accurate shooter. Kill power with the crow magnums is excellent. If you hit them in the wing or tail you may just get a squawk and knock off a couple feathers, but anywhere else and they crash & burn. You do not need .22 for these critters. The muzzle velocity with the .177 pellets is impressive. This is a real weapon. I've had the rifle for over a year, and have fired 500 rounds through it. Highly recommended!
    Things I would have changed:Don't want to sound like some company shill, but I honestly cannot think of what I would change. Great rifle for the money.
    0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Blue from USA on 2010-01-08 00:47:06

    Things I liked:DO NOT BUY THIS AIR RIFLE...COMPLETE CHINESE CRAP. I DON'T EVER SPEND TIME REVIEWING ANYTHING, BUT THIS IS WORTH THE WARNING. ALL THE SCREWS CAME LOOSE, ON BARREL, AND ON SCOPE AND ON STOCK. AFTER, LOCTITE BLUE ON ALL, STILL ALL CAME LOOSE BECAUSE OF HEAVY RECOIL. CANNOT ZERO SCOPE FOR LONG. TRIGGER IS NOT REALLY ADJUSTABLE, IF YOU TURN TOO FAR, TRIGGER CEASES TO FUNCTION, FEELS LIKE A BROKEN CAP GUN TRIGGER. TONS OF CREEP IN TRIGGER ONCE THE SLACK IT TAKEN IN, THROWS OFF ACCURACY. Let's not forget the significant barrel droop. Also, you will have to refinish the wood, comes with a very dull, dry finish, needs tung oil or wax. Very heavy gun.
    Things I would have changed:MAKE A BETTER GUN
    What others should know:SAVE YOUR MONEY AND BUY AN R-9 USED. RUGER FAILED. The gun looked great when I bought it, functioned well for a time and then completely fell apart on me.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-08-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great air rifle for the cost. Accurate. Easy to use.
      Things I would have changed:Not much
      What others should know:Go to any auto parts store and purchase a tube of Lock Tite blue. It will keep your fasteners from loosening from vibration of shooting. Screws can be removed with a screw driver. Lock Tite will be sheared upon removal of screws.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ok I broke out the chrony heres the results. 1343 fps first shot sounded like a 22 for about 6 shots still in the 1200 1300 range after about 30 + shots settled down to 930 FPS range and stayed there this was with beeman HP 7.2 gr shoots straight but high even after rear site was bottomed out with these pellets. May have to consider a different brand for this gun
      What others should know:Above was at 25 yrds may be dead on at longer ranges havent tried yet
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best trigger out of the box bar none 1.4 lb pull.Great balance.Hitting dime sized gravel at 60 ft on 3rd round with open sights I'll let ya know when I check the chrony too hot to set it up right now. Quiet and a beautiful gun.Bluing is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:Dove tail is too small for scope. Scope is tasco quality so offer it without the scope, put the safety in trigger weld not a big deal.stock is very soft and easy to scratch as with all chinese guns yup its from china.
      What others should know:Everyone in my HO needs a gun with open sights for practice, plus ,when it gets this humid scopes can be a drag due to fogging ,and last but not least, this gun LOVES CPHP .177. I hate it when people say "find the right ammo" leaving ya hanging lets help each other out here folks.overall this is an excellent rifle at twice the price.Oh BTW clean the barrel and tighten the screws right out of the box.God bless ya ..
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bob from USA on 2011-07-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice feel, good velocity, lots of power, accurate. I liked the scope - even though it's an economy scope it works well.
      Things I would have changed:Mine had a bad finish. I sent it back and while I was at it, I had it replaced with a Crosman Nitro Titan GP because the Air Hawk had such a strong kick and was quite loud even at subsonic velocity. The works go off with a mechanical BANG from inside the rifle in addition to the usual sound of air releasing/expanding from the muzzle you get with an airgun. Two bangs in one. I guess that's normal for a springer? Use hearing protection. Cocking requires a strong arm, at least before it's broken in.
      What others should know:Too loud for me but good if you like a lot of BANG when your gun fires. Also good if you like a lot of hiting power in an affordable air rifle. Use light pellets and you'll get the sonic boom as well, simulating a firearm. Personally I like the quieter, lower velocity version of the .22 Crosman Nitro better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By rdrose from USA on 2011-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome RWS34 copy for the price. Not bad quality at all for a chinese springer. Shoots pretty accurately out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:The included scope isn't bad but the rings are rubbish. This gun really deserves a better scope and rings from the start.
      What others should know:I had to recrown the barrel for it to shoot more accurately but that doesn't mean all of them will come with bad crowns. Its a great gun for the money. It is very hold sensitive so consistent form is needed to shoot accurately. Before you get going with it all the screws should be cleaned and lock-tited as they tend to back out from the recoil. It took mine close to 1000 shots to break in and stop dieseling. Would really benefit from a clean and lube job. Tends to like Crosman Premier Hollowpoints and Predator Polymags.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By MustangMike from USA on 2011-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Trigger... I have the 1st stage set to shortest amount of creep which is about a 1/4in. Then when it stops you have hit the 2nd stage and it breaks very cleanly and sharply. Weight... the rifle has a good weight to it, it is not light weight. But I like my rifles to have a good solid weight to them. So far its been doing better on altho I have not really been trying to do anything other then just shoot it and get the break in time over with. I did have a chance to drop a possum last night. Open sights about 15yrds away (very bright porch light), one shot to the head and it was lights out. Getting .65in groups at 10yrds after about 150rds.
      Things I would have changed:Some sort of "globe" over the front sight to protect it A "NO SCOPE" OPTION, I preffer to buy a different scope for my rifles since combo scopes kind of suck. I would have paid the same price for a "no scope" version as I did for the combo.. Weaver rail instead of the dovetail The option to have a gas spring upgrade and this rifle shares the same spring/pistin internal setup as the rws 34. So springs, pistons and seals for a rws 34 work in this rifle.
      What others should know:I did not buy mine from PA, a local store had it for a few bucks less after tax then PA+shipping was and I had a nice long weekend in the texas hill country and wanted to shoot while I was there. Over all I really like this airgun, its got a great feel and imho I think its got a better feel over all then my gamo whisper. I think this rifle could retail for $139.99, the quality is there.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Steven from USA on 2011-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:sturdy construction, high quality some mention the cheap scope, but it seems good to me
      Things I would have changed:somewhat heavy and hard for my kids to crack the barrel for loading
      What others should know:I am not a hunter. My kids like the BB gun I inherited from my GF (old daisy). The squirrels chewed our plastic liner for the winter ice rink ($200 to replace), then chewed wiring in my car and made a nest ($260). At that point I declared war, and bought this air rifle. We wiped out 3 squirrels last weekend - my 13yo bagged one from a tree. Just like Charlie Sheen, we are WINNING! I am quite the novice but I was able to attach the scope and set up a target to align it. I got it down to about 2cm off center at 60 feet. I have one of the screws turned all the way - not sure if there is any way to remedy that.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2011-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The finish and the aspect, its very nice, light weight, very accurate, trigger clocks in at about 2.6 lbs so its very good.
      Things I would have changed:The stock, the rear cocking arm can be improved, but isn't completely necessary, the front sight ring.
      What others should know:The part of the stock where you grip it in your hands was a bit balky, so i remade it, and refurbished it to fit my likings, i redid the stock to portray the stock of the Beeman R9. I installed a one piece scope mount and the center point to a 4x16x40. The accuracy is awesome; from 25 yards, i hit pennies w/ the Kodiak, and the RWS super mag pellets. After about 50 shots, the scope- stop screw broke off, because the scope was kinda too heavy, so I had to make my own which turned out to work much better. When I bought the gun, i tested the velocity, and i got 817 fps with the RWS super mag pellets 9.3g; that was actually a pretty reasonable velocity. i knew i could have improved this to make it better. So I ordered a new seal from Umarex, and they sent me it in 5 days. The velocity went up to 965 fps with the same pellets; it was awesome. Yes, I replaced the screws from the stock, because the original ones became very loose after about 100 shots; with the new ones I got for free from Umarex, and a bit of tread lock, I could fix the rifle's stock, and I had no more problems with the screws loosening. The rifle has some pretty big recoil, and it likes heavy pellets. W/ the scope installed, the rifle is pretty heavy and balanced because I can withhold the weight, and I rather have the gun heavy than too light. From 40 yards, a crow would have no chance to survive.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By vernon from USA on 2011-03-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The heft&wood on this air rifle,plus it is almost exact clone of RWS model 34,wish it would come in .22 cal,but with ballistic .177 cal ammo ,its almost there,and the power is very very good
      Things I would have changed:Lock washers on the 3 screws,they do work loose&need to be tightened up after 20 shots,expect to shoot at least 250-300 rounds ,before it settles in
      What others should know:If you are on a budget,dont over look the low price this gun will eventually suprise you,over all i would have given this air rifle 5 stars,but the 3 screws that work loose took that away
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By jakk from USA on 2011-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Handling, fit & finish, power & accuracy. One-shot kill on crows at 50 yards +.
      Things I would have changed:Be careful when loading pellet. If not seated straight-and it's easy to get one cockeyed-your accuracy will suffer.
      What others should know:Seat the pellet straight in the chamber--it can be inserted cocked slightly to one side and your accuracy will suffer
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Flaco from USA on 2011-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the rifle two years ago and not missed anything and has very good accuracy and the trigger is very soft.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Howard from USA on 2011-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Has a nice feel. I am a large man and this rifle has plenty of heft. More than enough power. Nice looking wood stock. I, as others have said like the optic open sights. I have other scoped rifles and I may not put the scope on this one. Lives up to its name, Ruger.
      Things I would have changed:Not really other than an option to not buy the scope.
      What others should know:This gun is extremely loud!! I took it out in the back yard to try it. I fired one round and headed back indoors! It is every bit as loud as a .22 long rifle! So I would not recomend it as a back yard plinker!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power, accurate, and is a good looking air rifle. I really like the open sights so much I have not put the scope on. In fact I may never put the scope on. Its just to much fun the way it is.
      Things I would have changed:Give the option to buy it without the scope. I like it enough with the open sights.
      What others should know:This is a very solid and well built rifle. It is a bit hard to pump, but its not bad.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Chantao from USA on 2010-12-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It hits hard with awesome accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:If there is an option to drop the scope, it will be great.
      What others should know:The scope mounts simply came off after just a few shots. Probably due to the heavy weight and recoil of this gun. I placed an order for a 1-pc mount, see if it could help... In the mean time, open slight shooting is great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rocks4 from USA on 2010-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great feel. Very accurate. Open sights are very good.
      Things I would have changed:A little better scope would be nice but that is no big deal.
      What others should know:A little hard to break, but I am very satisfied with this gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2010-11-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I got one for the Ruger label. It quickly became my hunting rifle of choice. I've taken it on many a hunting adventure and think of it like an old friend. It's easy to cock, easy to aim and shoot, and it looks great. I recommend a gamo gun buddy if you plan on any distance of a hike as it does get a bit heavy if you are just carying it.
      Things I would have changed:nothing. it's a fine gun
      What others should know:definitely a gun you need if you hunt
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By 2AMatti... from USA on 2010-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The heft and overall quality is evident right out of the box! Has incredible accuracy with open sights if you take your time in tuning your rifle properly by torqing your scope mounts firmly not over torque, an tighten all visable screws. This rifle will hit whatever you want it too, always use "Artilery Hold"you can't miss, see Youtube-Artilery Hold for reference...
      Things I would have changed:Changing anything now would only Jepordize this great rifles performance.
      What others should know:If you want somthing powerful, beautiful, accurate and affordable you should absolutely look no further than this Ruger powerhouse, I promise you wont be dissapointed or regret this purchase. It will last you a lifetime of shooting enjoyment as long as you take care of it, like you should with all your guns...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By gunitalia from USA on 2010-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great price, power and accuracy. It is way more accurate than I am. Mine seems to like Crossman Premier HPs. At 20 yards, it made a single ragged 1/2" hole in paper (before fully broken in). If I do everything correctly as the shooter, my Air Hawk can put 4 out of 5 CP/HPs onto pond turtle heads out to 75 yds.. Any misses are my fault at estimating distance and thus crosshair placement, aiming wiggle, trigger finger consistency, etc. Very fast followup shots (compared to the multi-pump pelguns I've used for 40 years!) Rear open sight is very easy to get adjusted on target.
      Things I would have changed:Ship a better scope, even if they have to raise the price a little. The packaged Ruger branded scope's crosshairs broke at around 450 rounds. (Until then, it worked very well with very good clarity.) I replaced the broken scope with a cheap Winchester/Daisy 4x32 AO scope...so far, so good after about 200 shots. Before getting the new scope, I used the open sights for several hundred rounds and found them adequate and, eventually, got used to them, hitting the turtle heads 2 out of 5 shots. The open sights would be so much better if the front sight width was reduced 50-75%. It needs some form of attachment points for a sling for field carry.
      What others should know:This rifle is HEAVY overall, and doesn't balance well for one-hand carry. Without a sling, it's unwieldy to carry long distances in the field or through the woods. Besides the crappy scope, that's the only complaint I can come up with after 1000 shots! I really don't believe that other springers costing 2-4X as much can actually be much better than my Ruger AH. Oh, one other thing, don't waste your money on those "high velocity" non-lead pellets in this rifle. The sonic boom causes really bad accuracy (3"-4" groups at 20yds.) and sounds like a .22LR.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By john2602 from USA on 2010-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Seems to be very solidly made. I have had no problems with mine to date. First pellet gun. I use it at the campground for basic plinking and squirels.
      Things I would have changed:Open sights are a little weak. They seem to be poorly setup and I do not trust them. I put the scope on after setting up the open sights and all is well. The scope is what I would expect for the money. Seems a bit on the heavy side.
      What others should know:I would recommend this gun to anyone for a first timer. With the scope I have not problems with 50+ yard shots. It is fairly accurate and for the most part well made.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2010-09-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Outstanding accuracy once I learned how to use the artillery grip. It's broken in now with about 700 shots through it and is smooth to cock and fire. The trigger release got smoother with time. The power is sufficient and I clocked Crosman Premier 7.9gr at 927fps. The premier heavy 10.5gr were 760fps. Ballistics programs show that the lighter pellets deliver more punch under 40 yards. At about 40 yards the energy delivered is the same for both pellets then the heavier pellets carry more beyond that as the pellets slow down. The scope is OK, but I had trouble with the mounts. They simply wouldn't stay on in the face of the recoil. I went to the Accushot one piece mount and it held very well but I had another problem. I couldn't get my eye close enough to the scope to use it properly. I finally solved this by getting the Accushot Offset mount that allowed me to move the scope back two more inches. That worked but I had another problem with the furnished scope, it's blurry on my 10 meter indoor range. I finally realized that I needed a scope with an adjustable objective lens in order to focus at close distances. I solved this by getting the Leapers 3-9X32 Golden Image scope and then found that being longer than the original scope I could use it with the first one piece mount I had bought. Now it is a first class setup! I'm shooting dime sized groups inside and getting smaller.
      Things I would have changed:The scope mounts! Those furnished are unusable. The scope is just OK for the price, but there is such a big difference with an upgrade that I recommend doing it.
      What others should know:This has been a learning experience from the start. Learning how to hold a spring piston rifle was the first hurdle. Next I found that I had to get my eye closer to the scope to get any accuracy. I don't know if I got used to the kick or if it became lesser as the gun broke in. At first it was enough to make me flinch. I've tried the Walther Talon Magnum and found it to be a real beast by comparison It makes the Air Hawk feel like a carbine in comparison. When I first got the Air Hawk it felt huge, but I'm very comfortable with it now. I really like this air rifle.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top