Date: 27/5/2017 11:19
0

Ruger Air Magnum Combo reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Conor from USA on 2011-09-01 09:41:20

Things I liked: The weight of the gun seems even...The POWER is AWESOME!!!!! Make sure you only shoot heavy pellets (10g+) through it, because I already had to replace the piston seal from shooting 7.56 grain pellets through it. This gun is my favorite (besides my XL 1100...) for $165, you can't find a better deal!

Things I would have changed: Offer this with a better (Leapers 3-9x40) scope...I sent mine to Umarex for pellets since it wasn't very good.

What others should know: The trigger pull seems kinda long, but you'll get used to it.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:2.0

By Brian from USA on 2017-04-21 19:00:37

Things I liked: Pellet speed is the only real positive thing I can say, this is just a pinker, period. No more accurate than a pump rifle for way less money. But you don't have to pump it, I guess that's another positive. I have tried a few different pellets, crossman premiums at 14.3 grains wer about the most consistent @ 6" grouping of 5 rounds at 27 yards.. The heavier pellets 17 grain shot about 6" higher.. No idea why.. Still grouped about the same. I cleaned the barrel when I got it.. Very dirty, The scope is a joke,, no magnification really. And blurry a little.. Better off with open sights, as least I don't see the "dime size" point im trying to hit. Lol Don't expect to hit a golf ball at 25 yds. Consistently

Things I would have changed: Cost and accuracy. Not a great deal for the $$

What others should know: It has power to take out pests but I'd invest in something better so you hit close to where your aiming..

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Pellet speed is the only real positive thing I can say, this is just a pinker, period. No more accurate than a pump rifle for way less money. But you don't have to pump it, I guess that's another positive. I have tried a few different pellets, crossman premiums at 14.3 grains wer about the most consistent @ 6" grouping of 5 rounds at 27 yards.. The heavier pellets 17 grain shot about 6" higher.. No idea why.. Still grouped about the same. I cleaned the barrel when I got it.. Very dirty, The scope is a joke,, no magnification really. And blurry a little.. Better off with open sights, as least I don't see the "dime size" point im trying to hit. Lol Don't expect to hit a golf ball at 25 yds. Consistently

    Things I would have changed: Cost and accuracy. Not a great deal for the $$

    What others should know: It has power to take out pests but I'd invest in something better so you hit close to where your aiming..

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Brian from USA on 2017-04-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: cheap for a hard hitter, fun to just sit and plink a little, hit water filled cans and action targets. hits hard. the scope is ok for the yardage you will be shooting at.. 30 yards.. beyond that its a scatter gun..lol might be better with heavy pellets, i used 14 and 17 grain..

    Things I would have changed: accuracy.

    What others should know: I cleaned the barrel first, it was very dirty.. my first few shots were loud until the oil burned off.. dont expect to hold your own against a good springer with this.. its right in its price point for what it is, it shoots very fast and hits hard.. very hard.. i think you'll do better with heavier pellets.. get as heavy as you can when you buy it..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2017-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I own both calibers of this rifle. Both are extremely accurate and powerful. The triggers are smooth and break crisply for guns in this price range. Both calibers like the Crosman Premium hollow points - very economical! The scopes, contrary to the opinions of many regarding "bundled packages", are fine. They zero quickly and remain zeroed. With the application of thread-lock to the screws, they don't drift. Fit and finish is 10/10.

    Things I would have changed: It would be good to see this gun produced with a walnut checkered, Monte Carlo stock, cheek rest, and forearm.

    What others should know: The .177 caliber will easily send projectiles downrange at supersonic velocities. It isn't quiet. That said, it isn't what I'd classify as "neighborhood friendly" unless you have understanding and accepting neighbors. Both calibers require a little more effort than lesser velocity guns, to break open and cock. I'm muscular with good upper body strength, and immediately noticed this. Practice and master the artillery hold with both. The accuracy will absolutely impress you! Give the included scope a chance. In my opinion, the two I have are very acceptable.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I recently purchased a Ruger Air Magnum in .22 and this is my third. I own two Xisico XS 28. Xisico makes several of the Ruger air rifles including the Air magnum. Yes they are made in China but in my opinion its hard to find a better deal at this price and capable of 24 fpe in .22. A tune can and 30 dollars in parts can make the Air magnum an outstanding gun. When I ordered the gun I also ordered a new spring and seal from Vortek. I disassembled, deburred and cleaned. Reassembled/lubed with new spring and seal . It is shooting a very consistent 825 fps with H&N FTT 14.66 5.53 Basically 22fpe. The tune transforms a good gun into a great gun. Much calmer firing cycle and still retaining plenty of power. I have only been using the open sights for now and it shoots awesome (scope coming soon). Effortlessly shooting plastic golf balls freehand at 20 yards. For about 250 dollars for the whole project I could not be happier.

    Things I would have changed: When I disassembled the gun the seal looked terrible and there was some rust inside. I am not sure the gun world have functioned very well without a tune. But these guns respond well to a tune. I recommend buying it knowing it should be torn down and cleaned up at some point. Lube and a new seal is like 20 dollars. Quality control could be better.

    What others should know: I have one with a vortek kit its shooting 895fps/25.5 fpe and the other has a shortened stock spring shooting 850fps/23.5fpe. The best pellet for me has been the H&N FTT 14.66 in 5.53 or 5.54. in all three of my guns. I have tried at least 10 other pellets and the Crossman hp pellets were okay. For 250 dollars I have a tuned gun that I know is going to be trouble free for a very long time. Also the accuracy is very good for a gun in this price range.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ken from USA on 2016-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent power in the .22 version. There is a ken something that does a yu tube video review of the .22 and calls it a piece of junk! I strongly disagree but did follow him through a tune up of the .177 version wherein he cleans the compression sleeve and replaces the piston seal. I broke mine down and found metal bits and shavings in-bedded in the original seal. after cleaning out the sleeve and replacing the original seal with a vortek? seal.(its been a few months). I got better and more consistent velocity. My scope was broken two weeks in. I replaced it with an airgun certified leepers, with adjustable parallax. I also took 1 1/2" off of the but stock. This was not for length of pull, but center of gravity. The weight of the gun is easier to handle the closer it is. The stock is hollow. I filled mine with expanding foam.

    What others should know: Mine prefers crossman premier domed for accuracy. Also consistent artillery hold for accuracy. I had my first air harvested bunny last fall. marinated, wrapped in bacon, baked with a few chopped potatoes. quite tasty!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2016-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: POWERFUL!!! This Ruger Air Magnum .177 defines the word powerful. Great for shooting my preferred heavy pellets 9.00 grain to 11.50 grains. My lead 7.00 grain to 9.75 grain pellets fly in excess of 1025 fps. In the "Anything else air gunners should know?" I used a bipod and not my bench. In all my accuracy tests I used a bipod and not my bench, which in my opinion, the bench is no fun.

    Things I would have changed: The stock 4X32 scope. Replaced it with a Center Point 3-9X32AO

    What others should know: This beast shoots the 14 tins of lead pellets I have that range from the 7.00 grain RWS Hobby to the 9.75 grain Winchester HP, each shot in 5 shot strings, then each string averaged out, at average velocities ranging from 1036 fps to 1201 fps. It shoots the Crosman Heavy 10.50 grain pellets at an average of 992 fps and the Beeman Kodiak Heavy 1065 grain at 979 fps average. The Crosman SSP 4.00 grain PBA averaged 1462 fps with a high of 1472 fps. The Gamo Air Star PBA 4.70 grain averages 1447 fps with a high of 1461 fps. The Stoeger X-Speed 5.56 grain PBA averaged 1378 fps with a high of 1387 fps. These pellets were shot over my Competition Electronics Digital Prochrono in 37 to 40 degree weather. All of the lead pellets proved to be accurate shot at a 1" target 70 feet away, mounted on a 12"x12" boxes. There were a FEW that missed the 1" target by not more than 3". The one inch targets were hit until they were no longer visible, all but a very ragged holes where the 1" targets were.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Earl from USA on 2016-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great rifle. Accurate out of the box. Once I got the scope on, it took about 10 minutes to sight in. I was consistently in the kill zone after sighting in. Easy to cock. Very pleased with the performance so far. Looking forward to taking it out in the field.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mark from USA on 2015-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent rifle. I like the weight as it helps me with stability in aiming in all shooting positions. Overall feel is very nice and, to me, reflects a power-burner well. It's powerful and accurate enough for my needs. I am considering buying a second Ruger Air Magnum.

    Things I would have changed: I scrapped the bundled scope and alternate between a Leapers UTG 3-9x50 AO and ( as suggested by another commenter ) a Walther PS 55 Dot Sight. The Walther PS 55 is more cost effective ( in my view ) for an Air Rifle than the Aimpoint Pro I have on my Colt M4 Carbine 5.56x45 NATO rifle.

    What others should know: I purchased an Archer Airguns XMV Tune Kit for Ruger Air Rifles .177 Cal. Also, I ONLY use Frog Lube on ALL my power-burners and Air Guns. I have used Wintergreen oil to break rust for nearly 50 years, and being that I grew up with Hoppes #9 ( still have that scent in my brain since age 5, now 57 ), I am a convert to Frog Lube. Tight groups to all . . .

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2015-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Is the best rifle I have.

    Things I would have changed: At this time I not have anything to change

    What others should know: I have good experiance and service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: wow is this gun powerful! I've shot the non-lead pellets and it's pretty loud. Started shooting 16 grain JBS beast Diablo pellets which seemed to quiet it down just a bit but man they hit hard! There's going to be a lot fewer squirrels in the yard this fall!

    Things I would have changed: scope seems to be the one drawback. It's not very good. I took it off and replaced with the Walther PS55 red dot off my .22 and now it's far more usable

    What others should know: literally the most bang for your buck in the 150-200 dollar range!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: rifle looks good.

    What others should know: I got a bad rifle out of the box, only got 6 shots off before piston in spring started leaking air. Just craftsmenship of China.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carlton from USA on 2015-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Likes. . .substantial weight solid feel, very powerful, decent cocking effort, accurate hard hitting.

    Things I would have changed: Lessen loudness factor, protect front sight. Upgrade scope to maximize performance.

    What others should know: Very powerful rifle. One of the longest air rifles marketed. By no means a toy and should be handled accordingly. Excellent pest control rifle, will get the job done with the right pellet. Predator Polymag 8.6g work for me. Excellent rifle overall.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RifledDNA from USA on 2014-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple solid construction, exactly like the little brother airhawk. Price is right for an easy to tune, super powerful, accurate monster springer.

    Things I would have changed: Factory needs to watch the metal shavings going in the tube, not everyones gonna open it up and clean it out, those that don't will not have the gun this thing really is. Make a better rear sight instead of adding the 4x scope, its not a bad scope but its not enough for this gun. Have the barrel at 16-17" stock, more power and them it cam fit in a rifle case.

    What others should know: This is a serious hunting springer, it can hit within an inch at 40-50 IF you A) clean and lube properly, B) use quality pellets, C) hold it gently and consistently,. Do these things and in 22 going through 3/4" pine board easily, hitting its mark out to 40+ yards ay least you have yourself one of the strongest, best designed hunting springers under 400+ $. Be rewarded with cheap springers by the love you give them, at this price you cannot expect it to be what its not, but, can be. Have fun, kill clean or don't.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Chad from USA on 2014-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: POWER and more POWER!

    Things I would have changed: The scope is not great, but that comes with the inexpensive price tag.

    What others should know: Too powerful to be very accurate. Even with heavy, imported pellets, I couldn't get great accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, power, usability

    Things I would have changed: none

    What others should know: Really nice rifle that has enough energy to deal with most all pest issues around here to 25 yards at least. Sounds about like a .22 short and hits hard. Playing with 5 or 6 types of pellets, but all seem quite accurate. Couldn't have asked for a better companion for my Crosman 1322 pump air pistol.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Sean from USA on 2014-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: First thank you pyramid air. Rifle came double boxed was shipped and arrived on time without damage. Even the ammo came nicely packaged with no dings to the can Good Job PA. This gun is a straight up hunter. Excellent power good accury well built did I mention POWER. Decent trigger with ok open sites

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger metal "all metal" I don't understand why manufactures make heavy duty guns and put a plastic trigger on them. The weight of this cannon is a drawback ad a good scope and you will want a sling infact keep the danty scope airguns come with and add a sling?

    What others should know: The first 5 or so shots are easly as loud as a 22 rim fire so beware. After break in its still alittel loud became easier to cock if easier means I don't sweat cocking it more than twice. Ive owned a Beeman 22cal for years had alot of rounds and many hunts through it. I wanted something with a bit more of a punch, jackrabbits here in new mexico can get big. The ruger will shoot straight thru them at over 50 yards. Gave it a good tune up now shoots thru 3/4 plywood at 30 feet. Likes heaver pellets say 15 to 18gr. For the price its a great deal given this gun is a monster never knew a 22 air gun could be so powerful. So if your looking to hunt larger prey at longer distance I would recommend the air mag in 22 its turned out great for me.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Frank from USA on 2014-10-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Having read many reviews on the best hunting air rifle for your buck, I had a difficult decision between these four: the Diana RWS Model 350 Magnum; Hatsan 95; Gamo MRA Showstopper; and the Ruger Air Magnum. It came down to the Ruger Air Magnum in 0.22. This had the best compromise in FPS, reliability, and price. The RWS Model 350 Magnum is nice but pricy. The Ruger Air Magnum is a clone nonetheless and sounded reliable from reading the reviews. I recommend the 10-for-10 deal for peace of mind. The chrony printout showed 900-950 fps out of the box with RWS Hobby (11.9g) pellets! Pretty good for a 0.22. This speed could be due to the additional propulsion achieved from initial deisling of the barrel. I expect it to come down with time.

    Things I would have changed: Really nothing. Would be nice if Umarex produced the same rifle in wood to give it that "traditional", real firearm feel and look.

    What others should know: I recommend first cleaning the barrel to remove all that grease (or the black residue if you went with the 10-for-10 deal). Also, the scope isn't so bad if you zero-it right. It's my first scope, so I cannot compare to other scopes. As for accuracy, it's perfect for me. I achieved 0.7 inch groupings at 20 yards. After about 400 shots, all is still working smoothly and am very happy. If youre after a powerful hunting air rifle, I recommend the Ruger Air Magnum in 0.22. The 0.22 caliber is needed for good knockdown. Also, this rifle is not for a child, or a small/compact adult for that matter since its weight and length-of-pull makes it a little unwieldy.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sam from USA on 2014-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The price, accuracy, and power. This is a RWS 350 clone and while it does not have the quality of the RWS 36 that I own, the build is still solid. Being a clone, there are numerous after market parts available and as I like to tinker, this helped make my decision. This is my first .22 air rifle. The trigger on this rifle is fantastic!

    Things I would have changed: I would have bought this from Pyramyd Air had I known about this site! The purchase of this air rifle led me to Pyramyd Air, I have made this site my only site for my air rifle wants and needs! What a fantastic staff and company! I have purchased three air rifles and numerous accessories from PA with no regrets. As others have mentioned, the for-end of the stock will flex(not a detriment). I would prefer a medal spring guide, a higher quality piston and a smoother finish in the compression tube(this is to help avoid nicking the piston seal on assembly). More about these issues in the next section.

    What others should know: This rifle in .22 cal was my introduction to magnum air rifles. Cocking effort was as advertised which was very manageable. This rifle had decent power, but I did not feel that it was performing to the advertised specs. I knew the heavier pellets would slow it down, but I still felt that it should have had more power than it did. I have taken a raccoon, a squirrel, and numerous pest birds with this rifle, so the power was fine for my application. After about 800 rnds., the power started dropping. I am currently in the process of giving this rifle a tuneup. The internals of this rifle are decent for the price paid and definitely worth the cost of a tuneup. The question you want to know is would I buy this rifle knowing what I know now? Absolutely! The Ruger Air Magnum is an underrated rifle with great potential. I am told that the ones with the welded on weaver rail are better quality(mine has the bolt on rail). Also, be sure to tighten the stock screws and use blue locktite.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JAMES from USA on 2014-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Built well for a Chinese made rifle. Decent power, decent trigger.

    Things I would have changed: No scope, scope is not very good, save the $20 on cost of scope or put the cost savings into making the rifle a little better. Maybe better trigger or more power.

    What others should know: I also own a 6 year old Walther Eagle Talon Magnum .22cal. I used a fresh cut 2x4 to conduct a pennitration test using Crossman wad cutters, gammo bb tipped pennatrators. The Walther Eagle Talon Magnum drove each pellet an average of 1/4" deeper with each type of pellet. The Walther has had thousands of rounds through it and rated 50fps slower. That being said the Ruger is still a great choice. I purchased a Stoeger x50 and conducted the same test, the Walther drove the pellets a 1/2" deeper then the Stoger x50. Change the scope as soon as you buy the rifle, I put a UTG (Leapers) 3x9x50 mil dot tactical on the Ruger,@ 35yards after 150/200 shots I was finally able to get 1/2" groups using Peditor Pollymags. Buy this gun, you will be happy for the price, a few minor adjustments and you will really be impressed.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nick from USA on 2014-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: shot review for ruger air magnum .22 and H&N silver point 17.13gr. the H&N crow magnum 18.21gr. and skenco green hyper velocity 10.8gr. this is day 3 since unboxing. fired 250+ pellets so far. screws needed locktight. crow mags work best for me out of the 3. crow mag and silver point are heavy enough to maintain accuracy. groups well at 30yrds. with both. Skenco...they are penatraters without a doubt, although they didnt maintain the same accuracy as the heavier h&n. going to try the heavier bigreds next. if your looking to punch holes in lots of stuff..toaster. firgde door..burn barrel the hyper velocity 10.8gr missiles will do it inaccurately. love the guns weight, power and accuracy with heavy rounds.

    Things I would have changed: scope consistently shot 8in low and would not pull up any higher. thought it a defect. added a weaver k4 60-b. same issue again. 8in low. up to the max. added spacer in rear scope ring to drop front of scope a touch. after minor adjustments its consistently on target.

    What others should know: great for the price. lots of punch. likes heavy pellets.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation