Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Ruger Air Magnum Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Jeannie from USA on 2011-09-01 09:41:20

    Things I liked:The weight of the gun seems even...The POWER is AWESOME!!!!! Make sure you only shoot heavy pellets (10g+) through it, because I already had to replace the piston seal from shooting 7.56 grain pellets through it. This gun is my favorite (besides my XL 1100...) for $165, you can't find a better deal!
    Things I would have changed:Offer this with a better (Leapers 3-9x40) scope...I sent mine to Umarex for pellets since it wasn't very good.
    What others should know:The trigger pull seems kinda long, but you'll get used to it.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2

    Value for money:2

    Accuracy:1

    By primo from USA on 2012-02-19 14:20:54

    Things I liked:Has a lot power.
    Things I would have changed:To much power for the stock which is too light,thus creating an uneveness that makes this rifle way too sensitive ,and hard to accomplish accuracy.
    What others should know:The picatiny rail is made of cast iron not steel, it's spot welded underneath. Mine broke off with less than one year of casual use. I'm going to try to get the rail welded again because it very difficult to shoot this gun accurately at all with open sights. Now that I have taken apart the rifle I see the price reflected in the Chineese quality of its inner parts. Touché .
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nick from USA on 2014-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:shot review for ruger air magnum .22 and H&N silver point 17.13gr. the H&N crow magnum 18.21gr. and skenco green hyper velocity 10.8gr. this is day 3 since unboxing. fired 250+ pellets so far. screws needed locktight. crow mags work best for me out of the 3. crow mag and silver point are heavy enough to maintain accuracy. groups well at 30yrds. with both. Skenco...they are penatraters without a doubt, although they didnt maintain the same accuracy as the heavier h&n. going to try the heavier bigreds next. if your looking to punch holes in lots of stuff..toaster. firgde door..burn barrel the hyper velocity 10.8gr missiles will do it inaccurately. love the guns weight, power and accuracy with heavy rounds.
      Things I would have changed:scope consistently shot 8in low and would not pull up any higher. thought it a defect. added a weaver k4 60-b. same issue again. 8in low. up to the max. added spacer in rear scope ring to drop front of scope a touch. after minor adjustments its consistently on target.
      What others should know:great for the price. lots of punch. likes heavy pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Billy from USA on 2014-02-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks nice, I like all weather stocks with non-slip texturing. This rifle is well made, with solid construction and quality workmanship. In my opinion it has an excellent trigger. Has tremendous power, very accurate with a variety of pellets. The open sights are a definite bonus (not found on most air guns today), they are easy to see in a variety of light conditions and accurate. The scope is of higher quality than most “free” scopes you get with package deals, very clear lenses. Overall a good value for the money.
      Things I would have changed:This rifle is huge; it is long, heavy and hard to cock. It should have rings to mount a sling for use in the field. The scope that came with it, although normal in size, looks tiny on top of this monster. The scope rings don't allow use of the open sights; they should be high profile see through mounts. The open sights could be more refined (smaller) and made of metal instead of plastic. It is fairly loud mechanically. I own 8 break-barrels; this is my least favorite to shoot.
      What others should know:I mounted a huge Leapers 3-9x50 scope on it and it doesn’t look out of proportion. The pellets that give the best groups in mine, off a bench at 20 yards are; Crosman Hollow Points = ½ inch, Gamo Master Points = ¾ inch and Gamo TS-22’s = ¾ inch (with tremendous impact on target). This is the only one of my air-guns that does well with pointed pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Pellet_Poppa from USA on 2014-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I still love this gun. After cleaning it thouroughy and removing the screw and replacing them with loctite on them i brought it out shooting. With open sights i was destroying 8 ounce beer cans from 30 yards. This gun has devastating power. I still find thr cocking effort to be light. My wife couldnt cock it with her entire body weight. So if you arent a big man this might not be for you.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is absolute junk. But at this price point i would still buy it with no scope. I have a leapers on my wish list so i am still happy. I literally could not hit a huge laundry detergent jug using the scope from 5 yards! I spent over 30 minutes dialing it in and it always shot about 1 foot to the left no matter what setting i used. But open sights i was putting them through the same hole on that jug. I am more than satisfied. I flipped a 8 ounce beer can into the air viciously from 30 yards standing with open sights. This gun blows my benjamin away. I will easily be through 100 shots by tomorrow. Btw im using crossman premier hollow points 14.3 gr.
      What others should know:buy this gun! its not that loud. Your neighbors will know youre shooting but it wont hurt your ears.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By airgunanimal from USA on 2013-12-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:OH MY! This gun is a hammer! I have read some reviews that said it was not accurate. I did not find that to be the case. I did spend some time finding the right pellet for this gun. The best for me was 21 grain H&N baracuda match. You have to use heavy pellets to slow this gun down enough to be accurate. Once I did I was shooting dime size groups at 20 yards. This gun has a lot of recoil. Shot 200 pellets one day and my neck was sore later on that night. This would be excellent for hunting. I wanted to site in the scope and it was a cold day out so I went to my basement and set up a target on a box in front of a 3/4" piece of OSB at 30'. Took 5 shoots and for some reason I thought maybe I should check the board. Yes all five shot went right though. Seems to me that this gun is a copy of the RWS 350. The nice thing is it's only $179.
      Things I would have changed:scope
      What others should know:If you are going to use a scope you are going to have to buy a very good one that will take the recoil. The one that is sent with it would not hold zero. Have a good selection of pellets in various weights 14 to 30 grains to see what works in your gun. I found heavier pellets produced tighter groups. When you get the gun remove it from the stock, tighten the screws, clean off excess grease and oil, clean barrel to reduce dieseling(smoking). I also have the Ruger Air Hawk in .177 this is also a great gun. This is a great choice if you are concerned about the recoil.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Henry from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have several 177 caliber air rifles and I wanted this one because of it's muzzle velocity with 22 caliber. I set up my chronograph on the rifle and it lives up to it's advertised velocity. It averaged 980 ft/sec. which is great for a 22 caliber. It has a lot of knockdown power as compared with a 177 caliber. The pellet will go through a 1/2" pine board. I really like the green & red laser sighting. You can pinpoint small targets at 50 yards with the front red laser sight.
      Things I would have changed:It could use a better scope. I removed the scope and just use the laser sights. It has a large "jar" upon pulling the trigger and this will throw you off target. I had to make a "V" shaped forearm rest for the stock to shoot with any accuracy.
      What others should know:This is the heaviest air rifle that I own. It also takes a lot of effort to break down the barrel to reload.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kelly from USA on 2013-07-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is not a kids rifle and the word Magnum is in there for a reason. This thing is a hammer and there is always predictable accuracy with this weapon. Not that difficult to cock and the trigger is an absolute dream compared to all the others I've owned.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is not even worth thinking about putting on. Go to you big box store and get a notable name brand 3x9x50 and be done with it. My scope cost $40 on sale and it's .30cal rated. No worries. This thing is heavy to pack around, sling swivels would have been nice. The manufacturer should have used better grade grease or none at all would have been nicer and all the connections including scope mount were barely hand tight and now I'll tell you how to make this thing a 50yd tack driver....
      What others should know:Take off the scope mount, clean threads, put on and tighten with a dose of loctite 271. This thing will test your mounts. Get a screwdriver, take off the stock and clean every ounce of that black crap grease, and use a good white lithium or thick graphite for all moving points. Clean barrel with NO CHEMICALS, just swabs then when that looks clean, get a nylon bore-brush and do it some more. Now, mount your scope, took me 5 yards to zero at 20 yards and my 50 yard shots are only a 1-mil up hold. Clean with clean brush ever 20 shots through your first hundred and after that, re-check your zero on the 10 ring 1" targets at 25 yards. I get 1/4" or less grouping and the RWS 14gr pellets are penetrating the 1-1/2" back board. At 25 to 37 yards I can hit a dime or split a cigarette on a dead hold. I put a piece of wing walk on each side of fore-stock to increase grip when using a tree or other item to steady shot. This is a real weapon, not a toy, every kill on this has been single shot, no run or fly aways and it will split a snakes head in half from 50ft(but that's another story). The more expensive nicer grade pellet guns are great, I will buy one, a very nice gasser maybe, but this one is my trusty pocket knife that I can count on every time. Be sure to re-zero every 100 or so shots, keep your barrel clean and little to no oil for consistency. Most pellets come oiled, just keep that in mind. Heavier pellets work better and keep all connections tight. I Love This Rifle!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-06-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I watched a number of videos on this rifle, and was really intrigued by it, the power seemed exceptional in a breakbarrel at this caliber. When it came in the mail, it was one of my first purchases from pyramid, it was delivered quickly and i found everything in place. This rifle is another beast among the sometimes mediocre offerings of some companies, dont get me wrong ,each has its use, and can be an enjoyable guns. But i wanted something powerful for hunting. To test it, i used an old cow skull out my brothers place, there was already one twenty two rim fire hole in it, so i had something to measure by. The Air magnum, shoots non lead 22 caliber pellets at an advertised 1200 fps. I used the heaviest pellets i had to get an idea of the rifles power. over and over it punched holes through the target, the pellet holes matched the rim fire hole in size ,,, crisp clean holes. That was enough for me,, The stock of the air magnum near the breaking point, is a little light to me, but besides that its smooth consistant, and i like the open sights. It will rock a scope unless its cinched down,lol
      Things I would have changed: Just possibly a heavier denser stock, but all in all i like the looks and feel and performance of this rifle.
      What others should know:The buyer if unfamiliar with these ubber magnum models should take extra care,, of course good safety habits are essential for the use of any airgun,but these more powerful guns should make you consider even more your target choice, the thickness of your backstop etc. Remember this will punch through plywood ,, even a few overlapping 2 by 12s will only take so much punishment from these type guns before your ripping out the back of your stop. Id advise checking the condition of backstop each time you go out to shoot. Remember damage is cumulative and adds up quickly. Like the Hatsan Model 135, The Ruger Air Magnum ,is an unsung hero among average airguns ,,one you should take a serious look at.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nathan from USA on 2013-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      41 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power
      Things I would have changed:Crapy scope.
      What others should know:This is a great value for the money. This thing is powerful! Of course the scope is junk like all the other cheap scopes air rifles come with, I wish they would keep it and charge me ten dollars less. I ordered the breech seal upgrade kit for this rifle and it didn't need it at all. The only complaint I have is the chamfer on the chamber. It is crooked as hell, but that was to be expected for a cheaper Chinese air rifle. If you want magnum power and don't want to spend a lot, this is the gun for you. It is also accurate as can be with good pellets.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Bob from USA on 2013-05-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, quite accurate with correct pellets. Second pellets I tried worked great (Gamo Red Fire, 7.8 gr).
      Things I would have changed:A bit heavy, but stability probably improves accuracy.
      What others should know:To get this power requires a STRONG spring to be cocked.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By eugene from USA on 2013-05-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:built like a tank, very solid, all pellets fit tight in the breach, powerful
      Things I would have changed:scope rings are not very good, tried everything except spot welding them to the scope to keep the scope from rotating. using electrical tape on the rings now and seems to be holding.
      What others should know:definitely not a target gun, tried several different pellets and still no small grouping. average 821 fps with CPHP pellets.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By jake from USA on 2013-05-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely powerful magnum air rifle. I got this in .22 and the force it puts downrange is incredible. Shoots accurate with the right pellet, consistent power.
      Things I would have changed:The scope and mount- needs a single piece heavy mount. Recoil is immense- The screws should be tightened and the stock should probably be better sealed to the barrel/piston group. My stock is loose despite tightening the screws, so it wobbles a bit.My front fiber optic sight is shifted to the right,so id say a little better quality control.
      What others should know:Be sure to loctite all the screws and make sure you break this in before you start correcting for problems. Sending this back to Ruger seems kind of pointless seeing as all the problems are to be expected with a gun of such massive recoil. The best pellets so far ive found are Beeman Kodiak copper jacketed pellets, and JSB jumbo 25 grains. The JSB's deliver so much force on target its incredible.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2013-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power,, i looked at this rifle for some time before buying and had my doughts,but im glad im did, this thing is a hammer , i tested it by putting smaller cans inside larger ones till i had 6 layers of metal, it penetrated them with no problem hitting and piercing another behind the others. like all super magnums it should probably be purchased for an adult or very responsible child. I like the construction design and power. Accuracy is among the best of my air rifles,, using Crossman premier hollow points.
      Things I would have changed:not much its everything its designed to be , maybe a nitro piston for smoother cocking effort, nothing much else.
      What others should know:Its a bull to cock,,, shooting hundreds of rounds will make you feel it. also,, set up a solid backstop,multiple layers of heavy board and metal if you have it. This has formidable power and will chew through a backstop fast, check its condition regularly.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Vegas052 from USA on 2013-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Everything I love the rifle very accurate and powerful has little recoil but with practice you will enjoy shooting the rifle
      Things I would have changed:The scope is not the best because the recoil on the rifle and if you want more magnification on target you need to buy another scope.
      What others should know:I just buy the Ruger on 22 new but before i star shooting i clean the rifle and tight all the crews including the 1 on the breach i used to shoot my Ruger 1.77 for long time. the first time i shoot the rifle was real hard to me because the recoil can even let me see my target when i shoot but now is beautiful i don't have any problem please don't feel Bad keep practicing and you'll see the difference with the 1.77 Ruger i change my rail mounting because the scope was falling off my rifle i will change the rail on the 22 pyramyd air has real good scope mounts the Key for success shooting the rifle is practice many other customers complain about is made on china but almost everything the people use now is made on china easy check whatever you has on your house enjoy the rifle and shoot safely.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By JD from USA on 2013-04-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Power. Decent accuracy. Perfect for hunting, it's intended purpose. No loose screws, sights, picatinny rail, no problems that others claim. Reserving scope installation until after break in.
      Things I would have changed:Been shooting pellet guns for 45 years, don't think I would change a thing, it is powerful and solid. Best airgun I've ever owned.
      What others should know:Put down three 60lb pigs in my trap with this gun and a Kodiak Heavy pellet 21+grain, one shot behind the ear into the brain put all three down consistently with no flopping no dazing. Of course this is not it's intended purpose of small game hunting out to 50 yards maybe more on head shots. Practiced on a 1/2 inch thick solid pine surveyors stake with complete penetration at 35 yards with no misses, no scope. No supersonic crack w/heavy pellets but shooting a 14.3gr sounds like a 22 short which I will compare "very closely" with this guns velocity and power. Be warned I believe shooting light pellets will eventually damage the piston. Also be sure and store your gun with the barrel down so all the factory/cleaning/oil muck will run out of the air chamber otherwise it will eventually shelac/varnish reducing velocity. So bottom line is you want a gun with the highest velocity then feed it heavy pellets to shoot game. Get one before it's banned due to high velocity. I shopped for years and setteled on this one for power/price/quality. PyramydAir had the best price/shipping. I Considered a pneumatic but if it all hits "the fan" I want a stealth gun that doesn't rely on air or a lot of movement, just break the barrel, load and shoot. Join the NRA if you like to shoot/hunt, I am a Lifetime member.
    • Overall rating:2 2.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The potential Power and the trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Quality of the rifle
      What others should know:This was my second Air Magnum. My first was the .177 cal and this one from PA is a .22 cal. Both guns are rough and noisy cocking and both have the loudest spring twang of any of my 10 air rifles. They both also have the hardest recoil. Both guns were older models even though they were bought as Brand New in 2012 and 2013. (They both had the Dovetail to Weaver Adapter and not the welded on weaver rail Scope Mount) If you get one with the adapter and not the welded weaver rail, send it back. On my .177 the adapter would not stay on the gun, no matter what I did and broke the scope. Both rifle lacked power when I got them. The .177 only averaged 1203fps. I found that the breech seal was flat so I added a shim and replaced the seal. This brought it up to an average of 1303fps. I took it apart, lubed it up including the chamber and got it up to 1388fps with an average of 1355fps. Shooting H&N Barracuda 10.65 grain pellets I got an average of 1018fps and a whopping 24.51fpe (Muzzle Energy) That’s impressive for a .177 cal, but a person should not have to do this much work to a New Air Rifle. I had no success with the .22 cal from Pyramid Air and was still getting readings as low as 571fps with standard lead pellets so they graciously took it back. If you buy one of these, GET THE 10 FOR 10!!! It could sve you a lot of head aches.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Jose from USA on 2013-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very powerfull gun , not a toy is a adult gun
      Things I would have changed:scope is not the right one for this gun
      What others should know:Is the best air gun that I have buy Great gun for hunting specially in cal.22
    • Overall rating:3 3.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the look , the feel , the weight, ....
      Things I would have changed:Don't make them in China......however , for a beginner , for the price, you can't beat it !
      What others should know:Again , for the money , you just can't beat the price, not everyone can dish out 500 big ones for an adult air gun, If you started with a Daisy and you are working your way into adult air guns, this is a good start.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By ROMEO from USA on 2013-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, PRICE, accuracy, I just got my .22 and I also bought the UTG 3-9X50AO scope with picatinny rings which fits this guns rail perfectly. I cleaned the grease out of the barrel as recommended. My first 5 shots were from 15yards and in 2" group. I took my next 10 shots @ 25yards and still in 2" groups. The UTG scope and this rifle are simply amazing together, I have no doubt that after about 100 or more shots the groups will get tighter. This rifle is a knockoff of the RWS and as far as accuracy, price, power this is definetly the one I would choose again if I had to. I will write another review later after I put about 500-1000 rounds through it. Pyramidair has been a pleasure to work with on the purchase of these two products and I will definetly buy from them again. A lot of people talk about how hard it is to calk this gun, and yes this is a very high power gun, but it is easier then I was expecting. Using crossman .22 pointed tip ammo at 25yards the round goes through a 3/4" plywould, this gun is definetly not a childs bebe gun. I found the recoil to be very manegable as well, my gun with my scope weighs in at 10 lbs 4oz. again no problem, the wieght helps with the recoil. I LOVE THIS RIFLE.
      Things I would have changed:So far NOT A THING
      What others should know:The reason I bought this rifle is for hunting small game, rabbits, squirls and so on. I got tired of my .177 not having enough power in my opinion and the power and pellet wieght of this rifle is really amazing. Like I said .22 pointed crossman go clean through a 3/4" plywood. Don't waste your money on rifles that are double the cost with no better accuracy. This is my second Ruger "first was .177" and so far both rifles are outstanding!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Gregorey from USA on 2012-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality, power, price, asthetics, feels good just holding it in your hands.
      Things I would have changed:The weight!
      What others should know: Listen up people! This is a HUGE gun!!! It is a beautiful gun, and worth every penny BUT it is very BIG! And heavy! If you are looking for a fun plinking gun, this is not for you. DO NOT BUY THIS GUN FOR A YOUNG PERSON!! This thing is for hunting. The scope that came with it is not of very high quality. I put a good scope on mine and have gotten very good results. I have only put about 150 rounds through my gun so far but it is beginning to settle in as far a accuracy goes. This gun is a real beast. The strength it takes to cock this thing is more than the usual break barrel. I am 260 pounds and in good shape and it takes all I have to cock this thing without putting the butt on the ground to gain leverage. This is not a gun for women or young folks. BUT, I really like it. It's fun to shoot. I recommend this gun for hunting.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By joseph from USA on 2012-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, hard hitting. Easily reach out and hit your target beyond 100 feet.
      Things I would have changed:A suppressor would help cut down the noise this rifle generates. Something like what Hatsan uses on their rifles would be great.
      What others should know:I own alot of airguns. I thought my Hatsan 125 with the nitro-piston was as powerful as an air rifle could get. I was wrong. The Ruger air magnum has enough power to knock small game right into the middle of next week at 40 yards. This rifle is not a toy! This rifle is far more powerful than a .22 rimfire short! Just treat the rifle with respect and be very mindful of your surroundings in case the shot misses it's intended target. It doesn't get any better in quality and the people at Pyramid air are nothing short of spectacular.
    • 123 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold