Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Ruger Mark 1 Air Pistol reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By MICHAEL from USA on 2012-05-28 11:16:57

    Things I liked:It has power,and a cocking aid,a little less metal than the Browning and RWS,but for the money"It is Less than half the price of the above,so for the power and low cost,I think for an entry level power and knock around plinker,it can't be beat
    Things I would have changed:Any change to make it equal to higher cost guns would only negate thje value now available at this low cost
    What others should know:Be a little gentler with this one than the higher end ones,it should last a long time
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Val from USA on 2013-04-15 19:49:35

    Things I liked:Price. Should have spent more!
    Things I would have changed:sights and trigger. Sites are a joke, trigger pull is VERY heavy as a result accurate shooting is impossible
    What others should know:This thing is cheaply made junk. Do yourself a favor and stay away from it. I can't believe Ruger licensed it. I did replace it with an air gun from Pyramyd.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Alexandre from Canada on 2014-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, fiber optic sights.
      Things I would have changed:Barrel lenght, cockaid, front sight height and trigger.
      What others should know:My Ruger shoots low. The rear sight is maxed out on the height and it's still 8" low @ 25'. A red dot sight corrected it but the hard trigger makes it hard to shoot accuratly. The cock aid is a must use as the front sight will dig in your hand if you cock your gun without it. As mentionned in the other reviews you have to take the aid off as it has a negative effect. If I leave it on my gun will shoot even lower. Chrony F1 with Crosman 7.4gr pellet: 470-487fps. RWS 5.56gr: 570-577fps
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Leotis from USA on 2014-01-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:POWERFUL!!! This gun shoots just as powerful as some pellet rifles. It's so powerful that at 20 yards I shot pellets into a block of wood and the pellets got stuck in there.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight was crooked a little so it threw off my accuracy but other than that I wouldn't change a thing!
      What others should know:My gun came with the rear sight slightly crooked but other than that it was everything I thought it would be. This gun is not for boys it's for men...it has weight, kicks good for a pellet pistol, and you need a little elbow grease to cock it so that makes it automatically child proof in my book. All around great gun but it shoots a little low so I'm buying a red dot scope to put on it since I don't trust my sights.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Joey from USA on 2013-12-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very powerful, looks nice, feels well in hand. PRICE!(bought reman for $35.95) Trigger can be adjusted. Again, this is a $70 pistol! You pay for what you get. A brand new one may be better.
      Things I would have changed:Need better cocking aid, broke mine first day. Pyramyd promptly called Umarex and I recieved a new one in 3 days. Very happy with service.
      What others should know:I BOUGHT A REMANUFACTURED GUN! 30 day warranty. Had problems out the box with desieling,thaught it would break in but never did. May need new piston seal. I think I may send it out for a tune/rebuild one day.I bought the benjamin np pistol to replace this one, nitro piston should be better.Like all chineese guns,you hope to get a good one, they are out there. Maybe 10 for $10 will help. Anything I buy from now on I will pay the $10 to hopefully get a good one.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Mark from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feel, Shoots good for a air pistol, powerful
      Things I would have changed:Sights are no good. Front sight is way too tall and cant adjust enough to correct. Woulda thought they woulda figured this out when manufactured.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jason from USA on 2013-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The power of the gun is incredible, and I really like the break-barrel design.
      Things I would have changed:Instead of using an assisting plastic piece, extend the length of the barrel (in addition to increasing accuracy, this will allow for a smoother breaking action of the barrel, and do away with the annoyance of having to carry around the break-barrel assist).
      What others should know:Overall a great gun, definitely worth the money.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By D. MACK from USA on 2013-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:POWER, SPRING PISTON
      Things I would have changed:BETTER TRIGGER
      What others should know:BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK.CANT BEAT THE PRICE AND POWER WITH ANY OTHER PELLET PISTOL. I USE RWS H-POINTS 6.9gr at 520 fps and 4 fpe
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By jack from USA on 2013-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sturdiness, feel and super cheap!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Got it from Walmart, realized right away that the trigger and recoil were both pretty extreme. I put about 1500 rounds through it now, the trigger is still long but about half the original weight, and the gun now shoots a variety of pellets well. Crosman hollow points are mines best friend. Also gun is accurate but hard to control recoil, I made a shoulder stock for mine and now I hunt grackles with it.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By John from USA on 2013-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall design is good and it appears to be relatively powerful. The cocking extension is a must and does do the job.
      Things I would have changed:The sights are somewhat crude and the trigger needs improvement, although this pistol is not sold as a target gun. My main complaint is the accuracy or lack thereof as I tried several different makes of pellets and the results were pretty much the same and that is inaccuracy.
      What others should know:I purchased this gun as a refurbished unit and had a 30 day period in which I could send it back to Pyramid if not satisfied and I exercised this option.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Mike from USA on 2013-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the look and feel of the Mark 1. There is a certain 'wow' factor among by-standers when it comes out of the case. The Ruger licensing/markings are impressive.
      Things I would have changed:...my mind. The particular refurb gun I received shoots high...way high! It is high well beyond the range of the adjustable rear sight, so I mounted a dot scope on it...still not enough range even on the scope to comp for the highs. Windage came right in line.
      What others should know:Before I bought this,I hemmed & hawed a lot after reading the reviews and watching a few videos. I would not have bought the gun at the 'new' price, but when I saw it for $35 as a refurb, I went for it; what's to lose? In one video, as the guy cocked it, I noticed it was 'sqeaky' (plastic on plastic). I figured if I was him, I'd put a drop of Pellgunoil or something on it and quiet it down. Well, when I got MY squeaker, I tried that...to no avail...it's a natural squeaker! All in all, I really wanted to like this gun...I honestly made rationale after rationale. I gave it a real fair shake! I even considered a mod on the scopes mount to get a little more range to offset the high shooting, but decided since it wasn't the scope's fault, I'd leave it alone. Again, its likely just the specific gun I received. Bottom line, after much contemplation, this one's going back. Time for me to step up and go with either Hatsan or Browning. I'm sure I'll like the higher power of either, which is well beyond that of the Mark 1...it's actually kind of puny. So,let the hemming & hawing begin again!
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Val from USA on 2013-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price. Should have spent more!
      Things I would have changed:sights and trigger. Sites are a joke, trigger pull is VERY heavy as a result accurate shooting is impossible
      What others should know:This thing is cheaply made junk. Do yourself a favor and stay away from it. I can't believe Ruger licensed it. I did replace it with an air gun from Pyramyd.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wills from USA on 2013-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great power, good sights and good price.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:It's a little on the loud side for residential backyard target practice.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By John from USA on 2013-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, simplicity.
      Things I would have changed:Screws on side and behind grip come loose easily, resulting in changing impact point. Difficult to keep sighted in and shooting to point of aim.
      What others should know:Somewhat loud. If you lose the cocking assist handle, you're out of luck. Not terribly accurate.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Tom Stone from USA on 2013-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:consistent, sturdy, good power, easy to cock
      Things I would have changed:fiber optic sights were off beyond range of adjustment. If I hadn't planned to scope I would have sent it back. trigger is terrible.
      What others should know:potentially a terrific pistol. with minor improvements it would be worth twice the price. as it is, it's a toy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2013-01-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great feel. Good power. Comes with a good warranty
      What others should know:The fiber optic rods for the sights get loose easy but not a difficult fix. This is common with most
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Powerful for its size, somewhat compact to carry. It is a good addition to a collection. Very fun to shoot. Trigger is very decent once it has been shot a few hundred times and has smoothed out.
      Things I would have changed:Arrived with right side of fiber optic sight broken, right out of the box. Very disappointed. Therefore I would recommend an optic of some sort, as the sights are very fragile. Barrel extension is required.
      What others should know:I was looking for a portable airgun for backpacking and taking out small game and other rodents. This gun does very well at the task.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tom from USA on 2012-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good power at a great price (especially since I got mine as a closeout). Fiber optic sights work pretty well.
      Things I would have changed:Barrel is ridiculously short for the overall design, need to eliminate the "cocking assist" extension and just make the barrel itself that length. Short barrel also gives a short sight radius. Fiber optic tubes could be a little thicker to make them gather light and stand out more clearly. Grips need to be a little slimmer -- I have big hands and usually find most grips to be a bit too small, these are just a bit too large to be comfortable even with large hands.
      What others should know:Cocking effort is listed as "25 pounds" which may well be correct; as others have commented already this thing is tough to cock even with the "cocking assist"
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By PA Old Man from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:cocking-assist handle PyramydAir's no hassle 30 day returns
      Things I would have changed:The sight elevation adjustment
      What others should know:Sights on the unit I received are so far off I have no idea where the round is going. Couldn't hit anywhere on the target out of the box. I gave up mounted a red dot finder and at least now I was hitting the target but I was all over the paper no tight groups. This may be in part to do with the heavy trigger causing me to pull the shots. Based on my brief experience I can't recommend the Ruger Mark 1. I requested an RMA and ordered a Hatsan Model 25 Supercharger air pistol from Pyramyaid.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Len from USA on 2012-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shot money and has lots of power
      Things I would have changed:Not to hot on the rear sight.Mine seems all the way to one side,could be the gun to.
      What others should know:Over all this is a good deal and the gun has a lot of power.Well worth it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Randall from USA on 2012-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Like any other spring-piston airgun, the more time spent with it, the better you'll shoot. There's quite a lot of plastic in the construction of this pistol, but it's in all the right places, and in no way detracts from its function, or accuracy, and, it's plenty accurate. If you plan to mount a scope, I'd suggest a 1-piece mount to avoid the optics sliding back on the rail. I own 3 other springer pistols, but simply for the enjoyment factor, I shoot the Ruger more than the others. You'll appreciate the cocking aid/extension it comes with, since, without it cocking could be difficult. Overall, it's a well designed piece of work and a joy to shoot.
      What others should know:It is not pellet fussy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Maria from USA on 2012-08-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the look and feel of the gun. It feels "real" and it's a lot of fun to shoot! Mine is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:I'm happy with it the way it is. It does have some plastic, but on the other hand, it's not all that expensive. Any changes would probably make it pricier, and no one wants to pay more, right?
      What others should know:It comes with a cocking aid. I used to take it on and off, and mutter over it being hard to put on and remove, but now I just leave it on. =) Out of the box, the sights were pretty askew, but that was easily fixed. Other than that... I saw a few reviews complaining about it being hard to cock, and I almost didn't buy it because of this. I don't have any problems cocking it, and I'm a girl. I'm 5'8", and I can imagine it being hard for people a lot smaller than I, but most people should be fine with it. Be smart; if you think cocking it is hard, put it over your thigh and gain some leverage. =)
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top