Date: 1/10/2016 0:14
0

Sam Yang Big Bore 44 909S Light Hunter Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By fsh_whisper from USA on 2010-01-19 09:19:08

Things I liked: I ordered the big bore a couple years ago (old model) and the gun just keeps on impressing me. With .454 lead swagged balls from hornady at 50 yards i get compleat pass throughs on a 50 gallon steel drum. This gun has HIGH POWER and should be treated exactally like a firearm. I have dropped several deer with it out to 60 yards, and have plowed over a couple of coyotes. If you spend a bit of time with your gun it's VERY accurate, for fun shot a couple squirles in the head at 40 yards. Nice gun, well balanced, and with a Leapers Bug Buster scope very accurate

Things I would have changed: Would prefer a bolt action loading port rather than the slide cover port. With the port set up it makes it a pain to seat the ball, or pellet into the barrel. It is LOUD, although a much diff. sound than a firearm.

What others should know: The neighbors hear it fire, but through conversations with them they really have no idea what it actually is. However this is not a backyard plinker and DONT buy it for that. This gun also takes alot of air, so if your not in shape enough to do some seriose hand pumping go the scuba tank route. It's a fine rifle, and be prepaired if you show it to friends cuz they are gonna want it !!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:1.0

By George from USA on 2015-02-24 09:17:48

Things I liked: The gun is light weight, and rather attractive. I like the finish. It could, if not a bit elusively, obtain the FPE promised, but not consistantly, due to the breech O ring prolem, and the hammer bolt.

Things I would have changed: I would NOT mount the cocking lever directly to the hammer, it causes many problems. The bolt lever doesn't mount easily, and the screw attaching it is soft metal and is easily damaged. The force of the hammer striking the valve causes the screw to back out of it's threads every few shots. The hammer becomes unstable with a loose screw, and the strike action is not symetrical because the hammer with the lever attached is not symetrical. The loading port slider should be sealed with an O ring, but the O ring is frequently unseated by air pressure or friction from loading a projectile, and will not seal effectively. The trigger action is so stiff it made me feel like I needed two hands to fire the gun. This is NOT an exageration.

What others should know: Although very attractive, with a nice finish, the base metals are some what softer than I'm used to working with, and the gun would be difficult to work on without damaging threads, and other attachment devices. The best accuracy I could obtain was 5 inch groups at 15 yards out of the box. I assume caused by the breech O ring seal, and hammer bolt problem.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jo from USA on 2016-07-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it was very accurate and powerful, bent my quarter inch steel target at 50 yards. round ball ammo

    Things I would have changed: quality control. mine developed a leak even when I made sure to keep it above 600 psi at all times.

    What others should know: its a great gun but be careful with it I don't know what I did

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By josh from USA on 2016-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is very accurate but I only fire one round and then put 34 or so pumps back in the gun so I always shoot at 3000psi.

    What others should know: It a very nice gun its old tech but reliable

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Nu Way Drafting from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun and good knockdown power. I just did my first wild Boar hunt and impressed the guide with a head shot on the move.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. This is a great gun.

    What others should know: My guide asked if he could take pictures of the gun and if he could shoot it. He swears he is going to purchase one.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a very good buy for the money for getting into big bore air guns. Fit & finish were good. Rifle balances well & not to heavy. Rifle is accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger is HEAVY !!!! It definitely needs work. The other issue is the cocking handle. It attaches to the bolt with a single 4mm screw. That is a very weak set up. I'm taking care of this by sending the rifle to Will Piatt @ Saddle Mountain Gunsmith for a full tune. He'll work the trigger & replace the cocking handle with a beefier design.

    What others should know: Use a short scope with a smaller objective. This will make loading the rifle a lot easier.

  • 2.0 2.0

    3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By George from USA on 2015-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The gun is light weight, and rather attractive. I like the finish. It could, if not a bit elusively, obtain the FPE promised, but not consistantly, due to the breech O ring prolem, and the hammer bolt.

    Things I would have changed: I would NOT mount the cocking lever directly to the hammer, it causes many problems. The bolt lever doesn't mount easily, and the screw attaching it is soft metal and is easily damaged. The force of the hammer striking the valve causes the screw to back out of it's threads every few shots. The hammer becomes unstable with a loose screw, and the strike action is not symetrical because the hammer with the lever attached is not symetrical. The loading port slider should be sealed with an O ring, but the O ring is frequently unseated by air pressure or friction from loading a projectile, and will not seal effectively. The trigger action is so stiff it made me feel like I needed two hands to fire the gun. This is NOT an exageration.

    What others should know: Although very attractive, with a nice finish, the base metals are some what softer than I'm used to working with, and the gun would be difficult to work on without damaging threads, and other attachment devices. The best accuracy I could obtain was 5 inch groups at 15 yards out of the box. I assume caused by the breech O ring seal, and hammer bolt problem.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Red Deer from USA on 2014-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Light Hunter, is a well-made rifle. Weight and balance are good. In design, the single reservoir is more aesthetic. The 45 caliber is a good round to have in a PCP (a massive round with good velocities).

    Things I would have changed: Make the trigger pull adjustable.

    What others should know: It helps to put some lubricant on the trigger and cocking mechanism. Also, the bore size was found to be 0.455 after slugging. If you are planning to cast your own bullets, then try the Lee 456-220-1R bullet mold. This will give a bullet with a 0.455 diameter. In the single reservoir rifle this will give 5 good shots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2014-05-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The wood an metal look good an its compact ez to us and powerful

    Things I would have changed: nothing at all

    What others should know: This gun I had for 3 years an kill many deer with it these big bore air rifle are nice I have two 45cal 50cal an 357 all of them a good hunt guns I just get my 45cal by from Will piatt I had it tune an man I can tell the increase in the power I was going get an air rifle from big bore exertem but now thear no need this baby is for real I can get 300 plus fpe now going sent my 50cal dragon claw for a tune so for yall that get the 909 357reclue or the dragon claw an you hunt deer go get it tune by will piatt he is the best

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ken from USA on 2013-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I dreamed a big bore air rife from the time I was 12, Now I am 58. My gun started out at a little less than 850 fps with round ball and after over 500 shots it is faster. The hand pump is ok for my disco. but it quickly became time for a scuba tank and at $7 per fill its worth it. I can get about 200 shots from a 100 cubit foot 3500 lb. tank and hundreds of shots from the disco. after that. Quarter size groups at 50 yards with horn. round balls and a 200 gr. muzzleloader bullet that a friend has and I'm good to go.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2013-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Value for the money - if you want a big bore air rifle its hard to beat the 909S. Lots of power for not a lot of money. I also like the looks of the single tube.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. The trigger on this rifle is absolutely terrible. Its gritty and the pull weight is somewhere in the double-action revolver range. There are tuners out there that can fix that though but I sure wish it came with a good trigger like many other top of the line airguns.

    What others should know: If you're going to put a scope on this rifle - and you really need to to get the kind of performance its capable of - you will need the highest rings you can get. I used BKL high rings with a scope with a 40mm objective and still had to remove the rear sight blade to make it work. This is because the rear sight is very tall.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By blandon34375 from USA on 2012-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: nicely mad very stylish look and extreamily accurate for a big bore air gun

    Things I would have changed: the trigger is to heavy

    What others should know: have it worked on by a gun smith for trigger and power tune

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joseph from USA on 2012-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is one nice looking rifle. I have only test fired so far. And the power is unbelievable, sounds more like a firearm. My target back stop is a conceit block. At 1/2 power and 20 yrds first shot broke thru one side of the block. I could not be happier with the purchase and the service from Pyramyd.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Due to the forward site, you will need a short scope if you plan on purchasing one.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2012-08-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice fit and finish, pretty light (lighter than my dressed condor)

    Things I would have changed: longer fore stock, better trap to keep air in the reservoir, sometimes the valve hangs open and when venting the pressure from my hand pump the air in the reservoir flows right out too... used some gun oil in the little air inlet and hasnt done it again, but poor design there for sure.

    What others should know: My best string way from the 200grn hollow point. @ 2800psi fill, shots were: #1 634 #2 683 #3 704 (204fpe) #4 676 Splinters 2x4's @ 50 yards, fun, but louder than my H&R 410 shotgun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeremy from USA on 2012-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very attractive gun!POWER!I first bought a 357 recluse and wanted a big brother for it and this was definitely it!Built for large game for sure!Extremly accurate as'well..should have let me give 6 stars on that one.

    Things I would have changed: air valve sticking but no big deal

    What others should know: If your air valve does stick and it wont fill with air...just cock it to low..tap on the reciever a few times and pump it up!only time this has happened to me is when I let ALL the air out of this gun.If you keep even 100 psi in it then it didnt happen.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2011-10-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Overall I am tickled to own such a rare and powerful pellet rifle. The rifle looks great. It is lighter than it looks and handles great. The jaw dropping looks I get are classic every time I let the lead fly!

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is way to stiff, but it was solved when I had it tuned. Loading port works fine, I just prefer bolt action.

    What others should know: Well.. Like many others I had my 909s professionally tuned to close to 300 ft/lb and the trigger lightened up to 3.5 lb. Now I believe I have something to shake a stick at. Should've already came that way tho...

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Sean from USA on 2011-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate. Enough power to kill anything you shoot in the ribs. The round balls will be found under the skin on the far side. Doesn't always leave that good of a blood trail.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like the quality of the finish or the way the peices of the gun are put together. But, the darn thing works great.

    What others should know: All these things cost too much, but you will save because you won't buy shells.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By rthompson45 from USA on 2011-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: Lots of fun to shoot. Powerful. Breaks a brick right in half.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the people at Pyramid Air would, at least occasionally, ANSWER THE PHONE! I had to buy an accessory from a competitor, who WAS available to answer my questions. But the gun is great.

    What others should know: Only that if you want to buy from a vendor who is available to help, look elsewhere.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By brian mcwhorter from USA on 2011-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings

    Things I liked: wow! i just got my 909s in and i have got to say that i am MORE than impressed! the power is truly equal to that of a .45 cal acp!!! no problems with it at all, very nice looking and feeling rifle. its truly unbelievable!

    Things I would have changed: the finish of the reciever could be a little better for the price, but overall i am very pleased with the quality of the gun and pyramid air staff, as they were very knowledgable.

    What others should know: DO NOT TAKE GUN LIGHTLY!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2011-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: This is a good looking gun i just get it two days ago it shoot accuary at 60yards with the 200gr pellects it have the power to kill s deer in side 60yards it is worth the money

    Things I would have changed: nothing at all

    What others should know: Dont over fill it keep it at 2700 to 2900 psi and it will shoot accuary

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2010-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: I purchaced the used sam yang 909s , the gun is fun to shoot and very accurate , the best grain bullet i found is the 200gr hp , though i use others . i like the power for a pellet gun , better than i anticipated . i bought the used one because other companies said that pyramyd air is very reputable and they would not hesitate to buy it from them . the employees with pyramyd exceeded my expectations. i plan on hunting with it soon and can't wait , with a 230 gr bullet at approx. 1500 psi at 25 yrds it went almost halh way through a 4x4 . very powerful , i plan on buying with them again . the staff are friendly and very knowledgable . i would recommend pyramyd air to anyone ,customer service is exellent , they are very patient where as i can be a pain.

    Things I would have changed: if i knew what i was doing i would put a better cocking bolt on it . overall i am very satisfied .

    What others should know: no doubt get a scuba tank for this gun it will save you more than just time .

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2010-08-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Things I liked: this gun is what i was looking for in a big bore aire rifle....it was relativley inexpensive and still does what the other custom guns do..

    Things I would have changed: offer this gun with a full tune..

    What others should know: the 909s in the hands of a tuner is a thing to behold...I've tuned my gun to give me 5 full power shots at 300 pfe using a .454 round ball 143grns....thats 950fps..before you buy this gun make shure you have a GOOD backstop and that you have a scuba tank or even better an scba tank...i have 2 scuba tanks and an scba tank and i can burn through air faster than lead when i take this beast outta the safe....but that said this will turn non-believers into airgunners...

  • 12 Next
Navigation