Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Sam Yang Big Bore 909S reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (28 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By fsh_whisper from USA on 2010-01-19 09:19:08

    Things I liked:I ordered the big bore a couple years ago (old model) and the gun just keeps on impressing me. With .454 lead swagged balls from hornady at 50 yards i get compleat pass throughs on a 50 gallon steel drum. This gun has HIGH POWER and should be treated exactally like a firearm. I have dropped several deer with it out to 60 yards, and have plowed over a couple of coyotes. If you spend a bit of time with your gun it's VERY accurate, for fun shot a couple squirles in the head at 40 yards. Nice gun, well balanced, and with a Leapers Bug Buster scope very accurate
    Things I would have changed:Would prefer a bolt action loading port rather than the slide cover port. With the port set up it makes it a pain to seat the ball, or pellet into the barrel. It is LOUD, although a much diff. sound than a firearm.
    What others should know:The neighbors hear it fire, but through conversations with them they really have no idea what it actually is. However this is not a backyard plinker and DONT buy it for that. This gun also takes alot of air, so if your not in shape enough to do some seriose hand pumping go the scuba tank route. It's a fine rifle, and be prepaired if you show it to friends cuz they are gonna want it !!!
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Ronald from USA on 2013-01-25 10:57:29

    Things I liked:Value for the money - if you want a big bore air rifle its hard to beat the 909S. Lots of power for not a lot of money. I also like the looks of the single tube.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger. The trigger on this rifle is absolutely terrible. Its gritty and the pull weight is somewhere in the double-action revolver range. There are tuners out there that can fix that though but I sure wish it came with a good trigger like many other top of the line airguns.
    What others should know:If you're going to put a scope on this rifle - and you really need to to get the kind of performance its capable of - you will need the highest rings you can get. I used BKL high rings with a scope with a 40mm objective and still had to remove the rear sight blade to make it work. This is because the rear sight is very tall.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2014-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood an metal look good an its compact ez to us and powerful
      Things I would have changed:nothing at all
      What others should know:This gun I had for 3 years an kill many deer with it these big bore air rifle are nice I have two 45cal 50cal an 357 all of them a good hunt guns I just get my 45cal by from Will piatt I had it tune an man I can tell the increase in the power I was going get an air rifle from big bore exertem but now thear no need this baby is for real I can get 300 plus fpe now going sent my 50cal dragon claw for a tune so for yall that get the 909 357reclue or the dragon claw an you hunt deer go get it tune by will piatt he is the best
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Zachariah from USA on 2013-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: I dreamed a big bore air rife from the time I was 12, Now I am 58. My gun started out at a little less than 850 fps with round ball and after over 500 shots it is faster. The hand pump is ok for my disco. but it quickly became time for a scuba tank and at $7 per fill its worth it. I can get about 200 shots from a 100 cubit foot 3500 lb. tank and hundreds of shots from the disco. after that. Quarter size groups at 50 yards with horn. round balls and a 200 gr. muzzleloader bullet that a friend has and I'm good to go.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2013-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Value for the money - if you want a big bore air rifle its hard to beat the 909S. Lots of power for not a lot of money. I also like the looks of the single tube.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger. The trigger on this rifle is absolutely terrible. Its gritty and the pull weight is somewhere in the double-action revolver range. There are tuners out there that can fix that though but I sure wish it came with a good trigger like many other top of the line airguns.
      What others should know:If you're going to put a scope on this rifle - and you really need to to get the kind of performance its capable of - you will need the highest rings you can get. I used BKL high rings with a scope with a 40mm objective and still had to remove the rear sight blade to make it work. This is because the rear sight is very tall.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2012-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: nicely mad very stylish look and extreamily accurate for a big bore air gun
      Things I would have changed:the trigger is to heavy
      What others should know:have it worked on by a gun smith for trigger and power tune
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joseph from USA on 2012-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This is one nice looking rifle. I have only test fired so far. And the power is unbelievable, sounds more like a firearm. My target back stop is a conceit block. At 1/2 power and 20 yrds first shot broke thru one side of the block. I could not be happier with the purchase and the service from Pyramyd.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Due to the forward site, you will need a short scope if you plan on purchasing one.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2012-08-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nice fit and finish, pretty light (lighter than my dressed condor)
      Things I would have changed:longer fore stock, better trap to keep air in the reservoir, sometimes the valve hangs open and when venting the pressure from my hand pump the air in the reservoir flows right out too... used some gun oil in the little air inlet and hasnt done it again, but poor design there for sure.
      What others should know:My best string way from the 200grn hollow point. @ 2800psi fill, shots were: #1 634 #2 683 #3 704 (204fpe) #4 676 Splinters 2x4's @ 50 yards, fun, but louder than my H&R 410 shotgun
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2012-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very attractive gun!POWER!I first bought a 357 recluse and wanted a big brother for it and this was definitely it!Built for large game for sure!Extremly accurate as'well..should have let me give 6 stars on that one.
      Things I would have changed:air valve sticking but no big deal
      What others should know:If your air valve does stick and it wont fill with air...just cock it to low..tap on the reciever a few times and pump it up!only time this has happened to me is when I let ALL the air out of this gun.If you keep even 100 psi in it then it didnt happen.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Curtis from USA on 2011-10-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall I am tickled to own such a rare and powerful pellet rifle. The rifle looks great. It is lighter than it looks and handles great. The jaw dropping looks I get are classic every time I let the lead fly!
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is way to stiff, but it was solved when I had it tuned. Loading port works fine, I just prefer bolt action.
      What others should know:Well.. Like many others I had my 909s professionally tuned to close to 300 ft/lb and the trigger lightened up to 3.5 lb. Now I believe I have something to shake a stick at. Should've already came that way tho...
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sean from USA on 2011-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate. Enough power to kill anything you shoot in the ribs. The round balls will be found under the skin on the far side. Doesn't always leave that good of a blood trail.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like the quality of the finish or the way the peices of the gun are put together. But, the darn thing works great.
      What others should know:All these things cost too much, but you will save because you won't buy shells.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of fun to shoot. Powerful. Breaks a brick right in half.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the people at Pyramid Air would, at least occasionally, ANSWER THE PHONE! I had to buy an accessory from a competitor, who WAS available to answer my questions. But the gun is great.
      What others should know:Only that if you want to buy from a vendor who is available to help, look elsewhere.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By brian mcwhorter from USA on 2011-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:wow! i just got my 909s in and i have got to say that i am MORE than impressed! the power is truly equal to that of a .45 cal acp!!! no problems with it at all, very nice looking and feeling rifle. its truly unbelievable!
      Things I would have changed:the finish of the reciever could be a little better for the price, but overall i am very pleased with the quality of the gun and pyramid air staff, as they were very knowledgable.
      What others should know:DO NOT TAKE GUN LIGHTLY!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2011-01-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a good looking gun i just get it two days ago it shoot accuary at 60yards with the 200gr pellects it have the power to kill s deer in side 60yards it is worth the money
      Things I would have changed:nothing at all
      What others should know: Dont over fill it keep it at 2700 to 2900 psi and it will shoot accuary
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2010-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchaced the used sam yang 909s , the gun is fun to shoot and very accurate , the best grain bullet i found is the 200gr hp , though i use others . i like the power for a pellet gun , better than i anticipated . i bought the used one because other companies said that pyramyd air is very reputable and they would not hesitate to buy it from them . the employees with pyramyd exceeded my expectations. i plan on hunting with it soon and can't wait , with a 230 gr bullet at approx. 1500 psi at 25 yrds it went almost halh way through a 4x4 . very powerful , i plan on buying with them again . the staff are friendly and very knowledgable . i would recommend pyramyd air to anyone ,customer service is exellent , they are very patient where as i can be a pain.
      Things I would have changed:if i knew what i was doing i would put a better cocking bolt on it . overall i am very satisfied .
      What others should know:no doubt get a scuba tank for this gun it will save you more than just time .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2010-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is what i was looking for in a big bore aire rifle....it was relativley inexpensive and still does what the other custom guns do..
      Things I would have changed:offer this gun with a full tune..
      What others should know:the 909s in the hands of a tuner is a thing to behold...I've tuned my gun to give me 5 full power shots at 300 pfe using a .454 round ball 143grns....thats 950fps..before you buy this gun make shure you have a GOOD backstop and that you have a scuba tank or even better an scba tank...i have 2 scuba tanks and an scba tank and i can burn through air faster than lead when i take this beast outta the safe....but that said this will turn non-believers into airgunners...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By mark from USA on 2010-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is very solid, well made, its very accuarate, who would complain about how loud it is, I love it!!!! Im very picky when it comes to airguns and I am completely Happy. In the woulds it sounds same as .357 mag. not kidding. the recent line also has a guage on the 909s like the big bore 44 909. it is very well balanced, very pretty to look at, I have no doubt it will kill anything deer size and smaller, its very safe gun because its a two step process to fire. It does shoot the .457 round balls, in fact the instructions clearly state it is intended to shoot .456 to .457 ammo, even though the barrel is .454, bullets are always bigger than bore size to grab the rifling.
      Things I would have changed:you know to be honest the air fill port cap can slip off, if the inside was grooved to recess the gasket it would lock on, or place a screw through the end with flat head. also a bolt action style breech like the DAQ's would be nice, but this style is certainly safer, maybe make the sights a little smaller or move the rear sight forward for scope. in reality I am still very happy and its still perfect the way it is.
      What others should know:the 200 grain slugs from airventuri are awesome, for coyote and game that size the 170 grain hollow points will drop them instantly, even at 100 yards. you will love this gun, it can be tuned easier than the sister 44 909. both are .454 bore size, get a short scope with a small objective lens, make sure its a rifle kind and not for airguns because this has recoil like a modern firearm, this gun is a gun, not a pellet gun or bb gun, its not a toy, you will have to go to the country or rifle range to shoot it, its loud but I like that. go to a scuba shop and buy a tank for 150 bucks used, and buy the fill station from pyramid air, thier hard to find. accept in paintball stores. I have been shooting the .457 round balls, very accurate, yes they are designed to shoot them, pyramid air says thier not on the .457 round ball page but thats why they sell them, the ammo for the 909s in all grains from airventuri are .456 to .457. I am looking forward to the many adventures with this gun, if you plan to shoot squirells good luck finding whats left. this gun will kill a 300pd hog in the head. take care of it, and it will last. dont waste time with a hand pump, it takes alot of air, and scuba fills it in 3 sec.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2010-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy is tops. Beautiful wood grain and finish. Overall workmanship is excellent.
      Things I would have changed:A longer forearm will make rifle balance a bit better using a sling to carry the rifle. Make the front and rear sights removable for more flexible scope mounting.
      What others should know:I do not know about deer sized or hog sized game, but I know this is a coyote and groundhog getter and a heck of a lot of fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By David from USA on 2010-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall very impressive! :-) The wood and fit is easily better then most production firearms.The power for the gun is very good.The actual bullet performance is compared a ruger old army muzzleloader revolver .457 round ball and a 45 auto 45acp (in my opinion) and thats what you going to get from this rifle and the accuracy is very good to 75 yds and dead on pretty much out to 50-60 yds depending on bullet type.I have 45 years cartridge and muzzleloading expierence including military and was facinated about big bore air guns and wanted to try this and im glad i did.Im having a ball shooting this rifle and anxious to take this hunting but be warned as this is a rifle with enough power to kill easily so treat this like any other firearm and dont get complacient.This rifle has restored my fun in shooting with out the politics of the ffl bull and all that goes with it!
      Things I would have changed:The first thing needing change is your mind set on how to approach handling the 909S or any big bore. Its good thing to have a hand pump for emergencys and special needs situations but if your going to be serious about using this rifle you need the scuba tank charging system method as its the only way to go! Yes theres expence to it so expect to prepare for it and you wont be sorry! Example:I use an 80cuft tank for charging while bench shooting but if your hunting in the woods,Put a small pony bottle 6-13cuft in your pack! It fits well and you can stay out and recharge from your day pack if you need to:-). The cap at the air fill needs to be more secure and the rear sight ? it works ok but a tru glo sight would be great! The finish on the reciever looks cheap (nickel) a standard blued or black finish would be better. It would be GREAT if the 909S was offered in a tactical/camo hunting version with composite stock as that offers a hunting version and i would buy a second 909S for that! mabe even a third ;-). Are you reading this pyramid?
      What others should know:I think the cost is a bit high as many nice cartridge firearms sell for less then big bore airguns do and that restricts many people from trying air gunning. Theres a delema here and closing this gap may actually enlarge the big bore airgun market overall.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By fsh_whisper from USA on 2010-01-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.54 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I ordered the big bore a couple years ago (old model) and the gun just keeps on impressing me. With .454 lead swagged balls from hornady at 50 yards i get compleat pass throughs on a 50 gallon steel drum. This gun has HIGH POWER and should be treated exactally like a firearm. I have dropped several deer with it out to 60 yards, and have plowed over a couple of coyotes. If you spend a bit of time with your gun it's VERY accurate, for fun shot a couple squirles in the head at 40 yards. Nice gun, well balanced, and with a Leapers Bug Buster scope very accurate
      Things I would have changed:Would prefer a bolt action loading port rather than the slide cover port. With the port set up it makes it a pain to seat the ball, or pellet into the barrel. It is LOUD, although a much diff. sound than a firearm.
      What others should know:The neighbors hear it fire, but through conversations with them they really have no idea what it actually is. However this is not a backyard plinker and DONT buy it for that. This gun also takes alot of air, so if your not in shape enough to do some seriose hand pumping go the scuba tank route. It's a fine rifle, and be prepaired if you show it to friends cuz they are gonna want it !!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By John King from USA on 2009-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.59999990463256845 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks good .. good wood.. good finish .. good gun smithing... good choice of scope and mounts..
      Things I would have changed:install stock swivel stud.. send it out with clean bore... The cap that goes over the air inlet port lifts on and off.. should be threaded.. could lose easy in woods...
      What others should know:the disadvantage is pumping the gun up.. you should mention this in your ad.. and you best be in shape to pump it up... Other then that I absolutely love it..
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Turbo Tim from USA on 2009-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love the fit and finish, I bought it with the Leaper scope and I do dig the lit reticule although I like it best at it's lowest light setting. The rifle feels good in your hands and balances well while aiming. There is basically zero recoil and the report, while louder than I expected sounds completely different than a gun's report. Can't explain it but it even kind of echo's almost like being shot into a fifty gallon drum. Like I said hard to explain... easy to load and cock but had a wee bit of a problem getting the hose I bought to fit up to my scuba 1st stage of my regulator. More on that later. Overall I and my friends agreed, it's a beautiful weapon. Also not sure what the other reviews are talking about but there is pressure gauge on the bottom of the stock just below the rear site. It is in cm2 not PSI so you have to kind of get used to it it boils down to 14.2 cm2 per each PSI so 200 cm2 gives ya about 2840 psi...Overall I would recommend this rifle to anyone.
      Things I would have changed:Not really happy about the power... I was under the impression that it would blow through a 2x4 easily and keep on going, mine so far has not. I tried shooting it at a 2x4 block with a redwood stump to back it up. I shot a 147 grain ball and I shot a 200 grain hollow point. The ball makes it about 1-1/4" into the fir 2x4 and slightly splits the block. I tried it with more than 1 block and it was at a 20 yard distance so still a little disappointed there but with that said 1-1/4" into a hard wood equates to a pretty substantial amount of power. Also the little black cup that spins around at the end of the filler tube slips off quite easily, if I take it hunting I'll probably leave it behind. Also trying to get a full view in the Leapers 5th Gen scope is a little tricky. For me it feels a little unnatural to have to crane my neck that far forward so I get a full view through the scope and there is no way to move the scope back, not even an 1/8". Might switch it with the 3-9 on my Remington. Also a littel worried about the accuracy. Now that I have it hitting 2 inch patterns at 50 yards I still have a round that goes 5 inches right every once in a while. I am going to try different ammo and try a few other things before I say that it is not accurate. It could just be a myriad of different things, I'll check back in with my results.
      What others should know:If you want to order the filler hose that fits on to the nipple that comes with the gun you have two choices, 1. buy the yoke that comes with the hose for $74 bucks or so or 2. If you want to attach it to an old 1st stage scuba regulator you gonna need some help. I went down to my local Hydraulic shop and they were able to put together an adapter for about $6 bucks that fits in the high pressure port of the regulator and fit the British threads that come on the hose. The rear site looks like it is going to completely block the Leapers scope yet when you look through the scope you see nothing.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top