Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Sam Yang Recluse Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2012-05-03 11:27:45

    Things I liked:Just about everything. The gun has beautiful wood. Very nice bluing and the fit and finish is better than my 909S (slightly). The accuracy of this rifle is great. I am keeping a 1" group at 70 yards and the rifle hits HARD!!!
    Things I would have changed:Make the trigger a true 2-stage and FULLY ADJUSTABLE!!Give it an automatic safety and allow the gun to be cocked with the safety ON!! I REALLY dont like that! But I just make sure I put the safety on as soon as I cock the gun.
    What others should know:This air rifle is LOUD!! It is as loud as a .357 handgun (I have one). BUT...I like that. Lets me knwo I am shooting a POWERFUL Weapon!!! This gun is deadly accurate at 100 yards. I practice shooting free hand at clay pigeons(clay discs 4" in diameter) at 100 yards and break them easily. Now ...I have been shooting since I was 5 and I am 56 now so I am a seasoned marksman...but this gun makes it easy. I would recommend though if you want MAXIMUM power..PERFORMANCE and a great trigger...call Will Piatt @ Saddle Mountain Gunsmith in North Carolina and send him the gun. He will get it dialed in and make it even better!! He is doing my 909s right now and I can hardly wait to see the results!! These are expensive but they are worth the money. If you want a gun that you will hand down to your son or daughter for hunting and even target shooting...and teaching the wife to shoot...this is the gun. Use the H&N Round Ball ammo (73 grains) and give Mr.Hollowpoint a call for his 116 grain hollowpoint slugs. They are great too.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Howard from USA on 2013-04-06 21:55:50

    Things I liked:As others have said,pictures don't do this gun justice.It hits like a hammer.
    Things I would have changed:Shot count.I only get two good shots.
    What others should know:This thing is a air hog.Dont expect to hand pump this thing.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Recluse is a well made air gun - nice barrel bluing, the wood stock and forearm finished nicely and the etching on the receiver is very cool. The gun is very powerful and loud for the first several shots. It handles well and is comfortable to shoot. I bought the single reservoir model (244 cc) because according to Will Piatt at Saddle Mountain Gunsmith it is slightly more powerful than the 500 cc model but you get fewer shots. It's a really nice looking gun.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is very stiff. A two stage trigger with less trigger pull weight would help, but this is not a big issue.
      What others should know:I took the advice from Will Piatt and purchased four different types of ammo: JSB Exact King 77.62 grain Pellets, Mr. Hollowpoint 85grain holllowpoint EPPUG slugs (.358" diameter), 92 grain flat nose EPPUG slugs (.358" diameter), and 000 Buckshot (.360" diameter, 70 grains) from Ballistics Products. I sighted my gun in at 50 yards (I was hoping to get good groups at 75 yards). The gun does not shoot the EPPUG slugs as well as I hoped - 2.75" five-shot groups with the 92 grain flat nose and 4" groups with the 85 grain hollowpoints at 50 yards. The JSB pellets shoot 3.5" five-shot groups at 50 yards. The 000 buckshot shoots the best out of my gun - .75" - 1.25" groups at fifty yards. Do not try to mount a 50mm scope on this gun, even using high scope mounts - it will not work. The PA sales rep sold me a standard Hawke Airmax EV scope and assured me after speaking with the gun mechanics that it would work. Well it doesn't work. I removed the rear sight and the scope still contacts the ring that the rear sight attaches to. This ring is not removable. I had to buy the UTG Compact IE 44mm scope and use the medium height scope rings. They work well. I was able to get up to 976 fpe using the JSB pellets and 989 fpe using the 000 buckshot. I plan to send the gun to Saddle Mountain Gunsmith and get a power tune. Hopefully this will also improve the accuracy of the gun. My goal is 1" groups at 75 yards for coyote hunting. It takes around 325+ pumps to fill (Hill Pump)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joey from USA on 2014-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Design, power, and I think it will be very accurate with the right ammo. The Sam Yang co. must be on top of the game with this product. So thanks to them for a really cool air rifle!
      Things I would have changed:Removable sights should be a future consideration for the manufacturer. I for one prefer a lower profile scope set-up.
      What others should know:Dont need a scuba tank. If your at least 150#s. 35 pumps keeps it at peak pressure between shots. Worth every stroke!
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Howard from USA on 2013-04-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:As others have said,pictures don't do this gun justice.It hits like a hammer.
      Things I would have changed:Shot count.I only get two good shots.
      What others should know:This thing is a air hog.Dont expect to hand pump this thing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MARK from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the hole package! The fit and finish are great and the feel of it when You shoulder the gun. I have never owned a Korea made gun befor but I am Impressed.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing it is just what I expected
      What others should know:This thing is not a toy it is a serious hunting weapon
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By MARK from USA on 2012-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish of the Sam yang recluse is great. Nice bluing. The single tube handles Great in the field. Not to short and not to long just about perfect and it has plenty of accuracy for any hunting situation .
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is a little heavy but that can always be fixed.
      What others should know:What's nice about the 357 cal is you can run 67gr round ball or 75gr bullets for varmints Or 140-150 gr bullets for bigger game.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Heather from USA on 2012-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:great gun a real hunting rifle with crazy knockdown power ,i like the fact that it will reach out and get it down . nice looking gun with super finish on it
      Things I would have changed:well the trigger is a little hard ,but seems to be loosening up after 200 shoots . a little loud but it is a true hunting .
      What others should know:have them check it over and test it befor u get it just to make sure the seals are good . this gun is a beast and she is air hungry . but for close hunting ,like say 50 to 60 yards low power is all u need and u save your air . shoot it as much as possible when u first get it cause it just needs breakin time . get at lease 3 different types of pellets i found that it likes the 115 grain but it loves the 67 grain round ball , 75 to 100 yrds no problem . shot through 2 decking boards at 50yrds and the pellets are still going ,bet they in NC now lol
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Heather from USA on 2012-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this thing is a beast ,got the 115 grain pellets ranged in at 60yrds 2in groups ,head shoot and today i got the 67grain dialed in at 70 yrds quarter size group.I tell u this thing can drop anything ,i am shootin through 2 pieces of decking boards at 45 yrds and the pellet just kept going through the woods, probably stoped in the next town for water ,lol. love it ,almost readty to sell my 7mm
      Things I would have changed:if u get 1 have them to check it over befor it goes out the door , my pressure gauge burst on me , but these guns a simple to repair , if u know guns , but if not send it back!! the trigger is a little hard but ,there is really no recoil so that the trade off
      What others should know:the gun is loud, but this thing is for hunting !!!!!!shoot it as much as possible because it seems to be a little wild for the 1st 20 or so shoots then your groups tighten ,and the gun likes the 115 grain but loves the roundball. the gun really hit hard on low power also at 60yrds ,taken deer on low power will be easy at 60 plus yrds i 've done the penitration test . will have video soon. 6 star in my book
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything!
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing!
      What others should know:A year ago I moved into a small chalet in the Catskill Mountains. I discovered that in order to protect my dog from predatory animals a lethal alternative to a conventional firearm was absolutely necessary. Over the last few months I purchased the Sumatra 2500 in 25 caliber, the TalonP in 25 caliber and the Sam Yang Recluse in 9 mm. All of these products are beautifully constructed. Each has a well-defined purpose with respect to what my dog and I might run in to. If I were asked, what is my favorite security tool with respect to the three air guns that I now own I would find it a difficult question to answer. I say this because the Sumatra 2500 can take on a pack of coyotes, the TalonP is light enough to take on a long hike in tough terrain and since the Recluse blows holes through a 2X8 at 100 feet, I believe it would give me a fighting chance against an aggressive black bear. Without question I am very happy with my purchases. Additionally the people at Pyramyd Air are outstanding in all respects and a real pleasure to do business with. Sincerely, Mike Boyer November 3, 2012
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Relatively inexpensive .357 caliber with plenty of power. The quality of this gun is simply amazing. It's a lot of fun to shoot, and it's much more accurate than I expected. But wear hearing protection because this thing is loud!
      Things I would have changed:I wish it were a bit quieter and got more than 4 shots on high power, but there's not much that can be done about that.
      What others should know:Low power gets you seven shots, and it's still pretty darn potent. If you are going to the range, buy a tank. Hand pumping isn't as hard as I thought it would be, but I still wouldn't want to have to do it in the middle of a shooting session.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ROY from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:awesome power for an air gun.shoots 1+1/2 inch groups at 120 feet with 125 grain solid nose bullets.well crafted nice wood working . If New York allowed deer hunting with air rifles I wouldnt hesitate to use this one for 50-75 yards shots to make a clean kill. The power is there with the accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:design mounting rail for scopes a bit higher to allow larger aperture scopes to be mounted with out adding an adapter to get higher clearance. a minor issue
      What others should know:this is a loud gun.. not for back yard shooting unless your yard is far enough from others.the air filler port end was a bit loose and had to be tightened I had first heard air seepage when filling gun from scuba tank and thought the adapter seal was leaking but it was actually the refill port end where it screws into the air tank in the gun. A really nicely crafted gun all in all i also have the sam yang 25 cal. carbine , buying this 9 mm was an easy choice after the performance of the previously purchased rifle , Im looking forward to a very productive hunting season this fall ,, if you are considering a higher powered air rifle this is a strong contender for market share.I have the single tank gun and get 4 good shots at 3000 psi .. after 4th shot in down to a bit over 1000 psi..all my group shots are in 4's at hi power settings and then i re-air it up.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By seth from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's hard to appreciate the looks of these rifles until you see one first hand. Pictures do not do them justice. The wood and metal finish is very nice. I like the way it handles. It shoulders nicely and seems lighter than what is stated.....Balance feels good. It has amazing power and is very accurate. Your friends won't believe it. I don't notice any recoil when shooting this. It's not silent by any means but it's nothing like the sound a firearm makes. Very fun to shoot!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Just about everything. The gun has beautiful wood. Very nice bluing and the fit and finish is better than my 909S (slightly). The accuracy of this rifle is great. I am keeping a 1" group at 70 yards and the rifle hits HARD!!!
      Things I would have changed:Make the trigger a true 2-stage and FULLY ADJUSTABLE!!Give it an automatic safety and allow the gun to be cocked with the safety ON!! I REALLY dont like that! But I just make sure I put the safety on as soon as I cock the gun.
      What others should know:This air rifle is LOUD!! It is as loud as a .357 handgun (I have one). BUT...I like that. Lets me knwo I am shooting a POWERFUL Weapon!!! This gun is deadly accurate at 100 yards. I practice shooting free hand at clay pigeons(clay discs 4" in diameter) at 100 yards and break them easily. Now ...I have been shooting since I was 5 and I am 56 now so I am a seasoned marksman...but this gun makes it easy. I would recommend though if you want MAXIMUM power..PERFORMANCE and a great trigger...call Will Piatt @ Saddle Mountain Gunsmith in North Carolina and send him the gun. He will get it dialed in and make it even better!! He is doing my 909s right now and I can hardly wait to see the results!! These are expensive but they are worth the money. If you want a gun that you will hand down to your son or daughter for hunting and even target shooting...and teaching the wife to shoot...this is the gun. Use the H&N Round Ball ammo (73 grains) and give Mr.Hollowpoint a call for his 116 grain hollowpoint slugs. They are great too.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rodney from USA on 2012-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the iron sights, the Quality of the wood in the stock, the weight,measurements and dynamics of the gun are perfect. A+A+A+ With the 9mm you can use roundball, pellet, or bullet its very versatile.
      Things I would have changed:Not A Damn thing... If it Ain't broke dont touch it...
      What others should know:I like shooting this gun with iron sights, it takes me back to the days of when i was a kid. I can hit anything with this gun. 100% Kick ASS... Today I just mounted a Hawke optics Scope 3-9X44 IR HD just to see what more I can do. Maybe a Turkey today. :) I will make a hunting video with this gun to show how many things you can hunt with it, Turkey,coyote, pig, deer. ECT... Just Air Having Fun...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2012-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is a beast!very powerful!Very accurate!Beautiful gun.
      Things I would have changed:be able to remove rear sight...limits your scope options!maybe a screw tightend breech seal.
      What others should know:Like soft lead! I'm getting amazing accuracy with mid weight rounds.100 gr.- 130 grain! 1/2 groups at 50 yards.Also the cover for your port air fill is removable so keep a eye on it,wont fall off but if snagged it may.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rodney from USA on 2012-04-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was blown away by the Quality, I was not expecting the quality i recieved, i thought it would be more asian junk
      Things I would have changed:I don't think there is anything i would change, this thing is Kick ass.
      What others should know:If you live in the city dont think that the cops wont show up if you shoot this thing in your back yard. I did a dry fire after putting on the cocking lever, it sounded like a .38 revolver. Bad ass gun only 8 shots but how many things do you want to kill...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2012-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this gun is a beast!105 grain .38 cal bullet does great!POWER!!!!!!!!!!!Def. for hunting though!15-150 lb range!
      Things I would have changed:Very load!sounds like a 22 mag.
      What others should know:Probe cover will come off so keep a eye on it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Frank from USA on 2011-05-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power ! This rifle throws a .357 pellet of various weights at 750-900 fps. I'm using 70 gr and 77.8 gr for woodchuck, also bought soem 90 gr. The pellets blast through a 2x6 ft board at 35 yards. Shoots straight and dose damgage at 50 yds +. Easy to load with scuba tank, very safe with cocking bolt, a handsome gun. Love it.
      Things I would have changed:Nose reduction, if possible. It is almost as loud as a .22 rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All... this gun is perfct to hunt here in my country Lightweight, fast and deadly!
      Things I would have changed:The bolt screw(after several shoots you need squeeze this screw) Very Very very loud !!!!!!!
      What others should know:This is a hunting rifle to mediun size game,then you should not expected many effective shots(6 max) And thats all follks dont forget shoot safe " Corales from Brazil"
    Back to Top