Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Smith & Wesson 586, 4-inch Barrel reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Jevin from USA on 2010-04-15 13:06:17

    Things I liked:Wow!!! I got to say this is one son of the gun. Great weight and feels real. It feels like firing a real gun....awesome!! Powerful and extremely accurate, Take my advise if you are really serious about buying good quality airgun. This is the one i strongly recommended. Oh ya ....BUY EXTRA MAGAZINES!!!!
    Things I would have changed:Half inch shorter of the grip looks nicer.
    What others should know:Make sure the pellets are tight in the magazine and the gun will jam If the magazine are not in tight and right position.Or else you should have no problems shooting.
    0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2007-09-14 09:24:38

    Things I liked:Disappointing. Jams too often. Accurate when fired.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heft, feel, and balance are very close to the real 586 firearm. Sight picture is very good to excellent. Trigger is good but not perfect. CO2 cartridge loading is easy as is changing out an empty cylinder for a loaded one. Liked the lack of recoil and relatively quiet report. The gun is quiet enough for indoor/basement target practice without forcing everyone in the house to wear ear protection.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is much different than the real firearm; but not bad. Single action trigger is heavier than my real 586 but still crisp if somewhat gritty. The double action trigger is lighter than the real firearm and has a shorter stroke. This is understandable as cylinder mass is much lower than in the real 586 and only a tenth of a cylinder rotation is required for each trigger pull. Both triggers are more than adequate for good accuracy even if they aren't the same as the firearm's. The rear sight doesn't always follow the movement of the elevation adjustment screw. I had to raise the rear sight to sight-in. After I backed the screw out a bit, I had to pull up on the sight itself to get it to follow the screw...probably a burr in the channel it sits in. Did not have to touch the windage adjustment. The top of the right grip panel does not lie perfectly flat against the frame when a CO2 cylinder is loaded. I can see daylight between the frame and grip.
      What others should know:I own both a 4" 586 and a 6" 686 firearm. Both have incredible triggers. Didn't expect a $250 CO2 pistol to duplicate the real firearm trigger, and wasn't surprised when it fell short; still it's plenty good enough for 10 meter target work. I've only put one CO2 cartridge through this gun to date. Was able to get 55 shots from it before noticing a velocity drop-off. Accuracy seemed quite good offhand. It was about what I'd expect from my real 586. Accessory cylinders are still looser than the two that came with the gun. The RWS R10 7 grain wadcutter pellet works good in both, but the pellet does drop further into the accessory cylinder chambers than it does in the originals. The pellets do NOT drop out. Bought this to save on ammo expense while getting frequent indoor practice. Looks like it fills the bill. Will post again if I learn more about this handgun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2014-04-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very realistic feel. Love the rubber grips. Very accurate for a replica.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to load pellets into a "bullet like" cartridge, similar to the Dan Wesson bb revolver.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By James from USA on 2013-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels good in the hand, I like the hard rubber grips. Very realistic in looks function and weight.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. Maybe a more positive lock up when closing the pellet cylinder. Haven't shot it a lot yet but so far have not had any problems. The grip is a little long.
      What others should know:It's a fun pistol to shoot and fairly accurate for a 4" barrel.I would recommend it to anyone.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By 103David from USA on 2013-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Still an excellent value, particularly for those with a "Real" Smith & Wesson "K" or "J" frame, or perhaps a Colt Python or Cobra. Great practice piece and a hooping lot less expensive that practice with powder.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By raymond from USA on 2013-09-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This revolver is awesome!The german craftsmanship is superb.Every thing about this revolver screams quality.Buy one,you wont be sorry.
      Things I would have changed:I know it would increase the price but a real blued finish instead of the matte black finish would make an even great replica that much better,other than that its perfect.
      What others should know:This gun is very accurate as is.I put a BSA pistol scope on it and now its near impossible to miss.Buy the 3 pack of magazines to keep the fun going.I also purchased the 6 inch barrel and it feels as nicely balanced as the 4 inch barrel.Velocity is also a little higher with the 6 inch barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Charles M from USA on 2013-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Smith & Wesson 586 pellet revolver is not only an excellent airgun, but also a very versatile one. I first bought the complete 6-inch barrel revolver and then bought the 4-inch barrel accessory. Changing the barrel was very easy. I think I like the 4-inch better for its shorter length because its slightly lighter weight and easier to handle. It also fits in my holster better than the 6-inch. However, I was slightly less accurate with this 4-inch version. Although guns with shorter barrels tend to be less accurate, I think most of the inaccuracy was due to my relative lack of training and experience. Nevertheless, I was still on target on the 2 inch shot spots with groupings ranging from 1 inch up to 2 inches.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything with the exception of putting white dots on the front and rear sights.
      What others should know:I tested this gun with these pellets: Crosman Premier Super Match wadcutter, Crosman Premier Super Point, Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum domed, RWS Superdome, RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol, RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS R10 Match, RWS Hobby, RWS Superpoint Extra, H&N Sport, H&N Baracuda, H&N Field Target Trophy, H&N Match Pistol, H&N Spitzkugel, H&N Finale Match Pistol, JSB Match Diabolo wadcutter, and JSB Exact Diabolo domed. I used the magazines that came with the gun and the three magazines from the accessory pack. All five magazines worked very well for me. I didn't have any problems at all with jammed pellets except when I used the Crosman Premier Super Point pellets or when attempting to shoot more than 55 shots with weak CO2 pressure. I don't know why other reviewers are reporting so many jams especially when using the accessory pack magazines. I didn't have that problem, and I strongly recommend buying the accessory magazines along with the gun. For a replica pellet revolver, this Smith and Wesson 586 is well worth the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By 103David from USA on 2013-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A pretty good representation of an "L" frame Smith & Wesson. Very little plastic in this one, in fact it feels heavier than the real thing. While far from match-accurate, it's still more than acceptably so. Fallen leaves in my back yard tremble in fear at any likely range. Personally, I found the 6 inch barrel not to my liking, while the 4 inch seems about right...but that's just me. Absolutely do not believe anybody that says this has a trigger-pull or an action like the real thing...it doesn't. Out of the box it's rather rough and very notchy when the lockwork engages. But to be realistic, neither you nor I should expect that in something that costs a small fraction of the real thing. Is it acceptable? Yes, better than acceptable in fact. Does it improve with use? Yes, remarkably so. Is it good for practice? Yes, and a whole lot less expensive than launching .38 Specials down range. I'd recommend it for those who can't own or afford or have neighbors that object to recreational firearms usage in the back yard.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like a 3 inch barrel option, re-engineer the butt to make it shorter, 3-dot or outlined sights, and fix the damn accessory magazine problem.
      What others should know:Upon reading the past reviews, there is a persistant complaint that this revolver jams. The problem clearly stems from the poor quality of the accessory magazines which are manufactured somehow differently than the two that come with the gun. While the original two are fine and work quite well, the holes in the accessory mags are too big, and the pellets fall out either in your pocket, while being handled, or in the gun itself, which will cause a jam when the cylinder tries to rotate. Bad, bad, bad. Until this issue is addressed, I'd strongly advise against buying the accessory 3-pack of magazines. If you insist on using the accessory ones, you'll need to know the (unpublished) technique to unjam your revolver is to take your .177 cleaning rod and GENTLY tap the offending pellet (which is hanging out the front of your magazine half-way into the barrel) back into the magazine and then you can open the cylinder and remove the problem. This seems to be a lot quicker than the published technique of removing the barrel, which will be your fall-back technique. I have an order in for a selection of different diameter pellets to salvage the 3-pack mag issue and I'll amend this review later on.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By buster59 from USA on 2012-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the co2 compartment-I liked the feel of the 5864-I like the way you load the revolver.
      Things I would have changed:a gauge to let you know when you are running low on co2-adjustabe trigger
      What others should know:go ahead and purchase the 10 for $10. You are going to have to sight this puppy in when you get it. Don't let the co2 too low a pellet will get stuck in the gap between cylinder and barrel. Very nice revolver
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By motorcycle_dan from USA on 2011-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good heavy feeling revolver, Not cheap plastic
      Things I would have changed:Uses a LOT of CO2. Accuracy drops off if shots fired withing 10~15 seconds of each other. Rapid cooling causes vertical stringing in rapid fire practice.
      What others should know:Quality piece, very good for double action dry fire practice.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Marc from USA on 2010-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very good for practice without the expense of going to a range. 1 to 1 Accurate with a 686. Weight is the same.
      Things I would have changed:Offer in a 3" Barrel.
      What others should know:Very high quality item. I've been weighting over a year for this to be available.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Reza from USA on 2010-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It feel great. It is accurate. However it must be mention that if you use any pellets other than Wadcutter or Domed, you ran the danger of gun getting jammed. I have a Crosman 357 that works much better, a lot cheaper & take any .177 caliber pellet without getting jam.
      Things I would have changed:Jams too often. I wish they could fix this problem. This is a problem.
      What others should know:I just want to emphasize on Jamming. They need to look into this.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jevin from USA on 2010-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow!!! I got to say this is one son of the gun. Great weight and feels real. It feels like firing a real gun....awesome!! Powerful and extremely accurate, Take my advise if you are really serious about buying good quality airgun. This is the one i strongly recommended. Oh ya ....BUY EXTRA MAGAZINES!!!!
      Things I would have changed:Half inch shorter of the grip looks nicer.
      What others should know:Make sure the pellets are tight in the magazine and the gun will jam If the magazine are not in tight and right position.Or else you should have no problems shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By bradda from USA on 2010-04-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feels like the real smith & wesson. Comfortable to shoot. All metal. Better than the crosman I used to own. Fits well in holster. I have to qualify every year so this gives me good practice.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Pretty good gun but more pricey. Prefer shooting the 6" model.
      What others should know:Good quality but more pricey. I have the 4" and the 6" models so I can have friends over to shoot. The CO2 lasts longer with the 6" barrel. Buy extra mags. I have 5 mags per gun. The 6" shoots 80 rounds comfortably. The 4" shoots ony 60 rounds before running out of power. Cheaper than practicing with real bullets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2010-01-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This airgun looks and feels great. Nice heft and balance. Incredibly accurate for a 4" barrel. I ordered the interchangable 6" barrel and it works just as well, accuracy seemed about the same but that could be the shooter's error with the heavier barrel, freehand. I really love this gun and the versatility of the option of two barrel lengths!
      Things I would have changed:The plastic tool that is included for changing out the barrels was stripping in the counternut and I couldn't get the nut to budge. I called Umarex and they confirmed that I could use an 8mm alan wrench, which worked perfectly. A metal tool should be included for changing out the barrels, instead of the plastic one. Oh, and the only reference to this tool was in the instructions that came with the 6" barrel. If you just bought the airgun without the extra barrel, you'd be wondering what on earth the thing was for (it's shaped like a wheel with a short six sided "axle".
      What others should know:This is a fairly heavy airgun, especially with the 6" barrel. I find the 4" barrel to be better balanced and therfore giving me greater accuracy. From benchrest, both the 4" and 6" barrels are dead on. This is turning out to be one of my most accurate air pistols at 25'.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2009-09-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well, ya get what ya pay for. This S&W is a classic. No rattletrap clunking plastic on this one. All steel. Solid as a rock. A sweet piece. Straight out of the case it shot a group of 5 at 50 ft. I could cover with a quarter. Take a bow PyramydAir. Excellent Service. Excellent Product. Well Done.
      Things I would have changed:Order 2.
      What others should know:Buy one. You won't be sorry. I've owned the generic $50.00 plastic imitations and there's nothing wrong with them if they're all that your wallet can bear. They aren't even close to the same league as this pistol. This one is built to last for a long,...longgggggg time.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2007-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Disappointing. Jams too often. Accurate when fired.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top