Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Smith & Wesson 586, 6-inch Barrel reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (32 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2009-02-24 07:04:24

    Things I liked:This is the finest CO2 sporting pellet pistol available today! It has almost the same fine single-action trigger pull as the 586 firearm it copies, and the double-action pull is much better than the firearm. Accuracy is remarkable for a sporting handgun. I can easily shoot 3/4" groups at 10 yards from a supported position. The rubber grips are very much like Hogue grips and they feel perfect in the hands. Power is excellent. Finish is deep and even.
    Things I would have changed:When perfection is reached, there is nothing to change. I wish Umarex would also make a Colt Python pellet pistol.
    What others should know:You will like this pellet pistol so much that you'll be tempted to buy the .357 Magnum firearm to go with it. Go ahead, because it is just as nice as the pellet pistol.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-01-05 15:44:11

    Things I liked:The feel of this gun and the materials are great! Feels like a real S&W powder burner. The gun is simplistic to work and loading is easy. You get about 50 shots per CO2 then the velocity starts to drop off gradually.
    Things I would have changed:Open the valve up just a tad to get about 550-600 fps out of this gun.
    What others should know:Nice plinker and well made German piece for sure. Forget about hunting with this. I shoot pistol specific pellets in this pistol (H&N and RWS R10). Stay away from Crosman Competition pellets.....very consistent weights but the head size are a little undersized and will fall from the mags.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tremor Jones from USA on 2014-08-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made, exceptional accuracy, good shot to shot consistency W.R.T. velocity (at least till you're at the tail end of a co2 powerlet). Nice to have 10 rounds in the rotary magazine. Most Co2 pellet pistols have 6 or 8. Comes with a nice case. Although I have installed a low profile panoramic sight (walther multireticle), there is enough room in the case so that I could still fit the gun in with minimal modification to the foam. The gun really comes to life IMO with this sort of sight. Since the sight radius is a little on the short side, It's very challenging to realize the pinpoint accuracy of which the pistol is capable using the stock open sights (Though they are adjustable and fairly good) with the dot sight, the issue of accuracy damaging sight misalignment is gone, and you will see those pellets go right where the dot says they will. I find that the pistol will hit anything I can see at 25 yards with this arrangement. It's quite satisfying. CO2 usage is very efficient.
      Things I would have changed:I would like the feel in double action mode to be just a little bit smoother. It wouldn't need to be much smoother to make it perfect to my tastes, but I suspect it would take significant engineering to go from pretty darn smooth to perfectly smooth, thus raising the price. So, take this comment in the context of "If I could make them do whatever I want and not pay any more money " It really is a fine pellet gun I wouldn't want to dissuade anyone from buying this over such a minor and subjective issue. Also , I wish they'd bring back the 8" version! I'd buy one in a heartbeat.
      What others should know:Its just a little on the loud side, probably due to the minute cylinder gap intrinsic to this type of pistol. Still, it's not unreasonable, I'd say its pretty average for CO2 repeating pistols (which are mostly, in fact, revolvers of some form. Though sometimes the cylinder and/or hammer are hidden to create the illusion of some other type of pistol) So, it's much louder than a spring piston , a bit louder than a pump up pneumatic , and much quieter than an un-shrouded PCP pistol. I find that this pistol works best in single action mode. Although the double action feel is quite good in the realm of air guns, I would say that it has a little "rough spot" somewhere in the middle of the cylinder advancement phase that is not as smooth as what you'd expect from a real fire arm of good quality such as a Ruger or a Smith. This is really nit picking though. It is very well made, and double action shooting is entirely viable.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The looks, the feel, that the cylinders are real metal, the adjustable sights, and accessories that allow a pistol scope or red dot to be used.
      Things I would have changed:The method of piercing the co2 cylinder. If you don't get it to lock on the first try, it will empty the cylinder. Rear sight is ok, the front should have a gold or silver highlight on the top.
      What others should know:Lots of users have sung the praises of this gun so I will not belabor you with that. It is nice, but it is not a powerful pistol. In my opinion it should be a .22, the .17 just doesn't have enough power to shoot anything but paper, but,that's just my opinion. It will work nicely indoors but doesn't have much range outdoors, especially if there is any wind. A Crosman 2300T is more powerful and way more accurate ( yes, I realize it is a single shot and a target gun, but it costs about the same and does a way better job at putting the pellet where you want it.) That is not my opinion, that is a fact easy to prove. All things considered, this is a very nice piece fun to shoot fun to show. If you have the disposable income to use I would say, buy it. If you want to shoot something outside get the 2300T also.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Charles M from USA on 2013-06-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Smith & Wesson 586 6-inch pellet revolver is an excellent airgun. When I first started buying and shooting pellet and BB pistols, I never thought I would buy such a high priced pistol, but this purchase was well worth the price. With the exception of the rubber grips, this gun is all metal and has a good weight and feel when gripped. The accuracy is very good. After sighting in, the shots were consistently hitting on target on 2 inch shot spots from 15 feet away using single action with a double handed grip in a standing position in my basement range. The smallest grouping was 7/8 x 1/2 inch using RWS domed pellets. The largest grouping was 1 1/2 x 1 inch each using R10, H&N Field Target Trophy, and JSB domed. In a seated, bench rested position, single action shots were consistently hitting on the 2 inch shot spots with groupings ranging from a low of 7/8 x 1/2 using RWS domed pellets to a high of 1 1/4 x 1 inch each using R10, H&N Sport, H&N Match Pistol, JSB Match wad, H&N Baracuda, and Crosman domed. The double action trigger is smooth and not too heavy. I found my initial double action shots were pulling to the right, but they appeared to be centering on-target more as I shot more magazines in double action. I think this gun can produce smaller, more accurate groupings in the hands of a more experienced and skilled shooter. I have only been shooting airguns for a little over a year now and do not have any formal training shooting any kind of gun.
      Things I would have changed:I wouldn't change anything with the exception of putting white dots on the front and rear sights. A greater total shot count would be desirable, but not at the expense of power and accuracy. Currently using either Crosman or Umarex CO2, I can get only about 50 - 55 shots. I usually stop now after 50 shots because those last five shots have a significantly increased risk of jamming part way out of the magazine.
      What others should know:I tested this gun with these pellets: Crosman Premier Super Match wadcutter, Crosman Premier Super Point, Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum domed, RWS Superdome, RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol, RWS Meisterkugeln Rifle, RWS R10 Match, RWS Hobby, RWS Superpoint Extra, H&N Sport, H&N Baracuda, H&N Field Target Trophy, H&N Match Pistol, H&N Spitzkugel, H&N Finale Match Pistol, JSB Match Diabolo wadcutter, and JSB Exact Diabolo domed. I have successfully used most of these pellets with all of my CO2 pistols. Four of these pellets I haven't yet tested on the other pistols. For the first time I have found a pellet that just does not work well at all. Umarex and others warn against using pointed pellets because of the possibility that the pointed pellet may be too long to fit in the magazine. The Crosman Premier Super Point is still short enough for the S&W 586 magazine, but the diameter of the pellets is such that they fit much too snugly. Even with a fresh CO2, there is too great a chance of the Crosman Premier Super Point jamming part way out of the magazine and part way into the barrel. When this happens, the only way to unjam the gun is to remove the barrel, then remove the magazine, then remove the protruding Crosman pointed pellet. Overall, this gun performs very well with all of the other pellets I tested.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ken from USA on 2013-04-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great quality air gun.
      Things I would have changed:Having to remove the handle to change the c02.
      What others should know:Graet airgun, lots power, adjustable sights. feels good, great training aid.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By william from USA on 2013-02-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything but the price
      Things I would have changed:Throw in a few extra megazines, wont cost much but will add more value to the gun.
      What others should know:Pricy, especially when compared to the Dan Wesson, but this shoot lead pellet not 6mm plastic BBs. If you want the best, this is it. Quality never come cheap. Even with its high price, still a great value.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-01-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The feel of this gun and the materials are great! Feels like a real S&W powder burner. The gun is simplistic to work and loading is easy. You get about 50 shots per CO2 then the velocity starts to drop off gradually.
      Things I would have changed:Open the valve up just a tad to get about 550-600 fps out of this gun.
      What others should know:Nice plinker and well made German piece for sure. Forget about hunting with this. I shoot pistol specific pellets in this pistol (H&N and RWS R10). Stay away from Crosman Competition pellets.....very consistent weights but the head size are a little undersized and will fall from the mags.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Eugene from USA on 2012-11-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun is like the real thing in weight and feel. It's fun to shoot and is very accurate.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. It's great.
      What others should know:Specs on the shots per CO2 cartridge is fairly accurate. About 40 to 45 shots per cartridge.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2011-07-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very much like the S&W Firearm.Makes a good trainer.Plenty accurate. Lots of metal. Smooth trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe include fiber optic sight blades as extras(comes with extra front sight blades of different widths.). I bought some fiber optics and converted my sights using one of the included extra front sight blades and drilling holes in the rear blade (I used my Beeman P1 pistol as a guide.)
      What others should know:A fun gun. Great gun to have on hand to introduce new shooters to the sport. It's easy to use-just point and pull the trigger for ten shots and reload the clip.Good number of shots for each CO2 cartridge.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-05-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The combination of its all-metal build quality coupled with excellent accuracy (1" groups hand held at 25') and pretty good shot count (at least 50 constant velocity shots) on a CO2 cylinder. This gun has the weight and feel of the S&W .357 Magnum.
      Things I would have changed:A lower price would be nice as would one more extra mag packaged with the gun.
      What others should know:The S&W 586 is a much better shooter than my Beretta 92 FS replica. I also have owned the Crosman 357W . This shoots a bit better and doesn't have the plastic components that make the Crosman feel a bit like a toy. Shoots pretty much any pellet I tried in it well but seems to like RWS Meisterkugeln Pistol the best.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ray from USA on 2011-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything. All metal except the grips. Great CO2 lever piercing system. Realistic weight due to being almost all steel. 10 round clips that are metal instead of plastic. Single and double action. Sights adjustable for elevation and windage. Around 50 to 60 good rounds per CO2 cylinder. Shoots as straight as the proverbial string. If you can't make one big jagged hole with 10 or 20 rounds at 20-25 ft using the iron sights (with a rest perhaps), you're doing something wrong.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Just remember you'll need a stubby little blade screwdriver to remove the grip when it's time to replace the CO2.
      What others should know:All in all, pretty much like the real thing which I have in .44 Magnum. I love the Colt 1911 A1 too but the bottom line is that it's the S&W that's the winner if for nothing much more than the adjustable sights, single/double action and easier to handle pellet clips. No other air handgun I have will beat it unless you want to stuff something in your belt for just in case. If that's what you want to do, the 1911 A1 is a little handier to carry.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Tim from USA on 2011-01-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The reviews are correct! This is one well built CO2 and there are no cheap plastic parts on it. So much fun knocking a soda can across the back yard.
      Things I would have changed:I should've ordered the extra two pellet wheels!
      What others should know:I get 30 good shots on a CO2 charge, not 40 as I've read, but 30 is just fine by me. You can easily shoot up to 40, but performance really starts to drop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher from USA on 2011-01-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's been almost 4 years now since I purchased this gun and it has complete construction of the gun for full metal replica feel. I've always been a revolver fan and Umarex did a great job constructing this gun since it's made in Germany. This gun takes up 50-55 shots on 1 Co2 and the accuracy amazes me. Its very hard to shoot with a 8inch barrel so it's best to shoot with a 6inch or 4inch. Each shot has strong piercing loud punch and trigger feels great with single/double action. I can see the quality of this gun and the amount of work done to the gun for the exact replica. If you want one of the best pellet gun repeater and you're a revolver fan, get this quick because you won't be disappointed. The best collectors gun I've ever owned.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the whole bullet cylinder can turn instead of the small round magazine. I wished that the magazine can fit any pellet without jamming the gun. I noticed that only german brand pellets can fit perfectly without jamming the gun. I think the value of the gun is somewhat overpriced right now but back in 2007 the price was well worth the value. The 4inch barrel model was around $179, 6inch model ~ $196 and 8inch ~ $210. I would still definitely recommend this air gun to a professional air gun enthusiasts and beginners even with the boosted price of this gun.
      What others should know:I purchased this gun back in Nov 2007 for the 8inch barrel model for $217 for my first Co2 gun for my birthday. Price has gone up since I bought the gun so it holds or gains it's value pretty well and I bought all the extra barrels to complete my set along with extra magazines. Use beeman pellets or any German brand pellets that can fit in the magazines. Gun can jam on low Co2 or non German made brand pellets. Umarex sold the 1st generation of this model in shiny coated black like the one I purchased instead of the new flat black for 2nd gen model. The flat black tends to scratch more on the extra rotating magazines I purchased. Umarex discontinued the 8inch barrel model so very rare and they're starting to discontinue the extra barrel accessories as well so hurry and get them.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2011-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The S&W 586 has the heft and feel of the real deal. I really enjoyed firing this gun. It's one of the best in my collection
      Things I would have changed:The only thing I would change is the clip on the grip to replace the air cylinder. Once in place, it's hard to remove to replace the cylinder. Not that big of a problem
      What others should know:I would definitely recommend this gun for fun and accuracy. It was a good choice for my collection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CharlesW. from USA on 2010-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pretty much everything! Really handsome looking airgun.
      Things I would have changed:Bring back the 'discontinued' 8 inch barrel option on the gun or as an accessory (only available now in the UK).
      What others should know:If I could do over, would have purchased the gun in the 4 inch barrel version, then bought the 6 inch 'interchangeable barrel system'. This way you got both barrel options - the 4" barrel on its own, i.e., less gun, is not available here in the USA (UK only). The plastic case even has foam cutouts for both barrels (nice if your a completionist like me). (Still a couple of carrying case 'cutouts' that I'm not sure what they're meant to hold?)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jan from USA on 2010-12-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Realistic look,weight and feel. Quality construction.
      What others should know:Buy extra magazines.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Artur from USA on 2010-10-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I bought this revolver for my wife as one of her birthday presents a year ago. It is our most addictive air gun. We spent all day shooting in the back yard and almost missed a reservation in the restaurant. The quality of the gun is excellent. It can be easily mistaken for a real thing. Also, it feels like a real thing from its weight to trigger pull. Rubber grips are perfect as well.
      Things I would have changed:It would be great if pyramid will start selling three barrel kit for this revolver. They still make and sell them in Europe. In England they even sell silencers for this gun.
      What others should know:If you are planning on purchasing this gun I would certainly recommend buying extra magazines for it. I got three extra when I purchased this gun, and just bought three more from pyramid. Also, before you start shooting it, clean the barrel, and check if all internals are lubricated. Don't forget to learn Dirty Harry's line
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2010-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The quality is beyond excellent! I am able to use Gamo Blue Flame Pellets in this weapon and that makes it a deadly weapon! Easy to load co2 and pellets. Lubed it up a bit with non-petroleum based oil and it works like a Swiss Watch. Accuracy is excellent at 10 yards and beyond. LOVE THIS GUN!
      Things I would have changed:NOTHING
      What others should know:I own Crosman's 357 pistol and it may be fun to shoot but nothing like this masterpiece! Buy one and you won't be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Leafhopper from USA on 2010-06-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The attention to detail, the weight and balance, and the appearance makes for an exact replica of the firearm. It is extremely accurate and powerful. Umarex is noted for their quality and this is a fine example.
      Things I would have changed:Only one thing I feel could be improved and that is the revolver pellet magazine is picky about pellets. Quite a few pellet types fit too loosely and may fall through the holes...this can cause the gun to jamb. To prevent this, I spread the pellet skirts a little to snug them up.
      What others should know:I have owned this gun for over 18 months. Yesterday, I decided to see what the long range accuracy of my 586 was and I set up my target at the most distant point in my yard, which gave me a range of 27 yards. My target was 8 inches in diameter with a 3 inch shoot n see bull. 6 of ten shots were within the 3 inch circle and one shot was a bullseye. This is about the same as my rifle accuracy at that distance. I am very happy with this performance.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jules from USA on 2010-05-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great heft; feels like the real thing. Comes with hard case which has cutouts for all the extras: pellets, cartridges, spare magazines. Very realistic; action is smooth; this is one of Tom's picks and he didn't lie. Accurate out of the box, I haven't messed with the sights. Fired off 10 clips just because it's fun.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing! I would buy three extra magazines (that's all there is room for in the box) because this pistol is so much fun you just want to play with it.
      What others should know:Pyramid Air claims three mags per CO2 cartridge but I got five. Don't shoot more than 5 as owners are warned about sticking a pellet in the barrel if the pressure is too low. There will be a few discharges necessary to depressurize the pistol but you won't waste much CO2
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Les from USA on 2010-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun feels "real". At a recent family gathering I showed it to a gun enthusiast nephew, who went and got his dad and uncle and cousin and grandpa because it felt so real. I spent the afternoon loading magazines for them to shoot. It is all metal and i love shooting it with my son, and I think he will someday enjoy shooting it with his son. I got mine second hand and it is still like new. That saved some $$. I tried a couple of other highly rated pellet pistols, but they felt like toys.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Get the extra magazines and lots of pellets. If you go shooting with friends or family...maybe keep a look out for a second gun, or you don't get to shoot it much, it is everyone's favorite.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top