Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Smith & Wesson 686, 6-inch Revolver reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (11 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Kyle from USA on 2010-04-27 14:19:58

    Things I liked:I like everything about this gun very durable and deadly accurate
    Things I would have changed:make a 20 shot clip lol nothing wrong with the gun
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:4

    Accuracy:4

    By Charlie from USA on 2011-01-31 08:36:00

    Things I liked:I like the weight of the pistol. And the accuracy is acceptable. There is definitely more quality here than in the cheaper versions. The additional front site blades are nice as well.
    Things I would have changed:A better trigger would be a plus. An additional effort should be made to make the grips closer to the Hogue grips on a factory Smith. Drill the top strap just like a factory gun to allow mounting the same optics as your real gun.
    What others should know:I bought this for training my friends how to shoot NRA Action Pistol. It has just enough power to shoot 10 yards and just enough accuracy to hold the X ring on an official target. If you are looking for a great training tool for double action revolver shooting this is it. Crossman pellets were too wide and jammed in my gun.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2012-03-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is amazing! The weight and balance are perfect. Build quality and detail are top nothc. It's also very accurate. Buy this one, you won't be sorry.
      Things I would have changed:The only thing would be to finish the magazines to match the finish of the rest of the gun!
      What others should know:Get it!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2011-12-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The revolver is well balanced and easy to sight in. Both the single and double action work well. It is easy to load and has a nice co2 latch. This is a good pistol for target practice because of the weight and feel.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The pistol has a nice trigger but it takes practice to use it properly. The revolver needs to be loaded with the more espensive pellets to get good accuracy.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Derek from USA on 2011-05-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's heft and it's just a plain fun gun to shoot. I shoot international and got this just for fun and I have never had so much fun just blasting pellets. It would be better if they valved it not to use so much CO2 but I don't care. Don't waste your money on the cheaper air revolver, this one is awsum!
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps make a wood grip option. Make it easier to find the other barrel lengths, I have the 6".
      What others should know:JUST BUY IT FOR FUN AND JUST BLAST AWAY!!!!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Charlie from USA on 2011-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the weight of the pistol. And the accuracy is acceptable. There is definitely more quality here than in the cheaper versions. The additional front site blades are nice as well.
      Things I would have changed:A better trigger would be a plus. An additional effort should be made to make the grips closer to the Hogue grips on a factory Smith. Drill the top strap just like a factory gun to allow mounting the same optics as your real gun.
      What others should know:I bought this for training my friends how to shoot NRA Action Pistol. It has just enough power to shoot 10 yards and just enough accuracy to hold the X ring on an official target. If you are looking for a great training tool for double action revolver shooting this is it. Crossman pellets were too wide and jammed in my gun.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2011-01-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fit, form and function. Gun feels great in your hand. The case that is comes in is great, also. It holds two CO2, a can of pellets, and my extra cyl mags. Plus more, if needed.
      Things I would have changed:Chrome the cyl mags and mag release button
      What others should know:Buy it!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2011-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pretty good copy of the real thing, very hefty - as it should be. Inevitably with an airgun revolver and its tiny pellet ammo, the cylinder mechanism cannot be replicated, but the 'illusion' is reasonably convincing.
      Things I would have changed:Really wish there was a wooden grips option.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2010-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has the weight, feel, and looks of the S & W 686. The pelt magazines are metal, not plastic. It is too heavy for a 12 yr old, but it a good practice weapon for inexpensive ammo to use to develop your shooting skills. I have the real thing, S & W 686 which kicks with .357 ammunition. This pellet gun is a good trainer for developing you trigger pull with the index finger. The sights are nice. The box has a great foam insert with precut areas for round pelt ammo holders, CO2 cartridges, and other items you may want to carry. It includes a bore brush for the .177 bore of the pistol. You still need to clean the bore to be effective using gun oil, patches, etc. to removing the lead. This is a quality product.
      Things I would have changed:I would add the red/orange mark on the front sight which is like the real gun. It does come with extra front sights, but no red/orange mark. I would like the magazines to be stainless steel on the outer circumference, but that would be an extra cost for the cusumer to pay for 686 magazines with stainless steel. It doesn't effect the functioning of the gun to use the same black magazines used on the S & W 586 gun.
      What others should know:I ruined my crossman 357 pellet gun by leaving the CO2 cartridge in the gun during storage. The instructions for the S & W 686 says not to storage the gun with the CO2 cartridge in it. If you do, it destroyes the seals in the firing system. I also, now place a drop of Crosman "Pellgunoil" on the top of the CO2 cartridge before inserting it into the handle of the gun. Crosman recommended do the Pellgunoil on their CO2 pellet guns to protect the seals. WARNING: Don't use the Beeman Silver Arrow .177 Cal, 11.50 Grains, Pointed, 500ct pellets in this gun, they fit too tight and shear off when the magazine turns. It caused a mal-function which prevented the magazine from advancing. Clean the bore of the gun barrel before using the gun for the first time. It comes with oil in the barrel to prevent rust.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Kyle from USA on 2010-04-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about this gun very durable and deadly accurate
      Things I would have changed:make a 20 shot clip lol nothing wrong with the gun
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2009-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great gun!!!!!!!!! All the reviews on this and the 586(same gun just blued instead) are spot on. I bought the weaver rail and red dot sight (from pyramyd also) and I dont miss the bullseye. After 20 shots I have to replace the target as the bullseye is totally shot out. Dont be scared of the price on this gun, I bought 2 cheaper guns and had problems with C02 leaks. The only thing that has gone wrong with this gun afterr my first 500 shots is I had 1 pellet jam, and that was my fault. I was so into shooting I forgot about the CO2 running out. The trigger on this gun is incredible. I didnt think it was possible to have a trigger this nice without spending upwards of 500 dollars.
      Things I would have changed:This is nit picking, but I would change the hard covered case the gun comes in. If you are going to just use the gun its great but if you add a scope or anything else to the gun its worthless. The foam in the case is laser cut to the shape of the gun and leaves no room for anything else, though it is nice in the sence that there are also cut outs for CO2, clips, and other little things you may need. I wish I would have known this at the time of purchase as i would have ordered a normal pistol case as well. Other then that it is really hard to find anything wrong with this gun. Some of my friends dont like the weight if it, but it is an accurate reproduction of a real 357 so the weigght needs to be correct and to me the weight speaks to the quality of the gun, its not some light cheap piece of just.
      What others should know:I use the RWS R 10 pellets (wadcutter, 7 grains). They are more costly then others but the accuracy is worth it and when you buy 3 you get 1 free from pyramyd so it helps offset the cost a bit. Anyone thinking of buying this gun should do it, you wont be disapointed.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By magic from USA on 2009-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The heft and feel of this gun is great and that makes it really fun to shoot. When I bought mine there were interchangeable barrels like a Dan Wesson.
      Things I would have changed:The thumbwheel-spin-up CO2 cartridge loader is incredibly stubborn and sometimes takes something hard like the edge of a coin to turn. Also, the pellet "magazines" should have made in silver metal to match the gun's finish for more authentic looks.
      What others should know:Double or single action firing are so fun that it's adictive. Buy more extra magazines!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Fingers from USA on 2008-01-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have several .117 air pistols from many different manufactuer's. This is my pet as it is similar to my .22 smith model 617. Trigger pull is far better then even the better semi-auto pellet pistols. It hits right where you aim but I have not grouped it on paper. Function is very smooth. Finish is holding up nicely. Easy to clean.
      Things I would have changed:I'm not a fan of the black rubber grips on so many of todays pistols. If I could swap them out for wood I think it's looks could be improved. I could only find one scope mount out there which I purchased and installed a red dot but it is very flimsy.
      What others should know:Buy lots of extra clips as you will want to shoot and shoot and shoot more. Clips are the best that I've seen. Very sturdy and foolproof.
    Over
    ammo packs sold