Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Smith & Wesson M&P R8 CO2 BB Revolver reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-08-06 12:18:39

    Things I liked:It has some nice weight to it. It's also every bit a true revolver since the entire clip does in fact advance as you shoot. It also fires double and single action. I was hoping for a metal frame but can't complain since it's the only bb revolver i know about on the market. Wnt accuracy at a distance, it has a place under the barrel for a laser.
    Things I would have changed:The loafing directions are a bit in conflict. To put the gun on safe you pull the safety to the rear. To load you push the safety forward past fire. The direcions state to put the gun on safe then load. This physically can't be done. If you put it on safe you can't load it.
    What others should know:The m&p stands for military and police, but I can't see a military or police force that would use a revolver over a 9mm semi-auto. This seems more like a home defense type of gun since it does require frequent reloads.
    1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:2.0

    By lentil from USA on 2012-03-23 07:30:32

    Things I liked:Not much
    Things I would have changed:All plastic internals resulting in heavy, rough and gritty movement from cylinder, hammer and trigger. Single action pull is 10-11 lbs; about the same in double action. Feels nothing like a real revolver in either heft or action.
    What others should know:The Crossman 357W is far superior to the MP R8 (both in feel and function) and is almost half the price.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By walter from Canada on 2014-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:i like the feel of the gun in my hand the sights are excellent .they can be adjusted if nessary easy to load i fired this right out of the box made a bullseye very nice to shoot
      Things I would have changed:refine trigger pul and hammer pull although i feel it will improve with use
      What others should know:great price i do plan on another m&p .cant go wrong with PYRAMYD AIRexcellent dealer walter
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Tony from USA on 2013-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a real, live, honest to goodness revolver. That is enough reason to buy. Thirty years ago I spend part of a summer learning to shoot PCP. 600+ rounds a day, for a month or a liitle more, all through a wheelgun. Revolvers have a special place in my heart.
      Things I would have changed:The pistol is far too light. The weight is concentrated in the handle and the pistol is light at the muzzle. While the plastic is very sturdy about another pound of gun would be appreciated. The rear sight is a "V" express sight that takes some getting used to. I'm shooting way better with it now, but it was tough going at first. The cylinder release has to be pushed gingerly when the "full moon clip" containing the BBs is loaded. The release hits the BB clip and makes opening the cylinder difficult.
      What others should know:It's a real revolver. The trigger pull is classic Colt, stacking at the last little bit of pull. I prefer that system as it allows you to shoot accurately in double action. Just pull the trigger all the way through until it stacks, check your sight alignment, add a little pressure and you're there. The pull seems fairly short and not too heavy to me. If the pistol was just another pound heavier the pull would by perfect. The pistol is very quiet for a CO2 pistol. It seems to go easy on the CO2, I got about 80 shots before the BBs started hitting low. It is fairly accurate at smoothbore barrel BB range. I've been shooting at 16.5 feet and I am pleased with the results. It's been a few years since I shot a revolver extensively, so I'm still getting flyers. I'll take the blame for those. I don't have a lot of technical data to offer. This is a fun gun and well built for the price. If Umarex offered it a pound heavier and in .22 caliber with a rifled barrel I would pay double or triple the price for that gun as well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ted from Canada on 2013-11-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pistol is one of the most accurate replicas in just about every detail. The only difference besides the plastic construction is in the ejector rod where on the real steel it is black, not chrome like this one. This gun has a really nice positive grip and shoots very accurately with the adjustable rear sight. The loudness is quiet enough to shoot in your back yard but loud enough to give that feel that you are shooting a gun. The authenticity of the swing out cylinder and the under barrel picatinny rail make this gun an unbelievable pistol for the money. The hidden CO2 compartment in the grip is a really nice addition with a push button on the butt of the grip to access the CO2 compartment. The addition of metal in the grip adds to the weight which balances the gun nicely and gives the grip a really comfortable feel. I have added a laser to the picatinny rail and this gun is now deadly accurate at 30' and a lot of fun for plinking. Definitely a nice gun to shoot and worth every penny.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is a little heavy in double action which hinders the accuracy somewhat, however, in single action is butter smooth and very accurate at 30'. I would like to see spare mags readily available.
      What others should know:Trigger pull is a little heavy in double action.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-04-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Single action revolver, gas miser, pretty accurate for a smooth bore, the flip out cylinder is cool. Overall look and feel of the gun is super cool, the single action mode is the only way I shoot it because I like to cock it manually like an old fashioned six shooter, and because it has no power in double action mode.
      Things I would have changed:More power.
      What others should know:I returned the first one I got because it was very weak, it would only shoot around 300 fps in SA and 180 in DA. The second one was better at first, it would shoot around 400 fps if good and warm (90 degrees)in SA and in the 350 range in DA. Now, 4 months later it has lost considerable power also, shooting in the 320's in SA and just under 200 again in DA. I got one shot at 372 fps today and all the rest (a couple dozen shots) were 329 and below, very disappointing. I warmed the gun up as this one is very temp sensitive and put in a fresh gas cartridge also. Hard to believe I got two duds in a row, but heck my $30.00 Crosman Phantom I bought at Walmart out shoots this by a large margin. Wouldn't recommend. I do recommend Pyramyd Air however, they are super to deal with, they go the extra mile to satisfy their customers. I've dealt with half a dozen different reps over the past year or so and every one has been great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By sev from USA on 2013-03-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun has a good weight to it it has such good plastic that when I first got it I thought it was metal there are still a lot of metal parts though and it is extremely realistic
      Things I would have changed:I wish the gun were full metal and the trigger and lever are a little stiff it is also hard to put it on safety and the rear lever is a little crooked but nothing can be perfect
      What others should know:The gun has a very good aim
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jorge from USA on 2012-12-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The design and S&W logos are just stunning! The ABS materials feels very resistant and the weight its ok for a co2 gun. If you are looking for a replica, definitely this is your gun.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger is hard as hell!
      What others should know:Pellet version as Gamo R-77 & Diana R-357 would be nice.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2012-06-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:When I received this revolver today, I was pretty excited about my purchase! I have read extensive reviews on all the airguns I plan to purchase. This was the only pistol I was interested in despite the mostly bad reviews. The reason I bought this airgun was because I have always liked revolvers, but could never find one that had appealed to me like this one! Just a little on the light side...it still retains it's heft! I was amazed at how solid this gun was for a composite revolver! The accuracy I have experienced was better than I expected for a B.B. revolver! The realism was second to none. I plan to use this for many years to come.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a little more weight for balance purposes...but for an air rifle back-up sidearm or target/plinking pistol, this should suit everyone just fine.
      What others should know:This was my first purchase from PYRAMYDAIR, but I have other items on it's way as I'm posting this! The service so far was great, and the website was extremely informative prior to purchase!...Thanx P.A.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gerard from USA on 2012-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is accurate, good on co2 and fairly quiet if you want an indoor shooter. The size and proportion seem correct to scale of the real firearm, also has a nice grip feel.
      Things I would have changed:Wish the gun was heavier and made of metal.
      What others should know:This gun is all or mostly plastic, but considering the price, that's OK because the plastic is of good quality and the fit and finish is decent. The gun is a reliable shooter, no misfires. Pyramyd Air probably has the best price on the web for this gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-03-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I just plain like revolvers and this really revolves. It easy to load and shoot. Accuracy is fine for a bb pistol.
      Things I would have changed:More metal and a heavier weight. Cocking could be smoother also. Too bad they did not make this one a pellet pistol too.
      What others should know:As if yet I have not seen where to get extra magazines. Maybe I just don't know to look.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By lentil from USA on 2012-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not much
      Things I would have changed:All plastic internals resulting in heavy, rough and gritty movement from cylinder, hammer and trigger. Single action pull is 10-11 lbs; about the same in double action. Feels nothing like a real revolver in either heft or action.
      What others should know:The Crossman 357W is far superior to the MP R8 (both in feel and function) and is almost half the price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Wolverine-gulo-gulo from USA on 2012-02-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It's a wheel gun and works like one. Exact Replica. Nice feel.
      Things I would have changed:Blue the silver on the Cylinder rod. Make magazines available.
      What others should know:Dead ringer for the real deal. Worth the $$$
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:2.0 2.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-01-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice looking gun
      Things I would have changed:Price is way too high for a gun this light accuracy is all over the place better barrel needed, loading is difficult, they dont make extra speed loaders for this gun yet
      What others should know:The Dan wesson is in my opinion a much better gun
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2011-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks awsome. I was excited to get my hands on it until I got it in my hands. Very first thing that I thought was, "another plastic gun." I shot it a few times and it then found a home in "the drawer of forgotten guns". Sadly the drawer is getting a bit full. I recently took it out for some family to shoot. It was fired a few times and ignored in favor of guns with more metal.
      Things I would have changed:Definitely stop the love affair with plastic! It would be an awsome gun if it wasn't a "plastic toy".
      What others should know:Great idea totally ruined by plastic. Get somethong better made or risk having your own drawer of forgotten guns.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By AMCooper63 from USA on 2011-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good feel. Not a cheap feel.
      Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is heavy. Under 10 will have trouble pulling the trigger. Adults accuracy will be affected.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great to shoot, look and feels like the real deal (I own the real revolver and this one with the powerlet in has nearly the same weight).
      Things I would have changed:include a second speed clip. The one included only gives you 8 shots. I have two friends wanting to shoot it and that was the only complaint.
      What others should know:The powerlet provides about 60 shots.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mike from USA on 2011-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun has some nice weight for a mostly plastic gun,i like the way the cylinder pops out like the real thing also like the way it locks up the adjustable rear sight always helps you dont need to take the grips off to change to Co2.I like the double single action pretty accurate for a BB gun at 20 feet.
      Things I would have changed:As always extra magazines are a big plus i dont no why they never give you more then one.
      What others should know:I think for the money this is a great gun and lots of fun to shoot. Has good power too.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Mak from USA on 2011-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The gun got a full cylinder, which is cool and simulates the speedloader. The appearnace of the gun is almoste exactly like the real deal as well. Adjustable sights and nice rail for light.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is way too tough, no rails included for top, loading bbs is annoying though, good if they use bullets like DW, but it is okay for the price
      What others should know:This gun don't have spare mags and so you need to load a clip once and shoot then load again, not an action shooter but a fun shooter instead. Cool gun! powerful too, 420fps avg on my chrony, quieter than all Co2 pistols.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2011-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Functional cylinder,functional extractor bar. excellent CO2 chamber access and concealed piercing knob.SA/DA trigger. Weight,balance and heft . "Ostrich skin" stipling on the grip. adjustable rear sight. Shots per CO2 (over 100!) frame mounted ,thumb actuated safety. The way it feels in the hand.
      Things I would have changed:make it in full metal.
      What others should know:A REAL revolver! The cylinder actualy turns when cocking SA or DA. The extractor bar works like the real thing pushing out the 8 shot removable polystyrene clip.Load it up and a flick of the wrist locks it back in place. The frame ,barrel,cylinder,grip and trigger guard are all some kinfd of plastic , but don't let that put you off. It keeps the price down and the designers lined the pop-up back strap and CO2 chambre with steel (or lead?) to bring the CG. down . Wrap your middle finger and thumb around the grip and feel how well balanced the gun is.. You can't put it down. This gun has the best CO2 access ever. There is a descrete "push" engraved on the bottom of the grip. Push it and the back strap pops up for easy CO2 insertion (Use pell gun oil)and the piercing knob is accessable for even the biggest fingers.Closed and it's totaly concealed DA trigger is two stage with a definite 'stop' then a hint of pressure on the trigger drops the hammer w/o losing POA. Accuracy is so/so but with some practice I put 28 out of 30 shots into a 2 3/4" bulls eye (7 into the 1' center ring)@ 16.5'(5M). Rear sight IS windage & elevation adjustable It's a real gas miser. I got over 100 shots from 1 CO2 and smashed a beer bottle on the 106th shot.. A fun gun ,thoughtfuly designed at a good price makes this another winner from Umarex.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great BB gun. I happen to like the real thing in 357s & this is a great way to practice and just have fun plinking in back yard or chasing off critters, like chipmunks & squirrils.
      Things I would have changed:Add extra clip with the original package. Also offer extra clips for reasonable charge. I like to have extra's loaded & ready to shoot where real, pellet or BB. Saves time & does not interrupt shooting rhythm.
      What others should know:Read the Instruction book and everything should be fime. Get a good quality pellet or BB when getting these niceer guns. The few extra bucks with pay off in the long run. KEEP THE GUN VERY LIGHTLY OILED as instructed & it will last a long time & give good service.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Stuntman Mike from USA on 2011-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction. No weaknesses or loose parts. The hammer and cylinder are a bit sticky right out of the box, but they loosen up with use. Yes, the gat is plastic with metal parts, but it is very high quality plastic so dont worry.
      Things I would have changed:Accuracy is shabby for a gun made by Smith and Wesson. Was expecting more. But not aweful
      What others should know:The only air revolver to my knowledge that offers high quality for such a low price. A must for people who dig the style and class of a wheelgun in this age of automatics.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top