Date: 29/9/2016 19:50
0

Stoeger ATAC Suppressor Gas Ram Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By John from USA on 2015-10-14 23:04:00

Things I liked: I have the .22 cal. The synthetic stock is solid and feels great in your hand. The weight is balanced and the recoil is smooth and not overwhelming. The cocking effort is very easy in my opinion (35 lbs), However, I have a Hatsan 125 Vortex that has a 47 pound effort and I find that manageable. The gun is also very quiet. The pellets impact makes a louder sound than to gun itself. You cant go wrong with this gun! I provided some instruction below that I hope will help you frustrated ATAC owners.

Things I would have changed: The stock scope is below average and does not do the gun justice, The trigger is a typical airgun trigger.

What others should know: It takes some work to get the rifle functioning properly. I see reviews on numerous sites and can see the majority of the ATAC owners have no idea how to tune in this gun. I am shooting half inch groups at 25 yards. Shoot 200 plus pellets through this gun to smooth it out and don't be concerned about your grouping at this time. Try many different pellets. The JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed are the best. They averaged about 730 fps, 21.46 FPE. Remove the stock then unscrew the stock-lug at the rear (10 mm wrench) Use RED Locktite and re-install the lug. Use Blue Locktite on all the stock screws. Clean your barrel and be very careful not to strike the muzzle baffles at the end of the rifle.I replaced the trigger with GTR-III. My trigger pull is now at about 2 lbs. I replaced the scope with a Leapers/UTG 3-9x50 and used heavy duty UTG 6 bolt scope rings. This is now an incredibly accurate and fun gun to shoot. My top 5 favorites!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By RONALD from USA on 2016-04-04 21:31:46

Things I liked: Horrible rifle,scope broke apart inside after 38 shots.Tried every type and weight of pellet and can only hold a good group at 10 yards.Any further and it is all over the place.Miserable to cock and load.Terrible trigger.Waiting to hear from pyramid air to see if they will issue me a refund without paying restocking fee for this junk.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2016-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifles overall fit and finish. An excellent value for the money with accuracy in both .177 and .22 exceeding my expectations.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger could be better but then again most rifles triggers can ALWAYS be better !

    What others should know: I purchased both the .177 and the .22 caliber rifles and I find them both to be excellent value for the money. The triggers weren't as bad as I expected and accuracy far exceeded my expectations. I'm more than happy with both rifles fit, finish, and performance and both will serve their intended purposes rather well. I also purchased the 20 for 20 program which provided for test firing and chronograph information for both rifles as well as scope mounting and/or checking for proper scope installation. All in all a great rifle with great performance from a company with fantastic customer service.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By RONALD from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Horrible rifle,scope broke apart inside after 38 shots.Tried every type and weight of pellet and can only hold a good group at 10 yards.Any further and it is all over the place.Miserable to cock and load.Terrible trigger.Waiting to hear from pyramid air to see if they will issue me a refund without paying restocking fee for this junk.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i love the look and feel of this rifle . the weavers on the stock was an excellent idea , as it keeps you from having to alter the gun to add accessories . as far as i can tell , it is proving itself to be a accurate , hard hitting gun . the grip is a big plus . in my opinion it gives you more control as compared to a traditional stock . construction seems to be well thought . i like the fact that the barrel and breach is 1 piece . i purchased a crosman crusher and the barrel would loosen . the scope was pre-mounted , which allowed me to get straight to zeroing right out of the box , instead of fighting with the scope and mounts to get it aligned .

    Things I would have changed: even though i like the feel of it , it is still kind of heavy and bulky . i would like to see a updated version with a lighter stock and a more ergonomic grip . for a small handed shooter , getting a firm and comfortable grip can be a pain . the front weavers could be longer . i put a COMPACT light on it , and my bipod is on the last lockable notch on the rail . adjustable cheek pad would be a great addition as well . better quality scope , the reticle tube on the inside of my scope moves whenever i adjust the magnification . i contacted stoeger hopefully i can get a replacement .

    What others should know: despite the weight and cocking effort , i think this would be a great addition to anyone's collection . it looks menacing , but that's the best part . i got the .177 caliber , so i haven't noticed any pellet tumble . this gun seems to love dome pellets , i'm currently using gamo hunters(7.56 gr.). i got great results from using them in my gamo hornet . dont sleep on this rifle . its worth it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air rifle comes with the scope mounted at the factory. Comfortable stock and safety resets with each shot automatically. Accuracy is yet to be determined as no information on distance scope is sighted-in for is available either from PyramydAir nor Stoeger.

    Things I would have changed: Provide fact that scope is already mounted and sighted in at factory. Provide distance scope is sighted in for so precision sighting-in can be quickly accomplished.

    What others should know: Not much information available from Stoeger website. Minimal information on the ATAC Suppressor Gas Ram Air Rifle is available. Shoots well and once I determine what the scope was sighted in for I'll update the review!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well i'm a stoeger fan, I like the feel of the gun and all the rails to mount lights, laser, tripod, etc. My first shots were right on target.the ATAC is my 3rd stoeger in my collection

    Things I would have changed: Stoeger could put a better scope and trigger on the rifle !

    What others should know: First thing I do is get Charlie da tuna trigger that helps the stiff trigger. I had the scope go south on the 5th day so I called stroeger and they have the 4-16-40 in stock so they sent me a 3-9-40 to keep until they get the 4-16-40.:-)

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well i'm a stoeger fan, I like the weaver rails I can mount lights, trypod, laser, etc. It shoots great and backyard friendly. It's not broke in yet but I think it's going to be a great gun.

    Things I would have changed: I had problems with the scope after the 3rd day. Stoeger is sending me a new scope but sent me a 3-9-40 to use until they get the 4-16-40 in. I change all the triggers to Charlie da tuna.

    What others should know: I think you have great time with this gun it takes time to break in like most air rifle .the ATAC is my 3rd stroeger and I shoot them every day. Good shooting and be safe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My .22 caliber ATAC likes large head diameter pellets. Best are H&N Field Trophy pellets measuring 5.54 mm sorted with Pelletgage. Rifle is quiet, powerful, accurate and likes a firm hold instead of artillery hold.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing considering the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the .22 cal. The synthetic stock is solid and feels great in your hand. The weight is balanced and the recoil is smooth and not overwhelming. The cocking effort is very easy in my opinion (35 lbs), However, I have a Hatsan 125 Vortex that has a 47 pound effort and I find that manageable. The gun is also very quiet. The pellets impact makes a louder sound than to gun itself. You cant go wrong with this gun! I provided some instruction below that I hope will help you frustrated ATAC owners.

    Things I would have changed: The stock scope is below average and does not do the gun justice, The trigger is a typical airgun trigger.

    What others should know: It takes some work to get the rifle functioning properly. I see reviews on numerous sites and can see the majority of the ATAC owners have no idea how to tune in this gun. I am shooting half inch groups at 25 yards. Shoot 200 plus pellets through this gun to smooth it out and don't be concerned about your grouping at this time. Try many different pellets. The JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed are the best. They averaged about 730 fps, 21.46 FPE. Remove the stock then unscrew the stock-lug at the rear (10 mm wrench) Use RED Locktite and re-install the lug. Use Blue Locktite on all the stock screws. Clean your barrel and be very careful not to strike the muzzle baffles at the end of the rifle.I replaced the trigger with GTR-III. My trigger pull is now at about 2 lbs. I replaced the scope with a Leapers/UTG 3-9x50 and used heavy duty UTG 6 bolt scope rings. This is now an incredibly accurate and fun gun to shoot. My top 5 favorites!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far this is a great air rifle, heard it has a pellet tumbling problem but havnt experienced anything like that yet, been using premier hollow point hunting pellets

    Things I would have changed: One thing I'm having trouble with would be cleaning the barrel with the integral silencer, but once I figure that out I won't be able to say anything bad about it

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By wayne from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.45 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock no noise

    Things I would have changed: scope trigger i would put anjustable cheek rest should come with bi-pod and lazer light combo for 200.dollars

    What others should know: really not worth almost 200. dollars

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By wayne from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock really no sound when fired

    Things I would have changed: adjustable check rest rifle comes with bipod better scope and trigger

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brad from USA on 2015-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: (.22) This is a really nice looking gun, begs to be held and fired. Quality seems to be much higher than the price. Mine certainly didn't shoot well out of the box, but now with 300+ rounds through it, it's starting to settle down and be a good shooter. Power is right up there, punches through 3/4" chip board with authority. Nice and quiet too. Gophers won't hear you coming.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger. It's poor. You need to immediately upgrade to the GTX. It could be lighter, but what ya gonna do.

    What others should know: I got mine with the bipod and that is a solid accessory. really helps stabilize the gun as it's a bit heavy to free hold. Need to take you time with this one, get the oil out, get a bunch of pellet samplers and pound some lead.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By L from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle looks nice shoots well after 1000 pellets.

    Things I would have changed: In this order. 1. Stock Trigger 2. Stock scope (works perfect on my 760 pump) 3. Break in period 1000 rounds

    What others should know: If you want a rifle out of the box that is good to go pass on this rifle please read below how to make this rifle accurate. 1. Rifle needs a crown Job. 2. Rifle will diesel after 500 rounds 3. The rifle is super hold sensitive even with a bi pod 4. Rifle needs a complete strip and clean. 5. You most try like 5 different pellets before you get maximum accuracy. 6. Good second or 3rd rifle not for people new to air guns. 7. Very heavy break barrel 41 - 50lbs 8. Pellets do drop first 500-1000 rounds 9. The rifle is quite if it stops dieseling If you are super patience and like to play with your toys this is a good rifle for you. MY setup Atac .22, UTG 3-9 x40 AO, GTX II trigger, Atac bipod, tune and clean by me.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Arron from USA on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The commercial sold me. Very nice looking, stout, and heavy air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy

    What others should know: 1St purchase from Stoeger. Over 500 shots at 50Yrds and horrible grouping. Some not even on a 11"x 8.5" sheet. Used H&N Field target 8.6gr and Baracuda Hunter extreme 9.57gr. Even worse with other crossman pellets too. This is a sweet looking air gun, honestly, I'd want my money back. My old 1987 66 Powermaster shoots better than this.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box this gun has been a shooter. I had to adjust the scope slightly and had it sighted, in 6 shots. I have read other reviews talking about it not holding accuracy over time so I'll be looking out for that. I've only put about 250 pellets through it so far. At 30 yards I am punching holes in 3/4 inch pine boards all day long and grouping in 3/8 inch groups. The stock is well made and feels solid. The scope has a good sight picture and is clear.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a little heavy but not too bad.

    What others should know: This is not a toy. The pellets are punching holes in 3/4 in pine boards. Operate with safety in mind.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to shoot well.

    Things I would have changed: Don't count on it being zeroed @ 25 yards out of the box. Heck, my scope needed to straightened as it was 5-10 degrees off plumb. Mind you, once I straightened it out it still was easy to zero and I keyholing shots on the bullseye within 20 shots.

    What others should know: I can't tighten the screw to shorten the second stage of trigger pull. Not bad where it was at but I wanted to see what is was like.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle is great but I went to better trigger,now its even better

    Things I would have changed: Trigger and mounting screws

    What others should know: I cant keep mounting screws tight. After changing trigger mounting screws will not stay tight. Went to red loctite,no luck. Will shoot 3/8 group at 10 meters after retightning,shoot 15 rounds rifle shoots all over the place. Tighten again and group goes back to 3/8. Anybody got any ideas?

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Jeromy from USA on 2015-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Love the stock. Like the power. Good trainer for trigger control. Taken a few pellets to find accuracy, but good to go. Cousin and I were shooting pellets down the throats of old 308 win brass at 15yds with new scope and rings.

    Things I would have changed: Scope, and the trigger.

    What others should know: Make sure all mounting screws are tight. Might be worth your time to pull them out, clean off packing oil and lock tight all threads.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Wow! I just got this gun today and I couldnt be more happy. Before I get too far into it I purchased the .177 Cal as I was worried about the tumbling pellet issues it seems the .22 has been said to have in reviews. This gun is the full meal deal, at least for my taste. Heavy but not too heavy, a solid, quality feel I regret to say I didnt feel in the new Trail NP2 Synthetic stock gun. Great scope, love the auto safety, decent trigger, love the tactical mounts and rails and options. I wore my arm out cocking and shooting it today. Heavy to cock but that seems to translate to POWER, FPS/FPE. For a .177 it is a havey hitting, hole punching weapon. I wish they maade it in a .25 but I am going to order the .22 soon.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It actually comes with a nice manual, bound and quite helpful. Not one of these fold out multilanguage leaflets (cheesy). I will say it is POWERFUL and not a beginners weapon. I have some exerience and it will take me some time on the trigger to master this weapon.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By antonio from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The design,scope.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It is a good brand, and is so accurate.

  • 123 Next
Navigation