Date: 29/3/2017 9:49
0

Stoeger ATAC Suppressor Gas Ram Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By John from USA on 2015-10-14 22:04:00

Things I liked: I have the .22 cal. The synthetic stock is solid and feels great in your hand. The weight is balanced and the recoil is smooth and not overwhelming. The cocking effort is very easy in my opinion (35 lbs), However, I have a Hatsan 125 Vortex that has a 47 pound effort and I find that manageable. The gun is also very quiet. The pellets impact makes a louder sound than to gun itself. You cant go wrong with this gun! I provided some instruction below that I hope will help you frustrated ATAC owners.

Things I would have changed: The stock scope is below average and does not do the gun justice, The trigger is a typical airgun trigger.

What others should know: It takes some work to get the rifle functioning properly. I see reviews on numerous sites and can see the majority of the ATAC owners have no idea how to tune in this gun. I am shooting half inch groups at 25 yards. Shoot 200 plus pellets through this gun to smooth it out and don't be concerned about your grouping at this time. Try many different pellets. The JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed are the best. They averaged about 730 fps, 21.46 FPE. Remove the stock then unscrew the stock-lug at the rear (10 mm wrench) Use RED Locktite and re-install the lug. Use Blue Locktite on all the stock screws. Clean your barrel and be very careful not to strike the muzzle baffles at the end of the rifle.I replaced the trigger with GTR-III. My trigger pull is now at about 2 lbs. I replaced the scope with a Leapers/UTG 3-9x50 and used heavy duty UTG 6 bolt scope rings. This is now an incredibly accurate and fun gun to shoot. My top 5 favorites!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Arron from USA on 2015-06-10 23:42:16

Things I liked: The commercial sold me. Very nice looking, stout, and heavy air rifle.

Things I would have changed: Accuracy

What others should know: 1St purchase from Stoeger. Over 500 shots at 50Yrds and horrible grouping. Some not even on a 11"x 8.5" sheet. Used H&N Field target 8.6gr and Baracuda Hunter extreme 9.57gr. Even worse with other crossman pellets too. This is a sweet looking air gun, honestly, I'd want my money back. My old 1987 66 Powermaster shoots better than this.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-12-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Radical design. Fits the hand and shoulder nicely. Kudo's to PyramydAir for the fast delivery. Ordered online Christmas day and It was here on Wednesday. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Like everyone else the scope isn't that great. I replaced it before I even shot 1 round. I hope the older Centerpoint 4-16x40mm holds up to the punishment this rifle will give it. Scope rings need to be abit shorter. The closer to the bore the horizontal crosshair is the less elevation you have to use. I found a pair of rings that worked but the Weaver rail isn't a standard size...it is slightly smaller than 7/8 width.

    What others should know: First thing I did was tighten all the screws... the only screws on my rifle that were more than finger tight were on the buttplate. I am kinda displeased with the fact that this rifle is much louder than my Remington Trail NPS. I hope this changes after the proper break-in. I'm not going to comment on accuracy until I have 200-300 rounds down the tub. To help with the break-in I'm going to polish the bore with JB Bore paste (2-3 Hour Process). Weight wise...I like a heavier gun for me it doesn't move around as much while shooting offhand.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2016-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Style and accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Weight. Rifle is very heavy. Noise level. Muzzle noise may be reduced but the noise from the action is very load. Very hard to cock.

    What others should know: The only comparison I have is with a Benjamin Titan GP. Benjamin is just as accurate, easier to cock and has less noise even though the Benjamin does not have a muzzle suppressor. The noise comparison was NOT scientific. I had two friends stand 10 yards away on either side, facing away from the firing position so they did not know which rifle was being fired, Both agreed the Benjamin produced the less noise over all.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Tom from USA on 2016-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Stock shoulders nicely and has a solid feel. Stock has no sharp edges like my Trail NP2 and is comfortable to hold. The automatic safety button well placed making it easy to make ready to fire. Gun is quiet. The firing sequence is smooth and not as violent compared to my Trail NP2.

    Things I would have changed: The scope and trigger could be better but for $200.00 one cannot expect too much.

    What others should know: With the cold, windy, crappy weather I did not have a chance to test the accuracy yet on paper. I can say that I have no problem hitting small cans at 100 ft. shooting offhand with my support hand leaning against my shed to help steady things. I have not shot it bench rested yet so I cannot attest to it's real accuracy potential. Rifle is harder to cock than my Trail NP2 but the barrel shroud is shorter than my NP2 so there is a bit less cocking leverage. Velocity averaged about 100 fps slower than my Trail NP2 with lighter pellets and about 70 fps slower with heavier pellets but still provides plenty of power. The velocity spread was very low even though it's not broken in yet. Beeman Silver Bear 12.6 gr pellets averaged 762 fps, Crosman Premier 14.3 gr, 744, and H&N Barracuda 21.14 gr, 619 fps. So far I am very happy with this gun and looking forward to better weather to give it a good wringing out.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Tim from Canada on 2016-12-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: stock is SUPER fitting , I liked the weight (slightly heavy) , Very quiet , scope isn't to bad but will not focus 100% at any distances ?

    Things I would have changed: possibly the scope (if I could get some accuracy) I'm in CANADA so I had to order bipods they could put them with the rifle !

    What others should know: can't seem to find the wright pellet ??? any thing over 100ft 0 accuracy , any help out there !!!!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Zayde from USA on 2016-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I like the way it Feels im shooting 1/2" Groupings at 25 yards with Stoeger X-speed mushrooms 5.56gr

    Things I would have changed: They need to sort the factory scope issue out I took it back to the shop on day 4 and they replaced it with a kilwell huntsman 4-12 x 40 AO very good combo for this rifle loving it

    What others should know: a little adjustment on the 2 stage trigger is great i found factory had far to much first stage for my liking also make sure you do a good going over of all your screws when you first get it and again in about 50 rounds

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chuck from USA on 2016-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifles overall fit and finish. An excellent value for the money with accuracy in both .177 and .22 exceeding my expectations.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger could be better but then again most rifles triggers can ALWAYS be better !

    What others should know: I purchased both the .177 and the .22 caliber rifles and I find them both to be excellent value for the money. The triggers weren't as bad as I expected and accuracy far exceeded my expectations. I'm more than happy with both rifles fit, finish, and performance and both will serve their intended purposes rather well. I also purchased the 20 for 20 program which provided for test firing and chronograph information for both rifles as well as scope mounting and/or checking for proper scope installation. All in all a great rifle with great performance from a company with fantastic customer service.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By RONALD from USA on 2016-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.764 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Horrible rifle,scope broke apart inside after 38 shots.Tried every type and weight of pellet and can only hold a good group at 10 yards.Any further and it is all over the place.Miserable to cock and load.Terrible trigger.Waiting to hear from pyramid air to see if they will issue me a refund without paying restocking fee for this junk.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i love the look and feel of this rifle . the weavers on the stock was an excellent idea , as it keeps you from having to alter the gun to add accessories . as far as i can tell , it is proving itself to be a accurate , hard hitting gun . the grip is a big plus . in my opinion it gives you more control as compared to a traditional stock . construction seems to be well thought . i like the fact that the barrel and breach is 1 piece . i purchased a crosman crusher and the barrel would loosen . the scope was pre-mounted , which allowed me to get straight to zeroing right out of the box , instead of fighting with the scope and mounts to get it aligned .

    Things I would have changed: even though i like the feel of it , it is still kind of heavy and bulky . i would like to see a updated version with a lighter stock and a more ergonomic grip . for a small handed shooter , getting a firm and comfortable grip can be a pain . the front weavers could be longer . i put a COMPACT light on it , and my bipod is on the last lockable notch on the rail . adjustable cheek pad would be a great addition as well . better quality scope , the reticle tube on the inside of my scope moves whenever i adjust the magnification . i contacted stoeger hopefully i can get a replacement .

    What others should know: despite the weight and cocking effort , i think this would be a great addition to anyone's collection . it looks menacing , but that's the best part . i got the .177 caliber , so i haven't noticed any pellet tumble . this gun seems to love dome pellets , i'm currently using gamo hunters(7.56 gr.). i got great results from using them in my gamo hornet . dont sleep on this rifle . its worth it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2016-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air rifle comes with the scope mounted at the factory. Comfortable stock and safety resets with each shot automatically. Accuracy is yet to be determined as no information on distance scope is sighted-in for is available either from PyramydAir nor Stoeger.

    Things I would have changed: Provide fact that scope is already mounted and sighted in at factory. Provide distance scope is sighted in for so precision sighting-in can be quickly accomplished.

    What others should know: Not much information available from Stoeger website. Minimal information on the ATAC Suppressor Gas Ram Air Rifle is available. Shoots well and once I determine what the scope was sighted in for I'll update the review!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well i'm a stoeger fan, I like the feel of the gun and all the rails to mount lights, laser, tripod, etc. My first shots were right on target.the ATAC is my 3rd stoeger in my collection

    Things I would have changed: Stoeger could put a better scope and trigger on the rifle !

    What others should know: First thing I do is get Charlie da tuna trigger that helps the stiff trigger. I had the scope go south on the 5th day so I called stroeger and they have the 4-16-40 in stock so they sent me a 3-9-40 to keep until they get the 4-16-40.:-)

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mark from USA on 2016-01-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well i'm a stoeger fan, I like the weaver rails I can mount lights, trypod, laser, etc. It shoots great and backyard friendly. It's not broke in yet but I think it's going to be a great gun.

    Things I would have changed: I had problems with the scope after the 3rd day. Stoeger is sending me a new scope but sent me a 3-9-40 to use until they get the 4-16-40 in. I change all the triggers to Charlie da tuna.

    What others should know: I think you have great time with this gun it takes time to break in like most air rifle .the ATAC is my 3rd stroeger and I shoot them every day. Good shooting and be safe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-12-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My .22 caliber ATAC likes large head diameter pellets. Best are H&N Field Trophy pellets measuring 5.54 mm sorted with Pelletgage. Rifle is quiet, powerful, accurate and likes a firm hold instead of artillery hold.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing considering the price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2015-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.03 ratings

    Things I liked: I have the .22 cal. The synthetic stock is solid and feels great in your hand. The weight is balanced and the recoil is smooth and not overwhelming. The cocking effort is very easy in my opinion (35 lbs), However, I have a Hatsan 125 Vortex that has a 47 pound effort and I find that manageable. The gun is also very quiet. The pellets impact makes a louder sound than to gun itself. You cant go wrong with this gun! I provided some instruction below that I hope will help you frustrated ATAC owners.

    Things I would have changed: The stock scope is below average and does not do the gun justice, The trigger is a typical airgun trigger.

    What others should know: It takes some work to get the rifle functioning properly. I see reviews on numerous sites and can see the majority of the ATAC owners have no idea how to tune in this gun. I am shooting half inch groups at 25 yards. Shoot 200 plus pellets through this gun to smooth it out and don't be concerned about your grouping at this time. Try many different pellets. The JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed are the best. They averaged about 730 fps, 21.46 FPE. Remove the stock then unscrew the stock-lug at the rear (10 mm wrench) Use RED Locktite and re-install the lug. Use Blue Locktite on all the stock screws. Clean your barrel and be very careful not to strike the muzzle baffles at the end of the rifle.I replaced the trigger with GTR-III. My trigger pull is now at about 2 lbs. I replaced the scope with a Leapers/UTG 3-9x50 and used heavy duty UTG 6 bolt scope rings. This is now an incredibly accurate and fun gun to shoot. My top 5 favorites!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: So far this is a great air rifle, heard it has a pellet tumbling problem but havnt experienced anything like that yet, been using premier hollow point hunting pellets

    Things I would have changed: One thing I'm having trouble with would be cleaning the barrel with the integral silencer, but once I figure that out I won't be able to say anything bad about it

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By wayne from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.45 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock no noise

    Things I would have changed: scope trigger i would put anjustable cheek rest should come with bi-pod and lazer light combo for 200.dollars

    What others should know: really not worth almost 200. dollars

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By wayne from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.264 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the stock really no sound when fired

    Things I would have changed: adjustable check rest rifle comes with bipod better scope and trigger

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brad from USA on 2015-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: (.22) This is a really nice looking gun, begs to be held and fired. Quality seems to be much higher than the price. Mine certainly didn't shoot well out of the box, but now with 300+ rounds through it, it's starting to settle down and be a good shooter. Power is right up there, punches through 3/4" chip board with authority. Nice and quiet too. Gophers won't hear you coming.

    Things I would have changed: Trigger. It's poor. You need to immediately upgrade to the GTX. It could be lighter, but what ya gonna do.

    What others should know: I got mine with the bipod and that is a solid accessory. really helps stabilize the gun as it's a bit heavy to free hold. Need to take you time with this one, get the oil out, get a bunch of pellet samplers and pound some lead.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By L from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Rifle looks nice shoots well after 1000 pellets.

    Things I would have changed: In this order. 1. Stock Trigger 2. Stock scope (works perfect on my 760 pump) 3. Break in period 1000 rounds

    What others should know: If you want a rifle out of the box that is good to go pass on this rifle please read below how to make this rifle accurate. 1. Rifle needs a crown Job. 2. Rifle will diesel after 500 rounds 3. The rifle is super hold sensitive even with a bi pod 4. Rifle needs a complete strip and clean. 5. You most try like 5 different pellets before you get maximum accuracy. 6. Good second or 3rd rifle not for people new to air guns. 7. Very heavy break barrel 41 - 50lbs 8. Pellets do drop first 500-1000 rounds 9. The rifle is quite if it stops dieseling If you are super patience and like to play with your toys this is a good rifle for you. MY setup Atac .22, UTG 3-9 x40 AO, GTX II trigger, Atac bipod, tune and clean by me.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Arron from USA on 2015-06-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The commercial sold me. Very nice looking, stout, and heavy air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Accuracy

    What others should know: 1St purchase from Stoeger. Over 500 shots at 50Yrds and horrible grouping. Some not even on a 11"x 8.5" sheet. Used H&N Field target 8.6gr and Baracuda Hunter extreme 9.57gr. Even worse with other crossman pellets too. This is a sweet looking air gun, honestly, I'd want my money back. My old 1987 66 Powermaster shoots better than this.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Out of the box this gun has been a shooter. I had to adjust the scope slightly and had it sighted, in 6 shots. I have read other reviews talking about it not holding accuracy over time so I'll be looking out for that. I've only put about 250 pellets through it so far. At 30 yards I am punching holes in 3/4 inch pine boards all day long and grouping in 3/8 inch groups. The stock is well made and feels solid. The scope has a good sight picture and is clear.

    Things I would have changed: The trigger is a little heavy but not too bad.

    What others should know: This is not a toy. The pellets are punching holes in 3/4 in pine boards. Operate with safety in mind.

  • 123 Next
Navigation