Stoeger ATAC Suppressor Gas Ram Air Rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Ronald from USA on 2013-12-22 17:08:24

Things I liked:I purchased the 22 version. I have fired about 100 H&N 14.66 gr Field Target Trophy at this time. It shot a tight group right out of the box at 35 feet; 4 inches low and right which was easily moved to center from the bench. While on the bench, the group is less than quarter size. The scope is a good match and value. Excellent on a target. It is a nice looking rifle and seems to be well made.
Things I would have changed:The weight is a bit heavy which will make it difficult to accurately fire unless supported. I must agree with most other reviews on the trigger. It seems to be a very long pull as well as heavy. It seems smooth, just long.
What others should know:The final comment I would make it is the noise level. It is as quiet as advertised. I can sit until my right arm gets tired from cocking, putting one hole after another in the center of the target, while my neighbors never know I am shooting. This is my first air gun and I really like it. I would recommend this rifle for your enjoyment.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Arron Mauldin from usa on 2015-06-11 00:42:16

Things I liked:The commercial sold me. Very nice looking, stout, and heavy air rifle.
Things I would have changed:Accuracy
What others should know:1St purchase from Stoeger. Over 500 shots at 50Yrds and horrible grouping. Some not even on a 11"x 8.5" sheet. Used H&N Field target 8.6gr and Baracuda Hunter extreme 9.57gr. Even worse with other crossman pellets too. This is a sweet looking air gun, honestly, I'd want my money back. My old 1987 66 Powermaster shoots better than this.
Sort by:
  • 12 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Arron Mauldin from usa on 2015-06-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The commercial sold me. Very nice looking, stout, and heavy air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Accuracy
    What others should know:1St purchase from Stoeger. Over 500 shots at 50Yrds and horrible grouping. Some not even on a 11"x 8.5" sheet. Used H&N Field target 8.6gr and Baracuda Hunter extreme 9.57gr. Even worse with other crossman pellets too. This is a sweet looking air gun, honestly, I'd want my money back. My old 1987 66 Powermaster shoots better than this.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steven from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Out of the box this gun has been a shooter. I had to adjust the scope slightly and had it sighted, in 6 shots. I have read other reviews talking about it not holding accuracy over time so I'll be looking out for that. I've only put about 250 pellets through it so far. At 30 yards I am punching holes in 3/4 inch pine boards all day long and grouping in 3/8 inch groups. The stock is well made and feels solid. The scope has a good sight picture and is clear.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is a little heavy but not too bad.
    What others should know:This is not a toy. The pellets are punching holes in 3/4 in pine boards. Operate with safety in mind.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-04-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to shoot well.
    Things I would have changed:Don't count on it being zeroed @ 25 yards out of the box. Heck, my scope needed to straightened as it was 5-10 degrees off plumb. Mind you, once I straightened it out it still was easy to zero and I keyholing shots on the bullseye within 20 shots.
    What others should know:I can't tighten the screw to shorten the second stage of trigger pull. Not bad where it was at but I wanted to see what is was like.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Ron from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Rifle is great but I went to better trigger,now its even better
    Things I would have changed:Trigger and mounting screws
    What others should know:I cant keep mounting screws tight. After changing trigger mounting screws will not stay tight. Went to red loctite,no luck. Will shoot 3/8 group at 10 meters after retightning,shoot 15 rounds rifle shoots all over the place. Tighten again and group goes back to 3/8. Anybody got any ideas?
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Jeromy from USA on 2015-01-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Love the stock. Like the power. Good trainer for trigger control. Taken a few pellets to find accuracy, but good to go. Cousin and I were shooting pellets down the throats of old 308 win brass at 15yds with new scope and rings.
    Things I would have changed:Scope, and the trigger.
    What others should know:Make sure all mounting screws are tight. Might be worth your time to pull them out, clean off packing oil and lock tight all threads.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Richard from USA on 2015-01-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Wow! I just got this gun today and I couldnt be more happy. Before I get too far into it I purchased the .177 Cal as I was worried about the tumbling pellet issues it seems the .22 has been said to have in reviews. This gun is the full meal deal, at least for my taste. Heavy but not too heavy, a solid, quality feel I regret to say I didnt feel in the new Trail NP2 Synthetic stock gun. Great scope, love the auto safety, decent trigger, love the tactical mounts and rails and options. I wore my arm out cocking and shooting it today. Heavy to cock but that seems to translate to POWER, FPS/FPE. For a .177 it is a havey hitting, hole punching weapon. I wish they maade it in a .25 but I am going to order the .22 soon.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:It actually comes with a nice manual, bound and quite helpful. Not one of these fold out multilanguage leaflets (cheesy). I will say it is POWERFUL and not a beginners weapon. I have some exerience and it will take me some time on the trigger to master this weapon.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By antonio from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The design,scope.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:It is a good brand, and is so accurate.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Glenn from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Please forgive this long winded review. I recently bought the Stoeger X20S from Pyramyd air(my review is elsewhere on this site) and have been very pleased with the rifle which inspired me to buy this rifle for my son. First thoughts rifle is way to heavy to be useful for hunting, Haven't weighed it but it feels considerably heavier than my X20S or the Gamo Whisper we also own. The saftey is very loud and requires way more effort than should be necessary to release. That's where the good news ended for us unfortunately! After about 6 shots while trying to sight the rifle in the scope went South! Looking through the scope the wrong direction it is easy to see one of the internal lenses has shifted sideways. No big deal I thought, I'll just call PA and trade the scope in. What do they tell me?, It is Stoeger's policy that the whole rifle will have to go back. OK, I think, until I find out the nearest FedEx hub is 30 some miles from my house! So we decide to just replace the scope
    Things I would have changed:ourselfs so as to not have to dance through the hoops. I installed the new Hawke scope that I had purchased for my X20S and went back to trying to sight the rifle in. We have now put around 750 pellets through this rifle from 14.5 to 22 grain weight and the best group we have been able to get thus far is 1.35 CTC! That's it! Now mind you the X20S with the cheap POS 4 power it came with will shoot 1/2" groups at the same distance all day long!?!? For those who do not know, The X20S is the same basic rifle without the gas piston and a different stock. Not very impressed even given the price. Conclusion, Given the condition of the scope and the saftey and the fact that no warranty card came with the rifle like the X20S I just purchased...I would say I was sent someone else's return! And after talking to a few other airgunners on various forums it seems that Stoeger has no problem just trading out the scope so I will be contacting them directly. Prehaps they will have some insight as to
    What others should know:why this rifle won't shoot the groups that the X20S will. And yes we have tried every hold imaginable. It appears that buying a chinese air rifle is a crap shoot but buying a chinese air rifle by mail order could be russian roulette!
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Derek from USA on 2014-12-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun looks really good! The polymer stock is tough! It's $200.
    Things I would have changed:Do not buy this gun! Overall it is aweful and Stoeger / Benelli does not stand behind it. I bought this gun. I completely understand it only cost $200. I attempt to sight the gun in the first time and the reticle a will not move. I call Stoeger / Benelli and they say it's a known issue and promptly send me another scope. I go back to the range to sight the gun in and I can only shoot 4" groups? I call Stoeger / Benelli and they say this gun is only accurate out to 30'. Really, 30'? If I can get that close I'll kill the squirrel with a knife. They tell me the gun has a 2 year warranty and they'll keep sending me scopes for 2 years. I really wish I would have spent $275 on an RWS. This gun is junk. I cannot miss in my yard shooting a squirrel and hit my neighbors house. I am not sure what this gun is good for?
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Lee from USA on 2014-12-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This comes a complete package. It's extremely strong and repeatable once zeroed in. Came close to going through 3/4 inch plywood.
    Things I would have changed:I wish the factory would be more careful. They used the wrong type of lubrication on the bore/piston assm. This thing dieseled on the first shot and scared the crap out of me and the people around(sounded like a 22 mag going off). The optics were loose and not level. Gun shot 6 inches low and 4 inches right at 20 yds. I would have expected it to be right on since it was sold as an assm.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2014-11-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Have both .177 & .22. Like everything about both. Had the .177 for about 6mos, just received the .22 as of this review. After about 75 rounds in the .22, so far so good. Only a few clicks to site-in after leveling the scope on the rifle. Like the scope mounting from the factory otherwise.
    Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything I'd change without being overly critical as of this review. One can "knit-pick" anything to death but that is not what I wish to do here.
    What others should know:If one looks hard enough, things not to like exist in just about anything. Allowances must be made that require user adjustment. With that said, both the .177 & .22 function to my personal specs with no major complaints. It takes time and patience to gain the necessary expertise for an experience that is expected by the user. I am completely satisfied with my experience thus far. Can hit 1" group from 25yds with Skeneco Ultramag Metal Tip 18.2gr pellets. PA packed & shipped in professional manner. Purchased several rifles & pellets from PA. . .so far very pleased.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By brendon from USA on 2014-11-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks awesome. Rails on fore grip. Easy cocking. Very quiet. Gas piston smooth cocking. Nice synthetic stock.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger.
    What others should know:Good gun for the money. Very quiet. Hits targets very far away. Overall I'm a fan of all my stoegers. Even added a flashlight for night shooting.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Randall from USA on 2014-10-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks, power, apparent accuracy (limited testing).
    Things I would have changed:Cocking energy: 51 pounds(!) per bathrm scale test (60 lb. minus the 9 lb. gun's wt.). Hope is that perhaps it will lessen with more break-in. Overall noise is still considerable, a problem in a very-noise-sens. neighborhood, but definitely less WHANG than regular spring gun (RWS) of about same velocity. I didn't work enough yet with the scope to get the crosshairs clear in focus. Here's hoping.
    What others should know:First-class gun with notable disadvantage of very-high cocking effort (at least this gun), per limited testing--about 10 days. I ordered a Benjamin PCP with more adjustable velocity, ergo noise.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Frederick from USA on 2014-10-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This gun is sensitive to ammo for sure. Seems to like anything in the 14g range. Very quiet, sounds like somebody smacking a wooden board against a concrete floor. Comfortable stock, but heavy. Not a kids toy. Very accurate with the right ammo, quarter groups at 30 yards. Not yet broken in.
    Things I would have changed:The elevation adjustment on the scope is sensitive.
    What others should know:Added a GTX II trigger, big difference. Much better shooting than the original trigger. This is a recommended upgrade. Quality of the gun is very good.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Carlton from USA on 2014-10-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Likes (.177). . .size, gas piston, accuracy, scope(guess I'm one of the lucky one's), moderate to low noise level, even the trigger. Ability to hit where aimed 15' distances & beyond when using scope. Acceptable groups at 20-50 yds of dime-nickel size.
    Things I would have changed:Only the cocking effort.. Make lighter.
    What others should know:Unique design, nice weight, solid feel shooter. Good for pest control. Worth giving a try, ecellent chance you will not be disappointed. Pellet choice is Predator Polymag 8gr.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Brock from USA on 2014-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The stock fits me well. I finally got one that shoots well.
    Things I would have changed:The scope and the trigger! Things I did change.
    What others should know:I've had 8 different airguns shipped to me now and all but one, the scope broke within the first 200 rounds. All of them had a crappie trigger. I don't know what the deal is with airguns these days but I can tell you, if it comes with a scop, throw it away. Then you will have to fix the trigger.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very solid build. Very accurate when zeroed in with a good scope. It's a bit sensitive to which pellets I use, with some tumbling and others just consistently accurate. This may settle down after I've put more lead down the barrel. After putting a good scope, I was getting quarter sized groups at 50'. Also, the ATAC is not that sensitive to holds (artillery hold will work, but it seemed just as accurate with a death grip with my bracing hand). Looks very cool.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is a bit of a long pull and it could be a lighter touch. The included scope was not functional; with every shot, the reticle element rotated a bit counterclockwise. I replaced it with a Hawke, which seems to be performing well. This is heavy gun and not the best for plinking if you factor in the the required cocking.
    What others should know:I would buy this rifle again, easily (altho the scope is not up to the same standards). With the right scope, it's a great gun. It's almost a spitting image of the Sako sniper rifle, made by a sister company within the Beretta family.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Mark from USA on 2014-06-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very nice long range weapon!!! I love the gas piston over the springer!!!Had a small problem with the scope!! But Stoeger took care of it pronto!!!!
    Things I would have changed:An adjustable cheek rest would be nice!!!
    What others should know:Start with an assortment of pellets!!I found it likes the Beeman 10.46gr dome the best!!!
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:1.0 1.0

      By Richard from USA on 2014-05-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks nice, good ergonomics. Decent scope.
    Things I would have changed:Needs a better trigger,include the bi-pod with package.
    What others should know:Not as quiet as expected,very-very poor accuracy even after 100s of shots and different pellets,gun is 6 months old, past my 30 days.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By RICHARD from USA on 2014-01-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:GREAT PRODUCT SHOOTS WELL AND VERY ACCURATE WELL MADE
    Things I would have changed:WEIGHT A LITTLE HEAVY BUT WELL MADE
  • 12 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top