Date: 3/12/2016 2:10
0

Stoeger Arms X20S2 Suppressor Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By mark from USA on 2015-07-12 09:01:29

Things I liked: Things I like is look feel of the rifle the power and accurate the gun has. When cocking the gun it let s you know there some power there!

Things I would have changed: They should throw that scope away and a good scope on and maybe change a little bit more

What others should know: The first thing you did was to put my 3+9+32 scope on and a Charlie da tuna triggers on WOW! i can wear out a bullseye @40 yards I love my stroegers my x-20s in.22 and the x-20 in .177.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Arron from USA on 2015-06-11 00:20:49

Things I liked: Looks nice

Things I would have changed: Accuracy

What others should know: Best looking, heavy, not accurate, single projectile shotgun I ever bought.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To start with, I like the look and lines of this rifle. I am a designer; these things matter...It has great heft (no bantam lightweight, this!) and fits me well (5' 11", average arm length, medium size hands, between 190 & 225 pounds...). It shoulders well and easily and the trigger, while a bit heavy, isn't bad for a non-custom unit. I've read that the GRT III trigger fits this gun easily and reduces the trigger pull by more than 60%, so if you are a trigger fiend, you have an upgrade option at hand for $39.00 and postage from charliedatuna.com.

    Things I would have changed: Why do combo sets come with what may charitable be described as truly lame scopes? I would far prefer the option of buying this gun sans scope and get either a much better one from Pyramyd--the reigning King of All Things Airgun--at a special build-my-own package price, or just buy the gun for less and pay full price for a new scope. For many of us who want a reliable, long-term optics option, the hey-lets-include-the-scope-that-my-auntie-made-in-her-basement just results in spending more money than necessary and being stuck with a scope that is not suitable for re-gifting...

    What others should know: My experience with this gun is limited, as I decided to buy instead the X30S2--the same gun (and 29-cent scope) but with a gas piston. Quieter and smoother still, though this one ain't half bad.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arno from USA on 2016-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value for the cost. Easy break and smooth trigger action. Would rather a wood stock, but its a good product for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Wood stock

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By BackyardPlinker from USA on 2016-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.02 ratings

    Things I liked: power level. silencer.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the baby scope with one which is usable. This is a throw-away bundled with this size rifle. Improve the trigger. Apparently a good replacement is available, but it voids the warranty. Still burning brown grease on each shot after 400+ pellets. Mechanics of this gun are so loud I don'r know how it rated a 2. Cannot hear the pellet leave the barrel. That seems quiet. Accuracy is bad enough (either bench rest, artillery hold) I would not attempt a squirrel at 10 yards.

    What others should know: this is my second and last attempt at a break barrel rifle. I had hoped this rifle could be tamed. It might be my skill level, but this rifle and I are clearly not a good match.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BackyardPlinker from USA on 2016-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quieter than the Umarex Fuel I had for a few days and returned. Louder than the Umarex Fusion I have had for about a year. In addition, unlike the Fuel, the pellets are actually hitting the target at point of aim! After roughly 50 shots down to 1/2" group at 10 yards. This gun forces you to work on your mechanics! Shoots great though. 10 for $10 test had average 770 fps with 11.9 gr lead pellets. Have not tested with anything else yet.

    Things I would have changed: Might need to read other reviews closer. Not sure at this point if the 23 pounds is the cocking effort or the trigger pull. That is one long stiff trigger. And the baby scope...

    What others should know: You need to be a bit of a contortionist to use the scope. Normally I have the end of the scope mounted 9-10 inches from the end of the stock. (I am 5'9".) Not remotely possible with the bundled baby scope. 13 inches is about as close as it can be mounted from the end. Seems very stable. Nice clear glass. Just way to short. Wish the X20S2 had been bundled with an appropriate scope, but the gun itself is a keeper. Thanks PA!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dwayne from USA on 2016-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Over all great springer, very accurate and powerful. Likes all pellets I have tried so far for 12.4 to 21 grain. The gun loves the heavy pellets and I get the best groups at 25 and 50 yeards with the heaver like 18 to 21 gr pellets. Also very quiet and a great squirrel gun.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is cheap but for the price of the gun its a gimme and for any serious shooting needs to be replaced

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cynthia from USA on 2016-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air rifle at a great price.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the scope was attached.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good and is super quiet. Good power Fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Scope

    What others should know: Barrel was really dirty and greatly affected accuracy. Clean the Chinese filth out of the barrel then you can start driving nails.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By terry from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much everything with the exception of the trigger and low quality scope. Shoots straight every time and drives tacks for sure. Took 2-300 shots to break in and clean the spring chamber of factory oil, but it is smooth cocking and clean firing. Kicks a bit, but that's part of a spring fire break barrel gun. Me lickie!

    Things I would have changed: Trigger screw is too short to adjust pull. Changed mine from the factory M3-0.5 X 6 MM long screw to 10MM and it makes a huge difference in the firing quality of this rifle. YOU DON'T NEED TO BUY A DIFFERENT TRIGGER, just a longer screw. It's on the heavy side so can get a bit tiring if you shoot a lot like I do. Up grade to a better scope to pair with this excellent gun and you have an absolute winner. Super accurate at 20 yards and hits hard.

    What others should know: Change that trigger adjustment screw as soon as you get the gun. Turn the 10MM long screw in all the way and back out 2 turns and enjoy!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2016-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far everything....except the scope! 5 shots in from the box now all blurry. Not a happy camper about that, but i paid $99 bucks for the gun cant really complain to much. Just wish they wouldn't even send a scope that has known issues with the gun. Just makes the company look bad in my opinion. Once a new scope was placed on the gun i was impressed on how accurate this gun really was- with the right pellets of course.

    Things I would have changed: Don't want to beat a dead horse, but the darn scope needs to go. I had to go to Gander Mountain and buy a new one 5 shots into un-boxing. You really got to slap the barrel to break it open. Wont be a big deal once i get used to it, and the gun is broken in.

    What others should know: Very accurate gun. Trigger will be replaced, but nothing i didn't know going in. Great value, great gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this is December and have put thousands of pellets downrange with it. I lot of me loves this rifle and some of me is frustrated with it. It is so comfortable for me to hold. The ergonomics are just about perfect for me. And when it wants to shoot well, it can be very accurate. The cocking effect is reasonably lite as well. Once broken in, it's a breakbarrel that can be manageable with women and middle aged kids. But then there's the not so perfect stuff. The trigger takes a learning curve. It is long and has a somewhat numb breaking point. But then again, remember, this by all means a budget breakbarrel. My thing is that I've had some issues with accuracy. Keep the barrel locking mechanisms oiled, as I was ( and still do from time to time ) getting vertical shot strings and from it not locking up precisely. And the scope, what do you expect, it's a freebee just like all sub $200 rifle combo's (use it / it works, get rid of it/ it's marginal, it's all preference)

    Things I would have changed: The barrel needs to lock up tighter. Even though it's currently very easy to break open, which can be a plus depending on whose shooting it, I think its causes the POA to be finicky. Trigger could be better.

    What others should know: Great stock ergonomics. It's lite, super quite and comfortable. Respectfully accurate. FPS spread is very good, a consistent and repeatable shooter. Expect FPS to be in the very low 700's with a 14g pellet after well broken in. With lower velocity, a steady hold through the shot cycle is a must for good accuracy. Great warranty, Stoeger stands strongly behind there product. Bang for the buck, it's a good gun. To compare it to something, I like it way better than my Benji NP2 that was more money.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Trevor from USA on 2016-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quiet and relativly accurate for this price point.

    Things I would have changed: After about 6 months and 300 rounds my rifle is compleaty unsafe. When cocking the rifle some times it does not lock open. The biggest concern is it now will anout 10% of the time fire when closing the barrel or switching off of safe. Rendering the rifle unsafe to opperate! I had previously painted the stock soni am guessing they will void my warrenty but i ha removed the stock before painting and masked off all the internal surfaces. Inhave been working on fire arms and reloading centrerfirw ammo for over a decade. Soni understand how to properly disasemble a rifle. I did no modifacations to the rifle other than the paint.

    What others should know: always practice safe firearms handeling. Even with air rifles. Mechanical safteys fail.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kt from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like the way this rifle feels in my hands. The scope is the best I have seen on a inexpensive rifle. I would gladly recommend this rifle to anyone as there first Air rifle. I also like that the scope is mounted by the factory.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The rifle is a lot louder then I thought it would be.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: not much ... the breakbarrel is a good feature .. it is quiet

    Things I would have changed: pretty much everything .. quality is lacking ... really heavy for what it is ... scope stinks ... I changed scopes to a 3-9x40 AO scope ... didn't help ... iron sights would be nice ... I thought it was me that couldn't get this thing to work right ... 3 other people tried with no luck ... a friend has been shooting air guns for years ... he tried using the rifle ,gave It back and told me to throw it away ....

    What others should know: this rifle is not accurate consistently ... you can get it sighted in and the next day its out of whack again ... its really finicky on which pellets it likes ... mine liked 18 grain ... even tho I only got 5 out of 10 on target enough to do small game damage ... if I used any other pellet, it was all over the place ... break-in period is suppose to be 500-1000 pellets ... the longer I shot it the worse it got ... I was told by the airgun guru's it's not good for more than 20 yds consistently ...

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joel from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The rifle has a good feel and balance and is well made. The scope is bright and very clear. The customer service has been very good as I had to return my original rifle purchase.

    Things I would have changed: The reason for the return of the original purchase was that the opening in the breech was so misshaped that pellets would not fit into it and the scope would not illuminate when turned on. I understand that Pyrymid Air has no control of Stoeger's manufacturing processes, this is just to let you know what happened.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The "suppressor" does reduce the "noise" compared the the Crossman I have, which is nice. The spring makes most of the noise I think. Cocking is not bad for a break barrel. Adjustable trigger is nice and okay for what it is. The scope will work for what it is and I had no expectations otherwise. The illuminated reticle is really not needed and is not a selling point in my view. Accuracy at 25 yards is good enough to get rid of the occasional pest which is the reason I bought it. I found it does like a heavy pellet. I did buy the optional $10 test firing that Pyramyd offers and I think it is worth while so that you get a good rifle considering the price point and possible varibility in manufacturing.

    Things I would have changed: I would add iron sights and I saw that Stoeger has them on other X20

    What others should know: For the price, buy it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2015-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun shoots well. I am very happy with it's accuracy. It is also very quiet.

    Things I would have changed: I might want to see better quality in the scope, but for the price, I am not complaining.

    What others should know: The first gun would not shoot a group. The 2nd gun really does. Good shipping/return policy. Nice gun all around. Wes, put me back on the "chat" line. I want to purchase some additional guns and want to ask for advise.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By douger from USA on 2015-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: GREAT GUN BUT JUST NEEDS BETTER TRIGGER VERY FUN AND ACURATE LIGHT WEIGHT WELL BUILT .. ITS A VERY GOOD GUN FOR THE PRICE BUT THE SCOPE IS VERY SMALL SO BETTER GET BETTER SCOPE WHICH I DID. GOING TO BUY ANOTHER IN BIGGER CALIBER

    Things I would have changed: SCOPE, TRIGGER

    What others should know: SHOOTS VERY WELL ONCE YOU GET USE TO IT. BUY IT ITS LIKE A HIGH END GUN. SHOOTS AS GOOD AS MY DIANA 34P WHICH WAS 300

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By rick from USA on 2015-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Affordability - an accurate rifle and a nice scope.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything

    What others should know: Good value, at least for a hobbyist

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JEFF from USA on 2015-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good quality feel to this pellet gun. Very fun to shoot.

    What others should know: I took part the rifle for cleaning and to maybe try the "free" trigger fix I've seen online, but I also removed the pin that that the safety spring is connected to and can't figure out how to put that back together again as I can't find any diagram on the whole trigger mechanism. So be careful if you take apart trigger assembly!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-10-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice sturdy feel...solid feel to it.

    Things I would have changed: Add mounting for a sling.

    What others should know: If purchasing for squirrel control this gun is excellent in .22 cal! Pay the $20 extra service fee that Pyramid offers to fire 20 rounds and site the scope! Well worth the extra money. My second shot fired through the gun was an unbelievable eyeball shot to a squirrel at 22 yards(not kidding). Pay for the 20-for-20 Service you can put it to use much faster if so desired.

  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation