Date: 26/5/2017 21:54
0

Stoeger Arms X20S2 Suppressor Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By mark from USA on 2015-07-12 08:01:29

Things I liked: Things I like is look feel of the rifle the power and accurate the gun has. When cocking the gun it let s you know there some power there!

Things I would have changed: They should throw that scope away and a good scope on and maybe change a little bit more

What others should know: The first thing you did was to put my 3+9+32 scope on and a Charlie da tuna triggers on WOW! i can wear out a bullseye @40 yards I love my stroegers my x-20s in.22 and the x-20 in .177.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:1.0

By Arron from USA on 2015-06-10 23:20:49

Things I liked: Looks nice

Things I would have changed: Accuracy

What others should know: Best looking, heavy, not accurate, single projectile shotgun I ever bought.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Adam from USA on 2017-05-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This spring powered rifle is fantastic. it is cheap at around $150. After putting about 400 rounds through this rifle it has calmed down and is an amazingly accurate weapon. I can easily make groups of five with all rounds touching on the paper at around 15 to 20 yards. On top of that this rifle hits like a sledgehammer. Granted mine is chambered in 22, It has already claimed the lives Of several pests around the house. Even with body shots on some animals that kill has been quick and very humane. The integrated suppressor in the barrel also makes a notable difference on noise to the point that really the only thing you're hearing is the sound of your pellet striking the target. Overall this is a great entry level low priced Plinker or small past remover

    Things I would have changed: The trigger. How do I begin to talk about the trigger? Long story short it sucks. The trigger pull straight out of the box is heavy and long to the point that it is very difficult to make a good groups on paper until you really have used the rifle quite a bit. The trigger can be adjusted by rotating the screw within the trigger guard to lighten the trigger, but the links of travel for the trigger is still way longer than it should be. Although I do not recommend it for safety reasons the best way to get good groups out of this rifle is to literally have the trigger halfway depressed while hovering over your target and then actually giving a final squeeze to fire the rifle . Maybe it is just me but I feel like even experienced shooters will have issues getting used to this trigger.

    What others should know: The caulking force on this rifle is around 30 pounds. Young children and elderly people may not be able to safely engage this rifle. I would definitely break in the rifle with 2 to 300 shots Before you judge the rifle on its accuracy. Also be patient with the trigger and be sure to adjust it to your liking. No matter how much you just to trigger it still is crappy. That being said for rifle this cheap I think it is still a great overall package

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brody from USA on 2017-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very quite makes the power deceiving. More accuracy than I need. Comes with a serviceable scope.

    Things I would have changed: It would be nice if it could be lighter maybe slightly shorter stock or version. There are a lot of comments of the scope being cheap and it is but I was able to sight in no problem and works fine for a pellet gun. The build in scope base and rings do not work well with the scope if installed per directions, I was not able to get the scope far back enough with the small eye relief using their weird stopping pin on the rings which there is only one spot on the built in scope base for the stop pin anyway. The stop pin is to far forward for the scope. So I set up the stop pin upside like the front ring and I was able to move the scope back 1 inch, just enough for eye relief without the scope shadow. Lock tighten it and it works

    What others should know: If you looking for a very accurate set up, a trigger upgrade along with scope base and rings would be needed, as is works good.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2017-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love this gun! This morning, two squirrels with headshots 20yrds within 25 secs. Athletically it is outstanding. Good feel and weight. Finishing is great. I shoot in a small lot neighborhood and am able to do so without notice from nosy neighbors. Suppression is excellent just stay away from the high velocity pellets to avoid the crack. Accuracy is on point and the scope does it's job. Everything I was looking for.

    What others should know: Stay away from PBA ammo to avoid the crack

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2017-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The first thing I noticed was the weight. I had not expected it to be so substantial, but the weight is balanced well. As I have not really broken the barrel in, I can not speak much to the accuracy. However I have put 100 pellets through it and the shots a coming together nicely. Once you get the hang of cocking the gun, it gets fairly easy to do so. After cocking and loading, the barrel locks into place very well.

    Things I would have changed: The first thing I would change would be the scope. It is a nice scope, but I favor a little more magnification than 4X fixed. Not bad for a starter scope. Red and green reticle colors are nice and bright on high power.

    What others should know: Get one and have some fun.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2017-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 1. Accuracy, 2. scope (yes...you read that correctly), 3. short barrel break-in period, and 4. quietness. Contrary to the majority of my experiences, the scope that came with this rifle is pretty decent! At 23 yards (using the artillery hold) it consistently shoots clover-leafs and hole-in-holes. On a bad day it shoots dime-sized groups, but that's me, not the gun. On a really good day, my target is an old-fashioned galvanized roofing/shingle nail. I can literally drive one into a tree trunk at 23 yards! Talk about a "tack-driver"!

    Things I would have changed: 1. Trigger pull. The trigger is what I'd estimate to be about somewhere between 5-5.5 lbs pull. It feels rough, with much travel. Maybe continued use, cleaning, and lubing will remedy some of this in time, but it's a challenge to control. Practice taking up on some air and pressing the trigger in ever-so- minute degrees of pressure! 2. Fit of the fore end to the slot that the barrel goes into when breaking it open. When breaking open the barrel, the metal touches the forearm as it passes down between the cut-out. 3. The barrel make an odd "nylon bushing-on-metal sound when breaking open the barrel. I thought that some oil on the pivot points in the break action would remedy or at least lessen this a bit, but no. As long as this gun shoots as well as it does, I'll leave well enough alone. The 2 year warranty is longer than many by a year.

    What others should know: Clean the barrel, oil all pivot points, use loctite on the scope mount screws, practice breathing, trigger control, and practice the artillery hold.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By mike from USA on 2017-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its abnormally quiet!!!! only a 4 on over all rating due to the scope.

    Things I would have changed: the trigger could be better, the scope was broke when i received it but was inadequate(4X) to begin with (so no real loss), and plastic washers on the barrel block prevent a good sight in.

    What others should know: this is my 2nd stoeger X20S. this is a great little rifle for the money, however after a decent tune and grt 3 trigger this rifle truly shines, tack driver accuracy and even more quiet with a little boost to power.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By james from USA on 2017-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great power..

    Things I would have changed: Scope is horribly..people will pay for a good scope and gun combo if it get one that's better than those..ended up buying my own scope for the gun..I bought 3 combos..one scope was completely out of focus no matter what was done..after talk8by to pyrmyd air saying steoger would just send same scope to me for replacment I saw no reason to call and complain..I didn't want same one.

    What others should know: Gun was great..buy different types of pellets some shoot better out of same gun..

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexandr from USA on 2016-12-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent balance Automatic safety Sound suppression two-stage trigger

    Things I would have changed: Scope is subpar even for cheap scopes Needs Picatinny rail integrated into barrel Too much power - slow it down to take advantage of the silencer

    What others should know: Out of the box it was loud, but after about 200 shots it settled down. Tuned it with E3650 soft spring, sparingly lubed with Velocity Tar, Piston and seals lubed with molly (all from Jim Maccari). Quieted the gun somewhat. While on the heavy side - due to great balance it is quite fun to shoot.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By John from USA on 2016-11-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: To start with, I like the look and lines of this rifle. I am a designer; these things matter...It has great heft (no bantam lightweight, this!) and fits me well (5' 11", average arm length, medium size hands, between 190 & 225 pounds...). It shoulders well and easily and the trigger, while a bit heavy, isn't bad for a non-custom unit. I've read that the GRT III trigger fits this gun easily and reduces the trigger pull by more than 60%, so if you are a trigger fiend, you have an upgrade option at hand for $39.00 and postage from charliedatuna.com.

    Things I would have changed: Why do combo sets come with what may charitable be described as truly lame scopes? I would far prefer the option of buying this gun sans scope and get either a much better one from Pyramyd--the reigning King of All Things Airgun--at a special build-my-own package price, or just buy the gun for less and pay full price for a new scope. For many of us who want a reliable, long-term optics option, the hey-lets-include-the-scope-that-my-auntie-made-in-her-basement just results in spending more money than necessary and being stuck with a scope that is not suitable for re-gifting...

    What others should know: My experience with this gun is limited, as I decided to buy instead the X30S2--the same gun (and 29-cent scope) but with a gas piston. Quieter and smoother still, though this one ain't half bad.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arno from USA on 2016-11-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value for the cost. Easy break and smooth trigger action. Would rather a wood stock, but its a good product for the price.

    Things I would have changed: Wood stock

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By BackyardPlinker from USA on 2016-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.03 ratings

    Things I liked: power level. silencer.

    Things I would have changed: Replace the baby scope with one which is usable. This is a throw-away bundled with this size rifle. Improve the trigger. Apparently a good replacement is available, but it voids the warranty. Still burning brown grease on each shot after 400+ pellets. Mechanics of this gun are so loud I don'r know how it rated a 2. Cannot hear the pellet leave the barrel. That seems quiet. Accuracy is bad enough (either bench rest, artillery hold) I would not attempt a squirrel at 10 yards.

    What others should know: this is my second and last attempt at a break barrel rifle. I had hoped this rifle could be tamed. It might be my skill level, but this rifle and I are clearly not a good match.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BackyardPlinker from USA on 2016-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Quieter than the Umarex Fuel I had for a few days and returned. Louder than the Umarex Fusion I have had for about a year. In addition, unlike the Fuel, the pellets are actually hitting the target at point of aim! After roughly 50 shots down to 1/2" group at 10 yards. This gun forces you to work on your mechanics! Shoots great though. 10 for $10 test had average 770 fps with 11.9 gr lead pellets. Have not tested with anything else yet.

    Things I would have changed: Might need to read other reviews closer. Not sure at this point if the 23 pounds is the cocking effort or the trigger pull. That is one long stiff trigger. And the baby scope...

    What others should know: You need to be a bit of a contortionist to use the scope. Normally I have the end of the scope mounted 9-10 inches from the end of the stock. (I am 5'9".) Not remotely possible with the bundled baby scope. 13 inches is about as close as it can be mounted from the end. Seems very stable. Nice clear glass. Just way to short. Wish the X20S2 had been bundled with an appropriate scope, but the gun itself is a keeper. Thanks PA!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dwayne from USA on 2016-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Over all great springer, very accurate and powerful. Likes all pellets I have tried so far for 12.4 to 21 grain. The gun loves the heavy pellets and I get the best groups at 25 and 50 yeards with the heaver like 18 to 21 gr pellets. Also very quiet and a great squirrel gun.

    Things I would have changed: Scope is cheap but for the price of the gun its a gimme and for any serious shooting needs to be replaced

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cynthia from USA on 2016-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great air rifle at a great price.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the scope was attached.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lee from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks good and is super quiet. Good power Fun to shoot

    Things I would have changed: Scope

    What others should know: Barrel was really dirty and greatly affected accuracy. Clean the Chinese filth out of the barrel then you can start driving nails.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By terry from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pretty much everything with the exception of the trigger and low quality scope. Shoots straight every time and drives tacks for sure. Took 2-300 shots to break in and clean the spring chamber of factory oil, but it is smooth cocking and clean firing. Kicks a bit, but that's part of a spring fire break barrel gun. Me lickie!

    Things I would have changed: Trigger screw is too short to adjust pull. Changed mine from the factory M3-0.5 X 6 MM long screw to 10MM and it makes a huge difference in the firing quality of this rifle. YOU DON'T NEED TO BUY A DIFFERENT TRIGGER, just a longer screw. It's on the heavy side so can get a bit tiring if you shoot a lot like I do. Up grade to a better scope to pair with this excellent gun and you have an absolute winner. Super accurate at 20 yards and hits hard.

    What others should know: Change that trigger adjustment screw as soon as you get the gun. Turn the 10MM long screw in all the way and back out 2 turns and enjoy!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2016-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: So far everything....except the scope! 5 shots in from the box now all blurry. Not a happy camper about that, but i paid $99 bucks for the gun cant really complain to much. Just wish they wouldn't even send a scope that has known issues with the gun. Just makes the company look bad in my opinion. Once a new scope was placed on the gun i was impressed on how accurate this gun really was- with the right pellets of course.

    Things I would have changed: Don't want to beat a dead horse, but the darn scope needs to go. I had to go to Gander Mountain and buy a new one 5 shots into un-boxing. You really got to slap the barrel to break it open. Wont be a big deal once i get used to it, and the gun is broken in.

    What others should know: Very accurate gun. Trigger will be replaced, but nothing i didn't know going in. Great value, great gun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought this is December and have put thousands of pellets downrange with it. I lot of me loves this rifle and some of me is frustrated with it. It is so comfortable for me to hold. The ergonomics are just about perfect for me. And when it wants to shoot well, it can be very accurate. The cocking effect is reasonably lite as well. Once broken in, it's a breakbarrel that can be manageable with women and middle aged kids. But then there's the not so perfect stuff. The trigger takes a learning curve. It is long and has a somewhat numb breaking point. But then again, remember, this by all means a budget breakbarrel. My thing is that I've had some issues with accuracy. Keep the barrel locking mechanisms oiled, as I was ( and still do from time to time ) getting vertical shot strings and from it not locking up precisely. And the scope, what do you expect, it's a freebee just like all sub $200 rifle combo's (use it / it works, get rid of it/ it's marginal, it's all preference)

    Things I would have changed: The barrel needs to lock up tighter. Even though it's currently very easy to break open, which can be a plus depending on whose shooting it, I think its causes the POA to be finicky. Trigger could be better.

    What others should know: Great stock ergonomics. It's lite, super quite and comfortable. Respectfully accurate. FPS spread is very good, a consistent and repeatable shooter. Expect FPS to be in the very low 700's with a 14g pellet after well broken in. With lower velocity, a steady hold through the shot cycle is a must for good accuracy. Great warranty, Stoeger stands strongly behind there product. Bang for the buck, it's a good gun. To compare it to something, I like it way better than my Benji NP2 that was more money.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Trevor from USA on 2016-03-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quiet and relativly accurate for this price point.

    Things I would have changed: After about 6 months and 300 rounds my rifle is compleaty unsafe. When cocking the rifle some times it does not lock open. The biggest concern is it now will anout 10% of the time fire when closing the barrel or switching off of safe. Rendering the rifle unsafe to opperate! I had previously painted the stock soni am guessing they will void my warrenty but i ha removed the stock before painting and masked off all the internal surfaces. Inhave been working on fire arms and reloading centrerfirw ammo for over a decade. Soni understand how to properly disasemble a rifle. I did no modifacations to the rifle other than the paint.

    What others should know: always practice safe firearms handeling. Even with air rifles. Mechanical safteys fail.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kt from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I really like the way this rifle feels in my hands. The scope is the best I have seen on a inexpensive rifle. I would gladly recommend this rifle to anyone as there first Air rifle. I also like that the scope is mounted by the factory.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The rifle is a lot louder then I thought it would be.

  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation