Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Stoeger Arms X20 Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (10 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Customer from USA on 2010-09-21 20:37:26

    Things I liked:everything
    Things I would have changed:front piece, trigger
    What others should know:this thing is very high quality. the scope comes with a nice 1 piece mount that does not move, and the stock is very nice not hollow. the scope is good, but i wish it had mil-dots. very easy to cock, actually gets about 950fps with lead which is impressive, pba ammo breaks sound barrier. at about 10 yars i can get about 1,8" groups. at about 36yards i was getting about 3/4"inch groups. that is very good. i removed the back sights and wish they didnt put on the front plastic thing, it gives it a plasticy look, its still a good polymer though. trugger is plastic, but seems to work alright. very accurate high powered gun for the money, great buy with the 1 piece mount and scope!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:4

    By Jesus from USA on 2012-01-31 12:25:21

    Things I liked:Feels solid, the open sites are very easy to see and adjust. Smoothed out and quieted down after about 1000 pellets. Great customer support from Stoeger. Accurate and after changing the trigger made it much easier to shoot with consistent accuracy.
    Things I would have changed:The scope only lasted a month before glass inside came loose. A quick call to Stoeger had a replacement scope coming to me without any hassle. Change the trigger to a GTR the stock trigger is heavy, rough and a long pull.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2012-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am a beginner and this is my first air rifle, so I have nothing to compare it to, but my first impressions are favorable. My biggest surprise was general overall feeling of quality. It just feels like quality. I also like that the scope is variable.
      Things I would have changed:nothing that I can think of
      What others should know:from a bench - at 30 yards, it is extremely accurate.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Logan from USA on 2012-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great quality, weight is good, stock is solid and this gun is extremely accurate... This is my first air rifle and it took me 20 minutes to sight in (out of the box) and I'm already hitting bottle caps with ease at 30+ yards off the bench and I've never even touched a scope before this one! And this scope is honestly better then most leapers when it comes to the clarity, it's crystal clear... Right up there with hawke optics!
      Things I would have changed:My scope mount came missing a screw on the top left side of the scope rings, and maybe stoeger should provide a better way of packing this guy in the box! It came wrapped in plastic but the only real protection was a little bit of cheap foam. Maybe include a samplier of stoeger pellets also
      What others should know:The checkering on the stock is really rough at first so expect some blisters on your hands! Make sure to tighten all of the screws and the scope mount. All for all its an absolute joy to shoot a little stiff to cock at first but not to bad. And it is pretty loud at first but settles in real nice after awhile!
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Jesus from USA on 2012-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      42 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the weight and synthetic stock. Solid 1 piece scope mount. Nice open sights. Easy to cock.
      Things I would have changed:The stock trigger is the first to go, and the scope failed after 2 months.
      What others should know:I've had the X20 in .177 for 10 months now and couldn't be happier with it. Changed out the trigger for a GTR and wow what a difference, the trigger pull can be adjusted as light and as long as you like. Changing the trigger also made it easier to repeat shot accuracy. Yes if you do your part the X20 is very accurate. Plenty of power too, dispatching small pests up to 30 yards. Mine is fond of JSB Match Diabolo Exact, Predators, and H&N Crow Mags. Stoeger's customer service was excellent when the stock scope died. If I had to do over I would opt for the X20s, not that X20 is loud, no complaint from the neighbors, I would like it just a tad more quiet. Great air rifle for the not so much $$$.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Jesus from USA on 2012-01-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels solid, the open sites are very easy to see and adjust. Smoothed out and quieted down after about 1000 pellets. Great customer support from Stoeger. Accurate and after changing the trigger made it much easier to shoot with consistent accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:The scope only lasted a month before glass inside came loose. A quick call to Stoeger had a replacement scope coming to me without any hassle. Change the trigger to a GTR the stock trigger is heavy, rough and a long pull.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's accurate, it's fairly light, it's a great plinking rifle, & pretty good for hunting, also. The stock is firm, comfortable, & everything about it is just great. I like it's 1200 fps muzzle velocity!
      Things I would have changed:It would be cool if they made a repeating model, but other than that, absolutely nothing!
      What others should know:The open sights aren't very good, but the scope works great! This gun loves domed pellets
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By derek from USA on 2011-10-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:awsome gun i think i just got it today and have not had any problems with it a love it so far
      Things I would have changed:nothing i can think of
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Jeremy from USA on 2011-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:The stock is nice, feels solid, and the checkering is sharp enough to actually be useful. The "cocking aid" area of the front sight is nice to grab onto. I don't feel like I'm putting my corrosive sweat on it when cocking or picking the gun up all the time. The exterior finish is very good. The laser-etched lettering looks great. The included scope is VERY nice, sharp image, holds zero, useful amount of zoom. Accepts GRTIII trigger from CharlieDaTuna, which makes it 100% better gun for only $32 extra. Dual-sided cheekpieces are well-placed, and the safety is well-placed. It is truly an ambidextrous gun, but without having to give up the cheekpiece. The one-piece scope mount is quite good also; the scope doesn't move once it is tightened down.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is quite heavy in stock form, and no clue of where it is going to break. One just has to try to pull through it smoothly. This is easily fixed with the GRTIII trigger. The front sight is not removable, and it shows up in the scope at lower magnifications. I think I'm going to saw mine off, as I don't see myself ever using open sights on this gun. In this combo version of the gun, they should just omit the sights altogether and keep it looking cleaner. It would save them some cost and really clean up the lines of the gun. Add mil dots to the scope, for better ability to estimate pellet drop outside 35 yards.
      What others should know:Don't look just at velocity when looking at spring or gas piston airguns. Break-barrel springers get heavier and heavier, especially toward the muzzle, as the velocity goes up. They also become more hold sensitive. Reading about it in reviews doesn't really give an appreciation for weight. Although this is a mid-weight adult spring gun, I can only hold it up for offhand shooting for a few minutes at a time without lowering it to take a rest. (I'm 5'8", medium build) I'm glad I didn't get the X50, and I'm wondering if I shouldn't have gotten the X5. The X10 is the same as this model, but with a cheaper scope and the stock doesn't have the cheekpieces. If I were to do it again, I think I would get the X20 w/o scope and get a nice 3-12 mil-dot scope. I've mounted just such a scope (Leapers Bugbuster) and it is sure nice. Download a copy of Chairgun Pro software, and you can see where your pellets are going to hit with the mildots. This gun really likes Crosman Premier Light pellets. It groups just as well with them as with the Meisterkugeln and JSB Exact. Also good is JSB Exact RS, RWS Superdome, and Beeman Kodiak 10.65 gr. It doesn't like many pellets below 7.9 gr. It doesn't like RWS Superpoint or RWS Hobby.The expensive H&N Field Target Trophy Power don't shoot any better than the Crosman Premier Lights. It doesn't seem to like Crosman Premier hollowpoints much though. If anyone tries Crosman Premier Heavy through this gun, leave a comment and let me know how they pan out.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2011-07-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good weight balance.Scope mount and scope are well made and good match for rifle.Fiber sights are nice addition for open shooting. Accurate once broken in after about 400 pellets.1/4" groups at 30 consistently with variety of domed 10 grain pellets.Pointed pellets dont group so well.
      Things I would have changed:typical crap multi stage long heavy grainy trigger.Polish and debur of stock stamped steel trigger assembly parts and a GRT3 trigger solves that.Breaks clean at under 2 lbs now.Real rubber butt plate would be nice
      What others should know:2 full turns of barrel bolt and almost 2 turns on stock bolts to get tight.4 patches to clean barrel. I personally find the high grip stock a bit uncomfortable(wrist angle) after a bit of shooting due to long reach to trigger combined with long stock trigger pull.GRT trigger makes better ergos but still odd fit for me and I wear XL gloves. Great value for well made rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Hal from USA on 2010-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked:I'm new to air rifles, but it's gotten too expensive to shoot my other guns too often and I thought I would give it a try. Without having anything to compare it to I am very impressed with the X20. Once I got the scope sighted in a little better I was shooting between 1 1/2 inch and sub 1 inch groups from 25 yards with ease and regularity. Using Predator Polymag pellets I cleanly killed a squirrel as well. Quality seems excellent. The gun looks and feels like a very well put together piece. I have put close to 400 rounds through it with no issues whatsoever.
      Things I would have changed:The gun is very heavy, but that might be considered a good thing.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      43 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything
      Things I would have changed:front piece, trigger
      What others should know:this thing is very high quality. the scope comes with a nice 1 piece mount that does not move, and the stock is very nice not hollow. the scope is good, but i wish it had mil-dots. very easy to cock, actually gets about 950fps with lead which is impressive, pba ammo breaks sound barrier. at about 10 yars i can get about 1,8" groups. at about 36yards i was getting about 3/4"inch groups. that is very good. i removed the back sights and wish they didnt put on the front plastic thing, it gives it a plasticy look, its still a good polymer though. trugger is plastic, but seems to work alright. very accurate high powered gun for the money, great buy with the 1 piece mount and scope!
    Over
    ammo packs sold