Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Stoeger Arms X20 Wood Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Percy from USA on 2010-12-01 23:35:57

    Things I liked:The accuracy is the frist thing that you notes about the gun and the qualitiy workmanship is very nice also.This gun is going surprise a lot of poeple out there it took the best crosman parts an aded a little rws to it an it on.
    Things I would have changed:Not a thing for the money it's better than a lot $300.00 &$400.00 guns
    What others should know:Stoeger has a very nice line of guns that will stand up with the best of them.The accuracy was so good out of the box that it was out shooting most of my other guns so i did no wait to scope it put a 4x16x 40 center point on it then macthed it up with some jsb exact's.Now when you get everthing macthed up rite you realy exstract every thing from your air gun this gun is very accurate with power. These wont be a sceret for long good job stoeger.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By David from USA on 2011-09-07 07:49:54

    Things I liked:It looks and feels impressive for a relatively inexpensive air gun. With the wooden Montecarlo stock the heft is impressive. It works fine if you do your part and it is as accurate as the shooter.
    Things I would have changed: My complaint is that the X20 is by far the most uncomfortable rifle I have ever handled in my 60+ years of shooting. At first I thought it was me. For health reasons I had been away from shooting for several years. Maybe I was over reacting. "WRONG" From my M1 Garand to my Stevens antique .22 and at least a dozen more rifles from several different manufacturers all fit. When I carry or shoulder any of them there is a natural flow and feel at the grip trigger area and beyond.
    What others should know: One review I remember said the stock cheek pads enabled a natural hold for a scope. Not so for me! I have to hold my head up free of the stock to use my scope. My only mechanical complaint is the safety. The safety works too well. The X20 safety disengages with a loud click and only after an abnormal amount of pressure. At first I thought it was broken! I have engaged/disengaged it hundreds of times to see if it will loosen up. Perhaps, but only barely perceptible !?? I would not use the X20 for hunting where silence is a prerequisite for success.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ted from USA on 2013-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice stock,good bluing,open sight are fine,& the best part --this thing is very accurate,I was very impressed with this Stoeger .22. I later added a scope when I found out how accurate this rifle is ! I have owned many firearms over the years & just didn't expect much from a air rifle ! I have a rodent problem & it seems every time people hear a gun shot they think the worse so that's how I came to try an air rifle. This rifle changed my mind fast,it will do every thing I want with out the noise---sounds like a nail gun sort of! mine got pretty quiet after say 200 shots, Have made some shots already that are surprising to me! Thought it was kind of expensive at first but after shooting it awhile & seeing what it can do---worth every dime to me---a solid purchase,a good air rifle---a whole new way to shoot for me,I don't think the noise level should bother anyone !
      Things I would have changed:Like all the other reviews state--not a not not a great trigger --might perform some work on it, its gotten a little better after about 1500 shots but still a weird trigger !
      What others should know:Shoots all the ammo I have tried very well, quickly found round nose pellets shoot very well. H&N & Crosman & Benjamin,all shoot well in my rifle,truth is the Crosman 14.3gr. hollow & round nose shoot as good as anything Ive tried .
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By ted from USA on 2013-02-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice wood stock,bluing is good,I really liked the open sights a lot !The thing I like the most is ---this thing shoots,has got some punch,have the .22 model & am completely happy with the rifle .Not as quiet as I had hoped but it does settle down after a little break in---not the kind of sound that will alarm people----sounds a little like a nail gun to me,certainly not a loud report, in my opinion !It's even more accurate than I had hoped & I'm sure it will end my rodent problems without the cops showing up!I will add a scope because I really didn't think it would be so accurate & have the range it does !
      Things I would have changed:Not much,gun is a solid purchase,I'm a pretty picky guy & I'm really pleased with this Stoeger .22 breakbarrel rifle !Like everyone else,I would change the trigger--it's just not up to the rest of the gun for quality!
      What others should know: Well, even though I knew the size & weight of rifle ,when I opened boX I was surprised at the size of the thing---feels & looks like a hunting rifle,not a toy !Suggest cleaning the barrel & take out of stock & lube & tighten everything ! Mine came with the rear sight bent over from bad handling, the box had a smash in through outer wrapping & styrofoam that holds the rifle in place was all shattered !---Was able to remove sight & bend back & refinish to perfect--thanks Fedx! Suggest check your item a soon as it arrives,they are packed really good at Pyramydair but there are a lot of people out there that just don't care how they handle your package!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-02-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The X20 shoots very strong.
      Things I would have changed:The open sights are rather cheap.
      What others should know:For me the Stoeger X20 is an upgrade for me from an old Crosman 760 that I bought in 1970. I'm amazed how powerful this air gun is.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Richard from USA on 2012-12-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the rifle looks and it had plenty of power but!
      Things I would have changed:The problem it was no where near adjusted it was 7" high and 4" to right at 20 yds. i kept working had to adjust and finally had it adj. all the way still 3" off i should send it back. may buy a scope & change pellets?
      What others should know:I read many reviews,but i missed the bad ones-- i can hit consistent 2"circles with my crossman 1377 better than with this rifle???
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Nancy from USA on 2012-06-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked: Nice finish on stock and metal,looks sweet and is a lot of fun to shoot!
      Things I would have changed: Metal hood on front sight,mine broke sitting the gun in the corner but still very functional.
      What others should know: Really good value and a lot of fun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very accurate right out of the box, great gun, I really like it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, maybe a scope
      What others should know:I would recommend this gun to anyone. I have two other air guns, but this may be my new favorite. Let you know after I shoot it awhile.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Hunter from USA on 2012-02-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I just got this gun today and I shot all day it is a very accurate gun I couldn't believe it was this accurate right out of the box. I simply has to adjust elevation.
      Things I would have changed:I would like a metal trigger but it works .
      What others should know:If you want to shoot small game this is the gun for you I shot and killed a crow today which I have never done before.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Hunter from USA on 2012-02-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood and details to this gun are amazing for the price. I ordered it in .22 and it has a lot of power.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing for this price.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2012-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love the way it looks, very nice wood stock, the open sights work great! Little heavy, not to bad, the trigger has a lot of travel but I can live with it. It seems to shoot pretty hard but I have no way to tell for sure. Over all very nice air rifle, would buy again if stolen ( has happened to me before)
      Things I would have changed: The trigger shorten it up some.
      What others should know:Pyramyd Air is the best place to get your rifle, great selection and fast shipping and well packed, also the best selection of pellets, no selection where I live!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Kalyn from USA on 2011-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For starters, this thing has amazing power! I ordered the.22 and had Pyramyd Air do the 10 for 10$ test. The crono tape was showing an average of 1072 FPS!(with H&N 12.65 grain hollowpoints) The extreme spread over the last 5 shots (the first three were over 1100fps, and I think that was mainly due to deiseling) was only 11FPS! I had to double check and make sure the sen't me the x20, and not the x50. Maybe this one has the spring from the x50? Who knows, but I digress, because even after some casual plinking, I'm convinced that this rifle is either meeting or exceeding it's advertised velocities. Cans of stale beer simple exploded when hit, it penetrated metal plates, shattered ceramic pots, and even collapsed a huge glass jar of pickles. Also it's very accurate. While I haven't had the chance yet to do any real scientific accuracy testing, it hit every thing I aimed at, and, using a makeshift target i drew on the box that it was shipped in, I consistently hit within an inch of the bullseye, from 15 yards, standing, off-hand, in very gusty winds. So far I'm am quite pleased with this rifle, it looks pretty, feels well made, it's not that hold sensitive, and it hits its intended targets. I can't wait to go huntin wabbits with it!
      Things I would have changed:A little less plastic and a little more metal please, though the plastic parts are few and look and feel very well made and robust.
      What others should know:I've heard some complaints about the trigger, but honestly... I didn't even notice it, which I think is a good thing. One less thing fro me to think about when I'm setting up a shot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2011-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very accurate, easy to cock, size was comfortable
      Things I would have changed:the detail to the port where you load pellet is not there, factory rough, not properly honed and smoothed out. the rifles stock was thicker then i would like for my taste
      What others should know:not bad rifle for the money, it felt a little cheep, but I am spoiled now i want German quality I returned mine
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-09-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It looks and feels impressive for a relatively inexpensive air gun. With the wooden Montecarlo stock the heft is impressive. It works fine if you do your part and it is as accurate as the shooter.
      Things I would have changed: My complaint is that the X20 is by far the most uncomfortable rifle I have ever handled in my 60+ years of shooting. At first I thought it was me. For health reasons I had been away from shooting for several years. Maybe I was over reacting. "WRONG" From my M1 Garand to my Stevens antique .22 and at least a dozen more rifles from several different manufacturers all fit. When I carry or shoulder any of them there is a natural flow and feel at the grip trigger area and beyond.
      What others should know: One review I remember said the stock cheek pads enabled a natural hold for a scope. Not so for me! I have to hold my head up free of the stock to use my scope. My only mechanical complaint is the safety. The safety works too well. The X20 safety disengages with a loud click and only after an abnormal amount of pressure. At first I thought it was broken! I have engaged/disengaged it hundreds of times to see if it will loosen up. Perhaps, but only barely perceptible !?? I would not use the X20 for hunting where silence is a prerequisite for success.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2011-08-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The X20 has a more robust look and feel than many of my larger caliber powder burners. Excellent blueing job and well finished wood give it an immediate WOW factor. I was really looking forward to shooting it. Accuracy is excellent. My very first 5 shots with it resulted in a one hole group only slightly out of round, all be it 1.875 inches low center to center at 6 feet. Yes, six feet!!! (Must be the scope Pyramyd installed)
      Things I would have changed: The X20 is however the worst handling rifle I have ever encountered in my 60+ years of shooting. When I first put it to my shoulder I thought I was doing something wrong. The trigger I thought I was barely touching was actually the rear of the trigger guard. The trigger was an inch away. To reach the trigger I had to contort my hand and let it float free of the pistol grip. The well finished stock is squared off at the trigger instead of being ergonomically tapered to enable a good fit for a trigger finger. The stock itself is far too long for this 5'11" 300 pounder. To shoot from a rest I had to hold it like a child. The safety works well. I would not however use the X20 for hunting where silence is a prerequisite for success. The X20 safety disengages with a loud click and only after an abnormal amount of pressure. Cocking effort is advertised as 30#. All I can say is, "It feels far greater than that."
      What others should know:This could be as good or better than advertised if Stoeger had actually done some ergonomic testing. If they did the testers must have had arms and fingers that reach around the block.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wag from USA on 2011-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:beautiful wood stock, great bluing job. This rifle has alot of power...it destroyed my leapers golden image 3-9x40ao scope in just a couple hundred shots. Before the scope broke my targets were other pellet holes from 11 yards and this thing just didnt miss.
      Things I would have changed:since i dont trust a scope on this anylonger, i recommend peep sites.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Percy from USA on 2010-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The accuracy is the frist thing that you notes about the gun and the qualitiy workmanship is very nice also.This gun is going surprise a lot of poeple out there it took the best crosman parts an aded a little rws to it an it on.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing for the money it's better than a lot $300.00 &$400.00 guns
      What others should know:Stoeger has a very nice line of guns that will stand up with the best of them.The accuracy was so good out of the box that it was out shooting most of my other guns so i did no wait to scope it put a 4x16x 40 center point on it then macthed it up with some jsb exact's.Now when you get everthing macthed up rite you realy exstract every thing from your air gun this gun is very accurate with power. These wont be a sceret for long good job stoeger.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top