Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Stoeger Arms X5 Breakbarrel Air Rifle reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (9 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By CharlesBishop from USA on 2010-06-29 11:55:49

    Things I liked:Very well made air gun. Fit and finish are great. It even has a METAL rear sight that works well.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:I have a collection of air guns and I have had experience with real weapons. I like air gun shooting as it fits what I like doing, just target shooting and I am comfortable with the safety of air gun shooting. I have high power,medium power, and low power guns. Adult guns, youth guns , pistols and BB guns. This rifle was the best out of the box gun I have bought yet. Smooth working. easy to handle, cocks easy and shoots straight. My test is the iron sights. If I shoot well with sights it comes with I know it's probably going work well with other sight aids. I can't see well close up and I am older so I tend to wobble around in holding the gun steady at times. I was able to hit 100ft.distant targets almost out of the box. The gun worked butter smooth from the start. No burrs, or sticky parts. With a scope bench shoot with no rest I can get 1in. shoot groups at 100+ feet. At 150ft. I can hit 2-3in. shoot patterns with consistancey. After that I start running out of safe room in my back yard. This is not a kill everything hunt'n gun as it goes slower FPS wise but the pellets shoot straight with little drop at 100ft. The only other very minor item is that the stock is probably made for a smaller person. It does not fit me perfectly like other adult guns. I will have to invest in a $1000. custom stock if I want that. A great gun! If your not hunting Grizzlies this guns a good start for plinking and target shooting in the backyard. Have fun.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Grayland from USA on 2014-04-04 07:01:28

    Things I liked:Smooth shooting gun and accurate to 40 yds easy on a calm day.
    Things I would have changed:Sights feel cheap but work well. For a beginner youth gun butt stock should be shorter. It long for my 11 year old.
    What others should know:Good gun for the price and easy to cock for pre teens
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Jack from USA on 2014-06-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Accurate out right of the box at 25 yards. Just added 1 notch elevation and 1 notch to the right. Stock is light but very solid with a quality feel. Sights may be inexpensive but they're well made. Slick auto-safety design that is positioned well. It's right where your thumb rests to flick it off.
      Things I would have changed:Fist air rifle so I'm not the best source for re-engineering. If the complaints about fitting pellets in the breech are still valid that should be corrected. I haven't had a problem yet.
      What others should know:Great beginner air gun, low investment and giving it away when (if)I upgrade will be easy. Anyone starting out would be comfortable with the fit, quality and the cocking effort.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Grayland from USA on 2014-04-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smooth shooting gun and accurate to 40 yds easy on a calm day.
      Things I would have changed:Sights feel cheap but work well. For a beginner youth gun butt stock should be shorter. It long for my 11 year old.
      What others should know:Good gun for the price and easy to cock for pre teens
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Athanasios from USA on 2014-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very Accurate out of box,nice fit finish, low recoil,very nice trigger, easy to cock and shoot all day.Great looking Stock !
      Things I would have changed:Nothing !
      What others should know:You wont find a better rifle at this low price.Has to be one of the Best rifles built in China ! Go Stoeger!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2013-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Extremely good value for the price. Shooting good groups after only about 50 shots.
      Things I would have changed:Rear sight notch could be just a tad wider for us shooters with older eyes, but still acceptable.
      What others should know:Other reviewers have suggested using a dremel tool on the breech; however, I wouldn't bother - just find something to push the pellet in about 1/8". I use a piece of scrap plastic from a model car kit. My friend uses an Allen wrench. This seats the pellet perfectly and will give you the correct back pressure. Penetration: Using a piece of 1/4" plywood and Gamo Master Point pellets the X5 is about equal to my Crosman American Classic pistol and my Crosman 760 rifle (with each at 10 pumps) or my Crosman 1077 rifle with a fresh CO2 cartridge. Not bad at all for a break-barrel rifle that cocks this easily.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Kevin from USA on 2013-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great for kids to load and cock. Pretty accurate at 25-30 yards with fiber optic sights. Very light to handle and the quality, for what you pay, is pretty good.
      Things I would have changed:Normally, you get what you pay for but this little gun beats the pump guns anyday in quality and accuracy. Very easy to use and kids will enjoy this rifle for years to come.
      What others should know:I like how the front sights plastic housing goes down the barrel more than others. Makes it easier to cock and you don't get your dirty, oily, etc. hands all over the barrel. This design may end up making the sights sturdier (?) than other manufacturers. The safety button is enlarged compared to other guns which makes it user friendly IMHO.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By craig from USA on 2012-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It feels and looks like a much more expensive rifle than it is. I like the safety. The gun is easy to cock. It is well balanced. So far I am using the open sights and they work well. It is accurate out of the box. So far I have shot about 200 rounds indoors. It does not seem to be loud. It has plenty of power for target shooting.
      Things I would have changed:I can't think of anything I would change except maybe a .22 version.
      What others should know:In my opinion this gun could be used for young shooters to older ones because of the light cocking but still plenty of power. It is a very good value. I enjoy shooting this one as well or more than some of my more expensive guns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sonny from USA on 2010-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ease of cocking, fiber optic sights, FPS as advertised, light weight, accuracy This is becoming my favorite fun for target shooting. I really enjoying using it.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger took some getting to.
      What others should know:It has sufficient power for close range plinking but I would not recommend it for hunting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Stanley from USA on 2010-09-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Is ez to load, accurate
      Things I would have changed:A little on the heavy side, trigger pull is too heavy but not terrible
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By CharlesBishop from USA on 2010-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very well made air gun. Fit and finish are great. It even has a METAL rear sight that works well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:I have a collection of air guns and I have had experience with real weapons. I like air gun shooting as it fits what I like doing, just target shooting and I am comfortable with the safety of air gun shooting. I have high power,medium power, and low power guns. Adult guns, youth guns , pistols and BB guns. This rifle was the best out of the box gun I have bought yet. Smooth working. easy to handle, cocks easy and shoots straight. My test is the iron sights. If I shoot well with sights it comes with I know it's probably going work well with other sight aids. I can't see well close up and I am older so I tend to wobble around in holding the gun steady at times. I was able to hit 100ft.distant targets almost out of the box. The gun worked butter smooth from the start. No burrs, or sticky parts. With a scope bench shoot with no rest I can get 1in. shoot groups at 100+ feet. At 150ft. I can hit 2-3in. shoot patterns with consistancey. After that I start running out of safe room in my back yard. This is not a kill everything hunt'n gun as it goes slower FPS wise but the pellets shoot straight with little drop at 100ft. The only other very minor item is that the stock is probably made for a smaller person. It does not fit me perfectly like other adult guns. I will have to invest in a $1000. custom stock if I want that. A great gun! If your not hunting Grizzlies this guns a good start for plinking and target shooting in the backyard. Have fun.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top