Sumatra 2500, 500cc Reservoir reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ed from USA on 2009-10-06 21:18:45

Things I liked: gun shoots very hard and accurate and can be ajusted to shoot any pellet weight buy reducing the power...well made and good looking,and a good amount of shots due the the large air tubes.

Things I would have changed: only thing i do not like is the way the power wheel is marked..does not make sense...but seems to just work buy one way is high other way is low...but it is not marked they way or told that way in the instructions.

What others should know: mine is 25 cal tons of power and likes the sam yang pellets the best,when on higher power.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:4.0

By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

Things I liked: It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.

Things I would have changed: I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!

What others should know: I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By steven from USA on 2015-08-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Absolutely beautiful wood. The feel of it is wonderful. When shouldering this air rifle it is comfortable and natural; it feels like a heirloom piece and has good balance. The action is good and cycles nicely. I pulled the rifle apart and checked the mechanics -- very simple. Simple means reliable.

    Things I would have changed: Not big on the cast hunting scene, in my opinion, too much bling. But I am crafting a new shell for the action/bolt. Trigger could be better by being easily adjustable. The pot-metal casting of the shroud and the lever are not really up to the level of what one expects from a $600 air arm. The forearm is a little short for my hold and lengthening it would lend to the aesthetics of the rifle, yes the wood is that pretty. I would flatten out the angle of the buttstock to prevent such a "humped" look. I suspect the designers did this to shave an inch or two off the length.

    What others should know: Don't be discouraged with the lever action. Yes, sometimes the cylinder does not advance correctly. I don't get a double feed; I reload an empty chamber. The action from the factory is tight. After putting a few rounds through it, and exercising the action and getting the grease worked into the action, it frees up. Yup, you have to break in this rifle. The machining for the tension button for the cylinder is much to be desired. The metal wall is far too thin and some of it is machined away or left attached as a weird little metal "flag." It does not affect the mechanics. It is strictly aesthetics. Eun Jin should consider modifying its mold to prevent this from happening. But, with the action shroud on, you have to look for it to see it, and when you see it, it is when you load a new cylinder.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Hi powered repeater that is very handy , once you get the hang of it multiple targets are easy.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe a little lighter

    What others should know: Buy lots of pellets and keep your air tank handy this thing is hard to put down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joe from USA on 2015-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sumatra 2500 is a goodlooking rifle nice bluing amd i love the carved hunting seen

    Things I would have changed: the air probe port I changed mine to a male nipple

    What others should know: i recomend this gun a great addition to any collection a real show peice and shhoter with lts of power

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2015-05-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made, good power. Nice looking gun.

    What others should know: Nice rifle with plenty of power. Liked it so much that I bought the carbine version too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By VINCENT from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i like that it has a 6 rounds and i think this the most powerful in 25 cal for the money

    Things I would have changed: i would have all the fill ports changed to a foster fitting which i did thanks to the people at pyramyd air that told me they had a foster fitting replacement when my air rifle came it was linking through the fill port,in which i was given one free,and bougt two others for my other samsung air rifles.

    What others should know: yes tell the the koreons to put foster fill ports.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is a winner. Shoots hard and accurate! I don't claim to be a world-class marksman, but I don't suck, and this gun is every bit as accurate as I am. I have the .22 version. On minimum power it throws H&N Baracuda Match Heavy (21.14 Grains) pellets at about 760FPS and 1180 FPS on max with a fresh fill. At 30 yards, three clicks off min-pow, groups are as tight as anything I've shot at hand rest, and reaching out to 50 yards is just as nice. At 100 yards its still putting those Baracudas in the black with ease. Crank it up to full power with Rabbit Magnums (25.7 grain) and the backstop rattles like it was hit with a hammer. The Sumatra is a powerful gun! I chrony'd the R. Mags at 1070fps. The fit and finish is very nice, good quality bluing and excellent wood. Trigger is "very good" but won't impress your buddies who only shoot match guns. Get a scope, the iron sights work well, but this gun has the accuracy to reward your effort. The overall experience is worth the few cons.

    Things I would have changed: 1) Well, The factory fill probe is an ingenious but ultimately, poorly executed solution. It "works" in that if the stars are aligned, your o-rings are fresh and you've fiddled just right you can barely get the gun up to pressure with a hand pump before it leaks down and you die of exhaustion. Just buy a foster-fitting adapter and be done with it. Pyramyd gave me one for free because I couldn't get my gun filled with a hand pump and the factory probe, but based on what the internet says you might as well just buy yourself the adapter to start and be done with it. Even IF the factory fill probe works out of the box you'll need new o-rings soon and it's prone to damage. 2) The lever must be held full open in order to change the magazine, and it doesn't stay there on its own, you have to hold it. This makes changing magazines an awkward balancing act unless you have somewhere to set the gun down. If it had a detent to hold the lever open it'd be much easier to change mags in the field.

    What others should know: 1) Other reviews are not lying: this is a LOUD gun. Low power on my .22 is about like a Crosman 2240, which is to say, not as loud as .22 rimfire, but pretty d@&% loud. Full power will echo off the valleys and make your ears ring a little. I wish suppressors were legal in my state :P 2) Say it with me: "heavy pellets". Good! Say it again: "heavy pellets". This is your mantra. The Beeman ECO series FTS (9.57 grain) shoot surprisingly well in the Sumatra, but I can't keep them subsonic (even at minimum power) until the pressure drops down to about 2500psi. It hasn't complained about any of the myriad pellets I've fed it, but it likes the heavier stuff for sure. 3) Consider a tall scope mount. With the a scope mounted the magazine is pretty well obfuscated. Sadly the gun is already very tall, and with tall mounts is won't fit in many "single scope'd" cases. 4) Buy some extra Mags, they're affordable and make shooting fun. I get a solid 40+ accurate shots at min power from a 3000psi fill.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish. Power wheel adjustment is great for plinking, sighting in scopes, and conserving air....or powering up for a hunt. My Sumatra is the .22 cal version and wanted it over the .25 cal as I already have a .25 cal in a Hatsan. Absolute effortless shooting and a total joy. Equal in enjoyment as my Hatsan BT65 .25 cal....maybe a tad more fun to shoot because of the lack of an auto-safety that the Hatsan has.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of a thing to change at this point.

    What others should know: People complain that it is not "back yard friendly" but if you dial the power way down and use medium to lighter weight pellets at the lower power it's not bad at all AND you still have VERY respectable power not to mention many shots between fills.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i have been wanting one of these for quite sometime now, finally got it in .25 caliber a couple of days ago. i got a refurbished one from PA saved me a 100 bucks and it looks brand new. This thing is a power house i chrony my 1st shot with eunjin 35.8 gr pellet at 979.68 fps on high power that equates to 76.31 fpe, im witing on the 43 gr pellets to arrive im sure i will pickup another 2 or 3 fpe. Mounted a busnell banner 4-16x40 AO scope, within in 6 shots was in the bullseye at 10 yrds, after a few more shots i was stacking pellets. I sighted in with h&n field target trophy 20.06 gr on power level 4 i only chrony the last shot after 18 it was 979 fps for 42 fpe. VERY IMPRESSIVE AIR GUN, just for ref my condor in .25 1st shot with 35.8 gr pellet gives 79.4 fpe so these 2 guns are at the top of the heavy hitters in .25. The blueing is very good the finish on the stock is nice the action works smooth, i am a happy camper!!!! All in all this is a great gun

    Things I would have changed: weight is always an issue with airguns, there is alot of steel in these air tubes not a whole lot u can do to shed excess weight. I dont really care for the engraved side plates on the receiver i think smooth and blued would look nicer, but thats being nit picky, i dont think the squirrel u shoot will care. The open sights altho a nice feature were useless to me i could not shoulder the rifle and and get the rear sight to align with the front, its just ergonomics other people may not have this problem. Cant really think of much that needs changing, the koreans have air rifle power down to a science. I am an avid airgunner i also have a condor, an evanix black leopard, hammerli 850, walther (hatsan).25 falcon hunter, Hatsan 155 torpedo underlever in .25, and a crap gamo hunter extreme in .22

    What others should know: This gun is not backyard friendly even at low power, VERY LOUD,louder than my condor. PA sells a foster quick disconnect that will replace the fill probe for about 20 bucks, get it, only takes 2 minutes to change it out and makes filling much easier. This is a hunting rifle not a plinker altho u can plink at low power and get a good number of shots. Remember at low power this gun is still more powerful than ANY springer by a huge margin. I would reccomend getting the 10 for 10 from PA, cheap insurance to make sure u dont get a gun that leaks plus they give the chrony tape and a signed certificate. Also make sure u load the pellets skirt first from the front of the magazine THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT or u risk permanetely damageing your gun. Get a scuba tank to fill the gun, hand pumping is to much work, i have 2 scuba tanks and a shoe box compressor so i always have HPA available. Just get one u will like it, and as always Pyramid air rocks!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By andrew from USA on 2014-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Evrything about the sumatra adjustable power wheel, its a repeater, not pellet picky, barracudas shoot great in my rifle

    Things I would have changed: It should come with a sling stud for those who want to mount a bi-pod or attach a sling other than that nothing

    What others should know: This rifle is a beast and is one of the loudest airguns they make although you can definitley do somting about that and with costom lead slugs at 57.5 grain im getting a whoping 97.5ftlbs of muzzle energy thats incredible for a stock gun The people at pyramid air are awesome i wouldnt think about going somwere else there tech dept is top notch and if you have any problems with your airgun they will go wat out of thier way to help you they are a true asset to our wonderfull airgun community

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By matthew from USA on 2014-06-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a pleasure to shoot. The action is smooth. I shoot with the open sights, seated, unsupported, at 40ish yards, med power. Every different pellet I have tried is smacking within 3cm. She is a beast at the same distance full up, high power you can hear the pellet punch the target.

    Things I would have changed: Loud as all get out. They need to up to a built in suppressor barrel.

    What others should know: If you fill the tank with a hand pump for a day of shooting, your arms will be beach ready!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jack from USA on 2014-04-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Power, Accuracy,Looks good

    Things I would have changed: Weight

    What others should know: Hard to Hand Pump

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JOSEL. from USA on 2013-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Since childhood I have pellet rifles, I have a variety incleible of rifles, but none like the 2500 Sumatra at last found something really powerful, refined and without loss of accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: nothing absolutely nothing.

    What others should know: only obtaining one of these and dare to say with heart in hand, is honest with your opinion.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By rg from USA on 2013-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The Koreans seem to have it down to a science in the power department! This airgun simply rocks! Very powerful at 65+ fpe accuracy at moa -50m = a very good raccoon/coyote sized hunting airgun.

    Things I would have changed: I wish they would offer a curved stock with pistol grip, but this is still very doable.

    What others should know: Wear hearing protection (seems louder than my rimfires) But worth it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2013-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: a very accurate and powerful gun. The power allows for humane kill on medium game. A very nicely designed gun with beautiful finish.I have big bore guns but I like this one the best.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: minimum 30.02 grain is reccomended for this gun. I have a hard time with lighter pelets. My sumatra is shooting a 43.02 Eun Jin @ 1020fps, and it is not even tuned. Always use heavy pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2012-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: Finally! I found a keeper. Powerful: with a wide range of adjustment done by a simple turn of a wheel. Accurate: literally stacks pellets at 25 yards. Pellet agnostic: handles an amazing range of pellets on medium to high power, from the light JSB Jumbo RS (13.43 grain) grouping 3/8", to the heavy EunJin (28.5 grains) grouping 15/8". And the big one...RELIABLE: no problems at all in 1000 rounds.

    Things I would have changed: The lever can be rough on the hand when shooting rapidly. It would also be nice to have, say, a 12-round magazine instead of a 6-round one.

    What others should know: I have been through a lot of PCPs and this is my choice. See "Things I Like" for why. I will say that the lower powers seem useless: even the lightest pellets show a pronounced downward arc over 25 yards. You should also know that this gun is very loud on medium to high powers. You should wear hearing protection or moderate the sound, that last especially in urban areas. You are going to want a scope on the Sumatra, and even without one it's no light-weight.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By derrick from USA on 2012-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: its very powerful

    Things I would have changed: this gun is very accurate for about twelve shots. then in mine no matter what ammo if u r using when u feels it back up to the recommended fill pressure it start to shoot low. have tried three scopes and cleaned the barrel but it does it still

    What others should know: its an o k airgun but I didnt know until I had the gun for three months that u cant go wrong with the airforce condor

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose doval from Brazil on 2012-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Awesome power! Power adjustment allows this rifle to be effective on both small and medium game. Great stock and barrel quality.

    Things I would have changed: Too noisy… forget about quick/ unscheduled backyard hunting. Old open sight system was better but a nice scope does the job.

    What others should know: Feel free to try different power adjustments according to your pellets and games. You will be surprised about the versatility this rifle offers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cody from USA on 2012-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very accurate!I got the 25cal,and at 50 yards my groups are in the size of a quarter!Some shots hit the same holes!My gun is zeroed in at 50yrds,and at 100yrd shots it only drops 1 1/4 inch!Not bad for a pellet gun!Very nice looking gun,so nice I don't want to get it dirty.Very powerful, goes through a 55 gallon drum on full power at 75yrds.This is my first pcp airgun and not the last. Very impressed...thanks Pyramid Air.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at all except,needs more information in handbook that comes with rifle on how to setup gun to what ever air source you use.If it wasn't for Pyramid's live chat, I wouldn't have got everything I needed or the know how to set up everything.

    What others should know: Click on Live Chat!And a guy named Rich helped me.He will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know and what you will need!I am saving up for the 357 recluse next!And spend the money on a shoebox compresser for your pcp airguns,it's all you need.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By josef from USA on 2012-03-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.764 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun looks good , the blueing is top notch, nice german barrel pretty accurate in. 25.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy gun should lighten it some. Make an adjustable butt pad. Use locktite on screws. Had a screw loosen in the lever action called pyramyd air techs walked me right thru the repairs so i wouldnt have to send it in.. A+++ for Pyramyd air!!!!

    What others should know: In .25 this gun has serious power out of the box. My friend has the condor and for the money and hassel this is by far a better deal. No messing with the tophat like on the condor just point and shoot and have 5 more follow up shots. This gun is purely a hunter but is also accurate out to 90 or more yards.. i have quite a few airguns and this is the best bang for the buck. Had this gun for a few months now and still love it..

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By DARRELL from USA on 2012-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.343 ratings

    Things I liked: This gun is nice and look good an powerful an accuary i get the 22cal an its bad 50yards on small game it put then down and lager game to like coon and posses

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: if you want an accuary air rifle this one is the best i also get the carbine in 22cal an 25cal they are the best guns an powerful gun going get the 357 reluse next and the H&N pellets work real good in them

  • 123 Next
Navigation