Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Sumatra 2500, 500cc Reservoir reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By ed from USA on 2009-10-06 21:18:45

    Things I liked:gun shoots very hard and accurate and can be ajusted to shoot any pellet weight buy reducing the power...well made and good looking,and a good amount of shots due the the large air tubes.
    Things I would have changed:only thing i do not like is the way the power wheel is marked..does not make sense...but seems to just work buy one way is high other way is low...but it is not marked they way or told that way in the instructions.
    What others should know:mine is 25 cal tons of power and likes the sam yang pellets the best,when on higher power.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

    Things I liked:It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.
    Things I would have changed:I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!
    What others should know:I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2014-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i have been wanting one of these for quite sometime now, finally got it in .25 caliber a couple of days ago. i got a refurbished one from PA saved me a 100 bucks and it looks brand new. This thing is a power house i chrony my 1st shot with eunjin 35.8 gr pellet at 979.68 fps on high power that equates to 76.31 fpe, im witing on the 43 gr pellets to arrive im sure i will pickup another 2 or 3 fpe. Mounted a busnell banner 4-16x40 AO scope, within in 6 shots was in the bullseye at 10 yrds, after a few more shots i was stacking pellets. I sighted in with h&n field target trophy 20.06 gr on power level 4 i only chrony the last shot after 18 it was 979 fps for 42 fpe. VERY IMPRESSIVE AIR GUN, just for ref my condor in .25 1st shot with 35.8 gr pellet gives 79.4 fpe so these 2 guns are at the top of the heavy hitters in .25. The blueing is very good the finish on the stock is nice the action works smooth, i am a happy camper!!!! All in all this is a great gun
      Things I would have changed:weight is always an issue with airguns, there is alot of steel in these air tubes not a whole lot u can do to shed excess weight. I dont really care for the engraved side plates on the receiver i think smooth and blued would look nicer, but thats being nit picky, i dont think the squirrel u shoot will care. The open sights altho a nice feature were useless to me i could not shoulder the rifle and and get the rear sight to align with the front, its just ergonomics other people may not have this problem. Cant really think of much that needs changing, the koreans have air rifle power down to a science. I am an avid airgunner i also have a condor, an evanix black leopard, hammerli 850, walther (hatsan).25 falcon hunter, Hatsan 155 torpedo underlever in .25, and a crap gamo hunter extreme in .22
      What others should know:This gun is not backyard friendly even at low power, VERY LOUD,louder than my condor. PA sells a foster quick disconnect that will replace the fill probe for about 20 bucks, get it, only takes 2 minutes to change it out and makes filling much easier. This is a hunting rifle not a plinker altho u can plink at low power and get a good number of shots. Remember at low power this gun is still more powerful than ANY springer by a huge margin. I would reccomend getting the 10 for 10 from PA, cheap insurance to make sure u dont get a gun that leaks plus they give the chrony tape and a signed certificate. Also make sure u load the pellets skirt first from the front of the magazine THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT or u risk permanetely damageing your gun. Get a scuba tank to fill the gun, hand pumping is to much work, i have 2 scuba tanks and a shoe box compressor so i always have HPA available. Just get one u will like it, and as always Pyramid air rocks!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By andrew from USA on 2014-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Evrything about the sumatra adjustable power wheel, its a repeater, not pellet picky, barracudas shoot great in my rifle
      Things I would have changed:It should come with a sling stud for those who want to mount a bi-pod or attach a sling other than that nothing
      What others should know:This rifle is a beast and is one of the loudest airguns they make although you can definitley do somting about that and with costom lead slugs at 57.5 grain im getting a whoping 97.5ftlbs of muzzle energy thats incredible for a stock gun The people at pyramid air are awesome i wouldnt think about going somwere else there tech dept is top notch and if you have any problems with your airgun they will go wat out of thier way to help you they are a true asset to our wonderfull airgun community
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By matthew from USA on 2014-06-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is a pleasure to shoot. The action is smooth. I shoot with the open sights, seated, unsupported, at 40ish yards, med power. Every different pellet I have tried is smacking within 3cm. She is a beast at the same distance full up, high power you can hear the pellet punch the target.
      Things I would have changed:Loud as all get out. They need to up to a built in suppressor barrel.
      What others should know:If you fill the tank with a hand pump for a day of shooting, your arms will be beach ready!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jack from USA on 2014-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power, Accuracy,Looks good
      Things I would have changed:Weight
      What others should know:Hard to Hand Pump
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jose luis from USA on 2013-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Since childhood I have pellet rifles, I have a variety incleible of rifles, but none like the 2500 Sumatra at last found something really powerful, refined and without loss of accuracy.
      Things I would have changed:nothing absolutely nothing.
      What others should know:only obtaining one of these and dare to say with heart in hand, is honest with your opinion.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By rg from USA on 2013-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The Koreans seem to have it down to a science in the power department! This airgun simply rocks! Very powerful at 65+ fpe accuracy at moa -50m = a very good raccoon/coyote sized hunting airgun.
      Things I would have changed:I wish they would offer a curved stock with pistol grip, but this is still very doable.
      What others should know:Wear hearing protection (seems louder than my rimfires) But worth it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Edward from USA on 2013-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:a very accurate and powerful gun. The power allows for humane kill on medium game. A very nicely designed gun with beautiful finish.I have big bore guns but I like this one the best.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:minimum 30.02 grain is reccomended for this gun. I have a hard time with lighter pelets. My sumatra is shooting a 43.02 Eun Jin @ 1020fps, and it is not even tuned. Always use heavy pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2012-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: Finally! I found a keeper. Powerful: with a wide range of adjustment done by a simple turn of a wheel. Accurate: literally stacks pellets at 25 yards. Pellet agnostic: handles an amazing range of pellets on medium to high power, from the light JSB Jumbo RS (13.43 grain) grouping 3/8", to the heavy EunJin (28.5 grains) grouping 15/8". And the big one...RELIABLE: no problems at all in 1000 rounds.
      Things I would have changed: The lever can be rough on the hand when shooting rapidly. It would also be nice to have, say, a 12-round magazine instead of a 6-round one.
      What others should know: I have been through a lot of PCPs and this is my choice. See "Things I Like" for why. I will say that the lower powers seem useless: even the lightest pellets show a pronounced downward arc over 25 yards. You should also know that this gun is very loud on medium to high powers. You should wear hearing protection or moderate the sound, that last especially in urban areas. You are going to want a scope on the Sumatra, and even without one it's no light-weight.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By derrick from USA on 2012-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:its very powerful
      Things I would have changed:this gun is very accurate for about twelve shots. then in mine no matter what ammo if u r using when u feels it back up to the recommended fill pressure it start to shoot low. have tried three scopes and cleaned the barrel but it does it still
      What others should know:its an o k airgun but I didnt know until I had the gun for three months that u cant go wrong with the airforce condor
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jose doval from Brazil on 2012-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Awesome power! Power adjustment allows this rifle to be effective on both small and medium game. Great stock and barrel quality.
      Things I would have changed:Too noisy… forget about quick/ unscheduled backyard hunting. Old open sight system was better but a nice scope does the job.
      What others should know:Feel free to try different power adjustments according to your pellets and games. You will be surprised about the versatility this rifle offers.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By cody from USA on 2012-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate!I got the 25cal,and at 50 yards my groups are in the size of a quarter!Some shots hit the same holes!My gun is zeroed in at 50yrds,and at 100yrd shots it only drops 1 1/4 inch!Not bad for a pellet gun!Very nice looking gun,so nice I don't want to get it dirty.Very powerful, goes through a 55 gallon drum on full power at 75yrds.This is my first pcp airgun and not the last. Very impressed...thanks Pyramid Air.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all except,needs more information in handbook that comes with rifle on how to setup gun to what ever air source you use.If it wasn't for Pyramid's live chat, I wouldn't have got everything I needed or the know how to set up everything.
      What others should know:Click on Live Chat!And a guy named Rich helped me.He will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know and what you will need!I am saving up for the 357 recluse next!And spend the money on a shoebox compresser for your pcp airguns,it's all you need.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By josef from USA on 2012-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.754 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun looks good , the blueing is top notch, nice german barrel pretty accurate in. 25.
      Things I would have changed:Heavy gun should lighten it some. Make an adjustable butt pad. Use locktite on screws. Had a screw loosen in the lever action called pyramyd air techs walked me right thru the repairs so i wouldnt have to send it in.. A+++ for Pyramyd air!!!!
      What others should know:In .25 this gun has serious power out of the box. My friend has the condor and for the money and hassel this is by far a better deal. No messing with the tophat like on the condor just point and shoot and have 5 more follow up shots. This gun is purely a hunter but is also accurate out to 90 or more yards.. i have quite a few airguns and this is the best bang for the buck. Had this gun for a few months now and still love it..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2012-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.3333301544189453 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is nice and look good an powerful an accuary i get the 22cal an its bad 50yards on small game it put then down and lager game to like coon and posses
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:if you want an accuary air rifle this one is the best i also get the carbine in 22cal an 25cal they are the best guns an powerful gun going get the 357 reluse next and the H&N pellets work real good in them
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jesus from USA on 2012-01-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.59999990463256845 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Es un arma muy bien hecha su acabado, la potencia y poder de alcance es inimaginable, a media potencia te da como 40 disparos y todavia quedas con 100 bar en el. Podes acabar con presas como iguanas, liebres y aves a 30 yrd, es pesada para andar caminando pero vale la pena el sacrificio por la recompensa de la caceria no te va a defraudar es bastante ruidoso hay que usar un silenciador.
      Things I would have changed:Me gustaria que cambiaran el adaptador para cargarlo por el rapido que no daria problemas de desgaste de los orrines, pero sabiendolo cargar no tiene que darte problemas.
      What others should know: Lo que si he notado es que hay que estar haciendo ajustes a la mira ya que se desajusta muy frecuentemente dependiendo de los diabolos que estes usando y de acuerdo a la potencia que uses hay que variar la mira. Cuando esta calibrado es muy preciso hace grupos 1/2 a 20 mts. con diabolos ts22 gamo 21 gr
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By primo from USA on 2011-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:big power for hunting. very nice workmanship.
      Things I would have changed:to loud need a supressor.
      What others should know:this rifle in low power has more pwer than any magnum springer on the market. mine is .22 and it hits like sledge hammer on low using 14.3
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Joe from USA on 2011-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice appearance and it appears that it will really pack a puuch. I cocked the rifle and it had a very loud and healthy blast even though the meter displayed very little air pressure.
      Things I would have changed:The Rear Sight is terrible and is quite a cheap sight. can't see nothing through the peep sight and it can't be aligned with the front sight. The front sight is alos terrible in that it won't adjust. The base mount is actually in the way of the peep sight. The Manual certainly needs to be more detailed and a explanation is needed to cover the application of the included parts. I assume they are utilized with a skuba tank.
      What others should know:I like the gun and I'm looking forward to mounting a scope that will certainly resolve the issue of such poor iron sights. The base on the rifle is not long enough and I'm confused as to how I will actually mount a scope.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By 2she from USA on 2011-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Every thing about this air rifle
      Things I would have changed:Who can make better than this rifle?
      What others should know:easy to load good to shot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2011-05-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:POWER! Shoot thru a 2X4 at 10 yards!I can shoot I variety of different pellets with it due to the adjustable power. Metal parts and nice wood.
      Things I would have changed:Make airguns more affordable. I dont like the lever popping open when you shoot make it lock in place. Make some heavier pellets for it it 43gr are not heavey enough for good accuracy on high power in my opinion. put a foster fitting on it with a nice dust cap.
      What others should know:My .25 gets good 50yard groups with barracuda's on low power which chrony in the 980's 43gr unjins at medium power. Getting 1/2" groups at 45yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2011-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i got the sumatra after returning the marauder . the sumatra is not pellet fussy like many guns , but it does really like the heavier pellets , i use a varity and all shoot almost equally as well , though the gun i have seems to do very well with 31.02 gr baracudas. the heaviest ive tried are the eun jin 35's i want to try the 43's next and maybe even something heavier. when they say devastating power ,thats exactly what it means. i was hitting a steal target leaned up against a sheet of plywood at 25 yds, when it hit the target the pellet literally disintegrated and it looked as if gray paint was slung on the plywood. this gun has power and thats what i like about it , i have the utmost confidence in small game hunting with this gun. the staff at pyramyd air are the best , all i have spoken with have been very friendly and helpful , they have never just tried to sell me something . i have only sent one gun back with them and it was taken care of quickly with no hassle ,the gun had no defect it was just not the one for me . what can i say the customer service at pyramyd air is superb , i recomend them to anyone , you cant go wrong with them.
      Things I would have changed:the only thing i would change are the cheesy sights , but i use a scope so it just dos'nt matter.
      What others should know:find what pellets suit you and buy plenty and a couple extra mags because you will want to shoot this gun all the time. and buy a scuba tank for filling if you plan on shooting like i do , the hand pump will wear you out , i know.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By clay from USA on 2011-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well for one the look and feel. this gun is very well made and after pyramyd sending me an ar6 by mistake I am really happy with my choice of the sumatra! Im shooting 32.4 gr. pellets out to 80+ yrds and nocking ground squirls down cold! would recomend to anyone looking for a hunting air rife .
      Things I would have changed:? seems to be done right so far? Ok ya maybe if it filled itself that would be a bonus! cheeck piece sits high and making it a scope only rifle for me . Price was high I thought but glad to have it!
      What others should know:this gun is as loud as my .22 long rife on a full charge and set on high just so ya know.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top