Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Sumatra 2500 Carbine reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (15 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Anirudh from USA on 2011-02-13 00:22:03

    Things I liked:Absolute value for money, I had got this ground shipped to me when I was visiting the USA, in October 2010. Marvellous service by folks at Pyramyd air. Came pre tested and mounted with a laepers scope. Perfectly sighted in and accurate to the bulls eye. This is a sheer pleasure to shoulder air rifle, in fact this is the big daddy of them all, very powerful, loves heavier pellets, easy to shoulder, dead accurate. Lovely repeating action, and good 30-40 shots on lower power settings, 3-4 setting of 13 settings. Very varsitile, can be used for back yard plinking or long range hunting with variable power.The revolver action is smooth jam free no hassles. Fit and finish is so good U can display in your living room as a show piece. Am sure this will give years of shooting pleasure. I have shot upto 300 yards also the drop is approx 2-3 feet at that range on medium power, but at that range also the pellet nicks the plaster off a wall which u can see through the scope.
    Things I would have changed:Revolver should not rotate once a pellet has been fed in, if not careful u can jam 2 pellets one after another and jam the barrell. Safety can be automatic, and the instruction manula should be more comprehensive, it is totally basic and U cannot make out anything from it, lots of confusion on what is high , medium and low settings, conflicting views on net also, I tried my self and realised that the small dots direction is lower and large dot is higher. The dust cap on the fill probe area is loose and about 100 shots later just pops off, can be improved
    What others should know:Buy a Air venturi G4 hand pump and fit the fill probe onto the hose directly , tighten with a wrench, not adaptor is required, works smoothly, have used only that for refilling, no hassles, yes refill once U are in the lower side of green zone, less efforts required to pump upto the red zone, only pump upto the 200 bar , check the pump's gauze not rifle's as rifle gauze is not too accurate..
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:3.0

    Accuracy:3.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2014-12-05 14:23:40

    Things I liked:The fit and finish are beautiful on this air rifle. There was enough air in the reservoir to shoot 6 shots with my existing pellets. The FPS was 870 with 25.4 grain pellets.
    Things I would have changed:The air input port was machined too large and the input fitting size had to be increased by 1mm. The fill port would not allow any air to be put in the reservoir no matter what of the 5 suggestions from Pyramid Air Tech Support I implemented. I was using a Hills pump to pressurize the reservoir. I have returned the carbine for credit.
    What others should know:I purchased this air rifle based on all 14 reviews being a five star rating, including the video review from Paul Cappella.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2014-12-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fit and finish are beautiful on this air rifle. There was enough air in the reservoir to shoot 6 shots with my existing pellets. The FPS was 870 with 25.4 grain pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The air input port was machined too large and the input fitting size had to be increased by 1mm. The fill port would not allow any air to be put in the reservoir no matter what of the 5 suggestions from Pyramid Air Tech Support I implemented. I was using a Hills pump to pressurize the reservoir. I have returned the carbine for credit.
      What others should know:I purchased this air rifle based on all 14 reviews being a five star rating, including the video review from Paul Cappella.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gordon from USA on 2012-10-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Power and accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Sound......it's super loud.
      What others should know:It's really loud, but it's the best gun I'be owned.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-09-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Carbine is just wonderful. Turn to low power for lot's of shot's. Turn to high power for true hunting ability. Warning, very low if you plan to shoot this on high in a backyard. Tun power to low, and your good to go.
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing on this Airgun. It is a true piece of work with everything being what it should.
      What others should know:You can use a scope. But again as per my last review on the Sam Yang. Why, It's too much fun without one.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-03-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:SIze and wight of rifle is very nice, Balances well when shooting off hand.
      Things I would have changed:Make a shrouded Version, put a male foster fill fitting on it. Put the sites from the 500cc model on them. Put a better air guage on them. The air guages dont seem to last long.
      What others should know:You have to take the scope rail off the use the Iron sites the rifle comes with. The cheek comb is high so the iron sites are hard to use. my rifle shoots a variety of pellets well with power adjusted properly.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By pcp4me from USA on 2011-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.05 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy. Extremely accurate. Well able to do 3/8" groups even out to 50 yards. Extremely powerful. Mine is in .177 caliber and I still get 32+ fpe. Able to use all types of pellets with no adjustments needed except the power! The two included clips hold any pellet in the proper caliber. This gun is "pretty" according to my wife who usually scowls at my guns. Very nice looking to say the least. It handles and shoulders extremely well in the carbine version and is also lightweight. It has power adjustments in 13 steps allowing you to shoot about any pellet accurately simply by adjusting the power into the right fps range. Of course even this gun will not allow you to shoot inaccurate pellets like the PBA accurately. But if your pellet shoots accurately in your other guns it will shoot accurately in this when you find the correct power range. Generally heavy pellets are thicker walled and respond well to higher power levels. Generally lighter thin skirted or pure lead pellets respond well to a reduced power. But "reduced power" don't mean "wimp power" RWS hobbies that scream out of the barrel at 1350 fps only have to be throttled back to about 1000 - 1080 fps to shoot well. Note all reviews of this are 5 star! That speaks volumes! I would give it 10 stars of 5. It is THAT good!
      Things I would have changed:Not much to dislike about this gun. But I will touch on those also. First and foremost are the rear peep sights. Basically they sit too low and the apertures are WAY too narrow to use. I drilled out the apertures in mine and they are now marginally usable. But I use a scope so this is not a deal breaker for me. Next is the trigger pull. It IS adjustable but only down to about 3 # which is about 1.5 # too heavy for my taste. Needs to be adjustable to a lighter pull. However, that said, it breaks clean and predictably even if a tad too heavy so it is very usable. Not near on par with an M-Rod trigger though, but everything else kicks the M-Rod to the curb! Third problem is fixable, but on high power it is an AIR HOG! Full high it gets six good shots. Each successive shot is slower than the last. With 16.1 Eun Jins doing full level 13 power at 975 fps by shot #6 you are at 900 fps and shot 12 is at 750 fps. One other thing. Get a good BIG carbon fiber tank. You WILL shoot this gun a bunch and gobble up the air. This problem is solvable by reducing the power setting. At power level 8 my 16.1 grain Eun Jins still do about 935 fps average and give me 18 good shots. At power levels of 4 - 5 with "normal" weight pellets I get about 900 fps and around 50 - 80 good shots! So save the power blasting for hunting only, and use a good chronograph to determine the best combination of speed/shot count/accuracy. I really don't need more than 9 for anything.
      What others should know:This is in my opinion THE best value and most "bang for the buck" you can get from a mass produced pcp repeating air gun. The same features on other mass-produced and semi custom pcp air guns cost you at least TWICE as much! It's ONLY competitor is the M-Rod, but this kicks the M-Rod to the curb in usability and power adjustability with just as good accuracy. ONLY thing M-Rod has over this is a better trigger. By all means get a good big 4500 psi air tank for this. By far my favorite gun and uses a lot of gas even on low plinking power as I use it that much! Just BUY IT. You won't regret.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Sami from USA on 2011-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Small but powerful, Short but accurate, Cheap but good quality.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Anirudh from USA on 2011-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.05 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Absolute value for money, I had got this ground shipped to me when I was visiting the USA, in October 2010. Marvellous service by folks at Pyramyd air. Came pre tested and mounted with a laepers scope. Perfectly sighted in and accurate to the bulls eye. This is a sheer pleasure to shoulder air rifle, in fact this is the big daddy of them all, very powerful, loves heavier pellets, easy to shoulder, dead accurate. Lovely repeating action, and good 30-40 shots on lower power settings, 3-4 setting of 13 settings. Very varsitile, can be used for back yard plinking or long range hunting with variable power.The revolver action is smooth jam free no hassles. Fit and finish is so good U can display in your living room as a show piece. Am sure this will give years of shooting pleasure. I have shot upto 300 yards also the drop is approx 2-3 feet at that range on medium power, but at that range also the pellet nicks the plaster off a wall which u can see through the scope.
      Things I would have changed:Revolver should not rotate once a pellet has been fed in, if not careful u can jam 2 pellets one after another and jam the barrell. Safety can be automatic, and the instruction manula should be more comprehensive, it is totally basic and U cannot make out anything from it, lots of confusion on what is high , medium and low settings, conflicting views on net also, I tried my self and realised that the small dots direction is lower and large dot is higher. The dust cap on the fill probe area is loose and about 100 shots later just pops off, can be improved
      What others should know:Buy a Air venturi G4 hand pump and fit the fill probe onto the hose directly , tighten with a wrench, not adaptor is required, works smoothly, have used only that for refilling, no hassles, yes refill once U are in the lower side of green zone, less efforts required to pump upto the red zone, only pump upto the 200 bar , check the pump's gauze not rifle's as rifle gauze is not too accurate..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2011-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Frist thing pyramyd is good an fast when you have to return somthing yal doing a good job with my return now i just get the 25cal sumatra today an put the scope on six shots i had it sight in at 30 yards going go hunt with it tomormoring
      Things I would have changed:nothing at all
      What others should know:This is agood gun for hunt small game it is a real good look gun it is worth the money sumatra pcp air guns are the way to go when it time to do some hunt like all the sumatra air gun an iget them all not the 1`77cal
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2011-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.03 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have the 22cal an it is a good around gun i uesd the 28gr pellects it is a accuary gun an good for small or big game it is worth the money
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:it is just a good gun is like $500.00 but get it an u will c an it look real good
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2011-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Real good gun lost of power an accuary is good i shoot small an big game with this gun it is worth the money i shoot 28gr pellect an at 40yards dimes size groups
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:if u a small or big game hunter this is the gun and the other on is the same way the sumatra 2500 500cc in 22cal an the 25cal they are bad
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JerryNC from USA on 2009-12-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.6666700839996343 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lots of power. I put a scope on my .25 and I'm hitting one inch groups at 35 yards. I could probably do better with a proper rest. It blow holes through a 2x10.
      Things I would have changed:The cheezy art on sides. I've thought about trying to fill it with resin but am afraid to mess it up.
      What others should know:There is no discreet shooting with this gun. Very loud. I use the pump and it is a work out. I would buy it again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Archie from USA on 2009-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.1999998092651375 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything but the rear sight.
      Things I would have changed:The rear site needs to be replaced with one that works. The current peep sight is pretty much useless because it is too low.
      What others should know:This is without a doubt one of the finest .22cal PCP air rifles on the market even though it cost less than most. It has everything going for it. Perfect size, excellent balance and handling, extreme power (today I shot a 6 shot average of 927.05fps with the EunJin 32gr pellet for an average of 61.08fpe!), and accuracy you have to see to believe. It is a hunter's dream come true. You cannot go wrong with the purchase of this carbine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By StephenJr from USA on 2009-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Lenght of the rifle, rotatary clip, the accurcy is outstanding rifle isnt too picky about ammo, im using crossman competition .177 and the sights are a bit of getting used to but once you understand them you will be happy with the results just alot of squinding but worth it
      Things I would have changed:maybe the sights? or have the option to change the rear sights to something else, and more glue on the pressure gauge, it came off somehow and heard air leaking, i glued it back on and works as if nothing happened oh yea and the price should be lowered
      What others should know:you get 60+ shots on the lowest setting or more they go pretty fast and pumping it takes about 5-10min if that
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2008-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is one great gun. It is short and well balanced, easier to carry around hunting that the full size Sumatra. It hits really hard on full power but I can dial it back for more shots per fill. The rotary magazine accepts all different kinds of pellets without making any adjustments.
      Things I would have changed:The gun has peep sights.
      What others should know:Great value for the dollar. Best size and design for small game hunting that I could find anywhere. Pyramydair is very nice to deal with.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2007-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:powerful, accurate (able to hit quarter sized objects at 50 yards everytime), compact size, quick to shoot, Ambidextrous, ability to fit all size and shape pellets in 22 cal however if i was you i would just stick with the heavy eunjins, extremely flat trajectory, extremely durable
      Things I would have changed:shrouded barrel
      What others should know:Hrdest hitting airgun I own really loud I have had a few complaints from the neighbors but its worth it. My sumatra is a little over a year old and I have not had a single problem with it. Accuracy wise its not far behind my bsa t-10 bull barrel (which is a single hole shooter at 50 yards distance, the sumatrea is about 3/4 of an inch at 50 yards) Regarding the sumatra carbines power if you hit apropiate size game within 65-70 yards it will drop with one shot. Expect groupings at that distance to open up between an inch to an inch and a half providing the wind isnt blowing hard, this is adequate enough for squirrles to coons at that distance and even further if the opportunity arises and the conditions are right. stick to the heavy eun jin pellets I think they are the best.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top