Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Sumatra 2500 PCP air rifle reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By DARRELL from USA on 2011-02-02 01:54:30

    Things I liked:Like the gun i had it in a 25cal it shoot accuary an have all the power you need. Good for yall small game hunter
    Things I would have changed:nothing at all
    What others should know:I have the 22cal carbein like it so much i sent the 25cal long gun back an get the carbein in thed 25cal the carbein is short but it have the power an accuary that you need to take small an big game sumatra air gun are the best to me i going try the maruder in 25cal an see how it do .
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1

    Value for money:1

    Accuracy:4

    By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23 04:36:19

    Things I liked:It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.
    Things I would have changed:I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!
    What others should know:I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Greg from USA on 2012-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      31 rating
       
      Things I liked: Finally! I found a keeper. Powerful: with a wide range of adjustment done by a simple turn of a wheel. Accurate: literally stacks pellets at 25 yards. Pellet agnostic: handles an amazing range of pellets on medium to high power, from the light JSB Jumbo RS (13.43 grain) grouping 3/8", to the heavy EunJin (28.5 grains) grouping 15/8". And the big one...RELIABLE: no problems at all in 1000 rounds.
      Things I would have changed: The lever can be rough on the hand when shooting rapidly. It would also be nice to have, say, a 12-round magazine instead of a 6-round one.
      What others should know: I have been through a lot of PCPs and this is my choice. See "Things I Like" for why. I will say that the lower powers seem useless: even the lightest pellets show a pronounced downward arc over 25 yards. You should also know that this gun is very loud on medium to high powers. You should wear hearing protection or moderate the sound, that last especially in urban areas. You are going to want a scope on the Sumatra, and even without one it's no light-weight.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By cody from USA on 2012-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate!I got the 25cal,and at 50 yards my groups are in the size of a quarter!Some shots hit the same holes!My gun is zeroed in at 50yrds,and at 100yrd shots it only drops 1 1/4 inch!Not bad for a pellet gun!Very nice looking gun,so nice I don't want to get it dirty.Very powerful, goes through a 55 gallon drum on full power at 75yrds.This is my first pcp airgun and not the last. Very impressed...thanks Pyramid Air.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing at all except,needs more information in handbook that comes with rifle on how to setup gun to what ever air source you use.If it wasn't for Pyramid's live chat, I wouldn't have got everything I needed or the know how to set up everything.
      What others should know:Click on Live Chat!And a guy named Rich helped me.He will tell you EVERYTHING you need to know and what you will need!I am saving up for the 357 recluse next!And spend the money on a shoebox compresser for your pcp airguns,it's all you need.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By luis from USA on 2012-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Muy potente tremendo la rueda de velocidad lo mejor muy preciso
      Things I would have changed:La Mira no sirve hay que ponerle telescopica y el sonido igual que un 22 de polvora en la potencia mayor en la menor es normal
      What others should know:Todo bien pyramid tremendo servicio fast ship to Puerto Rico
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By luis from USA on 2011-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Increíble super potencia es tenido otros rifles pero esto es Único el que quiera un rifle potente este es . Y la rueda de alimentación para potencia lo mejor . Puedes disparar a baja potencia o al máximo increíble .lo puedes usar para tiro al blanco o para casar cualquier presa no importa el tamaño . El mío es 22 un buen calibre se lo recomiendo . Mu bien hecho tremendo estilo 6 tiros magasin lo mejor . Yo soy de Puerto Rico y los que lo an visto no lo creen estos coreanos estan violentos en armas
      Things I would have changed:No me gusta la mira que trae pero no importa porque uso telescópica y que a alta potencia suena bien fuerte . Pero no hay problema le pones un silenciador o tiras a baja potencia . El trae ya la rosca para cilenciador . Recuerde que un arma potente tiende a sonar igual de potente
      What others should know:Con 380 cc es suficiente para tirar da mas de 55 tiros a mediano baja potencia y 35 mediana alta y 20 en full no esta nada mal .consejo no lo dejen bajar de 1000psi porque es mas difícil de llenar y se le pueden dañar los sellos . Yo lo lleno antes de 1000 son como 60 pompasos pero es buen ejercicio nada mal fácil .
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Joe from USA on 2011-08-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      32 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice appearance and it appears that it will really pack a puuch. I cocked the rifle and it had a very loud and healthy blast even though the meter displayed very little air pressure.
      Things I would have changed:The Rear Sight is terrible and is quite a cheap sight. can't see nothing through the peep sight and it can't be aligned with the front sight. The front sight is alos terrible in that it won't adjust. The base mount is actually in the way of the peep sight. The Manual certainly needs to be more detailed and a explanation is needed to cover the application of the included parts. I assume they are utilized with a skuba tank.
      What others should know:I like the gun and I'm looking forward to mounting a scope that will certainly resolve the issue of such poor iron sights. The base on the rifle is not long enough and I'm confused as to how I will actually mount a scope.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By 2she from USA on 2011-07-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:Every thing about this air rifle
      Things I would have changed:Who can make better than this rifle?
      What others should know:easy to load good to shot.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2011-03-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i got the sumatra after returning the marauder . the sumatra is not pellet fussy like many guns , but it does really like the heavier pellets , i use a varity and all shoot almost equally as well , though the gun i have seems to do very well with 31.02 gr baracudas. the heaviest ive tried are the eun jin 35's i want to try the 43's next and maybe even something heavier. when they say devastating power ,thats exactly what it means. i was hitting a steal target leaned up against a sheet of plywood at 25 yds, when it hit the target the pellet literally disintegrated and it looked as if gray paint was slung on the plywood. this gun has power and thats what i like about it , i have the utmost confidence in small game hunting with this gun. the staff at pyramyd air are the best , all i have spoken with have been very friendly and helpful , they have never just tried to sell me something . i have only sent one gun back with them and it was taken care of quickly with no hassle ,the gun had no defect it was just not the one for me . what can i say the customer service at pyramyd air is superb , i recomend them to anyone , you cant go wrong with them.
      Things I would have changed:the only thing i would change are the cheesy sights , but i use a scope so it just dos'nt matter.
      What others should know:find what pellets suit you and buy plenty and a couple extra mags because you will want to shoot this gun all the time. and buy a scuba tank for filling if you plan on shooting like i do , the hand pump will wear you out , i know.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By DARRELL from USA on 2011-02-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Like the gun i had it in a 25cal it shoot accuary an have all the power you need. Good for yall small game hunter
      Things I would have changed:nothing at all
      What others should know:I have the 22cal carbein like it so much i sent the 25cal long gun back an get the carbein in thed 25cal the carbein is short but it have the power an accuary that you need to take small an big game sumatra air gun are the best to me i going try the maruder in 25cal an see how it do .
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2010-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This Rifle is very accurate I have put 4 pellets in the same hole many times.It has the power I want and then some. I opperate it at 4 click above the lowest setting and I still can shoot 10.5 grain CPs 50yards no problem PS I want one in 22 cal or 25 cal next SOON
      Things I would have changed:I put a 6x24x50 leaper scope on this rifle. Its a bit too much but you sure can reach out and touch someone
      What others should know:With the size of pellet and the setting I use on the power wheel I get over 50 shoots at good power Even with 16.1 eunjin pellets beware you could still hit something half a city block away
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Travis from USA on 2009-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This gun is amazing,, plain and simple, gets a ton of shots per fill at the lowest setting, but gets amazing velocity! this gun is hands down more accurate than my Ruger .22 and 100x more fun and tons of power, and enough to kill something even on its lowest setting
      Things I would have changed:To the tech department: ITS DANGEROUS TO SEND ANYTHING PRESSURIZED through the mail! really not supposed to ship anything pressurized and my gun came just under 180 bar in pressure, which is no big deal to me, but others probably might not have been happy other than that this gun definitely needs a different rear site, not as bad as others say, as long as you don't try and use the tiniest one.
      What others should know:GET THE 10 for $10 test done, helps insure you dont get a lemon, plus you know right off the bat what velocity your gun is shooting and at what grain weight of pellet, this particular gun i got shot over 1250fps with a 14.5gr pellet, with an average loss of about 8 to 10 fps per shot. on the highest power
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2009-08-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The 6 shot repeater is amazing. I love this gun. The fill probe is easy to use. I guess it's hard to make it difficult to use, but it worked great from day 1 and continues to work fine. I don't know why the user on here had problems after 30 days. This gun has worked fine for me for many many shots. It's power is also incredible, in fact, I purchased it to hunt beaver at our lake home who are chewing up and damaging our property. I have little doubt this gun would send a beaver packing out to 50+ yards with a head shot. My gun is the .25 caliber model. I haven't shot this gun in months yet the pressure is still exactly the same. It doesn't leak at all. The gauge on the bottom is of semi-usefullness, just ignore the indications on the gauge and either make your own or remember where the needle is when your pump indicates 3000psi. For me, that's about 1200 on the gauge. The gauge appears quite accurate, or at least very consistant to my pump gauge. It's just that the numbers don't line up! haha But it will definitely tell you when you need a fill as it will show reduction in pressure with each shot as its supposed to. You'll notice what the gun says it has, what your pump says it has, and put that number in memory. Then you can actually learn to use the pumps gauge as a fairly accurate determinate of what your gun has remaining in its air chamber. My gun will push 6 pellets out at full power without losing alot of velocity. After that, however, the velocities drop dramatically.
      Things I would have changed:The iron sights are basically worthless. The hole is so small to look through I doubt you could stick a stickpin through it. But when I used my laser boresighter with it.....if you CAN manage to see through it, it would put the lead where it needed to go, without a scope. The trigger to me, while it works fine, it's just a little weird. I can't seem to feel when it will actually fire the gun. It makes me jump each time because I don't expect it. Not that its dangerous or anything. This could be only me, as my experience prior to this gun was with firearms. So do NOT let this scare you into avoiding this gun. The trigger works fine. Trust me.
      What others should know:This gun is very heavy. Extremely heavy. I can't free-shoot with it with any kind of accuracy. I have to use some kind of SOMETHING to hold the gun up. A tree branch, a stand, a handrail, something. But that being said, it's so darn heavy it's rock solid, even in wind. My actual velocity results at 10 feet were: 43 grain EJ pellet: 950fps 30 something grain Kodiak extra heavys: 1050fps 26.4 grain Crow magnums: 1080fps Silver stings: 1101 fps This gun, at full power, will push anything under 26 grains over the speed of sound and thus make for a very inaccurate shot. If you reduce power, you should be able to get way more than the 6 shots that I can get at full power. If you wanted to turn it way down to back-yard shooting quietness and power, it wouldn't surprise me if you could get 30+ shots or more. But I haven't tried it so I don't know. At 20 yards, I very very much almost shot through a 2x6 with the 43 grain EJ pellet. It blew a chunk of wood out the back of the 2x6 but remained in the piece of wood. You could see it if you flipped the wood over though. The pellet had deformed into a real flesh damaging mess, so had it hit the flesh of an animal, it would have torn him up.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2009-06-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I wanted to upgrade from a 22 break action for hunting squirrels. I wanted a quick follow up shot. I had wanted a PSP repeater and this will fill the bill. My specific wants were to be able to have a reasonable amount of shots (6) at a reasonable power level (700 fps) with a standard 22 pellet. Boy does this one fill the bill. I bought it with a pump and ended up charging with nitrogen from a tank I bought. It is the ULTIMATE squirrel killing machine! I have no local Dive Shop for tanks and refills. Nitrogen is the ticket. Forget the pump! Not only is it very difficult for the out of shape to use, a nitrogen tank cost only $108.00 and refills are around $10.00. I use mine at about 1/3 power and it will put a standard pellet thru 1/2" plywood with ease at 25 feet, and do it over 100 times per charge. The nitrogen fill is only 2200 psi, but it is plenty. Nitrogen maintains it's power level at all normal temperatures. I do not use heavy pellets. I wanted a squirrel killing machine that works out to 35-40 yards MAXIMUM with RESTRICTED RANGE. You can also turn it up to full power, use the heavy pellets, and have a very expensive 22 short FIREARM levels and noise, or turn it down and shoot it inside your house (my living room). Probably the BEST MONEY I EVER SPENT for an all around rifle. A 22 firearm or great pellet gun all rolled into one.
      Things I would have changed:Sell a refill kit that will attach directly to a nitrogen tank. Provide information on the benifits of using nitrogen, I called your tech support and they gave me great info on nitrogen use. It is better, cleaner, more stable and available almost everywhere. Forget the pump unless you are in great shape. I could not EVER get mine to work. It was very difficult for me to even get it to pressurize enough to get started and I knew than that I would never be able to use the pump. My wife watched and laughed and then became conserned that I might actually end up having a heart attack from the effort required.
      What others should know:IT IS LOUD! As loud or louder than a 22 LR. Buy a nitrogen tank from a local welding or refridgeration supply house ($80.00-150.00 depending on size). I bought the next to smallest size one (17' to valve bottom, 6 1/2" diameter) for $108.00. Refills (actually exchanges) for my size run $9.00-15.00. If you buy a regulator for it (like welding tanks have) you can use it to fill your car tires when the pressure level drops below 1200 psi. Nitrogen maintains the same pressure cold OR hot and is used in racing tires for that reason. I spent about $900.00 getting everything going (rifle, pump, extra fittings, extra 6 round clips, nitrogen tank and fittings) but other than the pump (good for young people) it was DEFINATELY worth EVERY penny! It is actually equal to a 22 short fired from a real rifle if you want to use full power and a extra heavy pellet.
    • Overall rating:1 1.0

      Value for money:1 1.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By JJ from USA on 2009-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It worked good the first 6 shots ( 30 days ) then after that it broke! Shaved metal filings came out of the bottom.
      Things I would have changed:I hate the fact pyramyd air will not take this gun back because i had it longer then 30 days. It broke about the 60th day of owning it and it was shot #18 to be exact!
      What others should know:I am a full grown man and this gun was used for rodent control at my farm. Guess I will have to stick to my $100 .22 long rifle. If you like garbage this over priced sumatra is for you! I paid good money for this gun and air pump and now its useless i am very upset!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

         By Stacey from USA on 2009-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Lever-action with 6-shot rotary magazine and adjustable power. I love this gun! Fun to shoot with smooth action and great accuracy. Rifle is heavy but nicely balanced. Shoots awesome with a variety of pellets. With the adjustable power, you can go from plinking in the basement to hunting with extra-heavy, hard-hitting Eun Jin pellets.
      Things I would have changed:The open sights could be better. It would be nice if you could use them without taking off the rail.
      What others should know:This gun is pretty heavy, so adding a sling is almost a must if you plan to lug it around. Or if you don't mind losing a bit of air capacity and barrel length, go for the carbine version. It's still a great and tough little gun but a couple pounds lighter. You also have the option of getting the same gun with a 500cc tank. This will add weight, but, of course, you will get more shots per fill. If you want to use the open sights, take off the scope rail. It comes off easily by removing two Phillips screws.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Marvin from USA on 2009-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The siix shots, lever action and balance. The power is awsome.
      Things I would have changed:better iron sights
      What others should know:This is a gun made for hunting but can be turned down to shoot targets. It is loud on hi power. The limits of this gun are high. I have shot tin cans out to 100 yards. Small game easily fall to this powerhouse. So get a good scope and pushnthe limits.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Justin from USA on 2009-02-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:POWER! This thing hits like a freight train. Nice build quality.
      Things I would have changed:Longer forestock. The fill adaptor is junk. Leaked right out of the box. I have had to order a seperate foster adaptor.
      What others should know:The gun is Heavy. 9 pounds. If you aren't ready to haul that much weight around, this isn't the gun for you.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2007-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality workmanship with excellent value. An airgun buyer will spend much more money on other rifles to get the same assets this rifle provides. I like the glassy smooth action. Although I have not tried shots over thirty yards, accuracy appears to be outstanding. The rifle provides everything I wanted in a powerful .22 PCP at an affordable price and just looks wicked! I let my god son fire it in my basement. He hunts deer with powder rifles. When he fired my Sumatra, he looked over his shoulder at me with this "HOLY COW" look on his face. It is impressive in every way.
      Things I would have changed:I'd like it with a shrouded barrel. This weapon is thunderous. The directions supplied with the gun are almost as worthless as the fixed sites. The power adjustment can be turned so far down, the rifle doesn't fire.
      What others should know:As air rifles go, the Sumatra 2500 is a cannon. If you never have owned a PCP, prepare to buy a tank. I found the fixed site worthless, so plan on a scope. I mounted a Leapers 4-16 X 56 scope with B Square LOW profile rings. This kept the scope close to the rifle and looks awesome. I didn't get the carbine and the rifle is quite heavy. It's also very VERY loud. This weapon was purchased for the express purpose of putting Squirrels in orbit in my back yard. Extreme caution should be used though. The heavy pellets go though Squirrels and could easily pick off granny next door. NOT PRUDENT!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2007-11-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:super power,and good price
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By tommy36998 from USA on 2007-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:My first so i'm floored. I had a BB rifle like back in the 60's. I like the wood the lever cocking action is smooth. Very powerful
      Things I would have changed:the sights. I scoped mine and would recommend getting one. Maybe some extras ie scuba filling attachments.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By BM from USA on 2007-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Revolving magazine, accuracy, design & appearance
      Things I would have changed:Lighter weight?
    • 12 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold