Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol, Brown Grips reviews - page 1

Add to Cart


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:4.0

By randal from USA on 2012-04-08 14:13:53

Things I liked:I just started collecting replica air guns about a year ago, the 1911 was not my first purchace but having carried one in the service it was on my short list. After some research I purchased the Tanfoglio Witness because it was reviewed as the most acurate reproduction. I was set on a gun with Colt markings being the 100th anniversary but was not disapointed in the least. I find this gun almost as much fun to clean as it is to shoot. The gun fits together very well and the action is great. The blowback delivers a kick that most .22s don't have. The slide locking back after the last shot still brings a smile. Endless 1911 grips to choose from will fit with a little shaping from a Dremel tool. If you are only going to own one co2 pistol this is it.
Things I would have changed:The only thing I feel could be improved is the magazine. When you pull back and compress the spring during loading the post that's attached to it rises up. You have to push it back into place so it feeds properly. I feel that's nit picking when I look at the hole package.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:3.0

By Neil from USA on 2015-07-08 19:38:17

Things I liked:realistic look, able to field strip. nice feel to it. ok accuracy when it worked
What others should know:this pistol is a piece of junk, shot it twice, both times it jammed up. feeds two or three bbs at a time, slide doesnt fully go into battery. called palco sports about repairing it, they told me sorry its out of warranty. offered to pay to have it fixed, tech told me he cant get any parts, its a 99.00 paperweight now.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Neil from USA on 2015-07-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:realistic look, able to field strip. nice feel to it. ok accuracy when it worked
    What others should know:this pistol is a piece of junk, shot it twice, both times it jammed up. feeds two or three bbs at a time, slide doesnt fully go into battery. called palco sports about repairing it, they told me sorry its out of warranty. offered to pay to have it fixed, tech told me he cant get any parts, its a 99.00 paperweight now.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Robert from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very good replica of early 1911, very realistic especially with the blowback action.
    Things I would have changed:magazine has very awkward loading spring for the bb's,
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Henry from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:For close range shooting (15 yards) pretty accurate. Has a fairly good range of about 45 to 50 yards. Really fun to shoot!
    Things I would have changed:A lock on the magazine spring to load would be nice. Otherwise, not too difficult to load the magazine.
    What others should know:Looks and operates like the real thing. Will impress your friends.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2015-04-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Other than a few minor things different this is a perfect bb firing replica of my actual 1911. It field strips almost like a real one. All levers, safeties work identical to the real thing. Even the magazine is identical in size and fit to the real thing. Even the internal parts you can't really see are almost identical. It feels like my real 1911, almost recoils like the real one, cycles the gun like the real thing. In all this is the perfect inexpensive training pistol so when the time comes and you need to really take the shot with the real 1911 you will be well prepared to do it at fraction of the cost.
    Things I would have changed:actually nothing. Perfect for training.
    What others should know:Not good for self defense but perfect for training to use the real thing which is my purpose for it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By joe from USA on 2015-04-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Truly a very good gun all around. Functions great and it's accurate. Went through 20 co2 in a week and no problems with the gun at all, only the magazine, piece of metal blocked the valve but that was a easy fix.
    Things I would have changed:Grips are nice but wood grips would make it a 6 star.
    What others should know:It is a blowback so be aware of the lower fps and lesser shot capacity of co2
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Brad from USA on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great fun to shoot. The blowback is a cool feature and adds to the realize. My boys and I have been through 5-8 cartridges and we have killed some cans and Army men...money well spent. It feels great in your hand and also very well built.
    Things I would have changed:Only thing I would do is figure out a way to make loading a little easier on your fingernails. Holding the pin back gets painful after 8-10 reloads.
    What others should know:If you want an accurate replica 1911 that fires well and is fun and easy to shoot. This is it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Daniel from USA on 2015-02-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The overall amazing realism even down to the blowback, trigger, and kick. Great accuracy. Full size magazine. Solid all metal construction with the exception of the grips.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing other than wood grips which would greatly increase the price so...
    What others should know:This gun is not for the young, it has a lot of kick and is easy to hurt yourself with due to the moving slide if you don't know how to handle a 1911.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2015-02-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Balance, wgt, high accuracy. This pistol is in the top three of my firearms as far as accuracy
    Things I would have changed:TOO FRAGILE - I've owned 4 of these over the years and each has broken down within 6 WEEKS and under 750 shots!
    What others should know:Maybe, you'll be luckier than me, but keep close tab on your warranty days!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By James from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Has the look and feel of a real 1911. Obviously it doesn't have the weight and the trigger feel, but otherwise it's pretty good. I also like the ability to field strip the mechanism. Its only about 5 ft-lbs at the muzzle, but it seems like more and shoots pretty accurate at 25 yards. Like a real 1911, the first shot is DA and the remainder of the magazine is SA.
    Things I would have changed:A lot of things COULD be changed if money were no object, but at this price point, you get a lot of value. I would prefer pellets to BBs.
    What others should know:I bought this gun for backyard practice and it works well for that, even without the noise and recoil. It is a supplement, not a replacement, for dry-fire and range time.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Stephen from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Twenty years as a licensed gunsmith, I know my guns. This gun is an amazing copy and an exceptional value at this price. Everything looks and operates as it does on the real 1911. The fit and finish on all the parts is near perfect. Currently, its too cold outside to shoot this but from all the excellent reviews I've read I'm sure I won't be disappointed. If you want the experience of owning and shooting a Colt type 1911 buy this gun.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing. The gun is a near perfect copy of the Colt type 1911.
    What others should know:I'm retired now but for 20 years I owned and operated a gun store and indoor shooting range. During that time I was also a NYS licensed gunsmith. I specialized in customizing Colt 1911's. Just for kicks I purchased a Denix 1911 replica from a "Replica Guns Direct" site for $117. When it arrived, to say I was disappointed is an understatement. What a piece of junk! It looked like a 1911 but nothing was functional. Also, the fit and finish was horrible. The slide wouldn't even fully retract. I complained to the seller and they would only take it back if I paid a 20% restocking fee. They are now on my "S**T" list. If you're looking for a true 1911 style replica this Tanfoglio is spot on. I was so impressed with this gun I ordered 12 more assorted replicas from Pyramyd Air. When they arrived I inspected them all and they're all excellent. The Uzi magazine catch wasn't working but that was a 5 minute fix. The functionality and attention to detail is amazing at this price point.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Michael from USA on 2014-12-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I purchased this because I already owned the Remington 1911 RAC and I knew this pistol was similar. This pistol is just as good quality as the Remington version.
    Things I would have changed:On my gun in particular, the safety can be engaged without the hammer cocked back. Although I like this, it does not match the behavior of the real 1911.
    What others should know:My particular pistol jammed up every two or so rounds when I received it; a little grease on the slide rails and barrel fixed this problem.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Hector from USA on 2014-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I like everything, except grips. Huge replica pistol, smooth trigger.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Be gentle to shoot it, because the trigger is too smooth
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2014-12-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great replica!
    Things I would have changed:Grips have a very plastic feel and have sharp edges/checkering. I took a fine sanding sponge and smoothed it out. Then I dry brushed it with some lighter model paint, and finished it off with a lacquer spray. Looks and feels 10x better - no need to buy wood grips. An adjustable rear sight would be nice.
    What others should know:Not very accurate, but that's not why I go this gun for my collection.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Yvens from USA on 2014-11-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Heavy blowback. Very realistic. Nice replica. Field strippable. I love racking the slide and the sound it makes.
    Things I would have changed:My gun shoots consistently 1 inch high and 1 inch to the left at 10 yards. Fixed sights. Use that kentucky windage.
    What others should know:The Colt Commander is the same gun with a different exterior, but shoots dead on at 15 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By dalbert from USA on 2014-10-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:is almost identical to the real one.
    Things I would have changed:nothing, the only thing better than this is the fire gun.
    What others should know:It is a perfect practice material. if u gonna get proficient in handling a 1911 model this is pretty good for that.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Justin from USA on 2014-08-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:FULL metal construction, realistic weight. Has some recoil but its just enough to make it fun and exciting.
    Things I would have changed:Noting but the grips, they are plastic but a durable plastic. You can buy real wood grips from a true 1911 but a little modification is involved, the screws line up its just you have to carve out a little bit on the inside of the grip if you want to make this modification to fit this gun
    What others should know:Make your 1911 more realistic like this one. Everything about it except for the mag is realistic!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from Canada on 2014-08-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything, trigger pull is amazing, my favourite trigger pull on any of my air guns. Awesome blowback. Amazing weight, very well put together and easy to strip down.
    Things I would have changed:Add wood grips. Make the bb feeder out of metal and not plastic. Make the recessed barrel blend in better with the fake outer barrel. Take warnings off the side, or fade them
    What others should know:I've had to get a replacement. The bb feeder is plastic. I would assume that rapid fire causes the plastic to get really cold and since the gun is being shot rapidly the cold plastic feeder becomes deformed. WIth my replacement I am sticking to single shots with a second or two in between, with the occasional double tap.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jun from USA on 2014-06-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:everything.
    Things I would have changed:make black grips and stainless steel versions. nothing on the gun
    What others should know:you will love this gun. you can use this to teach your young one about bb gun safety.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Kevin from USA on 2014-05-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Beautifully made. Authentic. Blowback provides a small modicum of kick. Aiming isn't all that bad but it isn't all that accurate either; you'll have to adjust once you discover where it consistently hits.
    Things I would have changed:I had to send the first one I got back because the co2 mechanism was defective. Higher QC regarding that element. Alter the loading mechanism to allow the spring to be locked while loading. Holding that heavy spring with a fingernail is difficult. Include takedown instructions in "manual". It's all over YouTube so why not just tell the new owner how to clean it? Finally, adjustable sights. Just include it. So simple.
    What others should know:Feels real. Fun to hold and shoot.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By VaughanJ from Canada on 2014-05-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:After purchasing this shooter I found that the weight and feel if it is quite realistic and satisfying. I really love the feel of the blowback. The magazine is very easy to refill with CO2 and the full metal construction (except for the top bit) is great.
    Things I would have changed:I would like if this gun was more accurate. It will take some getting used to when you first take it out of the box. I would also like if this shooter had white marking dots on the fixed sights.
    What others should know:If you're interested in buying this shooter, please note that this may jam quite often. I had to send this back but i got a brand new one with no charge! Since the magazine's tip is made of plastic it may break or jam as well.
  • 123 ... 67 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top