Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol, Brown Grips reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By randal from USA on 2012-04-08 14:13:53

    Things I liked:I just started collecting replica air guns about a year ago, the 1911 was not my first purchace but having carried one in the service it was on my short list. After some research I purchased the Tanfoglio Witness because it was reviewed as the most acurate reproduction. I was set on a gun with Colt markings being the 100th anniversary but was not disapointed in the least. I find this gun almost as much fun to clean as it is to shoot. The gun fits together very well and the action is great. The blowback delivers a kick that most .22s don't have. The slide locking back after the last shot still brings a smile. Endless 1911 grips to choose from will fit with a little shaping from a Dremel tool. If you are only going to own one co2 pistol this is it.
    Things I would have changed:The only thing I feel could be improved is the magazine. When you pull back and compress the spring during loading the post that's attached to it rises up. You have to push it back into place so it feeds properly. I feel that's nit picking when I look at the hole package.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    Accuracy:4.0

    By Limey from USA on 2014-03-19 19:24:04

    Things I liked:The look, the weight, the action. It truly mimics a real 1911. It is fun to shoot, and fairly accurate up to 40 ft (hit soda cans etc). I bought an extra magazine to practice reloading. It's a great drill gun, and fun to shoot.
    Things I would have changed:The bb feeding guide which is attached to the piston. It's made of plastic and will fail after about 500 bb's. This part is not replaceable, and thus makes the gun not fully functional when guide breaks.
    What others should know:As I stated, the plastic bb guide will fail. I got about 500 bb's before mine failed to feed the bb into the chamber. It begins to double stack the bb's so that the slide will not close, thus making the gun a single shot. I shot it often, and it lasted for 2.5 months, which was out of warranty for Pyramyd Air. I contacted the distributor (who warranty it for 2 months). They kindly took it back, and sent me a new one; Which I'm told by their tech guy will also break. So, buyer beware.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2014-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like everything about the gun. This is my first air gun and I highly recommend it. I did have to return the first two I received because after about 500 bb's they started to double feed bb's and jamb. Pyramydair was fantastic about replacing them. I gave it 5 stars because when it worked it worked great.
      Things I would have changed:The tip of the clip should be modified so after extended use the plastic does not spread and cause the double feeding problem I had.
      What others should know:If your gun starts to double feed try pinching the end of the clip with a pliers and it should stop and work great again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By mark from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Feels like a real gun the balance is awesome and the action sounds like a real gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:I have not had a chance to shoot it yet but I am looking forward to shooting it I believe anyone that buys this gun will like it its impressive right out of the box
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2013-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Pretty much everything, the finish could be smoother in spots but it's not too bad since it's replicating a military work horse, not a custom show piece. I also have seen a lot of complaints about the plastic grips, but these are actually fairly realistic for a replica of a military issue 1911(a lot of them were issued with bakelite, and plastic grips)and that's what I was looking for when I bought it.
      Things I would have changed:The white lettering, it feels like it's lightly stamped into the metal, so it doesn't need to be painted a different color. It also could use a more durable finish
      What others should know:Although for me it is quite accurate, I rated the accuracy at 3 stars because I grew up shooting the real thing so I'm used to the the style of gun, and it may not be as accurate for someone with less experience with 1911 style guns. But it would be a good one to use to get used to them, and I look forward to teaching my nieces and nephews with it as they get old enough. I would have liked starting out with one of these myself, rather than a real one (at 11 yrs old). Overall if you have realistic expectations you should be happy with this pistol.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dan from USA on 2013-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything about this I like! This is a very well made pistol. A BLAST to shoot!!
      Things I would have changed:Make the warning label easy to remove.
      What others should know:Get the kit with the extra magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By earl from USA on 2013-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:in my opinion, this is the most realistic replica bb gun made. i like it so much that this one is the second one i purchased. i have found that when i like something the manufacture will quit making it. i now have a back up for when the first one wears out. lol. i shoot mine almost every day in my basement 10 yard range. a very inexpencive way to keep your proficiency during the winter months.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:if you buy a couple of extra mags, you will always have a warm co2 cylinder to keep you shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wes from USA on 2013-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything
      Things I would have changed:easier to load magazine
      What others should know:a bit tough to load bbs but not impossible.. not really powerful but alot better than getting a .22 conversion of a 1911.. great for indoor wintertime practice
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Ronald from USA on 2013-11-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:All metal, excellent fit and finish, quality in every respect. For my money, this is everything a replica gun should be. Makes it very convenient and inexpensive to maintain shooting competence at home. Realistic blowback, recoil, and sound. Really nice satin charcoal finish.
      Things I would have changed:A bit picky perhaps, but loading the magazine with BB's is a pain. A little ingenuity and google research will provide some helful solutions to uninteded spring flyback and tension.
      What others should know:If you want to embark on a fun and inexpesive hobby shooting, get this gun. I would make it a first purchase.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gregory from USA on 2013-11-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fact that it is a realistic rendition of a 1911 pistol, the trigger pull was light and crisp and the grip safety and thumb safety were just like a real 1911's. The blowback just puts the realism factor to a new level for airgunning.
      Things I would have changed:Not much, the pistol functions were spot on for a 1911 replica. I would change the loading nozzle, blowback piston design; or at least make replacement parts available. Mine jammed fully forward after extensive use, about 1000 shots or so, and after complete disassembly to fix found the nozzle broke. I did try to fix it myself and now am left with a paper weight. Up until this point the gun had never had a functional problem, everything worked fine. Other's have had problems with the magazines but both of mine worked fine. Best advise leave it alone and send it back for replacement or repair (if I could get a replacement nozzle and piston assembly it would be an easy fix). I did like the pistol so much that I did order a new one and plan to leave it alone if it malfunctions and send it back if it brakes.
      What others should know:Do buy a spare magazine, this gun is great for practicing your shooting skills with draw and reloading drills.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By tin from USA on 2013-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this gun along with the Dan Wesson 6" revolver. It's mostly metal except for the grip. Love the blowback action. This gun is very realistic. Easy to strip down for cleaning and safety prevention.
      Things I would have changed:Wood grip or metal grips. Although this gun is fun to shoot it get jam easy. BBs would fall out of magazine if gun is pointed down This gun goes thru co2 fairly fast. Although it advertised 18 shots I usually load only 16. On average I get 3 magazine loads or 16x3 shots on each co2 cartridge. It also wears very fast. I see scratches after the first day of shooting where the metal parts make contact due to thin paint. Would like to see this gun powder coated.
      What others should know:Thump up to Pyramydair. This is the first time I purchase bb guns online. After reading lots of reviews on several sites I decided to order from here. The cheaper prices also influenced me to order from here. Placed my order in August when the witness was backorder. I called customer service to get update and they always fast and pleasant to talk to. They explained the process very clearly. When the 1911 was in stock the shipping was also fast. Received my order in 2 days. I was a little disappointed when I opened the 1911. There were scratches on the barrel. I called them up and the gentlemen emailed me the RMA along with a prepaid return label. Returned the gun and they sent me a replacement. Super fast and excellent customer service. This is what will bring customer back. I will definitely buy from them again.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Tom from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am able to just go down to my garage and practice - no long drive to the gun range, etc. Also no need for expensive ammo. In a recent practice session, I fired 4 groups of 18 BB's (the magazine capacity is 18 BB's). I should note that, with this "blowback" style pistol, the action is super realistic, with a perceived recoil from the cycling of the slide being very similar to a 22LR pistol. That helps with the realism of the practice, but it also shortens the amount of practice for a single 12gram CO2 cartridge. In this session for example, the 1st three groups of 18 shots were fairly consistent, but during the 4th group, the performance really fell off rapidly, and by the end of the group, the CO2 was "flat" and wouldn't cycle the slide. (Note: Another nice "realism" touch is that, when the magazine is empty of BB's, the slide locks back just like the real thing.)
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really - perhaps add adjustable rear sight, but that would also add cost?
      What others should know:The bottom line is that I am able to get in about 70 good practice shots before the CO2 gives out, I didn't have to drive anywhere or make a lot of noise, and the total cost (for BB "ammo", one CO2 cartridge, and the target) is a total of just over $1.00.... How cool is that...? Anyway if you want a way to get in good target practice, I recommend this approach...
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By David from USA on 2013-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This looks and mostly functions like a real 1911. It mostly metal and has some good heft in the hand.
      Things I would have changed:I had trouble with this gun right out of the box. It came with I believe 5 CO2 cartridges and it blew off all 5 of them after just a couple shots. It was like: Bang! Bang! Bang, hissssssss! It acted like that 5 times in row. Eventually, it started working. I put about 4 more CO2 cartridges through it and started continuously leaking out of the control value. On top of that, it stopped feeding BBs correctly. The bolt would no longer close as it started trying to strip two BBs at once. Almost as soon as the actions starting cycling, the finish was scrapped off of the front left side as well as the ejection port area. The paint scraping is to be expected, but it would have been nice if it was designed not to wear so soon.
      What others should know:I'm going to be sending the pistol into Palco Sports to see if they'll cover repairs to the pistol on warranty. I've literally had it two days and it has disappointed right out of the box. I may revise this review if Palco is able to provide a remedy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2013-11-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:DEAD ON ACCURATE at up to 20 yards. very realistic. great shooter 1000 rounds + through mine
      Things I would have changed:i would get rid of the slide lock detent, as the slide will not drop forward even with a full mag. the safety needs to be stronger it will fail if you pull the trigger with the safety on. It has GI sights which kind of stink, they are low and dark.
      What others should know:This is a marksmanship pistol it can shoot better than I can and i'm a good shot. DO NOT PULL THE TRIGGER WITH THE SAFETY OFF! the hammer will drop when the safety is released.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Subject to my 'things I would change' comment, this is a high quality copy of the 1911, with excellent heft and fine détails. Accuracy is very good.
      Things I would have changed:Tanfoglio have every reason to be proud of their product, but the barrel's 'TANFOGLIO WITNESS' engraved inscription is overwhelming to say the least, and detracts a bit to the replica's claim to authentic looks.
      What others should know:Still, highly recommended
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By LORD from USA on 2013-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:THE WEIGHT THE REALIZEM , THE SOUND WHEN YOU RACK THE SLIDE OR SLID THE MAG IN GREAT JOB
      Things I would have changed:I WOULD HAVE ORDERED TWO
      What others should know:IF YOUR THINKING ABOUT IT GET IT YOU WONT BE DISSIPOINTED ITS THE BEST AIR GUN I OWN
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Trevor from New Zealand on 2013-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nicely presented CO2 replica gun. I'm most impressed with Pyramid Air service,"best in the west"(where I am!)
      Things I would have changed:Think I'd do the "Russian thing" and include a spare set of seals,;-)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jonathan from New Zealand on 2013-10-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Mine finally arrived and it was worth the wait after being on back order for some time. Awesome build quality, weight and details. Full blowback, locking slide and full size mag.
      Things I would have changed:Easier way to decock the pistol, it's also quite difficult to load BBs
      What others should know:get one for your collection now, pick up some extra mags also
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:3.0 3.0

        By Terry from USA on 2013-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a great gun,the most realistic bb gun i've ever seen. even the grip safety on this really works. some guns are close to being realistic but this gun is right on.
      Things I would have changed:nothing, it's a very nice gun
      What others should know:i have had problems with the magazine leaking co2 after awhile but the gun works fine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Paul from USA on 2013-07-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:the weight and feel of the gun,safeties work.nice to practice with.
      Things I would have changed:include some kind of loader for magazine.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Gary from USA on 2013-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks and feels real. Function is very good.
      Things I would have changed:Better sights.
      What others should know:Buy an extra mag
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eric from USA on 2013-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Overall great pcs. Good heft , extremely good trigger slap that clip in, pull that slide its very satisfying
      Things I would have changed:The finish is not as durable as I would like otber then that notmuchto complain about
      What others should know:The clips is often one of mine kept leaking ordered another problem solved ...excellent
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top